We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A very good hotel” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel Riu Costa Lago

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Save
You added Hotel Riu Costa Lago to your Saves list
Hotel Riu Costa Lago
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Obispo Juan Alonso, 4, 29620 Torremolinos, Spain   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel packages
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
EARLY BIRD SPRING DEALS
Ranked #9 of 73 Hotels in Torremolinos
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Wales
Senior Contributor
25 reviews 25 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
22 helpful votes 22 helpful votes
“A very good hotel”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 6, 2013

We stayed here all inclusive from Sunday 30th to Jan 6th. The location is on the quieter end of town with nothing much going on but that suited us, you can walk miles along the front, bus stop across road, train station 10 mins away. We caught the train to Malaga with no hassle the ticket machine is simple to use and gives change. Our room was good, all staff were exceptionaly helpful & nice, cleanliness was good throughout hotel. I am a fussy eater and eat a limited diet as I dont like many foods. I found the food to be very good and always found something to eat even if it gets repetitive. I have put on 6 pounds in 1 week so that says it all. The Thomson rep Gary was very good and if you travel with them go to the welcome meeting as he gives a lot of tips on local travel. You can get train & bus timetables from reception. I would go back to this hotel as I have no negatives, each to their own opinions but I feel that some people complain about silly things like the TV stations? We had new years eve away in a warm climate for a very good price in a very good hotel.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,333 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    457
    529
    194
    80
    73
See reviews for
419
526
21
3
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (390)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Colchester, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
26 reviews 26 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
30 helpful votes 30 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 6, 2013

At first we had a bit of a problem because our room wasn't ready when we arrived even though it was well after the check in time. But they got it sorted fairly quickly with apologies so it was alright in the end. The rooms are nice. Slightly dated, but very clean and well maintained. The buffet restaurant is reasonably modern and the food is good, although not much choice so you find yourself eating the same thing a lot. The entertainment is brilliant for young children by the pool. Leo was the entertainer when we stayed here and he was excellent. Same with the evening entertainment. The kids are spoilt for choice but the adult entertainment is neglected and isn't that great.
The location is good, a few minutes from the beach and a 10 minute walk down the promenade links you on to lots of shops and bars and restaurants.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
middlesex
Senior Contributor
23 reviews 23 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
33 helpful votes 33 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 5, 2013

Stayed here for 3 nights over New Year. Hotel couldn't be faulted, All staff were friendly and helpful, food was good and The New Years Eve Gala Buffet excellent. Had a room with bedroom and living room, the only thing I didn't like was the television was in the bedroom, but then you dont go on holiday to watch television. Bus stop right outside hotel and railway station 10 minutes walk away. This hotel is at the end of Torremelinos about 20 minutes walk to La Carihuela beach, nice walk along seafront promenade.

Room Tip: Ask for a room on the inside cos these overlook pool and gadens
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 4, 2013

My husband and I have stayed at the Costa Lago 5 times, 4 over Christmas. We like the location and the quiet atmosphere. Playamar as opposed to Torremolinos is very pleasant. We have always found the staff helpful and friendly. They remember us year to year. The food is excellent and the hotel is very clean. The entertainment over Christmas was good especially the flamenco. There are several English speaking TV channels. We found fellow guests approachable and willing to chat and form friendships. It is a good family hotel.The transport links are excellent and there are so many places to visit eg Cordoba, Benalmadena, Mijas and Ronda. We went to Cordoba by train and came back by bus. Both journeys were comfortable. The motorway was very smooth. We intend to stay at the the hotel again.

Room Tip: Our room was on the 1st floor overlooking the street. It had a good view and was quiet. We were plea...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Great Britain
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
24 helpful votes 24 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 4, 2013

Arrived 22nd December having spent 2 nights at the Belplaya down the road. We were there as a party of four including my elderly mum. Received a glass of cava on arrival and check-in was quick and efficient. The food was lovely and always plenty of choice .As previously written the Christmas and New Year's eve Gala dinners were fantastic.We don't stay in the hotel at night so I cannot comment on the entertainment. We also didn't use the bar much so this was perhaps why we were ignored at least twice while the waiters served people who came after us .(Not the British I must add ) These people knew we were first but ordered anyway. It is not my job to teach people manners so I let it go. I was not however prepared to let people push my mum out of the way and told them so. After that no problem .. If I had to choose between the two Riu hotels I would definately choose the Costa Lago,

Room Tip: If you travel in the winter ask for a room which will get some sun during the day as one of our room...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
carmarthen
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 1, 2013

We travelled to the Riu Costa Lago on the 23rd of Dec 2012 for Christmas, this hotel is all inclusive, we were very impressed. We had a good size room, with a television which actually had an english channel ITV+1 on it. The rooms were kept immaculatly clean by the friendly cleaners, towels changed every day. In fact all the staff were brilliant all very friendly coudnt do enough for you. In the Restraunt you used any table for breakfast and lunch, then you were allocated a table and either a 6oclock sitting or an 8oclock sitting for the evening meal, for the length of your stay, the time could be swapped if you asked. The food was very good loads of choice at all meals. There was an area where you could get Tea Coffee and cold drinks all day. The bar service was excellent. The only thing we could fault this hotel with was the awful dire evening entertainment, every night it was a singer stood behind a musically enhanced organ singing aged old songs. The local transport was great with a bus stop over the road, and a great train service just up the road, for 190e each way to Fueringrola great value. We went on the train to Benelmadena to go on the brilliant cable cars which were just outside the train station, this was amazing fabulous views, areas to walk around when you got to the top, and an amazing bird show to see within the price of 12euros each if you got the tickets off the rep which was slightly cheaper than buying them there. It was so easy to get around. We had a great Christmas and woudnt hesitate in using this hotel again, just dont go excpecting brilliant evening entertainment, hopefully this will get better in time

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hull , Yorkshire
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
29 helpful votes 29 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 31, 2012

We spent xmas at the Costa Lago returning 30/12/12. The hotel is generally very good and we enjoyed our stay , the lovely weather certainly helped ! The hotel is well run with friendly staff , the food was excellent at every sitting with a special mention for the xmas day gala meal which we thought was exceptional.
One or two minor faults , the all inclusive drinks are not the best , beer a little flat , cocktails terrible and as for the gin & tonic best forgotten ! The hotel is a little out of the way , there is however a bus stop to the centre of Torremolinos directly outside . The train station is about 10 - 15 mins walk away & we visited Malaga & Benalmadena centre via the train. Special mention to the cable car ride at Benalmadena which was well worth the experience.
All in all a good hotel which was well worth the £400 each we paid for 7 nights all inclusive stay.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Hotel Riu Costa Lago? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Riu Costa Lago

Address: Obispo Juan Alonso, 4, 29620 Torremolinos, Spain
Location: Spain > Andalucia > Province of Malaga > Costa del Sol > Torremolinos
Amenities:
Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#5 Luxury Hotel in Torremolinos
#10 Family Hotel in Torremolinos
#12 Romantic Hotel in Torremolinos
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Riu Costa Lago 4*
Number of rooms: 256
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Expedia, Hotels.com, Despegar.com, Travelocity, TripOnline SA and Tingo so you can book your Hotel Riu Costa Lago reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Costa Lago Torremolinos
Hotel Costa Lago
Hotel Riu Costa Lago Torremolinos, Costa Del Sol, Spain

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hotel Riu Costa Lago, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.