We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fantastic hotel in a great location” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel Riu Nautilus

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Save
You added Hotel Riu Nautilus to your Saves list
Hotel Riu Nautilus
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Avenida Salvador Allende 39 | Torremolinos - Malaga, 29620 Torremolinos, Spain   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel packages
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #3 of 73 Hotels in Torremolinos
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
“Fantastic hotel in a great location”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 24, 2014 via mobile

Me and my partner stayed here on the 8th July for 10 nights. On arrival at the hotel I was impressed straight away. Stepped off the coach and thought the hotel looked great. Check in was very quick and our room was ready even though we arrived around noon. We were offered champagne or orange juice whilst checking in which was nice :)

We booked with Thomson so had a road/sea view room which wasn't so bad. The room itself was great. Lovely purple and silver decor...the whole hotel was basically this colour scheme which I really liked. Seen a few reviews mentioned that there are no British channels...we cleverly worked out how to get some of the channels speaking in English. You basically have to go into the options or tools button on the remote and scroll down to the language setting, change this and there you go :) we managed to watch some films, the Simpsons, American dad etc.

The pool area was really good. People do reserve the beds around the pool but it's not really an issue as there's plenty for everyone. Lovely view of the sea from the pool area also. You can also have drinks brought to you if you wish.

We went half board so had breakfast and tea here. The food is of a high standard but does get abit repetitive. It is the same kinda thing every night. We chose to eat out at the marina an odd night as a treat :) the marina is a 5min walk away and has plenty of bars and restaurants although you do get hassled a lot by people trying to get you in their bars! My only complaint about the marina area.

The hotel throughout was spotless. Cleaners cleaned the room each day and were always friendly.

Hotel provided entertainment each night and the bar sells great cocktails at €8 each. I've seen many reviews complaining how this hotel is only suited for much old people...this is not correct at all. We are both 25 and didn't understand why people were writing this. I must admit, there are more older people staying here but we had couple younger then us staying here. To be honest it was a pretty mixed bunch of ages so was quite varied. Guests were really friendly :) got to give a mention to the staff here. The bar staff and people working in the restaurants are very friendly. They work really long hours but always have a smile. Fatima and Emi served us mainly throughout our stay and were both always smiley and polite.

We decided to take a trip to the centre of torromolinos one day which was €1.55 euro on the bus and was about a 15min journey. You catch the 110 bus to go here. We decided to have a nice stroll back which took 30mins. Torromolinos didn't have too much going on, just some shops and restaurants.

If you want some cheap groceries, head out to the shop on the right of the hotel. Much cheaper then the one on the left.

Overall this holiday was brilliant. Great hotel which was clean, had friendly staff and a nice friendly atmosphere overall. The weather was great too which was a bonus :) I would recommend for any age group so don't be put off by previous reviews.
Would certainly reccomend to anyone and we would love to return :)

  • Stayed July 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

590 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    319
    182
    67
    14
    8
See reviews for
87
395
12
3
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (190)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Chester, United Kingdom
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 21, 2014 via mobile

Just returned from this hotel. It's very clean, staff very helpful. Great view from 6th floor. Easy to beach. Selection of food really good. All in all excellent. Don't bother with the free internet it's too slow. Pay or go to local bar. In al a cart restaurant if you want a choice of sweet don't bother. But still a lovely great hotel. One of the better hotels in the area. Thanks for a great stay.

Stayed July 2014, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 21, 2014

Me and my boyfriend have just returned from a lovely holiday at the Nautilus. Great location- just opposite the beach. The hotel was immaculate and staff very friendly and helpful.
Large room with a flat screen tele. Massive bathroom with two sinks!
Pool area was large with plenty of sun loungers. Although you do get the usual people reserving beds at 7am and not using them until 4pm!!
The food was the best I have ever experienced. One evening we took a trip to Puerto Banus- which was eye opening!

I have stayed at Riu's before but this is the best! Juan, the deputy manager, is very nice and takes the time to ensure that everything is to your satisfaction

Overall, an excellent hotel. Wish I was still there!

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, England, United Kingdom
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 19, 2014

Nice, clean rooms, lovely location, beautiful garden and swimming pool. Restaurant buffet food was of good quality but highly repetitive which lacked any creativity and presentation. The staff are generally friendly and helpful but there 2 things which can be improved and make a big difference. Firstly, the free wifi service is poor. You can only access it at the lobby area for no more that 90 minutes within 24 hours. For a 4 star hotel this is unacceptable. Wifi service these days is offered for free throughout the hotel premises. Secondly, check in at the hotel is stressful as it can take up to 3 hours to get in you room. Even though they are aware that groups of people are arriving at a specific time, they seemed somehow surprised about it! And why should you pay 14 euros for using the safe? It seems that they need to decide what sort of hotel they want to be!

Stayed July 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
England
1 review
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 19, 2014

Firstly I have never written a review in my life, personally I think the people that usually write reviews are the ones that want to moan about something, but I enjoyed my stay so much that I felt compelled to write one.....

Just came back from a weeks stay with my girlfriend. I haven't got a bad word to say about it. The staff are fantastic and a credit to the hotel. From Romy on reception to Fatima and javi serving drinks. All brilliant. Always happy, always smiling and can't do enough for you. Would recommend to anyone, and would definitely go back.

The pool is good as well. They ask you not to reserve sun loungers but people do, (us included unfortunately) but that was because we wanted to make sure we had good ones. You can always find one somewhere if you decide not to get up early and reserve one.

The only miniature downside is the entertainment in the evenings at the hotel. It's not great to be honest. Not horrendous, but not our kinda thing. Although there were a couple of good acts. It's not the end of the world though as there are plenty of other bars around.

The rooms are very nice, modern with a fantastic walk in shower (well that's what we had). Beds are comfy and the air con is decent. The maids are fantastic, our room was always left spotlessly clean and it was never half a job. Some nice little touches as well.

The food was very good and always plenty to choose from for breakfast and dinner. And a special mention to Juan the dep manager of the hotel. He always makes an effort to go round and speak to you to make sure everything is ok. A small thing but goes a long way.

All in all a wonderful stay.

Stayed July 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Blackwood, United Kingdom
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 12, 2014

Just arrived home from an 11 day stay at this delightful hotel.Newly refurbished and spotlessly clean.Had a room on 6th floor with great views over the beach to the side and mountains in the distance,plenty of space in room and great walk in large shower. Pool area was lovely and quiet and we usually found a free sun bed,despite the sad people who get up at the crack of dawn to reserve beds for the whole day even if they are not on them most of the time! Restaurant had a great range of food and staff were very pleasant.CAnnot understand however why they bother to allocate a table to you for the evening sitting as most people wanted to change and the head waiter was constantly harassed by people moaning they wanted to sit elsewhere.just let people sit where they choose,a lot less hassle for everyone! Plenty of shops and bars near hotel and a lovely long promenade to stroll along. I would definitely recommend this hotel.My only 2 minor complaints,if you want to stay in room all channels are geared to the Germans and the entertainment lacked variety,ie just singers/duos. A special mention to Juan,dep manager,who goes out of his way to have a chat to welcome you and is always around if needed with a smile on his face.

Room Tip: High floor,nice views and quiet.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Norwich, United Kingdom
1 review
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 11, 2014

Just got back from a stay here and it was perfect! From check in to check out we could not fault the hotel.
Every modern, rooms are spacious, clean and comfortable, it appears most rooms have a sea view with large balcony.
Food was lovely, plenty to choose from, freshly cooked right before your eyes!
Pool area is large and relaxing, with a jacuzzi, indoor pool, steam room and gym also which was a plus.
Location fine, plenty of supermarkets around, restaurants, bars and shops all along the promenade and port area. Supermarket much cheaper if you turn right out of hotel!
5 min walk to the puerto marina

We could not fault the service at the hotel, poolside service, friendly staff and an amazing hotel!
We even left money on the table in room as a tip, and honest maid staff did not take it, so next time we left it on the bed so it was clear it was a tip.


Would definately recommend!!!

Room Tip: All appear good, we had a main building level 5 which was quiet and good sea view!
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Hotel Riu Nautilus? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Riu Nautilus

Address: Avenida Salvador Allende 39 | Torremolinos - Malaga, 29620 Torremolinos, Spain
Location: Spain > Andalucia > Province of Malaga > Costa del Sol > Torremolinos
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 On the Beach Hotel in Torremolinos
#1 Spa Hotel in Torremolinos
#1 Luxury Hotel in Torremolinos
#3 Romantic Hotel in Torremolinos
#5 Family Hotel in Torremolinos
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Riu Nautilus 4*
Number of rooms: 293
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
* Located 2 km from Torremolinos* 3-storey and 7-storey buildings* 2,500 garden* Separated from beach only by the beachfront promenade* 700 m from Puerto Marina* 700 m from various shops* 8 km from the Malaga airport* 100 m from a bus stop ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Venere, Despegar.com, TripOnline SA and Tingo so you can book your Hotel Riu Nautilus reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Riu Nautilus Torremolinos
Riu Nautilus Hotel Torremolinos
Hotel Riu Nautilus Torremolinos, Costa Del Sol, Spain

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hotel Riu Nautilus, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.