We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“excellent location” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Bajondillo Apartments

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Save Saved
You added Bajondillo Apartments to your Saves list
Bajondillo Apartments
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Paseo Maritimo s/n, 29620 Torremolinos, Spain   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #33 of 72 Hotels in Torremolinos
Cork
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
“excellent location”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 12, 2011

great location if you want a beach holiday. great for couples lots of restaurants nearby, town can be reached by a public lift 2 minute walk from hotel.
Apartments basic but house keeping excellent. have air con and fridge 2 rings and sink fine for snacks but not suitable for cooking meals.
Overall good value.

  • Stayed June 2011, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

618 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    159
    281
    122
    30
    26
See reviews for
107
301
28
4
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (99)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Leicester, United Kingdom
1 review
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 21, 2011

If like us - you want a hotel that within a few yards of leaving the hotel your feet are touching the sand; you want to sit on the balcony in the morning overlooking the sea, drinking a coffee (like me, take your own travel kettle); you want free air conditioning; you want a fridge to keep all your drinks cold but you don't need a fully equipped area because you don't intend to cook/prepare meals; you want a wide selection of chiringuitos, restaurants, cafes and bars nearby; you want a room that's kept clean with fresh towels and a supply of loo paper; you want a bathroom with a good shower, a hairdryer, and plenty of space for all your own toiletries; outdated furniture doesn't bother you; you want to be able to catch a train from the airport, with the Torremolinos train station a short walk from your hotel......then The Bajondillo Apartments will fit the bill more than adequately! We've stayed there twice now and will certainly revisit.

I was thinking of suggesting/recommending some different places to eat/drink, but we found that our experiences could differ depending on, eg what time of day or night we visited a place, who served us, what we chose from the menu, etc. I'd say explore the wide variety of eateries and watering holes available depending on taste and budget -chiringuitos on the beach for quality fish and meat, authentic tapas bars, cafe bars, restaurants, fast food, pizzas etc etc. You'll soon find the ones you want to revisit or not. During the day on the beach, pay 9 euros for two beds and an umbrella, and take your own food or have waitress service from the chiringuito. (A lot of people took their own umbrellas, towels, chairs etc and set their stall out on the beach). There is also a deli across from the hotel that bakes its own baguettes and they have a selection of fillings. Supermarkets are also nearby to do your own thing, but the main Supermarket up the steps on the main road has cheaper prices. In the evenings don't just stay near the hotel either, take a stroll to La Carihuela along the front, (carry on for another 30 minutes or so and you're in Benalmadena). Also take a walk up the winding steps past lots of shops and places to eat or drink (there is a lift too, but bizarrely you do have to climb some steps to reach it, so unfortunately accessibility may be limited) to the centre of Torremolinos and across the main road. We're in our early 50s and there's plenty for us to do and see, but I think for the young in their late teens, 20s and 30s Benalmadena is more their scene!

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cork, Ireland
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 10, 2011

Myself & boyfriend stayed here in September 2010. Apartments are in a good location, right on the beach front.
Apartments were dated & kitchenette was small but we just had breakfast in the apartments & did fine. We got these apartments for a very reasonable price so judging by the price & reviews I wasn't expecting a whole pile. But they were okay. Our apartment was quite clean. We stayed in a studio & it did the job fine!
Lovely restaurant only on the side street next to the hotel called "Bistro Europa". Very nice italian food.
There were very few Irish staying around Torremolinos. Apartments were full of Spanish who I found to completly take over the pool area. Ridiculous that you have to pay for the sun loungers but we just lay on our towels on the grass. The cleaning staff were very friendly. The reception staff were okay but tended to be a bit rude towards anyone who is not Spanish! Didn't bother us too much. We didn't have much to do the the staff or people staying there.
Steps are only next to the Hotel up to Torremolinos which is handy. We took the lift one night which is a joke really to charge for the use of this. There were a lot of steps so I was kind of dreading this part! But there were shops & stalls all the way up so you tend not to notice the steps & they're not very steep either. They're also lit up so were okay to walk home at night.
The night time entertainment in the Hotel was very bad. We just went elsewhere. It was very quite in the bars on the beach front so we normally went up to Torremolinos town at night. It wasn't as busy up here as I would have thought but was busier than in front of the beach.
We booked directly with the hotel & they offer free transport to & from the airport which in fairness is a nice touch!
Overall, I enjoyed Torremolinos. If I was going back to Costa Del Sol I'd probably give Bellimadina a go as I think there is more night life here.

  • Stayed September 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dublin
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 5, 2011

These apartments are well located just across road from the beach and close to the center. Have stayed here before and apartments could do with updating but are very clean and well maintained. I would recommend them for familys and couples. Although they face a main road they are very quiet at night time. Pool is well kept and has a nice garden area.

  • Stayed July 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Alexandria,U.K.
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed August 2, 2011

Having just returned from a week at this Aparthotel we were very disappointed in the standard of accommodation for the price we paid.On a positive note the shower in the bathroom was excellent however the mildew round the bath was off putting.The furniture is ancient (probably been there since the place was built which I would guess was the sixties)I have found better furniture in a skip.The staff try their best however this place needs a complete refurbishment.If you like a sunny Butlins go there,if not stay well clear.Total rip off !!

  • Stayed July 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Antonio, Texas
Senior Contributor
27 reviews 27 reviews
17 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
36 helpful votes 36 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 28, 2011

I enjoyed my stay at the Bajondillo in May of 2011 very much. The rooms are large with 2 single beds and a small kitchenette. The bath is very roomy and dice. Everything was clean and comfortable. The furniture is a little dated, but it is a great value for the price. The view of the beach from each room is a pleasant extra. Torremolinos is a great place to stay in the Costa del Sol and it convenient for tours to all parts of southern Spain. I even took a tour to Tangier, Morocco.

  • Stayed May 2011, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dublin, Ireland
1 review
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 26, 2011

Stayed in the Bajondillo apartments this summer for ten days with friends. the appartment we were given was absolutely spotless and overlooked the pool and beach front. cleaning was done every morning, except for sundays. the only thing was that the rooms were normally cleaned between nine and ten, so if you wanted a lie in, it was definitely important to put up a tag on the door.

The restaurant in the hotel provided a great selection of food for reasonable prices, and the staff were absolutely lovely. the pool was very nice, and always clean, however there was a three euro charge for the sunbeds, which we thought was a little bit much if you were to get them every day. we used lilos and towels on the ground instead.

The nearby restaurants were great, staff were friendly and the food was very nice. never paid more then ten or fifteen euro each for a lovely dinner with a few bottles of water. there was a nice bakery just across the road from the bajondillo which we used to get rolls every day for lunch. therefore, eating is very cheap there.
dont be fooled into buying groceries from the little "supermarkets" along the beach front as you will end up paying about €30 for just your basics.
instead a large supermarket which is only about a ten minute walk is absolutely fantastic! bought bags of groceries and a lot of alcohol for less then thirty euro which kept us going for the whole week! they have EVERYTHING there!

One little thing however, was that there were not a lot of young people staying in the bajondillo. we were on a friends holiday from ireland and were slightly disappointed that we didnt come across more then three or four young (17-22years), english speaking people for the entire ten days. in fact, we only came across one irish family! the pool is not locked from the beach side and as a result of this a lot of spanish locals come in to use the pool every day. not that this was a problem or anything, but just an observation.

as a young person, there is not a whole lot in torremolinos by night. there was entertainment at the bajondillo, but this was a lady singing every night.. it got slightly repetitive. we used to get a taxi into benalmadena every night to the 24 hour square which provided great bars and friendly people! realistically you must get a taxi to the square which costs about 15euro each way, so we used to get the bus home instead (6am onwards).

all in all, it was a great holiday, and we could not fault the bajondillo! it was spotlessly clean, had a great pool, friendly staff and wide range of facilities. there was a lovely beach, cheap restaurants and pretty shops nearby.
however, for young people (18 - 20somethings) its probably better to stay closer to benelmadena for a better nightlife. :)

  • Stayed July 2011, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Bajondillo Apartments? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Bajondillo Apartments

Address: Paseo Maritimo s/n, 29620 Torremolinos, Spain
Location: Spain > Andalucia > Province of Malaga > Costa del Sol > Torremolinos
Amenities:
Beach Kitchenette Restaurant Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#5 Best Value Hotel in Torremolinos
#15 On the Beach Hotel in Torremolinos
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Bajondillo Apartments 3*
Number of rooms: 650
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Bajondillo is in the heart of the Costa del Sol and right in front of the beach. All our Apartments have an excellent distribution and orientation as they all face the sea. The atmosphere is peaceful and inviting.Big garden with swimming pool with sun beds, hairdresser, PC with internet access, free WiFi in whole complex, a la carte restaurant “La Brasería”, cafeteria, self service laundry, external medical service (24h) and free Airport Shuttle-Bus. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Travelocity, Expedia, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Priceline, Venere, Cheap Tickets, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Bajondillo Apartments reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Bajondillo Apartments Hotel Torremolinos
Torremolinos Apartments
Bajondillo Apartments Torremolinos, Costa Del Sol, Spain
Apartments Torremolinos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Bajondillo Apartments, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.