We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Budget winter break” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel Riu Costa Lago

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Save
You added Hotel Riu Costa Lago to your Saves list
Hotel Riu Costa Lago
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Obispo Juan Alonso, 4, 29620 Torremolinos, Spain   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel packages
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Your first gift: 500 pts
Ranked #11 of 73 Hotels in Torremolinos
Certificate of Excellence
Level Contributor
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Budget winter break”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed November 29, 2012

Ok this hotel is what I would class as a standard hotel. I think it's only got 4 stars because of the all inclusive service. The staff was great and dated rooms kept clean, that's the good points. The hotel has over 200 rooms and some sleep up to 4 people (so could be very busy in the summer) the hotel pool is very small as is the restaurant. I'm not going to comment on the weather as it was nov so you get what you get. The worst point a out this hotel is the food. My son and I are far from fussy and have been all inclusive many times but this hotel has dinning issues! In a week meals where repetitive 4 times. Good variety of pasta but if you like sweet corn, it's in everything. Meat was always fish in one way or the other, in batter, grilled, poached etc but full of bones. I would say breakfast was the best meal of the day. Eggs, bacon etc cereal, toast, croissants etc loads of choice. So basically if you want a chilled winter break, not fussy on food and like going to be by 10pm this is for you.

  • Stayed November 2012
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Shortstuff72
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,760 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More
england
Level Contributor
8 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 26, 2012

This hotel is just going to get better and better. RIU are investing in new furniture in all rooms and I have no doubt there intention is to make this a very attractive option for all.

Rooms are a good size and well maintained. Food is varied and restaurant is clean and organised with great staff.

The All Inclusive option is great value.

Make the most of this hotel, they genuinely try and make your stay as comfortable as they can and as I said it will only get better with investment.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
9 Thank Stephanie C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Birmingham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
9 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 25, 2012

Have just returned from a week at the costa lago and what can i say, what a fantastic hotel. Upon arrival you are greated with a warm welcome and a cold cava before being given your room key. The rooms are fab, seperate living area, nice bathroom and lovely bedroom with balconey. The rooms are cleaned everyday with fresh towels etc. The food is nice but alittle repeatative with the meat (they love pork), but there is somthing there to suit all tastes. Breakfast is a good selction of breads, meats, chesses, jams, full english etc. The bar and it staff are very efficent and serve people as quick as they can by the end of the week they knew our order. Right outside the hotel is a bus stop which cost €1.20 to get into torromelinos and gets you there in 5 mins or you can walk which takes about 25mins. Overall fantastic hotel, great staff, lovely food. Would reccomend staying here.

  • Stayed November 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
10 Thank beckyandjames08
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dublin, Ireland
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 24, 2012

We spent a week All Inclusive at this hotel in October, Room was very clean and comfortable, I suffer with my back and as the bed was very hard I asked for 2 pillows and 2 blankets, I placed the blanket under the sheet but next day when we got back to our room blankets had been replaced with an additional soft mattress, I thought this was great as we had not even asked for it. Only down in the room was the shortage of English speaking TV channels, I would have though with Sky so widely available that they would have. Don't normally spend much time in room but weather was bad for 3 days so could have done with the TV. We found the food to be very good with a wonderful choice and really enjoyed. The bar was lovely but the entertainment a bit weak but still it was very very good.Bar Staff were really nice. I hope to go back there next year and hope the Riu will continue to do the All Inclusive. I would highly recommend this hotel for the over 55's in October. Only down - no toilets on the Bar Level and they are badly needed.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
9 Thank Irene C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
falkirk scotland
Level Contributor
7 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed November 23, 2012

As you can see by my opening line above i may have expected to much too soon from this recently taken over hotel by my favourite hotel chain. Couldn,t, have had a worse shock on arriving in our room number 243 on the 2nd floor. Our view was of the main road ,but wait for it, my next view was my wife walking into the bathroom which was adjacent to our bedroom ,and finding no door on it. Yes, no door. We just looked at each other and laughed our heads off. We really dont complain at most little niggly hotel fau pax we encounter but we had to say something.. After going downstairs to the dining area to have our cold supper( which we really appreciated as we had arrived at 10 00 at night) we mentioned to the young guy at reception about our door .Well he almost fell over. The head receptionist came over and apologised 4x times. The young trainee had given us 243 instead of 234. These rooms were being upgraded to the riu standard and were not for guests use. Panic over. This hotel will attain the Riu quality ,i have no doubt about that,but it may take a holiday season to get there.The position of the hotel and its pool area ,and cleanliness are already very good. The drinks are fine,the staff are very friendly,the entertainment was what we expected after reading the tripadvisor reviews (singers at night and nada,zilch ,nothing during the day,which is brain numbing when it rains for your whole stay). But i really must have a dig at the food. I maybe be blinkered by my visits to at least 7 other riu hotels, but the choice and display of the food on offer to us over our 5 day stay was way,way off what i had hoped for. Don,t get me wrong ,my wife and i never went hungry on our stay ,but the management must concentrate their efforts on food to help bring this hotel up to i suspect many guests expectations. Most other riu hotels dining experience is the highlight of the day, but for us we just ate and left . It is too small an area (god knows what it must be like in peak season). Anyway , almost forgot that the room we eventually were given 234, was damp ,and smelly on entering.(the maid must have thought so too as she opened the bedroom window after her first visit to us. We just hoped it would get better,which it did. On conclusion, maybe had too high hopes as the lucacosta had only officially been handed over to riu on nov 1st and we did get it for a snip from bestratebeds. com ,but with the food standard and choice coupled with the terrible weather we had, this short break in Torremolinas will be concined to the, "better luck next time" experiance.

Room Tip: make sure you get a room which has been upgraded to riu standard
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank shebsFalkirkScotland
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Liverpool, England, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
17 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 23, 2012

Just come back from this hotel..wonderful week spent..food fantastic..spotless ...all staff friendly...only negative entertainment nt very good although two nights enjoyable ..but rest of nights not very good...won't go again in november(rainy season) but all in all very good hotel can't wait to go again...thanking all staff for a lovely week..

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Hildegard T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
UK
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 22, 2012

Just back from a week at the Costa Lago had a great time, food very satisfactory, lots of choice, staff very helpful, chefs cooking fresh food all the time, room cleaned every day, reception staff very helpful, Manager couldnt do enough for you, very cheerful and hardworking, bar staff like a laugh with you. Entertainment adequate. First time all inclusive and we were very impressed with it all. Handy for bus and train, would certainly recommend trains, very punctual.

Rooms were being refurbished on some floors, and some up dating around the hotel generally, but this didnt affect guests in any way.

Would certainly recommend this hotel.

Room Tip: We were on the outside overlooking the road and it was very quiet at this time of the year, nice vie...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Jean H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Torremolinos
0.1 mi away
Hotel Riu Belplaya
Hotel Riu Belplaya
#16 of 73 in Torremolinos
4.0 of 5 stars 1,104 reviews
0.1 mi away
Marconfort Beach Club Hotel
Marconfort Beach Club Hotel
#17 of 73 in Torremolinos
4.0 of 5 stars 2,132 reviews
0.3 mi away
Hotel Sol Principe
Hotel Sol Principe
#24 of 73 in Torremolinos
4.0 of 5 stars 1,964 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.1 mi away
Melia Costa del Sol
Melia Costa del Sol
#6 of 73 in Torremolinos
4.0 of 5 stars 2,199 reviews
2.6 mi away
Hotel Riu Nautilus
Hotel Riu Nautilus
#2 of 73 in Torremolinos
4.5 of 5 stars 890 reviews
1.0 mi away
Gran Cervantes by Blue Sea
Gran Cervantes by Blue Sea
#40 of 73 in Torremolinos
3.5 of 5 stars 2,280 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Riu Costa Lago? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Riu Costa Lago

Address: Obispo Juan Alonso, 4, 29620 Torremolinos, Spain
Location: Spain > Andalucia > Province of Malaga > Costa del Sol > Torremolinos
Amenities:
Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#7 Luxury Hotel in Torremolinos
#9 Family Hotel in Torremolinos
#11 Romantic Hotel in Torremolinos
Price Range (Based on Average Rates):
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Riu Costa Lago 4*
Number of rooms: 256
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Orbitz, Expedia, Venere and Travelocity so you can book your Hotel Riu Costa Lago reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Costa Lago Torremolinos
Hotel Costa Lago
Hotel Riu Costa Lago Torremolinos, Costa Del Sol, Spain

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing