We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Hotel good weather bad” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel Riu Nautilus

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Save
You added Hotel Riu Nautilus to your Saves list
Hotel Riu Nautilus
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Avenida Salvador Allende 39 | Torremolinos - Malaga, 29620 Torremolinos, Spain   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel packages
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #3 of 73 Hotels in Torremolinos
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
“Hotel good weather bad”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 29, 2013 via mobile

Went for a 4 day break looking forwar to sme sun but all we got was rain but the hotel was good room very good with good views staff friendly always helpfull food good would stay again but it is now adults only so won't be going with the family but good location the best Carnt coment on pools or sunbeds as we did not use as the weather was too bad

  • Stayed October 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

588 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    317
    182
    67
    14
    8
See reviews for
87
393
12
3
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (188)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Liverpool, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
23 helpful votes 23 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 28, 2013

Visited the Nautilus after its facelift, the bedrooms are excellent,new high beds, plenty of wardrobe and drawer space, large flat screen tv on wall, plenty of space, the bathrooms are roomy and now have large walk in showers.
The restaurant is again very good, you are allocated a table for your evening meal for your entire stay together - they operate two sittings. The food is very good and plentiful. Sit anywhere for breakfast and again lots of choice and very good. The lounge area is now very 'modern' and sadly will not suit everyone. The chairs are modern but not particularly comfortable, it will 'date' very quickly and possibly look worn very quickly. The reception looks good and again staff very attentive, with the normal welcome glass of champage offered. The also operate a 'pool' towel service which saves on weight in the luggage. Highly recommended. Area around not bad with resonable priced bars.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Northumberland
Top Contributor
128 reviews 128 reviews
70 hotel reviews
Reviews in 81 cities Reviews in 81 cities
74 helpful votes 74 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 28, 2013

My wife and I are fairly regular visitors to Riu Hotels both in mainland Spain and the Canaries but this was our first visit to the Riu Nautilus. A good hotel in a good location with a great promenade on the doorstep which we walked everyday. Our room on the first floor had a view over the swimming pool and a reasonable view of the sea and was a good size with very comfortable beds. Having recently been refurbished there was a feeling of newness about the place and it was spotlessly clean. Food in the restaurant very acceptable but as in the other Riu hotels we have stayed in the tables are too close together. We had no problems with the two sitting arrangements and found the later sitting to our liking. Staff throughout the hotel helpful and pleasant. We had excellent weather for our stay and no complaints whatsoever. However, I will make a personal comment and I stress that this is only my view that the new decor is somewhat garish with an uncomfortable colour scheme of purples and greys - from a personal point of view I much prefer the more traditional style.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 27, 2013 via mobile

Wonderful hotel, splendid location but spoiled by very poor evening entertainment. The music was very dull and the some of artists actually looked bored. Ok for background music but definetly not providing lively holiday entertainment. Lounge was well filled each evening but within 5 minutes, many people moved on. The new reception area looks very posh but again it has no atmosphere. Perhaps an area with a large screen Tv showing sky sports would encourage people to linger. Also, the tv in the room only has 2 channels in English. There were numerous channels in Spanish and German but surely English is a more universal language for visitors from other parts of Europe.

Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Accrington, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
33 reviews 33 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
28 helpful votes 28 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 25, 2013

The Nautilus is well placed on the Torremolinas sea front between the marina of Benalmadena and the pretty area of Carihela.
The hotel has just had an extensive refurbishment and has been regraded by Riu to "Adults Only".
This was our first visit so we could not compare before and after the refurb but the results to us were excellent. The reception area is open and cool looking with plenty of seating. The colours, maybe, reflected the new clientele.
Our room was a bit on the small side but had a great view of the pool and the sea, a queen-size bed and a flat screen TV. The wardrobes were good with plenty of proper clothes hangers.
The restaurant has a panoramic view of the sea but is a bit on the small side leaving breakfasts as a bit of a struggle for tables and the evening meal split into two sittings. The food though is very good with proper bacon at breakfast and better thought out desserts at dinner.
The pool area has a redesigned pool and plenty of seating. It was, however, accessed by 26 steep steps with the only alternative a 200 mtr detour via the annex and its lift. Bearing in mind the older visitors the Nautilas is looking to attract this may cause problems. The indoor pool and spa also had stair access.
The staff were exceptionally friendly and helpful. Nothing was too much trouble with the reception staff even chasing up our return transfer which our airline had forgotten to do.
All-in-all a great experience which will see us return at a similar time next year.

Room Tip: Rooms with numbers ending in 08, 09, 10, or 11 have a sea / pool view at the end of the building...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 9
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Top Contributor
64 reviews 64 reviews
38 hotel reviews
Reviews in 23 cities Reviews in 23 cities
51 helpful votes 51 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 23, 2013

Back again, though this time to the refurbishment. Colour scheme very modern throughout. I must say the refurbishment is only cosmetic in the bedrooms though the fixture and fittings have been replaced. We had a bath with the two sinks in our room. The flat screen TV was a bonus. Though only 2 English speaking channels BBC1 and 2. Three wee issues, they have done away with the mattress's for the sunbeds, also it would be nice if they changed the brown towels to white fluffy towels, in the bathroom. They look as if they have seen better days. Also in the dining room the net curtains haven't been replaced so this means strong sunshine in the morning. As usual food standard good with plenty of choice. We tried the alternative dining option down on the floor with pool bar. I thought the choice was limited but nice for a change with the food being served to table. They have now introduced security on the back gate. You have to enter a code to gain access from the promenade. Some of the original staff still there, though not all friendly and helpful. We will return as we find the standards are good.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
King's Lynn, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed April 22, 2013

We have just spent five nights at the nautilus. New look reception smart and boutique. As newly refurbished expected everything to be perfect but in the room paint already chipped showing through old red. Bathroom now with good shower but gave the appearance of rushed finish, poor grouting, showerdoor not closing properly etc..Rooms good size but white and grey colours make the room feel cold when not sunny.
Unfortunately although the hotel was overall very clean the room cleaning was poor, throughout our stay the slip mat in the shower was not moved by the maid and empty shower gel packets left on the shower shelf.
Staff overall were efficient but 'just doing their job', no extra effort although when staying at this hotel previously we found the same attitude which we have never found in any other Riu hotel.
Food as usual at Riu very good but not the effort made in presentation that was made at the Puerto Marina.
Was looking at this hotel for Christmas but have now changed our minds.
Not really very suitable for people with mobility difficulties as a lot of steps, slopes etc and although can get round, may be hard work.
Overall accepted 'rough edges' as hotel has only just reopened and enjoyed our stay, but needs to up its game.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Hotel Riu Nautilus? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Riu Nautilus

Address: Avenida Salvador Allende 39 | Torremolinos - Malaga, 29620 Torremolinos, Spain
Location: Spain > Andalucia > Province of Malaga > Costa del Sol > Torremolinos
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 On the Beach Hotel in Torremolinos
#1 Spa Hotel in Torremolinos
#1 Luxury Hotel in Torremolinos
#3 Romantic Hotel in Torremolinos
#5 Family Hotel in Torremolinos
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Riu Nautilus 4*
Number of rooms: 293
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
* Located 2 km from Torremolinos* 3-storey and 7-storey buildings* 2,500 garden* Separated from beach only by the beachfront promenade* 700 m from Puerto Marina* 700 m from various shops* 8 km from the Malaga airport* 100 m from a bus stop ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Orbitz, Venere, Despegar.com, Travelocity, TripOnline SA and Tingo so you can book your Hotel Riu Nautilus reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Riu Nautilus Torremolinos
Riu Nautilus Hotel Torremolinos
Hotel Riu Nautilus Torremolinos, Costa Del Sol, Spain

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hotel Riu Nautilus, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.