We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Short week” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel Riu Nautilus

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Save
You added Hotel Riu Nautilus to your Saves list
Hotel Riu Nautilus
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Avenida Salvador Allende 39 | Torremolinos - Malaga, 29620 Torremolinos, Spain   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel packages
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #3 of 73 Hotels in Torremolinos
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
“Short week”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 20, 2014

what a brilliant hotel the place was spotless the staff was very friendly very close to the beach for walking to the port for a little shopping the hotel as just been refurbished the color scheme was very relaxing, the restaurant the food was very good great choice for breakfast and dinner. the only draw back i can say there where no tea or coffee facility's in the room, we will be back.

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 8
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

590 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    319
    182
    67
    14
    8
See reviews for
87
395
12
3
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (190)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
High Wycombe
Top Contributor
109 reviews 109 reviews
54 hotel reviews
Reviews in 59 cities Reviews in 59 cities
86 helpful votes 86 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 17, 2014

What a wonderful hotel! I cannot praise it highly enough. It was our fourteenth stay in a Riu Hotel and like the others,this one did not disappoint! The weather was sunny all week, this hotel is clean, spacious and the staff are very helpful and friendly. We had a room in the main building, although we had only paid Thomson extra for a side sea view. It is very central ( a short walk to the main road) for getting buses to travel into Torremolinos, Mijas, Furenigrola, Malaga etc. It is a short walk from the marina in Benalmadena, it is just over the border into the Torremolinos promenade, but is really in Benalmadena. Plenty of shops and cafes nearby. It is flat along the promenade for miles for walking and the promenade is washed down every morning, before it gets light. I would recommend this hotel to anyone, who appreciates top quality hotels and service, you will not be disappointed.

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Belfast, United Kingdom
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
25 helpful votes 25 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 5, 2014

Spent three days in this beautiful hotel close to the beach in Torremolinos. The room was very good, clean, neat, small safe and fridge with drinks, looking onto a side street, small balcony, very little noise. No tea or coffee making facility in room. Foyer and entrance to hotel very pleasant, staff helpful and friendly. Dining room was huge and busy but the food was very good at both breakfast and dinner. Short walk down to beach and lots of beach side cafes. Parking was just OK. Did not use any of the facilities so unable to comment. Brochure said there was free wifi throughout the hotel but this was not the case. Wifi only in reception area and it was not very good. Would recommend this hotel.

Room Tip: Main building seems to be best
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 9
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Harpenden, England, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 22, 2014

This was last minute booking for just a week away from the relentless UK rain.
This is our second time to the Riu Nautilus. We were there some 3 years ago prior to its refit. The refurbishment has been very well done and provides a bright and clean feel to the hotel. . Our bedroom was large, well furnished but as on the ground floor of the Annex there was not really a view.
Food was very good, although the restaurant at breakfast could be a bit busy.
The hotel is handy for a walk either along the promenade to either the centre of Torremolinos or to Benalmadena Marina. Alternatively it is a great place to chill out and relax. The staff were friendly and helpful.
The evening's entertainment was a bit mixed, but that did not really bother my wife or myself.

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Burnley
Senior Contributor
31 reviews 31 reviews
25 hotel reviews
Reviews in 24 cities Reviews in 24 cities
42 helpful votes 42 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 18, 2014

We returned on 16th Feb after a 4 week stay at this modern hotel, booked through Thomson Holidays.

We were allocated room 252 in the annex and second sitting for dinner, despite an email to the hotel last March, plus a further email in November to confirm, requesting 1st sitting and a room on a high floor with a sunny balcony.

After talking to the restaurant manager we were eventually allocated a table on the first sitting.

Our room received very little sun, only between 9.am and 10.am at this time of year and the outlook was appalling and very noisy, directly opposite an 11 storey apartment building, where refurbishing was on going the whole of our stay. When we asked for a change of rooms, we were advised that there would be a 10 euro additional charge per night. !!!!

It seems that Thomson guests are allocated in the annex whilst our continental cousins are housed in the main building with the sunny rooms, as they tend to stay 2-3 months at a time and are Riu Gold and Platinum card holders, therefore they get to pick which rooms they want and qualify for free upgrades.

The room itself was decorated in the basic modern style, akin to a Premier Inn, in the U.K, but with tiled floors and a well stocked mini bar.
There is also a large flat screen t.v. but unfortunately the only channel broadcasting in English is Sky news and BBC world news. However, for long winter stays, there is a USB port where you can play pre-recorded MP4/Divx films from a memory stick.

The hotel foyer is open plan style, giving the feel of space, tiled floors and modern features, but can be a bit on the cold side if the weather outside is cool. Also due to lack of furnishings, carpets, curtains etc. it can be quite noisy.

The dining room is decorated in the same theme and again can be quite noisy.
There was quite a lot of choice of dishes for dinner, on most nights at least 4 fish and 4 meat dishes for main courses. including smoked salmon, mussels and langoustines, plus salads and soup, but the vegetables were on the over cooked side. the only bad meal we had was the beef steak, which was extremely tough and the roast chicken which was over cooked and very dry.

There was plenty of choice for breakfast, A good variety of breads, pastries, cold meats, cheeses, yoghurts, fresh fruits, together with bacon, sausages, tomatoes, omelettes, fried, scrambled or boiled eggs. Some mornings one of the chefs would make fresh smoothies and on Sundays there was a complimentary glass of Cava.

The complimentary A la Carte meal in the Andaluz restaurant, where we dined 4 times, was excellent. The choice of desserts were served more like petite fours on the same plate. We thought this was quite a novel idea, for a restaurant in Spain.

The pool area was kept immaculately clean, with plenty of sunbeds, but as it was very open, there was no shelter on a sunny but cool breezy day

The staff were very polite and friendly and the Director was on duty most days from 8am until 9pm, and welcomed guests to the dining room on most nights.

The entertainment was much the same all the time we were there, keyboard players, a Motown trio and once a week Flamenco dancers. Our favourite was Mario, whom we have seen many times before, he seems to be able to get the audience dancing.

All in all an excellent break, but I don't think we would go back to the Riu Nautilus.

Room Tip: A garden room, although does not get any sun, it would be a good choice in summer, as they have a pr...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Norwich, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
34 reviews 34 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
29 helpful votes 29 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 13, 2014

Have just returned from a 4 week break at this smart and contemporarily furnished hotel. We couldn't fault the staff - reception, cleaning, waiting and management - all were friendly and helpful at all times. Our bedroom was large, well furnished and had a great view (room 240 in the annexe). Tea and coffee making facilities would be a bonus but you can always use a travel kettle so this wasn't really a problem. The public rooms were a bit on the noisy side (too many hard surfaces). The dining room did feel rather over-crowded at meal times but the choice of food was excellent if you love fish, not quite so good if you prefer meat, also the deserts were too sweet for my taste but there was always the option of fruit or cheese and biscuits! During the day only the poolside bar is open - the bar inside does not open until 5.00pm - seems a silly thing to do during the winter months when the sun is not always shining and you would prefer to sit inside! Overall this was a pleasant stay at a very good hotel in a nice position on the promenade although why the address is Torremolinos and not Benelmadana is beyond me!

Room Tip: Views of the sea and Benelmadana Marina great from room 240. Sunny from first thing until mid after...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Keighley, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
57 reviews 57 reviews
21 hotel reviews
Reviews in 28 cities Reviews in 28 cities
38 helpful votes 38 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 29, 2014

The Hotel's refurbishment has been tastefully done and upon arrival the colour scheme certainly aids relaxation with an airy and spacious lobby / communal sitting / games area. The room we had (145) was large, airy and scrupulously clean. The twin beds were really 3/4 beds and so were very comfortable. Bathroom fittings were good and all worked well. The only "criticisms" of the room were, 1) the chairs were more like dining chairs, rather than chairs to relax and read or watch TV in. A shame as it spoilt our enjoyment of our room. No doubt done to discourage guests from relaxing in their rooms as then you are not availing yourself of the bar and beverage service. 2) Likewise it always disappoints me to find no tea/coffee making facilities in the rooms - again no doubt to encourage guests to spend money on purchasing at an unreasonable cost tea and or coffee through the bar service. Personally, this turns us off and we actively look for (more often then not) cheaper nearby establishments with the added benefits usually of free wi-fi! 3) the air conditioning was not available as it was winter, yet we found our room very warm at night.
Food in the restaurant was good albeit a little fish focused but as meat lovers we found something to eat every night.
The spa is excellent, although you have to entre from outside which can be discouraging if its cold and rainy and I agree with an earlier comment, closing at 6pm is too early especially for those guests on late dining at 7.45pm.
The location is good, although the "walk" to the nearest metro station is nearer a mile and uphill all the way, so my advice take a taxi. So if the hotel introduced easy chairs in the rooms, tea and coffee facilities and free Wi-Fi in rooms it would be a great hotel and I wouldn't have any hesitation in going back there.

Room Tip: Certainly if you go in January as we did I would recommend a room on the right hand side of the anne...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Hotel Riu Nautilus? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Riu Nautilus

Address: Avenida Salvador Allende 39 | Torremolinos - Malaga, 29620 Torremolinos, Spain
Location: Spain > Andalucia > Province of Malaga > Costa del Sol > Torremolinos
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Spa Hotel in Torremolinos
#1 On the Beach Hotel in Torremolinos
#1 Luxury Hotel in Torremolinos
#3 Romantic Hotel in Torremolinos
#5 Family Hotel in Torremolinos
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Riu Nautilus 4*
Number of rooms: 293
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
* Located 2 km from Torremolinos* 3-storey and 7-storey buildings* 2,500 garden* Separated from beach only by the beachfront promenade* 700 m from Puerto Marina* 700 m from various shops* 8 km from the Malaga airport* 100 m from a bus stop ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Venere, Despegar.com, TripOnline SA and Tingo so you can book your Hotel Riu Nautilus reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Riu Nautilus Torremolinos
Riu Nautilus Hotel Torremolinos
Hotel Riu Nautilus Torremolinos, Costa Del Sol, Spain

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hotel Riu Nautilus, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.