We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Enjoyable” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel Riu Nautilus

Save Saved
You added Hotel Riu Nautilus to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Hotel Riu Nautilus
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Avenida Salvador Allende 39 | Torremolinos - Malaga, 29620 Torremolinos, Spain   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel packages
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Best Fall Getaway
Ranked #3 of 73 hotels in Torremolinos
Barton-upon-Humber, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
“Enjoyable”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 12, 2013

We were some of the first to sample the Riu Nautilus after its multi million euro update arriving on the 1st of March. The reception area is much more welcoming with a bright purple/grey theme, however the seating is not very comfortable and not conducive to relaxing in which is a pity since the weather we experienced that week was the worst we have ever known on the Costa del Sol. We had a room on the second floor in the annex overlooking the impressive new infinity pool area but the weather prevented us from enjoying it. The room was decorated in a purple/white theme with a large new bed,flat screen television and an impressive walk in shower. There was a good choice for evening meals and breakfast,and the staff were particularly attentive. Unfortunately during the first week of reopening there was no advertised evening entertainment so we went out most evenings. We will return again hopefully to enjoy the magnificent pool area in better weather.

Room Tip: In the annex overlooking the pool or in the main block looking towards the marina to catch the after...
See more room tips
Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

517 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    271
    165
    61
    12
    8
See reviews for
87
335
8
3
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (163)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Rotherham
Senior Contributor
39 reviews 39 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
29 helpful votes 29 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 12, 2013

This newly renovated hotel is now very stylish. This may not suit everyone as there is a certain amount of style over comfort/amenity. The lobby was very impressive, very minimalist but as previously stated some of the chairs were for show and not comfort. The bedrooms likewise were lovely but the chairs,again,were functional dining chairs and not for relaxing and looking out to sea in. There is masses of storage space and a huge T.V.The picture on the T.V. was poor but we left that for the next person to sort! The lighting was excellent but the beds rather hard for our liking.The shower was large and there are two basins. Yes, the towels could be nicer but I assumed that the new stock had not yet arrived.
The food couldn't be faulted in any way- the choice and quality was superb. The staff were very pleasant,conscientious, and could not do enough for you. There are two sittings and you keep the same table for dinner but can use any table for breakfast.
Unfortunately the weather was unseasonably poor so we couldn't use the outdoor pool but it looked nice. Very impressive was the indoor pool,jacuzzi, steam room and gym. All newly renovated and free. We spent a lot of our time there and the lady on reception is delightfully pleasant.
I found that there were a few irritating niggles. Reception had been e mailed by me a week before we arrived but they said they hadn't read all their e mails as they had not been open long. This meant that we didn't get a double bedroom facing the evening sun. We got a twin facing the morning sun - and there wasn't any! The heating was on when we got there and worked very well throughout our stay. We didn't need the air con!
Because of the minimalist look of reception there was no information about anything to hand. No car hire,weather forecast,information on places to visit,prices etc. We don't usually like bothering reception too much but had to ask for everything.
We cashed a travellers cheque early in the week with no bother,but when we tried to cash one on the Saturday, they said they couldn't do it. When we pointed out that one had already been cashed, they suggested that either we find a bank (all closed on Saturdays) or wait for the following day and try another member of staff. We left on the Sunday after scraping together enough Euros to pay the drinks bill, for which we were overcharged by about 6 Euros.

We visited Malaga twice which was very pleasant with lots to see. Fuengirola Bioparc,a lovely day. The Butterfly house (make sure it is sunny when you go or they wont fly!) The Buddhist Temple and Paloma Park as well as walking till I had blisters on blisters up and down the flat seafront.
I only give four stars because of the mix up over the drinks bill and the travellers cheques. I don't know what we would have done if we had not have had the cash to pay on the Sunday as we didn't have a plastic card with us.Perhaps travellers cheques are past their sell by date now and we need to check that each individual hotel will take them.
All in all a stunning renovation,wander into the Pez Espada for comparison and then take your pick!

Room Tip: Go for the West side, evening sun in cooler months. The East side if you don't want too much hea...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brussels, Belgium
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
30 helpful votes 30 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 10, 2013

Hotel Riu Nautilus was totally renovated during the winter 2012/2013. We had the honor to be among the very first guests (re-opening 1st of March). The main colours used in the hotel decor are purple/lilac, gray and white. The furniture in the lobby area might look trendy but the chairs are not very comfortable to sit for a long time.

Our room was in the side building, 3rd floor, very nice view to the pool and the sea (no sun on the balcony which is not a problem for us). The room was spacey enough, very good bed, large wardrobe, walk-in shower.

The main reason for us to choose this hotel was the good reputation of the kitchen and we were not disappointed. Excellent choice of dinner and lovely breakfast.

The hotel has a new spa area with various treatments (fitness room, indoor pool and jacuzzi free of charge). In the lobby there are two computers (Internet connection with coins), you can also buy a code for wifi. Before the hotel used to have a billiard table and darts but they were not re-installed (yet ??). We didn't follow the evening entertainment so no opinion for that. Riu Nautilus is now an “adults only” hotel and during our stay the most customers seemed to be 60+ of age.

The absolute top of this hotel is the staff. Everyone of them, cleaning ladies, receptionists, barmen, staff of the restaurant... so friendly and truly welcoming, wanting to make the clients happy.

For any future stay in Torremolinos we don't have to hesitate about choosing a hotel, it will be Riu Nautilus for sure.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 10, 2013 via mobile

Just spent a week at the newly refurbished RIU Nautilus.Hotel looks fantastic-love the new purple/grey modern colour scheme.Some of the more traditional clients may not approve!Rooms are improved-fantastic new beds which are very comfortable.New flat screen tv's in all rooms.Fantastic new facility of in door pool,sauna,jacuzzi and treatment rooms.Had a lovely relaxing hot stone massage.Only suggestion I would have is to open earlier than current time of 10.00 am.My only criticism would be that the towels have not been upgraded-nice new shower which is great,would have been better if new fluffy white towels had been provided instead of old brown ones.As always the staff were very accommodating and friendly.I will definitely be returning in the warmer months to experience the new outdoor seating area and lovely infinity pool-all based on a Balinese theme-looks very impressive

Stayed March 2013, traveled with friends
Was this review helpful? Yes 6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
newcastle upon tyne
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
28 helpful votes 28 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 30, 2012

well we arrived at this hotel.....greeted by a drink....fantastic
sadly i had not booked a seaview or pool view room......9memo to self for future to do so)...this was not a problem they reallocated us a room with a side sea view room.....(slight noise from apartments opposits on occasion )
the room was huge......spacious beautifully decorated n had a/c and a ceiling fan

the pool area was large....the pool clean ...some of the tiles needed replacing and it needed moderninsing but while i write this the grounds are being redisigned and a new pool installed so my comments do not matter.....there were plenty of umbrellas.......disabled access to the pool the staff never hid the fact that the pool area needed re doing in fact kept us informed of the fact that that was the plan

spa treatments were fab i had a massage n other treatments the staff were fantastic


direct access to the prom and the beach from the hotel..... 5mins walk to benalmadena marina on the right n a nice long walk the other way on the left

now the food
they had 2 sittings...we chose the second....first i have to say im a fussy eater....the restaurant manager n staff were fantastic they would come to the tanle introduce the chef...he offered to cook what ever i wanted if i had special needs....which i didnt because i could eat everything there......we couldc not fault the restaurant at all..............
if i visited torremolinos again then yes we would definately stay here

all staff in the hotel were politw n very helpful

on day of departure the manager came out to say goodbye chatting with us all until the bus came to collect us.......he looked forward to our next visit in the newly revamped hotel

in total a pleasure to stay here........

Room Tip: book a pool view or seaview......dont forget like i did lol
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Newquay, United Kingdom
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
27 helpful votes 27 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 29, 2012

We have been holidaying at the Riu Nautilus twice a year for the past ten years, and will most definitely be there again in April 2013 after the refurbishment. The hotel is not advertised as being disabled- friendly but as a wheel chair user, I can assure anyone thinking of a holiday there that it is extremely suitable for disabled people, as well as able-bodied. The staff are the friendliest we have ever experienced in hotels anywhere, and we rarely see changes in the workforce. Most of them have woked there for many years, which says a lot for the management = obviously a happy community. The rooms are good now, but will be even better next year. The food is excellent-plenty of choice, and one would be very fussy to not find anything to suit, such tasty variety. We love the outdoor pool. especially as about five years ago a hoist was installed to aid anyone into and out of the water. The hotel has provided an over-bath swivel seat in the past to aid me in for a shower, but I am looking forward to next year when there will be a large walk-in shower.

Room Tip: Rooms in the annexe are larger, Rooms in the tower have a pamoramic view. It depends on what you lik...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
leeds
Top Contributor
58 reviews 58 reviews
25 hotel reviews
Reviews in 34 cities Reviews in 34 cities
88 helpful votes 88 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed November 27, 2012

stayed for only 8 days on the 24th october due to the hotel closing for refurbishment of the rooms.
went to see the new room and some rooms are having the bath out and a large shower put in. they are done in purple/lilac with runners on the bed and cushions.
well back to the warm and wet. the bedrooms were warm and the weather was wet.
in 8 days we had 2 sunny days (husband was lucky and got the sun for his birthday.) and 3 totally wet days and 3 cloudy days.
i e-mailed for a sunny room with sea view as it was a special occasion for my husbands birthday. i received no reply but they said they had received it on arrival and said they were giving us a nice room.
well it was on the 6th floor in the main building number 609.
when we walked in the heat hit us. it wasnt a very sunny day but the room was too hot for us.
on arrival i has asked it the air con in the hotel was on and the man said no.
room 609 had no ceiling fan and only a tiny door onto a tiny balcony.
it had a picture window but no patio door and the 2 lovely chairs faced the wardrobe.
the only good thing about the room was it had a great view of the coastline but it was also too high for us. 2 wash basins in the bathroom.
so we went back to reception to find a room with a ceiling fan and these rooms were all in the annexe.
we had room number 230 and it was cooler with a ceiling fan( which was neccesary )
the temp outside was 19 degrees even when raining but the bedrooms were warm, but the ceiling fan moved the air round.
only 1 wash basin in the bathroom this time. no problem there then. but no magnifying mirror.
230 was a bigger room than 609 and i thought 609 looked very poor.
230 had patio door but the bed in the room did not face the sea. so when sitting up in bed you cant see the sea. alternate bedrooms will have sea views from the bed.
i have been in other hotels where all the beds in the hotel face the same way toward the sea.
we faced the east in this room so we didnt get any sun so it kept the room cooler but could still see the sea from the balcony.
one of our pillows had no pillowcase either!! not nice
tiled floors but a bedside rug would be nice.
when i asked if they had a survey form, they said no!! they dont want to know as other folk have reported(regarding break ins)
the wardrobes are massive 10 foot long so thats a good point. but doors were stiff to push. plenty of drawers but the new rooms will have less drawers.
i wasnt leaving anything to chance for my husbands birthday so i had mentioned it in the e-mail and on the day of arrival.(first time husband had been away on his birthday).
the day arrived and we were brought a basket of fruit and at the evening meal there was a candle on the table and a bottle of cava in the ice bucket. very nice.
but why do we have to set our own breakfast tables in riu hotels. 3 star hotels set your own but 4 star hotels should be set for you.
the tv in the room was not a flat screen , but that doesnt bother us but the remote was just an up and down button. so if i wanted channel 1 for the spanish and my husband wanted channel 17 you had to do a lot of button pushing. you cant flick between the two. there was also lots of missing channels and when we were watching a programmes there was hissing and buzzing between camera shots and everyone had long faces!! the worse tv i have ever watched. 6 channels missing out of 25 channels as well.
i asked if they had better tv remotes, ones with all the numbers like all the other hotels have and i was told no because they didnt want customers altering the order of the channels!!!!
the man at reception said you would be suprised what people get up to!!!!
funny that all other hotels can trust the customers with a decent remote.
theyll be charging for the remote soon!!!
asked for a wake up call one morning and the man had to come to our room as our phone wasnt working. so thank god i didnt need to use it in an emergency.
only 40 people left by the last day but still had a queue sometimes for the food, so i dread to think what it is like when the hotel is full and we were still having 2 sittings with only 40 people.
two men on reception were pretty gloomy and brusque and only one other had a smile. only 1 person at a time on reception so i was kept waiting a lot.
it took 3 days to get 2 more pillows. i usually ask the maid in spanish for them and i wished i had.
the lights on our landing by the stairs and lifts were out 3 nights running and i had to tell them about this. also the lights outside at the front of the hotel were out one evening and it was difficult to see the steps.
on the last day all the fridges were brought out of the empty rooms (we were the only people on our landing) and it was like dr who and the daleks, with them all on the landing. when they were moved each fridge left water behind, which i skiddded on. very dangerous. had to tell them about that too.
food was ok and it had its moments like the current loaf and the crepe suzettes for dinner and the night we got pork ribs with loads of pork on and they were delicious and when i asked the manager if they ever had lamb, he rung the chef to see if he had any in the freezer and then cooked it specially for only me and my husband. so that was a nice gesture.
but we didnt see the breakfast sausages after 2 days, instead we got curled fried ham and if you like scrambled eggs well you wont get the proper stuff here, you will get scrambled omlette. which looked a bit soggy and it took me a few days to work out what it was meant to be.
potatoe wedges for breakfast were lovely but we only got them for 2 days.
the dance room and the restaurant could have had bettter air con. it was very warm everywhere.
the manager told me that to change from heating to air con would take 2 days!!! an old system.
the uplighter in the bedroom gave off heat , so i kept that off and when they get the new flat screen tvs in they will give off heat too.

on the spanish evening there was 3 managers to greet us in the restaurant and buenas noches and good evening was coming from all three of them and then the same from all the chefs and cooking staff all through the dinner, 15 times at least. i felt loved but after a bit it got too much.
in the evening a couple of nights the entertainment finished at 10pm. a bit early and nothing else to do. but another night a duo played for dancing but they wouldnt play anything latin/spanish and another night another man played loads of latin/spanish music.

the sea front gate is not secure( they promise it will be soon!!!) and the exit door from the annexe is propped open during the day for easy access. this is not good practise and i went one night at 8pm and it was dark to check on the door and it was still wedged open. i told the manager and he said they have security to check the doors later but there were empty rooms galore all with the doors off the catch waiting for squatters. all the rooms had beds in but kept off the catch for some reason.
as we were the only ones on our landing it seemed a bit scary and i would not have liked to have been a lone woman on that floor.
theives know that the exit door is propped open and they have full access to all the annexe bedrooms.
the fire alarm went off at 8.30am one morning and i looked onto the corridor but i saw no one and smelt nothing and after 2 minutes it went off. reception said it was a mistake!!!! but if you had been asleep you would have had a shock.
there is a ginger cat that spends all its time mostly on a sunbed. goodnes knows what it will do for the next 4 months.(been there for 7 years) no sunbed for it and no petting. it seemed a happy cat but there was another cat round by the annexe that mewed and mewed and i thought it seemed hungry. they should have a feeding house for the cats like they do in the canaries. it was very sad to see it.
staying at the amaragua next april so i will see if that is better or worse.
by the way the beds seemed firm but i slept well and didnt feel as though i had slept on a board all night. the beds are changing in the refurbishment. they can be highered for the maids to clean under.





it was a smallish room so we decided to change for another

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Hotel Riu Nautilus? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Riu Nautilus

Address: Avenida Salvador Allende 39 | Torremolinos - Malaga, 29620 Torremolinos, Spain
Location: Spain > Andalucia > Province of Malaga > Costa del Sol > Torremolinos
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Luxury Hotel in Torremolinos
#1 On the Beach Hotel in Torremolinos
#1 Spa Hotel in Torremolinos
#3 Romantic Hotel in Torremolinos
#4 Family Hotel in Torremolinos
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Riu Nautilus 4*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
* Located 2 km from Torremolinos* 3-storey and 7-storey buildings* 2,500 garden* Separated from beach only by the beachfront promenade* 700 m from Puerto Marina* 700 m from various shops* 8 km from the Malaga airport* 100 m from a bus stop ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Hotels.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Tingo and Otel so you can book your Hotel Riu Nautilus reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Riu Nautilus Torremolinos
Riu Nautilus Hotel Torremolinos
Hotel Riu Nautilus Torremolinos, Costa Del Sol, Spain

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hotel Riu Nautilus, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.