We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Loved it.” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Riu Hotel Luca Costa Lago

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Save Saved
You added Riu Hotel Luca Costa Lago to your Saves list
Riu Hotel Luca Costa Lago
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Obispo Juan Alonso, 4, 29620 Torremolinos, Spain   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel packages
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Early Winter Specials
Ranked #10 of 72 Hotels in Torremolinos
Birmingham, United Kingdom
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
“Loved it.”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 25, 2012

Have just returned from a week at the costa lago and what can i say, what a fantastic hotel. Upon arrival you are greated with a warm welcome and a cold cava before being given your room key. The rooms are fab, seperate living area, nice bathroom and lovely bedroom with balconey. The rooms are cleaned everyday with fresh towels etc. The food is nice but alittle repeatative with the meat (they love pork), but there is somthing there to suit all tastes. Breakfast is a good selction of breads, meats, chesses, jams, full english etc. The bar and it staff are very efficent and serve people as quick as they can by the end of the week they knew our order. Right outside the hotel is a bus stop which cost €1.20 to get into torromelinos and gets you there in 5 mins or you can walk which takes about 25mins. Overall fantastic hotel, great staff, lovely food. Would reccomend staying here.

  • Stayed November 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,196 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    400
    469
    177
    77
    73
See reviews for
395
463
16
3
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (339)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Dublin, Ireland
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 24, 2012

We spent a week All Inclusive at this hotel in October, Room was very clean and comfortable, I suffer with my back and as the bed was very hard I asked for 2 pillows and 2 blankets, I placed the blanket under the sheet but next day when we got back to our room blankets had been replaced with an additional soft mattress, I thought this was great as we had not even asked for it. Only down in the room was the shortage of English speaking TV channels, I would have though with Sky so widely available that they would have. Don't normally spend much time in room but weather was bad for 3 days so could have done with the TV. We found the food to be very good with a wonderful choice and really enjoyed. The bar was lovely but the entertainment a bit weak but still it was very very good.Bar Staff were really nice. I hope to go back there next year and hope the Riu will continue to do the All Inclusive. I would highly recommend this hotel for the over 55's in October. Only down - no toilets on the Bar Level and they are badly needed.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 9
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
falkirk scotland
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed November 23, 2012

As you can see by my opening line above i may have expected to much too soon from this recently taken over hotel by my favourite hotel chain. Couldn,t, have had a worse shock on arriving in our room number 243 on the 2nd floor. Our view was of the main road ,but wait for it, my next view was my wife walking into the bathroom which was adjacent to our bedroom ,and finding no door on it. Yes, no door. We just looked at each other and laughed our heads off. We really dont complain at most little niggly hotel fau pax we encounter but we had to say something.. After going downstairs to the dining area to have our cold supper( which we really appreciated as we had arrived at 10 00 at night) we mentioned to the young guy at reception about our door .Well he almost fell over. The head receptionist came over and apologised 4x times. The young trainee had given us 243 instead of 234. These rooms were being upgraded to the riu standard and were not for guests use. Panic over. This hotel will attain the Riu quality ,i have no doubt about that,but it may take a holiday season to get there.The position of the hotel and its pool area ,and cleanliness are already very good. The drinks are fine,the staff are very friendly,the entertainment was what we expected after reading the tripadvisor reviews (singers at night and nada,zilch ,nothing during the day,which is brain numbing when it rains for your whole stay). But i really must have a dig at the food. I maybe be blinkered by my visits to at least 7 other riu hotels, but the choice and display of the food on offer to us over our 5 day stay was way,way off what i had hoped for. Don,t get me wrong ,my wife and i never went hungry on our stay ,but the management must concentrate their efforts on food to help bring this hotel up to i suspect many guests expectations. Most other riu hotels dining experience is the highlight of the day, but for us we just ate and left . It is too small an area (god knows what it must be like in peak season). Anyway , almost forgot that the room we eventually were given 234, was damp ,and smelly on entering.(the maid must have thought so too as she opened the bedroom window after her first visit to us. We just hoped it would get better,which it did. On conclusion, maybe had too high hopes as the lucacosta had only officially been handed over to riu on nov 1st and we did get it for a snip from bestratebeds. com ,but with the food standard and choice coupled with the terrible weather we had, this short break in Torremolinas will be concined to the, "better luck next time" experiance.

Room Tip: make sure you get a room which has been upgraded to riu standard
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Liverpool, England, United Kingdom
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 23, 2012

Just come back from this hotel..wonderful week spent..food fantastic..spotless ...all staff friendly...only negative entertainment nt very good although two nights enjoyable ..but rest of nights not very good...won't go again in november(rainy season) but all in all very good hotel can't wait to go again...thanking all staff for a lovely week..

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
UK
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 22, 2012

Just back from a week at the Costa Lago had a great time, food very satisfactory, lots of choice, staff very helpful, chefs cooking fresh food all the time, room cleaned every day, reception staff very helpful, Manager couldnt do enough for you, very cheerful and hardworking, bar staff like a laugh with you. Entertainment adequate. First time all inclusive and we were very impressed with it all. Handy for bus and train, would certainly recommend trains, very punctual.

Rooms were being refurbished on some floors, and some up dating around the hotel generally, but this didnt affect guests in any way.

Would certainly recommend this hotel.

Room Tip: We were on the outside overlooking the road and it was very quiet at this time of the year, nice vie...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
stoke on trent
Top Contributor
58 reviews 58 reviews
20 hotel reviews
Reviews in 32 cities Reviews in 32 cities
63 helpful votes 63 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 22, 2012

We were apprehensive about this hotel and the area after reading other reviews but we always like to find out for ourselves. Riu, we understand have recently took over this hotel and are in the process of upgrading the rooms (which were already better than most hotels we have been to) and putting in new furniture.
On arrival (13th Nov) we were given the key to our allocated room, but as it was downstairs with a limited view of the garden we asked if we could have a different room. The reception staff were really helpful and took us immediately to view another room on the ground level which they said if we liked it we could move in as soon as the cleaner had finished. This room was perfect with a seperate lounge area and loads of drawers and two double wardrobes. An added bonus was that we could get ITV1 on the TV (as well as the usual boring BBC World News).
The food was quite unexpectedly nice and of good quality (our previous experience of all inclusive in Spain has been very poor and the food no better than a fast food takeway,) Here we were treated to fresh salmon, king prawns, mussels as well as Roast Beef, Lamb chops and pork. The casseroles were lovely. This hotel has definitely changed my mind about Spanish cuisine. It's not all paella and burgers. There was a wide range of desserts. Breakfast was equally as good with full English or continental. If anyone can say there was not enough choice I dread to think what they want! Snacks were also provided in the morning and afternoon. If you fancied burgers, fish fingers etc you could have those too. The restaurant Manager always asked us if we were happy with the food and always spoke to us when we entered and left the restaurant.
As expected at this time of year many retired people visit the Costa Del Sol and the average age is higher than in the summer I suppose but it was nice for us (in our 50's) to feel like the teenagers. As the week went on more younger people did arrive at the hotel.
The bar was always busy and the bar staff were a great laugh and very pleasant.
The rooms were cleaned to a very high standard.
We met some lovely people on this holiday. The tables are set quite close together in the restaurant so you get to know the people sitting next to you and it makes the meal go on a lot longer than it would normally. We really enjoyed the company of the Welsh couple next to us and it was nice to swop the days events over the meal and a glass of wine. Equally in the bar it was easy to chat to other people.
The weather for the most of the time was good although we did have two mornings of rain (and Malaga got flooded through 3 waterspouts that had built up at sea causing a tornedo effect). It was warm enough during the day to go out in t shirts and shorts but did go cooler at night.
I can recommend the train system to Malaga, Benalmedina and Fueugirola. The station was about a ten minute walk for us and it cost 1.90 euros each way to Malaga or Fuengirola and run every 20 minutes in each direction..
A good place to watch Premiership football was the German Paddy's Bar (Andi) which is just a short walk along the street. A small pub where you are made very welcome.
Now for the most disappointing part - WE HAD TO COME HOME. We wish we had gone for longer and will definitely be going back.
Well Done to the Manager and all the Staff at The Riu Costa Lago, we hope you will keep up the good work and we very much look forward to returning..

Room Tip: The rooms on the pool side as you enter the hotel do not get much sun at this time of year.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hailsham, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
25 helpful votes 25 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 21, 2012

As promised in a previous review, I returned. Everything was as good as before. One expects that as you have been before, maybe the shine would be lost - quite the opposite. The room was even better and cleaned EVERY DAY! This time we were positioned at the rear of the complex where it was very quiet late evenings. Sitting out on the balcony with a glass (or 5) of Cava (which they call Champagne) which was all free, reading and overlooking the pool. I'll return again.

Room Tip: They're all good
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Riu Hotel Luca Costa Lago? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Riu Hotel Luca Costa Lago

Address: Obispo Juan Alonso, 4, 29620 Torremolinos, Spain
Location: Spain > Andalucia > Province of Malaga > Costa del Sol > Torremolinos
Amenities:
Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#6 Luxury Hotel in Torremolinos
#11 Family Hotel in Torremolinos
#13 Romantic Hotel in Torremolinos
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Riu Hotel Luca Costa Lago 4*
Number of rooms: 256
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Hotels.com, Venere, Expedia, Travelocity, Otel, Despegar.com, TripOnline SA and Tingo so you can book your Riu Hotel Luca Costa Lago reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Costa Lago Torremolinos
Hotel Costa Lago
Riu Hotel Luca Costa Lago Torremolinos, Costa Del Sol, Spain

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Riu Hotel Luca Costa Lago, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.