We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good Value” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Riu Hotel Luca Costa Lago

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Save
You added Riu Hotel Luca Costa Lago to your Saves list
Riu Hotel Luca Costa Lago
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Obispo Juan Alonso, 4, 29620 Torremolinos, Spain   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel packages
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Black Fri-Cyber Mon SALE
Ranked #11 of 72 Hotels in Torremolinos
Sheffield, United Kingdom
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
“Good Value”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 9, 2013

Stayed for ten days in March/ April. Very good experience, staff wonderful, food very good, drinks & service very good, rooms slightly dated bur very clean. Only downside is bar not big enough and toilets too far away from communal areas.

Room Tip: Ask for road facing room to get the sun all day
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,240 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    413
    492
    184
    78
    73
See reviews for
406
480
18
3
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (359)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Carisbrooke, Wales
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 7, 2013

Firstly, this is a great hotel. Staff are vary pleasant and helpful, food is fantastic and plentiful. The sparkling wine is very good, but the red wine is appalling. I cannot really fault this hotel and will definately stay here again, great bus and train links - and a lovely promenade for extremely long walks. The pools are great, plentiful sun loungers and the outdoor bar is lovely as has shaded areas if it gets too hot. We had a quick look around the RIU Belplaya next door - is is not a patch on the Costa Lago so stay at the costa lago !!!
If you want to to watch any football, there is a bar opposite the hotel called "The eat & drink" owned by londoner Ricky. He shows all the English league football on 2 large TV's that have a fantastic picture, and the booze prices are very reasonable.

Room Tip: does not matter where you stay
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
liverpool
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
17 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
31 helpful votes 31 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 3, 2013

We stayed at this hotel last year when it was under different ownership so were a bit tentative as to how it would be under the Riu brand. We needn't have worried. Although many of the faces have changed the service is still the same and the food still as wonderful. We like going to hotels just off peak time so it's not too crowded and this time of year was perfect. Sunbeds anytime of day available. rooms spotless as usual, cleanliness throughout the whole hotel
Great hotel for a peaceful little break.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Blyth, United Kingdom
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 3, 2013

I have recently returned from this hotel in Torremolinos. I found the staff all very pleasant and helpful, especially the reception desk staff. . We were given a ground floor room, overlooking the car park, which I was not happy with, but on asking at the desk for a different room we were given a third floor room overlooking the pool, without any fuss.. The room was excellent, with a separate sitting area, and was kept spotlessly clean by a very happy cleaning staff. The food was excellent and there was plenty of it and lots of choices. My only criticism would be the lay out of the dining room caused a lot of walking about, and criss-crossing with plates of food etc.
and it took a few days to find where everything was. This was not a great problem but could have been made easier I think. The entertainment wasn't wonderful, but was good on some evenings, and was probably more suited to the older generation. I would certainly recommend this hotel and would go back again.

Room Tip: I wouldn't advise room 153 unless wanting a ground floor room overlooking the car park, but 303...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 9
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Copenhagen, Denmark
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 30, 2013

I stayed at this hotel for one week in April with my boyfriend and our son, who is 8 months old. We wanted to stay at a hotel, which could make the first vacation with our son as easy as possible, so we wouldn't have to think about anything else than relaxing. The hotel met all our expectations (except that the kids' pool wasn't heated). The all-inclusive gave all of us a great breakfast, lunch and dinner plus beverages all day. We had a nice quiet room and could go to bed early with our son - we never heard a sound from the bar which was open in the evening. The location was great for us as well. We could park our rented car right outside for free and walk to the beach and midtown. Btw trips to butterfly park, Mijas town, Malaga town, bio park in Fuengirola and Fuengirola town can be recommended for families - all only short drives away! The only thing about the hotel that didn't meet our expectations for at hotel in 2013 was that the internet wasn't free and it only works in the reception area. Instead we bought a prepaid sim card with data from Vodaphone. However, the best thing at the hotel was the fact that the staff was the friendliest we ever met at any hotel we ever stayed in all over the world! They were all smiles :-)

Room Tip: Families with children should ask for a room far away from the bar
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Belfast
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
19 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
78 helpful votes 78 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed April 30, 2013

Stayed here is September for 10 nights, The room we were allocated was terrible, you went in to a small room with little light ( like a tiny doctors surgery) then through to a small bedroom when I complained at reception they informed me they would move me the next day and they did with no hassle to a beautiful room beside the pool. We had a late sitting for dinner and though the food was lovely I felt we should have been able to eat when we wanted, The snacks were bad, hard rolls with ham ( spam) and cheese though there was plenty of fruit. Drinks were good and were able to help ourselves. The staff were lovely and entertainment was quite good on some of the nights. My main gripe was the set dinner times, 1st sitting too early and the 2nd too late, this would ensure I would not go back to this hotel.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
england
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
58 helpful votes 58 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 28, 2013

We have just returned 21 April 2013, from our second visit to this excellent hotel.

From the moment you arrive your made to feel special, helpful and good mannered reception staff, who make you aware of the hotels many facilities and direct you to your room quickly and efficiently.

The hotel is spotlessly clean, the rooms are cleaned daily, the food is, well all I can say superb!, plenty of choice from roasts meats and vegetable's chips etc to a variety of specialised dishes and sweets, I eat far to much but your on holiday so worry about losing the pounds when you get home.

We like this hotel because of its location, its in a quite part of Torremolinos away from the towns bars and clubs but in easy reach if that's what your looking for, its well serviced by buses, taxi's and a train station which is 10 min walk away, so getting about to explore other parts of the coast line, resorts is easy, or if you just won't to spend a lazy day on the beach soaking up the sun then a 2 minute walk is all it takes to a spotlessly clean beach, fun for all the family.

I could go on but if you look through the many positive review's for this hotel I'm sure you'll see that a lot of other visitors have all have similar experience's and opinions, so don't take my word for this book it and see for yourselves you won't be disappointed.

Just one other thing, the entertainment has improved from the last time we visited, possibly the influence of the Rui group who now operate this hotel, were not sure, but there was something on every night from drag acts (very funny) to vocal artists and flamenco dancing.

All in all, another enjoyable holiday at what is one of our favourite hotels.

Room Tip: Ask for a room overlooking the pool as these get sun all day.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 8
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Riu Hotel Luca Costa Lago? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Riu Hotel Luca Costa Lago

Address: Obispo Juan Alonso, 4, 29620 Torremolinos, Spain
Location: Spain > Andalucia > Province of Malaga > Costa del Sol > Torremolinos
Amenities:
Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#6 Luxury Hotel in Torremolinos
#10 Family Hotel in Torremolinos
#14 Romantic Hotel in Torremolinos
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Riu Hotel Luca Costa Lago 4*
Number of rooms: 256
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Hotels.com, Expedia, Venere, Travelocity, Otel, TripOnline SA, Despegar.com and Tingo so you can book your Riu Hotel Luca Costa Lago reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Costa Lago Torremolinos
Hotel Costa Lago
Riu Hotel Luca Costa Lago Torremolinos, Costa Del Sol, Spain

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Riu Hotel Luca Costa Lago, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.