We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“60th BIRTHDAY TRIP” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel Riu Nautilus

Save Saved
You added Hotel Riu Nautilus to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Hotel Riu Nautilus
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Avenida Salvador Allende 39 | Torremolinos - Malaga, 29620 Torremolinos, Spain   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel packages
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Best Fall Getaway
Ranked #3 of 73 hotels in Torremolinos
Doncaster, England, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“60th BIRTHDAY TRIP”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 22, 2012

Stayed here for a week in June 2012,Had a fantastic holiday,I will get the only negative out of the way,we had a room on th ground floor that was close to a wall,as the weather was brilliant we didnt spend a lot of time in the room,but it was a bit of a let down,(IVE HEARD OTHERS SAY YOU CAN REQUEST CERTAIN ROOMS THOUGH THESE ARE NOT GAURANTEED)and as we will return at some point will try this next time. The hotel is very clean and tidy,rooms were cleaned to a good standard every day,its in a great location on the prommenade (PEDESTRIAN)next to the beech.There are plenty of sunloungers,and it didnt matter what time we came down we always managed to get one,there is service around the pool so if you dont want to get up to eat /drink in the outside bar area you can be served at your sun lounger.Prices for food and drink were reasonable for a hotel,3 Euro for a beer or wine and 4 OR 5 Euro for a snack(SANDWICH WITH CHIPS)it is cheaper if you wander just outside the hotel to the bars and restaurants wich there are plenty,and just outside on the prom are numerous bars and restaurants.On booking with thomson we were a little concerned that you were allocated a table for your evening meal for your entire stay,but can honestly say it was a great idea,theres an early and late sitting,we chose the late one 8pm and got an outside table,the food choice and quality were excellant,and i am a bit picky,but couldnt fault it,the staff went out of there way to please and as it was my birthday while we were there was touched to find a bottle of cava at our table on the day,(THIS HAD BEEN PICKED UP BY RECEPTION AT CHECK IN FROM MY PASSPORT)The management came round frequently to check that guests were happy with the food and service and i didnt here one complaint..The entertainment was good,but as the weather was hot we sat outside as it was warm indoors.again the staff were very attentive ready to take your order and provide a bowl of nuts as soon as you sat down nothing being to much trouble to them,and if they had time they would sit and talk,.Most days we walked along to BELADAMINA,about a 5-10 min stoll ,its a really classy place with some great restaurants and bars and an attractive marina just right to sit and have a drink and watch the world go by(IF YOU JUST FANCY A BURGER THERES A BURGER KING)left out of the hotel and along the prommenade leads to TORREMOLINOS about a 30 min walk then up a lot of steps to the town ,as it was very warm we got a taxi back about 8 Euro.All in all this was a good hotel with great staff good food and a perfect position.

Room Tip: Can only say that a request(and its only a request)for a room on a high floor would be good
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

522 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    272
    167
    62
    13
    8
See reviews for
87
340
8
3
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (163)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Epworth
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 13, 2012

Once again I spent a week at the Riu Nautilus from the 2nd October to the 9th October and had a very enjoyable holiday. When we booked this holiday I again requested a sea view room overlooking the pool and on the west side. As before, we were told that this is only a request and they may not be able to meet our requirements. All the rooms are the same price apparently and it seems to be the luck of the draw as to the room you are allocated. It is a pity that they don't charge according to the sort of room as some are more desirable than others. As it was, two days into the holiday we were changing rooms. This results in losing most of half a days holiday.

I went back to this hotel because of the location next to the beach and the lovely flat promenade stretching for miles. We were welcomed by the restaurant manager who remembered me from my previous visit and I find the staff very helpful. The food again was very varied and you can always find something to suit.

If you suffer with sciatica, or have arthritus (which I do) the beds are a little hard, and I would prefer a more comfortable mattress. We spoke to another older couple and they had the same problem. Maybe we should have mentioned it and they could have rectified the problem.

Overall we again had a super weeks holiday, the hotel is very clean and comfortable and the food was very good for a hotel in Spain.

Room Tip: For a sunny room ask for the West side but there is no guarantee you will get it.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tenterden, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 9, 2012

We were overall very happy with the Nautilus. The room we had was very clean and well maintained daily. The food served was very tasty and there was a good variety of food. When you view the menu outside the restaurant if you do not see anything on there that you fancy I would recommend going during the evening anyway because there is so much to choose from they can't possibly list it all!

Negative Comments -
The restaurant staff did appear rather too busy and would take our drinks order as they passed the table!
The tea pots were missing lids and some of the crockery was chipped.
We did find there were not enough sun beds and rather annoyingly towels were placed on these every morning from very early!
As usual with most hotels the bed was hard.

The Nautilus is under going a make over at the moment so I'm sure the crockery will be replaced and the rooms will be fantastic!

We would recommend this hotel and we would stay again!

Room Tip: Up high and facing the sea!
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bolton, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
74 reviews 74 reviews
17 hotel reviews
Reviews in 23 cities Reviews in 23 cities
56 helpful votes 56 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 8, 2012

This is one of the best 4 star hotels we have stayed in.My wife and I spent a week here to celebrate my birthday on arrival at 10.30am we were suprised to find our room ready and it was exactley the type of room we requested through an e-mail prior to the holiday.Large and spacious and very clean.The maid service was excellent. The meals,breakfast and dinner are as good has we have had in Spain plenty of choice and variety chef cooking your food while you wait. The bar prices are as expected a lot dearer than the bars outside,(mr jeeves if you like bingo) but the service is very fast and efficient. The pool area (leads direct onto promenade) has plenty of sunbeds we had no problems getting one but it was october. All the staff, reception,dining, bar and maid service were polite friendly and helpful. One nice touch which we didn't expect was that on the day of my birthday the hotel sent a large basket of fruit up to our room then at dinner they gave us a bottle of champagne, a nice touch. All in all a top class 4 star hotel.

Room Tip: Ask for a high floor room in the main block facing the marina
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Middlesbrough, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 6, 2012

We stayed at the RIU as a family and I have to say it was great. Cleanliness very good and the staff were great and the food was first class. The hotel is situated on the promenade, which is clean flat and easy walking. Pubs just over the road, must mention Toms Tavern, which sells agreat pint of lager at 1.3 euro's. Entertainment on the evening was quite good, the Four Tops show was excellent. On our sons birthday when we came back to our room they had put a basket of fruit for him and also when we went down for our evening meal, the table had a candle and a bottle of sparking wine was also on the table, a great gesture. We cannot wait to return next year.

Room Tip: Rooms at the end of each block are better
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oswestry, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
23 reviews 23 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 2, 2012

Hotel in great position beach front.
5 mins walk to Benalmadena port and a little further to the resort centre.
Torremollinos centre can be reached along the beach front walkway with its many shops or by the back road which we did one night,which was about 1hour.
Hotel bed very uncomfortable...food was good nice to have crispy bacon and proper fried eggs...entertainment didnt suit us we are in our 40s and felt was too boring as its nice to let your hair down when away not fall asleep!!!!
Several cheap bars to drink in opposite,they are not posh but cheap runours being one of them great cocktails.
Around the corner was irish bar Mulligans food was great proper home cooked...
We stayed for one week and never got to go by the pool no beds available.
Maids very friendly,reception staff miserable,dining room staff very friendly.
Air conditioning on a timer you couldnt change it so very hot at night.

Room Tip: Sea view best
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wigan, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 29, 2012

This hotel was fabulous the staff so friendly nothing too much trouble to any staff member and the wonderful manager so approachable and spoke to all guests really wanting to know how they felt about the hotel, staff and food experiences on your visit.We have never had this attention to detail from a manager and so we are looking forward to our next RIU experience in GRAN CANERIA soon,if its half as good has the NAUTILUS we are in for a wonderful time.
So thankyou all at the RIU NAUTILUS for a wonderful weeks holiday and hope to see you next year,OH just a little word for the manager the WESTLIFE TRIBUTE night was FANTASTIC WE MAY BE IN OUR 60is but more of this PLEASE, NOTED THE motown MARTIN GAYE night when we were leaving shame on you you could have had this whilst we were there, hopefully next time please.Just one niggle will you be looking to give guests multi choice board basis like all inclusive we think this would be the iceing on the cake,if guests could choose what board they prefared everyone would be catered for please consider this option.

Room Tip: rooms overlooking pool and on end of hotel have good outlooks
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Hotel Riu Nautilus? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Riu Nautilus

Address: Avenida Salvador Allende 39 | Torremolinos - Malaga, 29620 Torremolinos, Spain
Location: Spain > Andalucia > Province of Malaga > Costa del Sol > Torremolinos
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Luxury Hotel in Torremolinos
#1 On the Beach Hotel in Torremolinos
#1 Spa Hotel in Torremolinos
#3 Romantic Hotel in Torremolinos
#3 Family Hotel in Torremolinos
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Riu Nautilus 4*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
* Located 2 km from Torremolinos* 3-storey and 7-storey buildings* 2,500 garden* Separated from beach only by the beachfront promenade* 700 m from Puerto Marina* 700 m from various shops* 8 km from the Malaga airport* 100 m from a bus stop ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Hotels.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Tingo and Otel so you can book your Hotel Riu Nautilus reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Riu Nautilus Torremolinos
Riu Nautilus Hotel Torremolinos
Hotel Riu Nautilus Torremolinos, Costa Del Sol, Spain

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hotel Riu Nautilus, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.