We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great holiday, lovely hotel, no complaints” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Riu Hotel Luca Costa Lago

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Save
You added Riu Hotel Luca Costa Lago to your Saves list
Riu Hotel Luca Costa Lago
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Obispo Juan Alonso, 4, 29620 Torremolinos, Spain   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel packages
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #11 of 73 Hotels in Torremolinos
Stafford, Staffordshire, England
Top Contributor
53 reviews 53 reviews
31 hotel reviews
Reviews in 24 cities Reviews in 24 cities
58 helpful votes 58 helpful votes
“Great holiday, lovely hotel, no complaints”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 20, 2013

Just returned from a "girlie" week (9 of us all around the 60 age group!) staying at the Riu Costa Lago. Very nice hotel, good food, very clean rooms, cleaned daily and towels changed. Pool area and terrace area clean and pleasant. Lots of sunbeds. Staff very pleasant and helpful. Food very plentiful and very varied choice. Snacks - rolls, cheese, ham and cake - available from 4pm in the conservatory. A packed lunch will be provided if booked the evening before consisting of various fruit, bottled water and you can make your own rolls from the breakfast food to take out with you. A very welcome and flexible idea! Hotel is less than a 5 minute walk from the seafront/premenade/nearest supermarket/shops/restaurants. Bus stop right opposite hotel entrance. Would recommend booking your trips with the agent on the right hand side as you come out of the hotel and head for the beach - about 300 yards away from hotel. Much cheaper than in the hotel and speaks good English and very helpful. Would also recommend the Irish bar just off the main promenade (closed on Sunday evenings). Turn left out of hotel to the main promenade, then turn right. Just about half a mile and just after the traffic island, there is a small opening on the right hand side of the promenade. We had an excellent evening there on the Saturday - highly recommended. Live singers and brilliant atmosphere. Would also recommend a trip to Gibralter (very cheap cigarettes/tobacco/alcohol) and hope you get better weather than we did - torrential rain and wind all day! Would love to see it on a nice sunny day! Also Seville is a very lovely city and well worth the two/three hour coach trip to get there. Or hire a car - very good roads. Enjoy.

Room Tip: Ask for a room with a pool view. Our balcony - 346 - got very little sun (March).
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,251 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    417
    498
    185
    78
    73
See reviews for
407
486
19
3
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (361)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
York
Senior Contributor
29 reviews 29 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
51 helpful votes 51 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 20, 2013

Just got back from a lovely week at this Riu hotel and wonder if some people go on holiday just to find faults!!!!
We had a lovely time in spite of the weather which hasnt been good in this area for a few weeks. We had three days of rain but didnt let it spoil our holiday.
The hotel is very welcoming, spacious and clean. The staff are all friendly and this is in spite of quite a number of guests never using the words please or thank you.
The food was very good with plenty of choices for breakfast - cereals, continental, full breakfasts with lovely bacon, scrambled, fried or boiled eggs. The bread selection was lovely and fresh with plenty of different choices. One strange thing was cold sprouts on the continental section one morning (but thankfully noone forced you to eat them like my mum did when we were young LOL) If you take coffe with your breakfast you need to pick up a 'flask' near the breads and take it to your table, otherwise the teas and decaf ar at the far end of the restaurant.
At lunch and dinner on AI you help yourself to beer, wine or soft drinks and there were always two soups to choose from. Then salad bar and choice of meats or fish on the hot selection, a good selection of sweets, fresh fruit, ice cream and a selection with cheese and biscuits.
At night you need to choose your sitting at 6.30 or 8.15 but can easily swap if you wish. The head waiter allocates you a table for the duration of you holiday but only for the evening meal. At the evening meal there is a carvery in addition to the servery meals where we had beef, pork, turkey, gammon and some wonderful fish.
Like others we were not mpressed with the entertainment but we just treat it as background noise. The bar staff were very efficient and provided local versions of most drinks.
The only thing missing from this hotel is an inside pool which would have been a bonus for us because of the weather.
Outside the hotel we had trips to Malaga and Fuengirola on the train which is about a 10 min walk from the hotel. Turn right out of the hotel up to the roundabout then right again. The station La Colina is on the left. Both trips 1.95 each way and the machine on the station gives change. Press the screen at the bottom left to bring up English then it says Adult single or to the right is the Adult return but its not in English for some reason. Keep you ticket to get out of the staion at your destination. These trains are soptless
We also had a leasurely walk to Benalmadena and back one day along the promenade and it is really worth a visit.
Also as you walk along the seafront pass the dolphin roundabout and the next one then look out for a shop called Ali Babas and go up this narrow street to find lots of little shops on the streets that head up to the main town.
So after reading this if you decide to book I hope you will enjoy yourselves, we certainly did.

Room Tip: We had 216 which got the afternoon sun and overlooked the pool
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Leicester, United Kingdom
1 review
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 18, 2013

Just got back from the Costa Lago, second time here, went last year and had a wonderful week with brilliant weather, this time round the weather was not all that good but we still had a great week. All the staff are very friendly and helpful and always greet you with a smile :-) hotel is very clean, food is of a good standard, always found plenty of choice. Would still return for a winter break. Plenty of positive reviews which this hotel deserves. Enjoy

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Middlesbrough, England, United Kingdom
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 18, 2013

Just returned from a really enjoyable week in the Riu Costa Lago Hotel. From the minute we arrived we were made welcome and the whole hotel had a very relaxed and friendly atmosphere. The staff were excellent and nothing was too much trouble. The food was very good with a varied choice at each meal time so that there was something to suit all tastes. Our room was spotless and towels and bedding were changed regularly. Our rep was one of the best we have had on any of our holidays. Unfortunately the weather wasn't as kind as it could have been but nobody has any control over that and we definately made the most of the days when the sun did shine. The hotel is at the quiet end of the resort but the buses and trains are very regular and convenient, The entertainment left a bit to be desired but we went across the road to the Irish bar and thoroughly enjoyed the music and atmosphere there - well worth a visit. All in all we had a great time and would definately go back the this hotel.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Leicester, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 17, 2013

It is nice to arrive at an Hotel to be met with a smile. It is even better to be greeted by a smile every time you approach the Reception. From the first moment we were treated as welcome guests and this did not diminish. The accommodation was faultless, clean, well serviced and comfortable. The restaurant offered a wide choice of food at each meal and the quality could not be bettered. Soft drinks, beer and decent wine was available on tap for 'all inclusive' guests. Two sittings at dinner worked well. If one needed to change sittings it was sorted without fuss. Poolside was well stocked with sunbeds and had decent but unheated pools. The poolside bar was still under construction (late!) when we were there but this should make things even better. Few downsides. The toilets are quite away from the bar ,one level lower!.Entertainment, although I acknowledge is difficult for mixed nationalities, was not very good and resulted in my group going accross the road on 3 nights out of 7 to the little Irish Bar for live entertainment. Acts ending at 10.30 pm will not keep guests in the bar. Is this a ploy to save on 'all inclusive' guests? No. I don't think they are that clever!

Room Tip: Top Floor is better
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
sunderland
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
25 helpful votes 25 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 17, 2013

we went to this hotel despite hearing bad reports about torremolinos and we were very pleased that we did. the check in was very quick and efficient, the resteraunt served a wide variety of meals and was of a very good standard even a fussy eater like myself could always find a nice meal.. the rooms are very comfortable and clean and overall it was a very good holiday even in january and nothing was too much trouble for the staff and management and i would certainly reccomend this hotel .

Room Tip: ask for a quiet room as some pool view rooms can be a bit noisy
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
manchester
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed March 16, 2013

Stayed 8-3-2013 to 15-3-2013 ,this is a good hotel and staff are really friendly but after 4 day s of bad weather i was bored to death ,not enough to do during the day other hotels have games and a animation team to keep you busy ,i could have come home ,the rooms are good and have tv with news channel and itv1+1, i watched Jeremy Kyle for the first time, thats how bad it got , i m now a tricia guest, take films with you or games .Food was good there are two sittings 6pm and 8pm sometimes its 8.15.The tables are close together so you sit with other guests i found that weird , if you get the later sitting you wont get a table in the bar , then you dont have to watch the entertainment if thats what you call it ,2ish out of 10 .its anybody outside walking past dragged in to sing. its really bad . the loo is about 100 metres then downstairs then 30 metres , ,We went to Gibralter wednesday for 12 euros with africa tours then thursday with thomson for 19 euros the thomson one was best didnt have as much pickups still took 2 hours+. we were unlucky with the weather i know but torremolinos looked scruffy i wouldnt return, 1 hours walk to the marina in benalmadina, fantastic , im home now thank god and back working, watch out for strikes by baggage handlers.

Room Tip: ask for a room on the far side so you get the sun in the afternoon
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Riu Hotel Luca Costa Lago? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Riu Hotel Luca Costa Lago

Address: Obispo Juan Alonso, 4, 29620 Torremolinos, Spain
Location: Spain > Andalucia > Province of Malaga > Costa del Sol > Torremolinos
Amenities:
Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#6 Luxury Hotel in Torremolinos
#10 Family Hotel in Torremolinos
#14 Romantic Hotel in Torremolinos
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Riu Hotel Luca Costa Lago 4*
Number of rooms: 256
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Expedia, Hotels.com, Cheap Tickets, TripOnline SA, Despegar.com, Travelocity and Tingo so you can book your Riu Hotel Luca Costa Lago reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Costa Lago Torremolinos
Hotel Costa Lago
Riu Hotel Luca Costa Lago Torremolinos, Costa Del Sol, Spain

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Riu Hotel Luca Costa Lago, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.