We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Our favourite hotel!!!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel Riu Nautilus

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Save
You added Hotel Riu Nautilus to your Saves list
Hotel Riu Nautilus
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Avenida Salvador Allende 39 | Torremolinos - Malaga, 29620 Torremolinos, Spain   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel packages
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #3 of 73 Hotels in Torremolinos
Newquay, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
30 helpful votes 30 helpful votes
“Our favourite hotel!!!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 29, 2012

We have been holidaying at the Riu Nautilus twice a year for the past ten years, and will most definitely be there again in April 2013 after the refurbishment. The hotel is not advertised as being disabled- friendly but as a wheel chair user, I can assure anyone thinking of a holiday there that it is extremely suitable for disabled people, as well as able-bodied. The staff are the friendliest we have ever experienced in hotels anywhere, and we rarely see changes in the workforce. Most of them have woked there for many years, which says a lot for the management = obviously a happy community. The rooms are good now, but will be even better next year. The food is excellent-plenty of choice, and one would be very fussy to not find anything to suit, such tasty variety. We love the outdoor pool. especially as about five years ago a hoist was installed to aid anyone into and out of the water. The hotel has provided an over-bath swivel seat in the past to aid me in for a shower, but I am looking forward to next year when there will be a large walk-in shower.

Room Tip: Rooms in the annexe are larger, Rooms in the tower have a pamoramic view. It depends on what you lik...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

590 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    319
    182
    67
    14
    8
See reviews for
87
395
12
3
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (190)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
leeds
Top Contributor
63 reviews 63 reviews
28 hotel reviews
Reviews in 34 cities Reviews in 34 cities
100 helpful votes 100 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed November 27, 2012

stayed for only 8 days on the 24th october due to the hotel closing for refurbishment of the rooms.
went to see the new room and some rooms are having the bath out and a large shower put in. they are done in purple/lilac with runners on the bed and cushions.
well back to the warm and wet. the bedrooms were warm and the weather was wet.
in 8 days we had 2 sunny days (husband was lucky and got the sun for his birthday.) and 3 totally wet days and 3 cloudy days.
i e-mailed for a sunny room with sea view as it was a special occasion for my husbands birthday. i received no reply but they said they had received it on arrival and said they were giving us a nice room.
well it was on the 6th floor in the main building number 609.
when we walked in the heat hit us. it wasnt a very sunny day but the room was too hot for us.
on arrival i has asked it the air con in the hotel was on and the man said no.
room 609 had no ceiling fan and only a tiny door onto a tiny balcony.
it had a picture window but no patio door and the 2 lovely chairs faced the wardrobe.
the only good thing about the room was it had a great view of the coastline but it was also too high for us. 2 wash basins in the bathroom.
so we went back to reception to find a room with a ceiling fan and these rooms were all in the annexe.
we had room number 230 and it was cooler with a ceiling fan( which was neccesary )
the temp outside was 19 degrees even when raining but the bedrooms were warm, but the ceiling fan moved the air round.
only 1 wash basin in the bathroom this time. no problem there then. but no magnifying mirror.
230 was a bigger room than 609 and i thought 609 looked very poor.
230 had patio door but the bed in the room did not face the sea. so when sitting up in bed you cant see the sea. alternate bedrooms will have sea views from the bed.
i have been in other hotels where all the beds in the hotel face the same way toward the sea.
we faced the east in this room so we didnt get any sun so it kept the room cooler but could still see the sea from the balcony.
one of our pillows had no pillowcase either!! not nice
tiled floors but a bedside rug would be nice.
when i asked if they had a survey form, they said no!! they dont want to know as other folk have reported(regarding break ins)
the wardrobes are massive 10 foot long so thats a good point. but doors were stiff to push. plenty of drawers but the new rooms will have less drawers.
i wasnt leaving anything to chance for my husbands birthday so i had mentioned it in the e-mail and on the day of arrival.(first time husband had been away on his birthday).
the day arrived and we were brought a basket of fruit and at the evening meal there was a candle on the table and a bottle of cava in the ice bucket. very nice.
but why do we have to set our own breakfast tables in riu hotels. 3 star hotels set your own but 4 star hotels should be set for you.
the tv in the room was not a flat screen , but that doesnt bother us but the remote was just an up and down button. so if i wanted channel 1 for the spanish and my husband wanted channel 17 you had to do a lot of button pushing. you cant flick between the two. there was also lots of missing channels and when we were watching a programmes there was hissing and buzzing between camera shots and everyone had long faces!! the worse tv i have ever watched. 6 channels missing out of 25 channels as well.
i asked if they had better tv remotes, ones with all the numbers like all the other hotels have and i was told no because they didnt want customers altering the order of the channels!!!!
the man at reception said you would be suprised what people get up to!!!!
funny that all other hotels can trust the customers with a decent remote.
theyll be charging for the remote soon!!!
asked for a wake up call one morning and the man had to come to our room as our phone wasnt working. so thank god i didnt need to use it in an emergency.
only 40 people left by the last day but still had a queue sometimes for the food, so i dread to think what it is like when the hotel is full and we were still having 2 sittings with only 40 people.
two men on reception were pretty gloomy and brusque and only one other had a smile. only 1 person at a time on reception so i was kept waiting a lot.
it took 3 days to get 2 more pillows. i usually ask the maid in spanish for them and i wished i had.
the lights on our landing by the stairs and lifts were out 3 nights running and i had to tell them about this. also the lights outside at the front of the hotel were out one evening and it was difficult to see the steps.
on the last day all the fridges were brought out of the empty rooms (we were the only people on our landing) and it was like dr who and the daleks, with them all on the landing. when they were moved each fridge left water behind, which i skiddded on. very dangerous. had to tell them about that too.
food was ok and it had its moments like the current loaf and the crepe suzettes for dinner and the night we got pork ribs with loads of pork on and they were delicious and when i asked the manager if they ever had lamb, he rung the chef to see if he had any in the freezer and then cooked it specially for only me and my husband. so that was a nice gesture.
but we didnt see the breakfast sausages after 2 days, instead we got curled fried ham and if you like scrambled eggs well you wont get the proper stuff here, you will get scrambled omlette. which looked a bit soggy and it took me a few days to work out what it was meant to be.
potatoe wedges for breakfast were lovely but we only got them for 2 days.
the dance room and the restaurant could have had bettter air con. it was very warm everywhere.
the manager told me that to change from heating to air con would take 2 days!!! an old system.
the uplighter in the bedroom gave off heat , so i kept that off and when they get the new flat screen tvs in they will give off heat too.

on the spanish evening there was 3 managers to greet us in the restaurant and buenas noches and good evening was coming from all three of them and then the same from all the chefs and cooking staff all through the dinner, 15 times at least. i felt loved but after a bit it got too much.
in the evening a couple of nights the entertainment finished at 10pm. a bit early and nothing else to do. but another night a duo played for dancing but they wouldnt play anything latin/spanish and another night another man played loads of latin/spanish music.

the sea front gate is not secure( they promise it will be soon!!!) and the exit door from the annexe is propped open during the day for easy access. this is not good practise and i went one night at 8pm and it was dark to check on the door and it was still wedged open. i told the manager and he said they have security to check the doors later but there were empty rooms galore all with the doors off the catch waiting for squatters. all the rooms had beds in but kept off the catch for some reason.
as we were the only ones on our landing it seemed a bit scary and i would not have liked to have been a lone woman on that floor.
theives know that the exit door is propped open and they have full access to all the annexe bedrooms.
the fire alarm went off at 8.30am one morning and i looked onto the corridor but i saw no one and smelt nothing and after 2 minutes it went off. reception said it was a mistake!!!! but if you had been asleep you would have had a shock.
there is a ginger cat that spends all its time mostly on a sunbed. goodnes knows what it will do for the next 4 months.(been there for 7 years) no sunbed for it and no petting. it seemed a happy cat but there was another cat round by the annexe that mewed and mewed and i thought it seemed hungry. they should have a feeding house for the cats like they do in the canaries. it was very sad to see it.
staying at the amaragua next april so i will see if that is better or worse.
by the way the beds seemed firm but i slept well and didnt feel as though i had slept on a board all night. the beds are changing in the refurbishment. they can be highered for the maids to clean under.





it was a smallish room so we decided to change for another

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lancing, United Kingdom
Contributor
20 reviews 20 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
29 helpful votes 29 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 26, 2012

During our stay at the Riu Nautilus Jan/Feb 2012, our room was entered and jewellery to a value of some £3500 was stolen. Our suitcases were also broken into. The hotel management did not seem to show much interest, in fact they passed all the blame on to us.
We have contacted Riu Customer Services, but again they seem uninterested in the event.
Having spent many holidays at this hotel in the past, it leaves us with a very bitter taste in our mouth.

  • Stayed February 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 9
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oxford
Senior Contributor
40 reviews 40 reviews
18 hotel reviews
Reviews in 23 cities Reviews in 23 cities
32 helpful votes 32 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 6, 2012

We enjoyed our stay at the Riu Nautilus very much. Our room and bathroom were huge with vast amounts of wardrobe space and plenty of hangers. There were also lots of drawers - unusual for Spain. Everything was spotless. The restaurant was a bit crowded, in spite of the two sittings - I think it must have been built when the hotel was smaller as it was difficult to move around without bumping into people. However, the food was good and there was plenty of it. The dining-room staff were lovely and the Manager ate in the restaurant every evening and made sure everyone was happy. There were lots of sunbeds around the pool and we had no problems at all finding two together. The hotel was perfectly situated, there was a gate from the garden on to the promenade which led to Torremolinos in one direction, quite a long walk, too far for anyone with walking problems, and Benalmadena marina was a five minute walk in the other direction.
I did think it was a pity that there wasn't a proper lounge, just a lot of armchairs dotted around in pairs in reception, which was very big, and the bar area, on the other hand was far too small for the size of the hotel, so, as we were on the second sitting for dinner, we didn't get to see the evening entertainment properly as there were never any seats. Also, the design of the bar didn't really lend itself to entertainment, as there were a lot of big pillars blocking the view.
Altogether, we liked the hotel, apart from the cramped restaurant and the impossibility of getting to watch the entertainment. All the staff were most charming and very friendly and efficient. The hotel is undergoing a complete refit during the winter, so, if we return, it will be interesting to see if these areas have been improved.

in the restaurant every evening and made sure

Room Tip: There are only a few rooms with a full sea and pool view, so it is unlikely you will get one, but yo...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Darwen, United Kingdom
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
32 helpful votes 32 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 6, 2012

We stayed at the Riu Nautilus in May 2012 and rebooked for May 2013 it was brilliant. As we couldn't wait to stay there again we booked for ten days in October. Everything was absolutley excellent once again. The room, the staff, the food was faultless. We didn't stay in for the evening entertainment so we can't say what that was like. We used two or three of the English bars across the road. Champagne Charlies was just like being in an upmarket pub in England. Toms Tavern was cheap n cheerful and always packed. Mirage bar was very friendly with owners not far from us in Lancashire. Weather was great as well for the time of the year. Roll on next May when the hotel will have been refurbished and will be adults only.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dublin
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 1, 2012

Just returned from great stay at Riu Nautilus. Second time to stay.
Unfortunately Valuables disappeared from our room prior to Departing Hotel.
We foolishly packed these items in hand luggage and went to Breakfast and
departed very quickly after. Did not discover our loss until return.
Convinced they were stolen from our room, and not lost during return.
Had usual don,t want to know E Mail from management.
Leaves us with very bad feeling about this hotel.
We have no proof of this, so just leaves us at considerable loss.

Marian & Kevin Cavanagh.

Room Tip: High floor, best choice.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bolton
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 26, 2012

Stayed with family in Aug 2012 and had a lovely time. Best part is hotel location as you are straight on prom and can walk for miles either way. Beach is nice. Hotel itself is a little old fashioned and could do with a bit of an upgrade. Rooms ok, towels weren't the best! Food was good and staff were excellent. All in all nice place.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Hotel Riu Nautilus? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Riu Nautilus

Address: Avenida Salvador Allende 39 | Torremolinos - Malaga, 29620 Torremolinos, Spain
Location: Spain > Andalucia > Province of Malaga > Costa del Sol > Torremolinos
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Spa Hotel in Torremolinos
#1 Luxury Hotel in Torremolinos
#1 On the Beach Hotel in Torremolinos
#3 Romantic Hotel in Torremolinos
#5 Family Hotel in Torremolinos
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Riu Nautilus 4*
Number of rooms: 293
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
* Located 2 km from Torremolinos* 3-storey and 7-storey buildings* 2,500 garden* Separated from beach only by the beachfront promenade* 700 m from Puerto Marina* 700 m from various shops* 8 km from the Malaga airport* 100 m from a bus stop ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Venere, Despegar.com, TripOnline SA and Tingo so you can book your Hotel Riu Nautilus reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Riu Nautilus Torremolinos
Riu Nautilus Hotel Torremolinos
Hotel Riu Nautilus Torremolinos, Costa Del Sol, Spain

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hotel Riu Nautilus, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.