We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Holiday, Low Price” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Riu Hotel Luca Costa Lago

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Save
You added Riu Hotel Luca Costa Lago to your Saves list
Riu Hotel Luca Costa Lago
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Obispo Juan Alonso, 4, 29620 Torremolinos, Spain   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel packages
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
EARLY BIRD SPRING DEALS
Ranked #9 of 73 Hotels in Torremolinos
Middlesbrough, England, United Kingdom
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
“Great Holiday, Low Price”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 18, 2013

Just returned from a really enjoyable week in the Riu Costa Lago Hotel. From the minute we arrived we were made welcome and the whole hotel had a very relaxed and friendly atmosphere. The staff were excellent and nothing was too much trouble. The food was very good with a varied choice at each meal time so that there was something to suit all tastes. Our room was spotless and towels and bedding were changed regularly. Our rep was one of the best we have had on any of our holidays. Unfortunately the weather wasn't as kind as it could have been but nobody has any control over that and we definately made the most of the days when the sun did shine. The hotel is at the quiet end of the resort but the buses and trains are very regular and convenient, The entertainment left a bit to be desired but we went across the road to the Irish bar and thoroughly enjoyed the music and atmosphere there - well worth a visit. All in all we had a great time and would definately go back the this hotel.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,299 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    437
    517
    192
    80
    73
See reviews for
416
507
21
3
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (380)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Leicester, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
22 helpful votes 22 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 17, 2013

It is nice to arrive at an Hotel to be met with a smile. It is even better to be greeted by a smile every time you approach the Reception. From the first moment we were treated as welcome guests and this did not diminish. The accommodation was faultless, clean, well serviced and comfortable. The restaurant offered a wide choice of food at each meal and the quality could not be bettered. Soft drinks, beer and decent wine was available on tap for 'all inclusive' guests. Two sittings at dinner worked well. If one needed to change sittings it was sorted without fuss. Poolside was well stocked with sunbeds and had decent but unheated pools. The poolside bar was still under construction (late!) when we were there but this should make things even better. Few downsides. The toilets are quite away from the bar ,one level lower!.Entertainment, although I acknowledge is difficult for mixed nationalities, was not very good and resulted in my group going accross the road on 3 nights out of 7 to the little Irish Bar for live entertainment. Acts ending at 10.30 pm will not keep guests in the bar. Is this a ploy to save on 'all inclusive' guests? No. I don't think they are that clever!

Room Tip: Top Floor is better
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
sunderland
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
25 helpful votes 25 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 17, 2013

we went to this hotel despite hearing bad reports about torremolinos and we were very pleased that we did. the check in was very quick and efficient, the resteraunt served a wide variety of meals and was of a very good standard even a fussy eater like myself could always find a nice meal.. the rooms are very comfortable and clean and overall it was a very good holiday even in january and nothing was too much trouble for the staff and management and i would certainly reccomend this hotel .

Room Tip: ask for a quiet room as some pool view rooms can be a bit noisy
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
manchester
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed March 16, 2013

Stayed 8-3-2013 to 15-3-2013 ,this is a good hotel and staff are really friendly but after 4 day s of bad weather i was bored to death ,not enough to do during the day other hotels have games and a animation team to keep you busy ,i could have come home ,the rooms are good and have tv with news channel and itv1+1, i watched Jeremy Kyle for the first time, thats how bad it got , i m now a tricia guest, take films with you or games .Food was good there are two sittings 6pm and 8pm sometimes its 8.15.The tables are close together so you sit with other guests i found that weird , if you get the later sitting you wont get a table in the bar , then you dont have to watch the entertainment if thats what you call it ,2ish out of 10 .its anybody outside walking past dragged in to sing. its really bad . the loo is about 100 metres then downstairs then 30 metres , ,We went to Gibralter wednesday for 12 euros with africa tours then thursday with thomson for 19 euros the thomson one was best didnt have as much pickups still took 2 hours+. we were unlucky with the weather i know but torremolinos looked scruffy i wouldnt return, 1 hours walk to the marina in benalmadina, fantastic , im home now thank god and back working, watch out for strikes by baggage handlers.

Room Tip: ask for a room on the far side so you get the sun in the afternoon
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
newcastle
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
3 of 5 stars Reviewed March 16, 2013

Stayed here for 3 nights at beginning of March. Weather rubbish but not the hotels fault!
Check in was fast and got rooms that we requested, nice gentleman on reception and of course the glass of cava was provided.
Food.. Breakfast was lovely,lunch and dinner ok always found something to eat ,some of the meat was undercooked though,snack bar practically non existent ( an hour in the afternoon with bread buns ,cheese slices,ham ,salami and some sort of cake)
Rooms.. Large enough for the two of us..sitting area seemed a bit pointless,definitely needed updating.
Cleanliness.. Very clean with fresh towels when required.
Entertainment.. We saw the young girl doing daytime entertainment a couple of timesShe was lovely and tried her hardest to get people involved in indoor boules,night time was a magic show , a lady singer and a man playing an organ!!
Drinks/ bar.. Quality of drinks varied throughout our stay from poor to good.. No baileys on our first night and when it did arrive was very weak.

the main problem we had was finding somewhere at night to just chill out with a few drinks.. There was only one bar and that was where the entertainment was on so couldn't hear each other speak.. We ended up in the conservatory on the other side of the hallway. The first night after the bar closed we were told to be quiet!!!! The second night they just switched all the lights off on us.. It was pitch black..luckily no one had an accident.. We were then told if we kept the noise down they would put them back on..
I go on holiday to relax and have a laugh.. At over 40 years old I do not expect to be told off by a young receptionist..

All the staff we encountered apart from the night time receptionist were great though..
There are better 4 star places to spend you money .. We would not return.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ipswich, United Kingdom
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 15, 2013

The staff were really friendly and very helpful, the rooms were spotlessly clean and the food was lovely there was always plenty to choose from, my husband is a fussy eater but he always found something to eat. We went with our friends and they too were very happy with the hotel and we cant wait to book again next year!

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Grays Thurrock, United Kingdom
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 15, 2013

Got home today (15/03/13) after a weeks stay at this hotel,has as been stated on previous posts was greeted with a glass of cava but asked for a fruit juice instead and the waiter was only to happy to oblige,room wasn't ready but not a problem went to the bar for an hour,when we finally got into our room was surprised at how spacious it was (4th floor overlooking the front of the hotel), plenty of storage space and enough hangers for all our clothes.food was good,probably one complaint here was that chicken and pork was on the menu most evenings although there was other options available,try the stir fry,excellent and even for the most fussy of eaters there was something to tickle your taste buds.drinks was ok a litte bit weak for my liking but maybe if I,d asked for less ice this would,ve helped.Staff were always smiling and ready for an"hola", from the cleaners to the hotel management who were always to be seen around the hotel and seemed to know who you were after only meeting you once.A negative, again has as been stated the wi fi was not ideal only available in two locations throughout the hotel,and one of these being in a corner of reception,but the price not to bad.Would we go back, yes defiantly.

Stayed March 2013, traveled with friends
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Riu Hotel Luca Costa Lago? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Riu Hotel Luca Costa Lago

Address: Obispo Juan Alonso, 4, 29620 Torremolinos, Spain
Location: Spain > Andalucia > Province of Malaga > Costa del Sol > Torremolinos
Amenities:
Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#5 Luxury Hotel in Torremolinos
#10 Family Hotel in Torremolinos
#13 Romantic Hotel in Torremolinos
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Riu Hotel Luca Costa Lago 4*
Number of rooms: 256
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Cheap Tickets, Despegar.com, Travelocity, TripOnline SA and Tingo so you can book your Riu Hotel Luca Costa Lago reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Costa Lago Torremolinos
Hotel Costa Lago
Riu Hotel Luca Costa Lago Torremolinos, Costa Del Sol, Spain

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Riu Hotel Luca Costa Lago, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.