We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Wonderful in the daytime...not so wonderful in the evening..” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Riu Hotel Luca Costa Lago

Save Saved
You added Riu Hotel Luca Costa Lago to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Riu Hotel Luca Costa Lago
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Obispo Juan Alonso, 4, 29620 Torremolinos, Spain   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel packages
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Turn Spring Around!
Ranked #13 of 74 hotels in Torremolinos
St Helens, United Kingdom
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
“Wonderful in the daytime...not so wonderful in the evening..”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 15, 2013

I agree with the majority of the previous reviews on this hotel regarding food, staff, location, value for money, cleanliness etc..
We as a group of 5 (2 aduts and 3 teenagers) have just returned from an 11 night all inclusive stay at the Riu Luca Costa Lago. As many other people have commented, the food and drinks are very good here with plenty of choice (the paella was my favourite), and they do cater for fussy eaters too.
In high season, the evening meal times dress code is relaxed, with gents allowed to wear shorts. But going off other reviews, this may change in off-peak times. I also loved the idea of self service beer, juices, soft drinks and coffee.

The staff are all very friendly and profesional, and I have to give special praise to the reception staff who are probably the most welcoming, polite and helpful that I have ever had the pleasure of staying with in over 25 years of holidaying.

The pool is, as others have pointed out, a bit on the small side and can get over-crowded. Having said that, there was always enough space for a dip. There are plenty of sunbeds to go round with a lovely big sun terrace area. And yes, unfortunately, there is the old sunbed-towel reservation disease here. But to be fair, there are probably very, very few hotels where this doesn't go on. We even witnessed 2 ladies reserving sunbeds at midnight one night.

The location was perfect for us, it is in the quieter area of La Colina, roughly a 20 minute walk from Torremolinos, so bare that in mind if you prefer hustle and bustle. The beach is a 2 minute walk away and we are all beach lovers so that suited us. Some lovely fish restaurants along the beach front too.
Also, the local train station is only a 10 minute walk away, and it's an excellent and easy way to get out and about.
We got the impression that the La Colina area is favoured by Spanish holiday makers which wasn't a problem for us, but again, it will be a problem for some. The hotel however was heavily populated by Brits when we were there, with the entertainment programmes mainly aimed at the British guests. And on that subject, the evening entertainment that we did catch, was pretty awful.
The entertainment room was hot and stuffy, and outside on the terrace is where all the smokers congregate. So if you're non-smokers like us, it can be quite uncomfortable out there too.

In a nut-shell, this hotel is very good value, the ups very much outweigh the downs,and we really enjoyed our stay here. There is room for improvement, and within time, I would probably expect the odd improvements here and there to be made.
If you are looking for a relaxing break, and have a little bit of extra spending money, I would definately recomend staying here. If you are more of a Blackpool/Benidorm etc type, then maybe look elswhere.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 9
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

957 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    306
    368
    145
    69
    69
See reviews for
306
389
15
2
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (270)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 14, 2013 via mobile

Fab hotel located two mins away from beach and some lovely restaurants. The food was abit bland in the hotel found ourself eating out a lot even tho we were all inclusive. The staff were brilliant couldn't do enough for us and we were greeted with a glass of champagne on arrival which was lovely also told that we missed dinner but the chef was preparing something for us an this was 10pm at night so we were pleased with that. The evening entertainment was abit poor the best bits were the mini discos for the children the children's entertainers were better then the adult entertainer haha but such a fab hotel lovely pool and bar area to relax by.

  • Stayed May 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dumbarton, Scotland, United Kingdom
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 14, 2013

I went to this hotel in June 2013. It was amazing! Had a fantastic time. the food was brilliant couldnt have asked for anymore. The staff were all very helpful when i was looking for directions to the Aqua park and cable cars. The night entertainment wasnt so good but we done plenty during the day and by 10pm we were shattered lol. The rooms were cleaned daily and had no faults at all :)

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dorchester, United Kingdom
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 7, 2013

We stayed over new year and thought it was stunning...especially the food..which we both loved..the variety and quality and setup was fine..it was our first experiance of Spain and all inclusive...loved it..anyway in the bigger picture of things...this is a good Hotel..with great food....lol..weve just returned from a so called four star hotel in Malta...all inclusive..and my god.that was terrible in comparison..I wish i was at the Costa Lago.and shoud of returned....it was looking back very very good..anyway i suppose there is better out there....but there is lots lots worse..if you book the lago and enjoy food-cocktails..etc you wont really go wrong at all in my opinion... ;-) enjoy... oh yeah..the rooms were ok..bars..etc..didnt go in the pool..

Room Tip: away from the lower levels near the bar ares
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
West Sussex
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
26 helpful votes 26 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 5, 2013

Booked 2 rooms for my family and requested next door to each other but they were 5 rooms apart - bit disappointed but excepted it as I did not want to move half way through holiday. Nice staff, restaurant areas well managed, no queueing for soft drinks/ lager or wine. Hairdryer in bathroom very weak. Sunbeds around the pool were always taken, I even looked out at 7:30 one morning and still the towels were there....There are lots of beds stacked up so you will still get a bed on the grass around 11am as we did after breakfast. If you want to watch the kids you had to walk up to the pool area. The pool was chaos with bodies everywhere - you could not swim more that 2 - 3 strokes without having to move out of the way of someone. Its not relaxing and we had to go to the beach just to get away from the crowded pool. Its a little out of the way for shops so a 20 min walk is needed to get to the beginning of the shopping area. Overall it was a nice hotel but I would have given 5 stars if the pool was bigger and it was near to the shops and bars.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manchester, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
54 reviews 54 reviews
26 hotel reviews
Reviews in 28 cities Reviews in 28 cities
51 helpful votes 51 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 4, 2013

I stayed here with my hubby, 10 month old daughter and myself if one room, my mum and dad, sister and brother in law, and mother and father in law all in there own rooms.

Upon arrival only our room was ready which wasn't really great as we were running late, the reception staff said this was due to people checking out late, the rest of the family locked the cases in a room by reception and we headed to our room.

Lovely clean room, we had a family room which had the cot in the living area, the cot was neat and looked fresh, I used my own linen as a preference but there wasn't anything wrong with supplied, the bathroom was dated but clean with a good shower, bedroom was okay but the bed was so hard. The balcony faced the pool and the sea and overlooked the bar, which is what we had requested. You could here people at the bar at night which could get noisy.

The food was nice with an okay selection, unfortunately the meal times were a little late for my liking, 1pm for lunch and 6pm for tea with a 10 month old wasn't ideal but we had brought most of our own food for my daughter and could feed her sat at the outdoor bar area.

Helping yourself to drinks was ideal. good selection and a nice tasting lager.

excellent location, near the beach, a small supermarket and a clean play area.

The staff let me keep my daughters yogurts and antibiotics in there fridge which was a great help.

All in all a great hotel for the price and I would defiantly return. Maybe when my daughter is bigger.

Room Tip: Request any that don't face the road
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
stoke-on-trent
Senior Contributor
31 reviews 31 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 4, 2013

The best way for us to do this review is to break it down into sections

Reception.
Clean bright and welcoming, upon arrival we were met by pleasant staff and allocated our room quickly. We also had a nice little glass of cava, which is a nice touch.

The room.
Large and nice cooling air conditioned, not the most modern but not terrible either. Again it was very clean as with all areas of the hotel. And for those addicted to the rubbish British soaps ITV is available on the TV. The shower was pretty good and the beds are OK if not a little hard (but I don't mind that). The safe is free for a/I but you have to leave a 10 euro deposit.

The pool and outside bars.
The pool is a little small as stated by other reviews, but again clean. Plenty of loungers available but not many little tables for placing your drinks on etc. With the pool being small they don't allow inflatables in which isn't a bad thing really.
Activities around the pool aren't great but if you want to relax this is better than the usual badgering that goes on to join in.
The bar area is clean and has a nice shaded area to sit in, but this is used a lot by the smoking community which at least keeps that away from the pool.
Daytime snacks aren't the best and are kept in the bar near to reception area which is a bit further from the pool than you would expect. No little pots of ice cream though!

Dining room.
Clean, great Waiter service and nice and cool. The food is quite varied for a week but then repeated. Plenty for those with dietary restrictions, as our daughter has a nut allergy this is always something we have to watch out for. Always a fish a meat and vegetable option. Burgers and chips for the kids and fresh fruit puddings and ice cream. Dining in the evening is in two sittings from 6.30 and then 8.45 you choose this on arrival but can change if you wish.

Entertainment.
This is the worst thing about the hotel, Marvin tries his best and he does a reasonable job. But most of the acts brought in are really poor we watched Jana and Carmen and both are useless singers so give them a miss the soul train was pretty good but that's about it.

Location.
About 25 min stroll from the main shopping in torremolinos. A couple of minutes from the beach, although the sand is a little gritty. Loungers on the beach can be hired for about 3 euros each.
If you want your daily paper you can get this from a shop a couple of minutes away, leave the hotel reception turn left towards the beach and cross the road.

Summary.
Relaxed environment, clean hotel, friendly staff. Entertainment needs improvement but all in all a pretty good 4* hotel
Some of the drinks are a bit ropey but others are OK so find your poison.
If you need water they provide free bottles from the bar, just ask and its no trouble.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Riu Hotel Luca Costa Lago? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Riu Hotel Luca Costa Lago

Also Known As:
Costa Lago Torremolinos
Hotel Costa Lago
Costa Lago
Riu Hotel Luca Costa Lago Torremolinos, Costa Del Sol, Spain
Address: Obispo Juan Alonso, 4, 29620 Torremolinos, Spain
Location: Spain > Andalucia > Province of Malaga > Costa del Sol > Torremolinos
Amenities:
Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#7 Luxury Hotel in Torremolinos
#13 Family Hotel in Torremolinos
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Riu Hotel Luca Costa Lago 4*
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Expedia, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Tingo, Otel, TripOnline SA, HotelsClick and Asiatravel.com Holdings so you can book your Riu Hotel Luca Costa Lago reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Riu Hotel Luca Costa Lago, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.