We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fantastic hotel” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel Riu Nautilus

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Save
You added Hotel Riu Nautilus to your Saves list
Hotel Riu Nautilus
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Avenida Salvador Allende 39 | Torremolinos - Malaga, 29620 Torremolinos, Spain   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel packages
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
EARLY BIRD SUMMER DEALS
Ranked #3 of 73 Hotels in Torremolinos
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Castleford, United Kingdom
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
“Fantastic hotel”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 17, 2013

On arriving at the riu nautilus we were allocated a room in the annex building room 221 ,the room was gigantic compared with hotel rooms we have had before ,it was spotlessly clean and had a flat screen tv hung on the wall.the meals were good if a bit repetitive ,but the restaurant was spotless same as every where in the hotel ,the staff were all very helpful and very professional except for ramondo on reception who could be off hand I thought. The swimming pool area was beautiful although they had tried to get as many beds in as possible,and all beds were shoved together as near to the next as possible.Now the downs ,the hotel had no soul no atmosphere every where was quite ,no noise of any description,if you looked as though you might enjoy yourself other guests would give you the look ,the entertaiment was ok if you liked saxophone playing or classical guitar but if you want to tap your feet forget it.the resort was the same low key the Marina was nice but for the younger person ,if you are our age like to enjoy ourselves but not go too far this is not the resort for you.the red tourist bus was good and we went to see the dolphins which were fantastic and the butterflies which are astounding.the day times take alot of filling much more than usual .finally the hotel beautiful and spotless but very quiet the resort similar ,nothing around the hotel if you want a quiet sun worshiping holiday this is for you because there's nothing else to do.

Room Tip: Try to get a room as high as you can so you not overlooked from other rooms .can't rate the spa...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

646 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    351
    200
    72
    15
    8
See reviews for
99
432
13
3
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (204)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
NEWCASTLE UPON TYNE
Top Contributor
53 reviews 53 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
61 helpful votes 61 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 15, 2013

We visited this hotel on 4th august to celebrate our 25th wedding anniversary.The holiday we had was brilliant , the staff were outstandingly friendly and efficient the rooms were superb .On our first evening we were seated in the main dining room and I noticed people dining outside on a lovely terrace overlooking the sea ,I asked the waiter if we could be moved outside and the following evening we were given an outside table for the rest of our stay.The food was varied and to a very high standard.On our anniversary night we were booked into the al a carte restaurant where we were given a free bottle of champagne , a red candle on our table and again excellent service was supplied .When we returned to our room that evening a basket of fruit had been put on our room table..We had no trouble getting sun beds at any time?.The overall experience will stay with us always.GREAT HOTEL

Room Tip: We were in the annex on the road side which did not bother us as we are people watchers all rooms ar...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Derby, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 12, 2013

There's lots of comments to look towards, the point for beds is irrelevant as one will always spend sufficient time in the sun as it last well into 12 hours here, simply the best of Riu brand having now set these as our personal choice every trip to relax well and truly, nothing is ever a problem as the whole support is the very best.

Room Tip: We personally found to be all one's desire's rooms are spotless
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gateshead, England, United Kingdom
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 12, 2013

My husband & I took Mam & dad on a weeks break to this hotel. Ideal as it is adults only which suited my parents not that they don't like children but enjoyed the peace. The hotel rooms are fabulous & the food is 2nd to none I would defy anybody that they could not find anything that they like. It is situated next to promenade so mam & dad could take a small stroll at their leisure not far from Belamadena Marina. Highly recommend this hotel

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 12, 2013

Stayed in this hotel first week in June. It is a lovely hotel Staff are excellent. The only thing I would complain about Is the fact that they charge for Wi-Fi. You get one go a day free. After that its 20euro per week or 5euro per day per Device. Will definitely return next year..

Room Tip: Ask for a sea view ,,
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kalamaki
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 11, 2013

We have just come back from a lovely weeks stay at the Riu Nautilus Hotel. The staff at the hotel could not have done anything more for you and they are always there on hand if you need. The hotel is immaculately clean and the maids make sure they clean your room and change your sheets when you like. It's the best hotel in the area and we particularly liked the hotels location as you are spoilt for choice of places to eat and drink. The culture in Torremolinos is amazing and if you liked you could take a bus ride to other towns and see how different everywhere is. We especially liked Mijas, A small traditional Spanish town with little shops and Tapas cafe's with amazing views.

Room Tip: Request Pool and See views
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Greenock, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 10, 2013

Visited 31st July till 7th of August, arrived late at night and check in was very prompt, hotel had laid on a cold buffet for late arrivals who had booked half board which was well received
Rooms are very nicely decorated and modern with small minibar fridge and safe and are cleaned to a high standard by friendly staff. Only downside is still using keys for the door and the safe meaning you have to carry both with you.
Dinning room is small for the number of people and can be very busy but with two sessions to choose from for evening meal its not too bad, lot busier for breakfast. The food was good with plenty to chose from but not as good as the Riu Palace where we visisted last year, someone else mentioned this perhaps all the Riu hotels have cut back on quality, it is a bit repetitive with just the main roast changing per night, once again though the staff in the dinning room are very friendly and look pleased to help.
The hotel has had an extension built a few years ago which means they have lost quite a bit of ground for sunbeds, these are laid out three or four deep round the pool and also there is a large covered area with retractable blinds again with about four rows. Its not the number of rows that is the problem its the closeness to your neighbour which no one likes, also a shortage of umbrella's round the pool with these being moved by people on a daily basis and in some cases while people have left their beds for lunch others borrow them.
Not sure if I would go back to the Riu Nautilus certainly not during peak periods might consider it off peak as its a good hotel just a bit cramped round the pool

Room Tip: We asked for high floor as heard it was noisy, got room 615, never heard a thing during the night
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Hotel Riu Nautilus? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Riu Nautilus

Address: Avenida Salvador Allende 39 | Torremolinos - Malaga, 29620 Torremolinos, Spain
Location: Spain > Andalucia > Province of Malaga > Costa del Sol > Torremolinos
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 On the Beach Hotel in Torremolinos
#1 Spa Hotel in Torremolinos
#1 Luxury Hotel in Torremolinos
#3 Family Hotel in Torremolinos
#3 Romantic Hotel in Torremolinos
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Riu Nautilus 4*
Number of rooms: 293
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
* Located 2 km from Torremolinos* 3-storey and 7-storey buildings* 2,500 garden* Separated from beach only by the beachfront promenade* 700 m from Puerto Marina* 700 m from various shops* 8 km from the Malaga airport* 100 m from a bus stop ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Hotels.com, Expedia, Orbitz, Venere and Despegar.com so you can book your Hotel Riu Nautilus reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Riu Nautilus Torremolinos
Riu Nautilus Hotel Torremolinos
Hotel Riu Nautilus Torremolinos, Costa Del Sol, Spain

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hotel Riu Nautilus, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.