We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“If you like walking read on” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Riu Hotel Luca Costa Lago

Save Saved
You added Riu Hotel Luca Costa Lago to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Riu Hotel Luca Costa Lago
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Obispo Juan Alonso, 4, 29620 Torremolinos, Spain   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel packages
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Best Fall Getaway
Ranked #9 of 73 hotels in Torremolinos
Cumbria
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
“If you like walking read on”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 3, 2013

The hotel itself was lovely, room 340 which we were given was a pleasant surprise , it had its own sitting/dressing room . They were spacious and cleaned on a daily basis by a lovely maid called Lourdes. We were unaware upon arrival how far out of everything the hotel was so a walk was on the cards most days . The entertainment was poor to say the least but if they utilised the lovely pool terrace a good night programme could be staged on there. The restaurant was clean well staffed but the way it was set out could have beenmade to run much more smoothly, breakfast was a joke , you would think if you were wanting toast you would have butter bread toaster all together , no by the time you make your toast collect butter find cutlery etc your breakfast is nigh on cold , so as I say if walking is what you like go here because that's all you seem to do even at meal times.

Room Tip: Ask for a pool or garden view
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,131 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    378
    446
    164
    71
    72
See reviews for
371
441
16
3
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (325)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Loch Lomond and The Trossachs National Park, United Kingdom
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 2, 2013

Stayed at this hotel for 11 nights mid June with my wife, service was second to none, we had the 20.15 sitting for dinner but it suited us fine, food was great especially the carvery, drinks were fine too, entertainment not up to much but we met some lovely people so company was great. I found the beds ok, in all had a great time and would recommend this hotel and will probably go back. Journey to and from airport a plus, only about 10 mins.

Room Tip: We stayed in 289 which was about the furthest away from reception but very quite and just up from po...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New England, North Dakota
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 2, 2013

Good think about stay there is
is go children club
The staff are very nice to.
The good nice food.
The baby pool is in shade
It was good to stay in 288 because it was quite and wasn't nice view but it was good
Not good think about it is
There no children food coner
Couldn't of have any ruber ring etc in pool because it was small
If you diver in pool the lifeguard will tell you of.
The pool open at 10am to 6pm but people will still in there before 10.00 and people was still in the after 6pm.
They have sunday bed short so you need to be up early to get one.
Swimming bar is ok but close at 6pm and main bar up at 6pm so you can't get drink when you up there.
You have to pay money to get passto number for wi-fir is only good day stair not in bar it 1euo for 1 hour 2 euo for 2hour 10euo for you wi-fir.

Room Tip: 288 was nice not look over any think good part from old people home. is best to sleep because is qui...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kent, England
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 1, 2013

We stayed for a week with my parents and two children. The kids loved the hotel. Especially the 'mini disco'. They are still singing the songs now! The food was great, there was always more than one thing I fancied to eat. Lots of variety. The children also found something they enjoyed to eat every day. The staff are all very friendly and efficient. The pool was nice and there were plenty of sun loungers (might be a bit busier in peak season). The hotel is very clean and our rooms were cleaned every day. They even made towel animals and left sweets for the kids on most days. My mum had a birthday while we were there and they decorated the dinner table. Nice location within walking distance to the beach and amenities. We enjoyed a stroll in the evening. The hotel entertainment was fine, enough for our needs. Overall a really lovely stay. We will be going back.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
dronfield
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 1, 2013

RIU took over this hotel in November 2012, and has refurbished it, as most other reports it is very good value for money the food is very good, staff are friendly and helpful. We asked for a high, quiet, room and they delivered. However, it may not be to every ones taste (view was of an old but in use hospital), but the side road was very quiet, green parakeets aside. 15 mins walk away is the local train station, where the trains run every 20 mins to Malaga or Fuengirola. They stop at all stations in between. Example of fare is 3 euros 60 return to Fuengi. Tickets are self-service from a machine, you can select English to help with purchase, it gives change if you do not have exact amount in notes or coins.
Where improvements could be made - The bedroom doors need soft closers to eliminate guests door slamming. It is not clear when you arrive how to obtain water on the all-inclusive tariff, this makes some guests fill up their own water bottles from the self-service machines creating a health hazard.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Scotland
Top Contributor
50 reviews 50 reviews
26 hotel reviews
Reviews in 32 cities Reviews in 32 cities
79 helpful votes 79 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 30, 2013

My partner and I stayed here for four nights in May on an all inclusive basis and have to say overall we liked it. The hotel was clean, staff friendly, food excellent with plenty of choices each night. Pool area was well maintained and there were plenty of sunbeds. Our room was serviced every day and the facilities within it were fine for us during our short stay. I would recommend this hotel for a long weekend stay.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 29, 2013 via mobile

With a group of friends (lads) stayed here for 3 night and had a good experience. The all inclusive deal os great value as the food and drink is very good. There is an element of OAPs being the majority but it didn't bother us. Local bars are good. Friendly staff and the management are good. Shops amd pubs nearby, watched Spurs beat Southampton in EPL then took a walk along the beach. Decent place for a chill out.

  • Stayed May 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Riu Hotel Luca Costa Lago? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Riu Hotel Luca Costa Lago

Address: Obispo Juan Alonso, 4, 29620 Torremolinos, Spain
Location: Spain > Andalucia > Province of Malaga > Costa del Sol > Torremolinos
Amenities:
Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#6 Luxury Hotel in Torremolinos
#10 Family Hotel in Torremolinos
#10 Romantic Hotel in Torremolinos
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Riu Hotel Luca Costa Lago 4*
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Tingo, Otel and Venere so you can book your Riu Hotel Luca Costa Lago reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Costa Lago Torremolinos
Hotel Costa Lago
Riu Hotel Luca Costa Lago Torremolinos, Costa Del Sol, Spain

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Riu Hotel Luca Costa Lago, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.