We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“3rd may 2013” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Riu Hotel Luca Costa Lago

Save Saved
You added Riu Hotel Luca Costa Lago to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Riu Hotel Luca Costa Lago
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Obispo Juan Alonso, 4, 29620 Torremolinos, Spain   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel packages
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #13 of 74 hotels in Torremolinos
Manchester, United Kingdom
1 review
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
“3rd may 2013”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 12, 2013

had a great time here close to beach and bars all staff very helpful met nice people including Riola and Ann food very nice I would go for second sitting its quitter than the first hope to go again soon .

Room Tip: rooms 120 to 140 a bit noisy
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

947 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    302
    362
    145
    69
    69
See reviews for
303
386
15
2
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (268)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
newcastle upon tyne
Senior Contributor
33 reviews 33 reviews
17 hotel reviews
Reviews in 23 cities Reviews in 23 cities
52 helpful votes 52 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 12, 2013

Hi Guys
My wife and I had a week at the RIU Casta Lago on the 14th of April 13.
We found the hotel to be very clean,rooms nice but abit basic,but with lots of hanging space for clothes his & hers wardrodes.(oh hairdryer in bathroom girls)
No kettle or fridge in the rooms which is abit of a let down we think and the air condition dosen't get turned on till the summer,we found that out cos it was hitting 28c so we asked at the reception but were told its only switch on in high season.
Our bath could do with replacing,but only in for quick shower so no great worry,oh towel have to be put on bathroonm floor if you what them replaced.
Great bar & restaurant staff & indeed all the staff were very friendly.
The restaurant does two sitting for dinner 6.30 & 8.30 you are allocated a table when you first go in & then thats your table for length of your stay(only dinner) Breakfast & lunch you can sit anywhere.Trousers for dinner gents!
The restaurant is very tidy & clean,great food lots of choice we both put on weight hmmmm.
nice house wine & soft drinks & larger you help yourself too.

The pools looked abit small was okay for early season but might be abit manic in high season,same with sun loungers might be a problem when the place is full.
Anyway we don't hang around the pool all day ,off to the beach (rough sand)nice flat walk just down the road from hotel,great for people who find it hard at walking.

You'll find the front very flat nice walk along to old town & marina get a drink & watch the yacht's see how the rich pass there time,some really big yacht's.
Lots of bars & restaurants I found a small Irish bar for footy we never tried any restaurants always full from food at hotel.

One small problem was half way into our week the hotel let in a very large group of men on abit of a stag thing,they were very noisey drank by pool all day & night with very bad language.
People did complain about them,but were told the staff would not approach them because they were always drunk!!.I will be contacting RIU
Would we go back to this hotel YES but early or late season,not sure about high season.
We meat some very nice people mostly French,but had a good laugh trying to understand each other.
Entertainment was okay nothing great apart from one black lady singer,with nice voice.Oh they did bingo & quiz's the very young looking girl who comp'ere & ran the sports worked very hard & was very good at her job.
Yes overall we enjoyed our stay at this RIU hotel.
Many thanks the GEORDIES

Room Tip: Ask for inside/pool room Enjoy the walk long the front
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sheffield, United Kingdom
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 9, 2013

Stayed for ten days in March/ April. Very good experience, staff wonderful, food very good, drinks & service very good, rooms slightly dated bur very clean. Only downside is bar not big enough and toilets too far away from communal areas.

Room Tip: Ask for road facing room to get the sun all day
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Carisbrooke, Wales
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
24 helpful votes 24 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 7, 2013

Firstly, this is a great hotel. Staff are vary pleasant and helpful, food is fantastic and plentiful. The sparkling wine is very good, but the red wine is appalling. I cannot really fault this hotel and will definately stay here again, great bus and train links - and a lovely promenade for extremely long walks. The pools are great, plentiful sun loungers and the outdoor bar is lovely as has shaded areas if it gets too hot. We had a quick look around the RIU Belplaya next door - is is not a patch on the Costa Lago so stay at the costa lago !!!
If you want to to watch any football, there is a bar opposite the hotel called "The eat & drink" owned by londoner Ricky. He shows all the English league football on 2 large TV's that have a fantastic picture, and the booze prices are very reasonable.

Room Tip: does not matter where you stay
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
liverpool
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
16 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
31 helpful votes 31 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 3, 2013

We stayed at this hotel last year when it was under different ownership so were a bit tentative as to how it would be under the Riu brand. We needn't have worried. Although many of the faces have changed the service is still the same and the food still as wonderful. We like going to hotels just off peak time so it's not too crowded and this time of year was perfect. Sunbeds anytime of day available. rooms spotless as usual, cleanliness throughout the whole hotel
Great hotel for a peaceful little break.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Blyth, United Kingdom
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 3, 2013

I have recently returned from this hotel in Torremolinos. I found the staff all very pleasant and helpful, especially the reception desk staff. . We were given a ground floor room, overlooking the car park, which I was not happy with, but on asking at the desk for a different room we were given a third floor room overlooking the pool, without any fuss.. The room was excellent, with a separate sitting area, and was kept spotlessly clean by a very happy cleaning staff. The food was excellent and there was plenty of it and lots of choices. My only criticism would be the lay out of the dining room caused a lot of walking about, and criss-crossing with plates of food etc.
and it took a few days to find where everything was. This was not a great problem but could have been made easier I think. The entertainment wasn't wonderful, but was good on some evenings, and was probably more suited to the older generation. I would certainly recommend this hotel and would go back again.

Room Tip: I wouldn't advise room 153 unless wanting a ground floor room overlooking the car park, but 303...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 8
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Copenhagen, Denmark
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 30, 2013

I stayed at this hotel for one week in April with my boyfriend and our son, who is 8 months old. We wanted to stay at a hotel, which could make the first vacation with our son as easy as possible, so we wouldn't have to think about anything else than relaxing. The hotel met all our expectations (except that the kids' pool wasn't heated). The all-inclusive gave all of us a great breakfast, lunch and dinner plus beverages all day. We had a nice quiet room and could go to bed early with our son - we never heard a sound from the bar which was open in the evening. The location was great for us as well. We could park our rented car right outside for free and walk to the beach and midtown. Btw trips to butterfly park, Mijas town, Malaga town, bio park in Fuengirola and Fuengirola town can be recommended for families - all only short drives away! The only thing about the hotel that didn't meet our expectations for at hotel in 2013 was that the internet wasn't free and it only works in the reception area. Instead we bought a prepaid sim card with data from Vodaphone. However, the best thing at the hotel was the fact that the staff was the friendliest we ever met at any hotel we ever stayed in all over the world! They were all smiles :-)

Room Tip: Families with children should ask for a room far away from the bar
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Riu Hotel Luca Costa Lago? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Riu Hotel Luca Costa Lago

Also Known As:
Costa Lago Torremolinos
Hotel Costa Lago
Costa Lago
Riu Hotel Luca Costa Lago Torremolinos, Costa Del Sol, Spain
Address: Obispo Juan Alonso, 4, 29620 Torremolinos, Spain
Location: Spain > Andalucia > Province of Malaga > Costa del Sol > Torremolinos
Amenities:
Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#7 Luxury Hotel in Torremolinos
#13 Family Hotel in Torremolinos
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Riu Hotel Luca Costa Lago 4*
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Expedia, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Tingo, Otel, TripOnline SA and HotelsClick so you can book your Riu Hotel Luca Costa Lago reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Riu Hotel Luca Costa Lago, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.