We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Experience” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel Riu Costa Lago

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Save
You added Hotel Riu Costa Lago to your Saves list
Hotel Riu Costa Lago
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Obispo Juan Alonso, 4, 29620 Torremolinos, Spain   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel packages
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Join us & get 500 Points
Ranked #10 of 73 Hotels in Torremolinos
Certificate of Excellence
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
11 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“Great Experience”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 4, 2013

My husband and I have stayed at the Costa Lago 5 times, 4 over Christmas. We like the location and the quiet atmosphere. Playamar as opposed to Torremolinos is very pleasant. We have always found the staff helpful and friendly. They remember us year to year. The food is excellent and the hotel is very clean. The entertainment over Christmas was good especially the flamenco. There are several English speaking TV channels. We found fellow guests approachable and willing to chat and form friendships. It is a good family hotel.The transport links are excellent and there are so many places to visit eg Cordoba, Benalmadena, Mijas and Ronda. We went to Cordoba by train and came back by bus. Both journeys were comfortable. The motorway was very smooth. We intend to stay at the the hotel again.

Room Tip: Our room was on the 1st floor overlooking the street. It had a good view and was quiet. We were plea...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,481 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    531
    580
    215
    83
    72
See reviews for
466
582
23
3
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (437)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Great Britain
Level Contributor
10 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 4, 2013

Arrived 22nd December having spent 2 nights at the Belplaya down the road. We were there as a party of four including my elderly mum. Received a glass of cava on arrival and check-in was quick and efficient. The food was lovely and always plenty of choice .As previously written the Christmas and New Year's eve Gala dinners were fantastic.We don't stay in the hotel at night so I cannot comment on the entertainment. We also didn't use the bar much so this was perhaps why we were ignored at least twice while the waiters served people who came after us .(Not the British I must add ) These people knew we were first but ordered anyway. It is not my job to teach people manners so I let it go. I was not however prepared to let people push my mum out of the way and told them so. After that no problem .. If I had to choose between the two Riu hotels I would definately choose the Costa Lago,

Room Tip: If you travel in the winter ask for a room which will get some sun during the day as one of our room...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
carmarthen
Level Contributor
8 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 1, 2013

We travelled to the Riu Costa Lago on the 23rd of Dec 2012 for Christmas, this hotel is all inclusive, we were very impressed. We had a good size room, with a television which actually had an english channel ITV+1 on it. The rooms were kept immaculatly clean by the friendly cleaners, towels changed every day. In fact all the staff were brilliant all very friendly coudnt do enough for you. In the Restraunt you used any table for breakfast and lunch, then you were allocated a table and either a 6oclock sitting or an 8oclock sitting for the evening meal, for the length of your stay, the time could be swapped if you asked. The food was very good loads of choice at all meals. There was an area where you could get Tea Coffee and cold drinks all day. The bar service was excellent. The only thing we could fault this hotel with was the awful dire evening entertainment, every night it was a singer stood behind a musically enhanced organ singing aged old songs. The local transport was great with a bus stop over the road, and a great train service just up the road, for 190e each way to Fueringrola great value. We went on the train to Benelmadena to go on the brilliant cable cars which were just outside the train station, this was amazing fabulous views, areas to walk around when you got to the top, and an amazing bird show to see within the price of 12euros each if you got the tickets off the rep which was slightly cheaper than buying them there. It was so easy to get around. We had a great Christmas and woudnt hesitate in using this hotel again, just dont go excpecting brilliant evening entertainment, hopefully this will get better in time

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hull , Yorkshire
Level Contributor
9 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 31, 2012

We spent xmas at the Costa Lago returning 30/12/12. The hotel is generally very good and we enjoyed our stay , the lovely weather certainly helped ! The hotel is well run with friendly staff , the food was excellent at every sitting with a special mention for the xmas day gala meal which we thought was exceptional.
One or two minor faults , the all inclusive drinks are not the best , beer a little flat , cocktails terrible and as for the gin & tonic best forgotten ! The hotel is a little out of the way , there is however a bus stop to the centre of Torremolinos directly outside . The train station is about 10 - 15 mins walk away & we visited Malaga & Benalmadena centre via the train. Special mention to the cable car ride at Benalmadena which was well worth the experience.
All in all a good hotel which was well worth the £400 each we paid for 7 nights all inclusive stay.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nottingham, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 30, 2012

Stayed 10 days over xmas, friendly staff always, food was good and varied, very clean, entertainment was good as well surprisingly. Train station about 5/10 min walk (La Colina) behind the hotel this will take you one way to Malaga and the other to Fuengirola, very easy to use machine for ticket. Try Plaza Mayor one stop down towards Malaga it's excellent for all kinds of shops eateries pubs etc.
Couple of small bars opposite hotel very friendly and a Supermarket on the corner for anything you need (papers milk etc)

My Wife and I loved it !

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Leeds, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
44 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 28, 2012

Leaving the Riu brand name out for the moment we enjoyed our week at the Costa Lago which commenced just before Christmas and ended with Boxing day.
Hotel is clean and comfortable and staff very good. Meals and choice of food at Breakfast, lunch and evening dinner were ok for us on all inclusive basis. I put half a stone on, and will have to take that off now back home.
Entertainment for the first days during the day was non existent, evening was poor one night a Quiz another Bingo. Most people went out, we went next door to the Riu Belplaya to two excellent shows, we had to pay for drinks but were waiter served.
Christmas eve a team of two entertainers arrived for a week and there were daytime activities, a children's disc etc. and evening musical acts in the evenings. This team of two were to leave after a week.
If you want a good hotel the Costa Lago will be ok for you, if you want the Riu experience then it is maybe not for you, we would go to the Riu next door next time.
We were not offered a drink on check in, did notice later people checking in as couples were, was it because we were with a package holiday and lots of us arrived at same time?
Use of internet Wi-Fi for our laptop was 1 euro for 30 mins. at last years Riu was free and in 3 locations in that hotel.
At last Riu all staff smiled and gave a greeting most did at Costa Lago with the noticeable exception of the general early morning public areas internal and external cleaning staff.
The restaurant was very understaffed compared with previous Riu, last year we felt we had our own waiter team looking after us. The few waiters that the Costa Lago have are rushing all over the place trying and failing to keep up with taking your used dishes away. Often we had our soup for example and when returning from the buffet with next course the soup dishes still on our table.
On the days before Christmas we could have 1.5 litre bottles of water from the bar but not over the Christmas days.
The room TV sets were the oldest TV sets one could imagine I had thought all top hotels had gone over to the large flat screen digital TV sets. We had a room with a sitting room but this TV was in the bed room and thus one had to sit on the bed or be in it to watch TV, it should have been in the sitting room.
Others have mentioned the lack of guest toilets on the bar/public lounge floor everyone was not happy having to go downstairs to the restaurant ones or back to their room.
Surprisingly we were not given a comment form from the hotel to fill in before we left, can't recall any hotel big or small not wanting guest feedback, so maybe that is why here on this website we get the same lacking comments of the Costa Lago if the management not knowing what they getting right and wrong.
In conclusion can I repeat we had a good holiday there, it was just the Riu bits that were lacking that were the problem for us which would be easy to put right straight away, such to give all guests a welcome drink, employ more restaurant staff and get the few staff who do not greet guests to do so, and drop the Wi-Fi charge. Should not take long to recruit an Entertainment team but might take a little longer to do the toilet building on ground floor.

Room Tip: They are very willing to change your room if you are not happy so look before you unpack, I would co...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Spain
Level Contributor
16 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 21, 2012

We arrived at the hotel and were asked if we would like a glass of champagne from the reception staff, we did not want to park on the road and the carpark outside the hotel was full but we were told we could park in the Rui Belplaya next door where there was ample parking.
We were all inclusive just for one night away and have stayed in many spanish hotels and know what to expect from the buffet but the standard was not upto 4* in our eyes, the salads and the desserts are always a safe bet but the main was not nice.
The breakfast was good and the eggs were freshly cooked where as we have been to some hotels that just do soggy scrambled eggs.
The staff are very friendly and helpful there are two sittings for dinner we were on the early one so asked to be moved to the late one, we were told that the late one is very busy especially that night as we had gone on a Spanish bank holiday so we went to dinner at 7pm which was ok.
The all inclusive drink is good, but if you do not like cruzcampo(like my husband) there is no other beer, so my husband had to drink spirits not a major problem!
The evening entertainment is mostly Spanish music and there were alot of children on the stage, but by 10pm and a few gin and tonics I joined them and asked for an English song which they played and then continued to play upto date English music the rest of the night which was brilliant.
The room was clean but the phone did not work so my husband fixed it to ring reception to tell them that the electric did not work, the maintenance man came promptly and fixed it, the television did not work but we did not want it anyway so it didn't matter.
All in all a good night away we probably would not return as we did not enjoy the food but for the price it was ok, and have so many hotels to choose from living in Spain this was only 20 mins away from where we lived, but as we dont leave the hotel and its for one night we could have been anywhere.

Room Tip: Ask for a room near to the entertainment area as the corridors are endless.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay
Hotels you might also like...

Been to Hotel Riu Costa Lago? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Riu Costa Lago

Address: Obispo Juan Alonso, 4, 29620 Torremolinos, Spain
Location: Spain > Andalucia > Province of Malaga > Costa del Sol > Torremolinos
Amenities:
Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#5 Luxury Hotel in Torremolinos
#8 Family Hotel in Torremolinos
#11 Romantic Hotel in Torremolinos
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Riu Costa Lago 4*
Number of rooms: 256
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Expedia, Hotels.com and Travelocity so you can book your Hotel Riu Costa Lago reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Costa Lago Torremolinos
Hotel Costa Lago
Hotel Riu Costa Lago Torremolinos, Costa Del Sol, Spain

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hotel Riu Costa Lago, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.