We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good but could be excellent” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel Riu Costa Lago

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Save
You added Hotel Riu Costa Lago to your Saves list
Hotel Riu Costa Lago
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Obispo Juan Alonso, 4, 29620 Torremolinos, Spain   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel packages
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Your first gift: 500 pts
Ranked #11 of 73 Hotels in Torremolinos
Certificate of Excellence
Worcester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
12 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Good but could be excellent”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 25, 2013

Fantastic food, excellent staff and great location for the beach. We went for a friends 40th and were greeted with champagne on arrival which was a lovely touch. Was perfect for what we wanted which was a relaxing break, close to the beach. We had rooms with seperate lounge area which was great for getting ready. Negatives: Sun loungers really hard could do with some type of mattress. Also beds in rooms were very hard. Also, I wouldn't book it for a family holiday for myself personally as there wasnt really a snack bar for children to get ice creams or snacks from which I have never known before for an all inclusive hotel. If you weren't into bread rolls with a bit of ham and cheese then you would have to go to the restaurant for lunch and have an ice cream then which sometimes is a bit inconvenient. Also everything seems to finish in the day very early, the pool closes at 6pm and so does the outside bar and dinner finishes at 8.45 which again is not something I have experienced before on AI its usually much later. The outside bar during the day seems very isolated its a shame that that it is not opened up a bit more and instead of having sun loungers on the raised area, it would be nice to have more tables and chairs that are in the sun and not always shaded. But if you don't want ice-creams on tap and the usual snacks available in the day then this is a lovely choice of hotel.

Room Tip: Rooms 432 to 422 have the sun on the balcony all day and have a great view of the beach but they are...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank stevensonhousemover
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,762 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More
Chatham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
10 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 25, 2013

just returned from the costa lago hotel ,what can i say about it ?brilliant from the moment we arrived ,with are daughter and granchildren aged 3 and 5.staff go out of the way to accomodate with any reguest you might have ,very good selection of food ,drinks hotel is kept spotless,entertainmeant team work really hard.THINGS TO DO,SEALIFE in belamadena dolphine park in belamadena Water park in belamadena ,bus stop opposite hotel take line 2 TO Town then line 1 to belemadena buses very cheap children under 4 FREE.Hotel just a 5minute stroll to beach and shops bib super market just of the prom cant miss the signs 10 MINUTE STROLL t0 it.TAXIfrom airport to hotel 20 EUROS A BIT STEEP ONLY a short ride from airport will only take 3 in a car.will begoing back next year cant wait.

Room Tip: make sure you book a lounge
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank denise1953
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Abertillery, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 24, 2013

Just returned from a 2 week stay at this hotel and had a fantastic time.
First the negatives, and I am really being picky with these I know:
I would agree with the comments about the beds being hard, however, I am sure that if we used our tongues and asked the staff they would find some way of accommodating this. I had trouble sleeping with one pillow so used a blanket from one of the cupboards to bolster it up. The next day I had a brand new pillow to go with my original one without asking.
The toilets could be more plentiful but there are lifts to each floor and every bedroom has a toilet.
Lack of free wifi seems common around the area, but not much of a problem surely? Very cheap.
There was no fitness room/gym at the hotel, however it would depend on the clientele being targeted here, most of the older guests may not have used it and the children would not be allowed but an option would have been nice.
Now the positives:
The food was magnificent. Anyone of any age who could not find something delicious, varied and plentiful here could not have been looking properly. However picky kids can be, there was always something for anyone, and the ice cream at meal times was unlimited! Always superb quality and loads.
The hotel staff are top quality. All without exception could not do enough for any guests from the receptionists, to the bar staff, the restaurant staff, the cleaners, all of them were superb. The lifeguard controlled any wayward behaviour quietly, calmly and effectively so that other guests were not disturbed. The managers had a quiet assurance and controlled a very efficient place with ease and poise.
Sunbeds were not supposed to be reserved but the usual pointless rush to do this at 5 am did occur, however, there were always sunbeds available.
All in all we were very sad to leave and would not hesitate recommending this hotel. Thank you all for a fantastic time.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank huw66
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Liverpool, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 24, 2013

When we arrived we where handed a glass of wine or orange juice the foods where lovely can clean the couch was not the best the food was never the same a great choice for everyone the bar-staff Were pleasant and were quick at serving.
The location is not bad it's a 20 mins walk into the town centre not far from the train station it is not expensive to travel on the train.
The weather wasn't the best but we still had a wonderful holiday.
We are going back in October.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Alexefcbailey
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
newton abbot
Level Contributor
63 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 24, 2013

We were unsure what to expect with going to Torremolinos - all friends seemed to pull a face as if to say we must be mad.

Actually it was absolutely brilliant, the area of La Colina was excellent and well maintained and the Hotel was fantastic. The food was exceptionally good and varied with plenty of choice for adults and children. The whole place was spotless and the rooms were especially good, especially with having children, who were able to sleep in the separate lounge area, keeping out bedroom clear. The children enjoyed it so much that they are begging us to return next year.

Room Tip: All rooms were generally good, but we were on the 3rd floor(of 4) and farthest away from the recepti...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank kilnclose
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Murton, null, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 23, 2013

Just got back from a holiday at the riu costa lago with 5 of my friends we had no complaints the rooms were very spacious .the food was excellent the staff were brilliant .The entertainment could have been better but it did not spoil our holiday would definitely recommend this hotel

Room Tip: 4th floor pool facing room
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
5 Thank Ethel M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bedford, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed June 21, 2013

just got back from the 6th until 20th with my kids aged 10 and 13 where do i start you find out there ihflatbles in the pool lots of kids faces when they buy down the rd and get told get out of the pool by life guard , and when you go to the eat you can,t where vests or swimming shorts not enough entertainment at night there was,st no music at night even a cd playing i was told that there would be unlimited ice creams but was,nt none at all even for sale .hotel is nice but would,nt go back was,nt family freindly it full of older people bar closed at 12pm not so good if you are young

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
4 Thank 970paulm10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Torremolinos
0.1 mi away
Hotel Riu Belplaya
Hotel Riu Belplaya
#16 of 73 in Torremolinos
4.0 of 5 stars 1,107 reviews
0.1 mi away
Marconfort Beach Club Hotel
Marconfort Beach Club Hotel
#17 of 73 in Torremolinos
4.0 of 5 stars 2,135 reviews
0.3 mi away
Hotel Sol Principe
Hotel Sol Principe
#24 of 73 in Torremolinos
4.0 of 5 stars 1,965 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.1 mi away
Melia Costa del Sol
Melia Costa del Sol
#6 of 73 in Torremolinos
4.0 of 5 stars 2,198 reviews
2.6 mi away
Hotel Riu Nautilus
Hotel Riu Nautilus
#2 of 73 in Torremolinos
4.5 of 5 stars 891 reviews
1.0 mi away
Gran Cervantes by Blue Sea
Gran Cervantes by Blue Sea
#39 of 73 in Torremolinos
3.5 of 5 stars 2,282 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Riu Costa Lago? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Riu Costa Lago

Address: Obispo Juan Alonso, 4, 29620 Torremolinos, Spain
Location: Spain > Andalucia > Province of Malaga > Costa del Sol > Torremolinos
Amenities:
Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#7 Luxury Hotel in Torremolinos
#9 Family Hotel in Torremolinos
#11 Romantic Hotel in Torremolinos
Price Range (Based on Average Rates):
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Riu Costa Lago 4*
Number of rooms: 256
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Hotels.com, Venere, Expedia and Travelocity so you can book your Hotel Riu Costa Lago reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Costa Lago Torremolinos
Hotel Costa Lago
Hotel Riu Costa Lago Torremolinos, Costa Del Sol, Spain

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing
#