We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Stunning Hotel,Excellent Location.” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel Riu Nautilus

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Save
You added Hotel Riu Nautilus to your Saves list
Hotel Riu Nautilus
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Avenida Salvador Allende 39 | Torremolinos - Malaga, 29620 Torremolinos, Spain   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel packages
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Join us & get 1000 Points
Ranked #3 of 72 Hotels in Torremolinos
Derby, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
“Stunning Hotel,Excellent Location.”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 12, 2013

We arrived 8th Sept 2013,What a stunning hotel ,modern, clean, staff brilliant & attentive, food plentiful & a great choice. We didn't get a room with a sea view but that didn't matter as this hotel is right on the sea anyway. We were a party of nine all various ages 20s 30s,50s,60s & 80. Everyone enjoyed the whole spectrum of what this hotel had to offer. Plenty of sun loungers, towels for the beach at no cost, choice of indoor or outdoor eating, exemplary staff. The room was large with plenty of wardrobe space, lots of draws, flat screen TV, mini fridge, there is a walk in shower, balcony with furniture. The bed was the best I have slept in on holiday, very comfortable. We would definitely recommend this hotel you wont be disappointed.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

575 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    308
    178
    67
    14
    8
See reviews for
87
383
9
3
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (185)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
co durham
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 9, 2013 via mobile

We stayed for 7 nights from 29 sept Our room which has side sea view and marina in distance with sol Timor apartments directly opposite.The room itself was lovely - spacious plenty of room for clothes /cases in wardrobes and great large walk in modern shower . Flat screen tv great but only two English channels bbc1 and bbc2. Lots of European channels and majority of guests do appear to be German Dutch Spanish .

The reception area is very purple and grey with no atmosphere at all , at the rear of reception is the bar/lounge area with access to a lovely outside balcony area overlooking pool and sea where you can sit with drinks.
The restaurant is quite small and tables are very close together , we went for later breakfast and it was lovely sitting outside . There are two sittings for evening meal -6pm which you are automatically put on for your 1st night (which didn't suit us at all and we were told see head waiter and he will swap you to later 8pm sitting for rest of stay which he did) It is a scrum for food and if you don't like seafood or pork you will have a limited choice of what you eat . Even some of the salad items like beans or pasta had fish in it with even though there was seafood to accompany the salad 5 nights out of the 7 we were there , I spoke to the assistant manager regards this and he did say he thought was plenty of choice but did say if I was struggling to ask and something could be brought to me from the kitchen . Funnily the day the surveys came out the better food and posher ice cream came out!
The staff are very friendly and efficient.

The pool area is very small and cramped and people were putting towels on loungers when it was still dark but towels were never removed by staff.
No activities or music round the pool area so if you like it very quiet would suit you .
We hired a car for 4 days and there was always space near hotel to park .

The hotel is in a great location very short walk to both Benalmadena marina area and Torremolinos where there are some lovely old streets with fish / Spanish restaurants mixed in with modern bars and shops .

Upon checking out they tried to charge us for a safe that we had never had - after querying was removed from the bill and apology given .
Overall mostly enjoyable but average and for those who think its fantastic maybe they haven't stayed in 4* /5* somewhere like Antalya area of Turkey where the hotels far exceed the standards of this hotel for not much more money.

  • Stayed September 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Top Contributor
63 reviews 63 reviews
38 hotel reviews
Reviews in 23 cities Reviews in 23 cities
51 helpful votes 51 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 9, 2013

A return visit to Nautilus. I felt this visit there seemed to be a lot of new staff on Reception, Restaurant and Bar Lounge and it was an effort for them to be interested in the Guest. I overhead another guest stating the same. Was talking to another guest who stated that the hotel enjoys a 68% return of guests So I think that says a lot about the experience of Nautilus.. Another guest I spoke to didn't like the new upgrade, she preferred the old style.

Everything was as it should be for this visit. We had an excellent room food was good. My only gripe is that tables at meal times are very close together. Dinner time you must sit at the table that has been allocated. We had different languages, including Holland and Belgium. The language barrier was a bit of a problem. Though most of them could speak a little English. Again the age old problem of reserving the sunbeds crops up. This didn't bother me as I was always able to get a sunbed myself.

We will return perhaps next year.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nuneaton, Warwickshire, England
Senior Contributor
25 reviews 25 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
41 helpful votes 41 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 7, 2013

This hotel was a disappointment after our previous experiences in Riu hotels. The reception area was almost clinical and the lounge area lacked any atmosphere. The colour scheme seems to have copied our Premier Inns but was incomplete with the green lounge chairs clashing with the lilac and grey colour scheme. The restaurant resembled a bun-fight with all guests expected to sit within a very short time frame and the pool deck area was small with only very tired sun beds. It really needs new sun loungers and some chairs. The room was spacious with a sea view. It was clean though lacked sufficient storage space. We were on the 7th floor (east side) and overlooked the bottlebank - annoying at 2am in the morning when the local bars decide to dispose of their empties. The local Dutch music bar was also noisy. The sound of the surf is constant. On this experience its not a hotel I would rush back too.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
hucknall
Senior Contributor
25 reviews 25 reviews
18 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
29 helpful votes 29 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 2, 2013

The reception area is clinical and soulless unlike previous RIU hotels which are have always been welcoming. The room however in contrast was very good and would have been excellent if the facility for making a hot drink was available. The staff throughout the hotel are courteous, friendly and efficient. The pool area is so full of sunbeds its like looking at sardines in a can and very early in the morning while it is still dark figures can be seen reserving their favourite sunbed despite a notice saying sunbeds should not be reserved this could easily be remedied by the staff removing the offending towels. As the beach is just across the promenade we used this option and at 9 euros for 2 sunbeds, table, brolly, waiter service and use of toilet at beach bar this seemed a good alternative. The food in the restaurant is buffet style and seems to be geared to our EU partners which is understandable as the Brits were only a tiny minority. The quality of the food left something to be desired as for example the fish was full of bones and the beef was extremely tough. Perhaps I am being picky but this is one RIU we won't be going back to.

Room Tip: high floors for sea views
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Birmingham, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 30, 2013

This is a tidy well appointed hotel with an attentive and engaged staff group. However we visited in September after school hols now adults only. The hotel was stretched two meal sittings with designated tables a wide range and quality buffet but almost industrial in approach
I think given the choice and the range of eateries we would go bed and breakfast.
The sun loungers are numerous but discount the request not to put the towels out all gone by 8 30

We had a good holiday and the staff were lovely many returning guests

Room Tip: Avoid odd numbers in the new block poor view
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Salzburg, Austria
Top Contributor
137 reviews 137 reviews
48 hotel reviews
Reviews in 57 cities Reviews in 57 cities
66 helpful votes 66 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 29, 2013

Rooms are very nice. The choice of food is typically buffet and not real spanish. Must say that they were friendly and cooked us some fish which was originally not on display. Maybe we just went there at the wrong time when the hotel was packed.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Hotel Riu Nautilus? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Riu Nautilus

Address: Avenida Salvador Allende 39 | Torremolinos - Malaga, 29620 Torremolinos, Spain
Location: Spain > Andalucia > Province of Malaga > Costa del Sol > Torremolinos
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Spa Hotel in Torremolinos
#1 On the Beach Hotel in Torremolinos
#1 Luxury Hotel in Torremolinos
#3 Romantic Hotel in Torremolinos
#5 Family Hotel in Torremolinos
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Riu Nautilus 4*
Number of rooms: 293
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
* Located 2 km from Torremolinos* 3-storey and 7-storey buildings* 2,500 garden* Separated from beach only by the beachfront promenade* 700 m from Puerto Marina* 700 m from various shops* 8 km from the Malaga airport* 100 m from a bus stop ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Venere, Expedia, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Orbitz, Despegar.com, TripOnline SA and Tingo so you can book your Hotel Riu Nautilus reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Riu Nautilus Torremolinos
Riu Nautilus Hotel Torremolinos
Hotel Riu Nautilus Torremolinos, Costa Del Sol, Spain

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hotel Riu Nautilus, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.