We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Riu Nautilus” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel Riu Nautilus

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Save
You added Hotel Riu Nautilus to your Saves list
Hotel Riu Nautilus
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Avenida Salvador Allende 39 | Torremolinos - Malaga, 29620 Torremolinos, Spain   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel packages
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #3 of 73 Hotels in Torremolinos
francisjordanuk@yahoo.co.uk
Senior Contributor
40 reviews 40 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 27 cities Reviews in 27 cities
47 helpful votes 47 helpful votes
“Riu Nautilus”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 9, 2012

This is a first class Hotel which has customer care as its first priority.
The staff cannot do too much to help and they are always polite and approachable. In fact the entire Management team are usually on hand to greet customers into the dining room.
The food was excellent in every respect and even the chef was seen at tables asking guests about what was on offer at the various mealtimes.
The Hotel is well situated being about ten minutes walk from the Benalmadena Marina, twenty minutes from the coastal train station and just five minutes walk to the nearest bus stop.
The rooms were spotlessly clean and overall we spent a most enjoyable holiday there.

Room Tip: All the rooms are good and the whole Hotel is being renovated during the Winter of 2012/2013
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

589 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    318
    182
    67
    14
    8
See reviews for
87
394
12
3
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (189)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Top Contributor
64 reviews 64 reviews
38 hotel reviews
Reviews in 23 cities Reviews in 23 cities
51 helpful votes 51 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 6, 2012

We visited Nautilus again 25th March for 5 nights. We must congratulate Management and staff as there was a national strike in Spain on 29th March. We were not inconvenienced in any way as it was more or less business as normal. Tables for breakfast and dinner had paper tablecloths and free drinks where supplied at dinner and in the bar after dinner. Drinks included beer and soft drinks. Also towels provided for rooms. Don't think anyone could complain. Most of reception staff were pleasant especially Isa, with the exception of one other person. Nothing more to add as my previous posts have included all relevant info.

  • Stayed March 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CANNOCK,STAFFS
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 4, 2012

a spotlessly clean hotel,very professional & friendly staff,a very varied& well presented ch.oice of food. the hotel is situated in a good position for both the marina & torremolinus itself,would recommend taking the bus to torre,for the town centre& strolling back along the sea front,if a steep walk up steps is not your thing.all in all would have no hesitation in recommending the rui nautilus.

  • Stayed March 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Limerick, Ireland
Top Contributor
75 reviews 75 reviews
38 hotel reviews
Reviews in 42 cities Reviews in 42 cities
36 helpful votes 36 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed March 24, 2012

This hotel is located very near the beach, all the staff I encountered were pleasant. I stayed here on half board for two nights, the food was ok.
There are two sittings for dinner, 6pm and 7.45pm. The hotel was busy so the 6pm dinner time was somewhat rushed.
There is free car parking on the streets nearby and there is an excellent pub across the street named TOM'S TAVERN.

Room Tip: Rooms at the front are excellent however rooms on ground floor at rear are dreadful.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Desborough, England, United Kingdom
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 22, 2012

Good Hotel - well situated on promanade to Benalmadina - our room balcony was in shade though (room 612). Entertainment very poor - mostly guitars and singers and one half hour Flamenco show. Food quite good - reasonable choices - Spanish night excellent. WiFi chargable - sad for this type of hotel as was safe key chargeable (14 euros a week). High standard of cleanliness in room - Television reception fair for English channels, could be better choice. Took excursions to Rhonda and Gibralter - good but expensive (over 200 euros for the two of us). Local buses very good and a lot cheaper - went to MIJAS (lovely place) and only cost 3 euros return each !!! Resort mostly closed as early in season - o.k. in day, rather dead at night !! Walk along promanade by beach very enjoyable - worth visiting the marina in Benalmadina. Watch out overcharging in shops - was charged twice on credit card for handbag (they said the card did not work first time). Overall a very enjoyable stay - the RIU chain is one we will use again - and the Thomson service was more than acceptable. (apart from those expensive excursions !!!).

Room Tip: Make sure your room is in main hotel (not annexe) on floor three and above (7 floors in total). If y...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 24, 2012 via mobile

I stayed at the Hotel Riu Nautilus with my wife, two children (aged seven and eleven months) and my parents for seven nights from 12 February 2012 to 19 February 2012.

The hotel was clean, the food at breakfast and dinner was plentiful and the rooms were pretty spacious - and contrary to earlier reviews the staff (both at the reception and throughout the rest of the hotel) were absolutely fabulous from start to finish. I suspect that the staff were pleased to make a fuss over my two children (bearing in mind that there were not too many children staying at the hotel at this time) - but to be honest this really made us feel at home and made our holiday!

I would certainly recommend others to stay at this hotel - it is in a prime location (near the Benalmadena Marina and La Carihuela Beach) and has excellent transport links to other attractions such as Malaga, Mijas and Gibraltar!

In summary - a fantastic holiday whilst others in the UK suffer with the cold weather!

  • Stayed February 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
West Yorkshire, England
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
22 hotel reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
56 helpful votes 56 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 18, 2012

The coach from the airport stopped on the road outside, with the exit door opening on to traffic in the centre of the road (one way street), We then found ourselves dragging cases across about 25 yard area of pebbles, set in concrete, then across a tarmac access area and finally up steps. We later realized that there was a ramp available, to the side, but this
is not immediately obvious to tired strangers arriving. There was no guidance from the coach driver, nor were any hotel staff present. The first part of this progress was not safe and the second was inconvenient.

On subsequent examination of the area, we realized why the coach did not leave the road to come to the hotel frontage, because at one side of hotel`s area, next to the road, there was a large hump in the tarmac, which would obviously risk the coach grounding.

One should be able to expect a four star hotel to have rectified their tarmac hump, but whilst it existed, to have provided guidance and assistance to new arrivals.

Having arrived at reception, we were then told that they could not forecast when it might be
possible to be able to bring the cases to our room. Having got up, at home that morning,
at 3.0 a.m, we wanted to have an undisturbed afternoon rest and so took our cases to the room ourselves.

The immediate area next to the hotel is the typical Costa Del Sol concrete urban sprawl, but as this was expected, it did not disappoint us. The area to the sea front is better, with a
pedestrian promenade, stretching long distances in either direction, one of these being to
the unusually attractive Benalmadena marina.

Having got over the sub standard arrival and reception, we discovered that we had got a room as high as requested. The outlook was across to flats opposite, but again not unexpected, in such an urban area.

From then on, were were able to enjoy the usual Riu high standard which we have come to expect from other Riu hotels at which we have stayed.

  • Stayed October 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Hotel Riu Nautilus? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Riu Nautilus

Address: Avenida Salvador Allende 39 | Torremolinos - Malaga, 29620 Torremolinos, Spain
Location: Spain > Andalucia > Province of Malaga > Costa del Sol > Torremolinos
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Spa Hotel in Torremolinos
#1 Luxury Hotel in Torremolinos
#1 On the Beach Hotel in Torremolinos
#3 Romantic Hotel in Torremolinos
#5 Family Hotel in Torremolinos
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Riu Nautilus 4*
Number of rooms: 293
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
* Located 2 km from Torremolinos* 3-storey and 7-storey buildings* 2,500 garden* Separated from beach only by the beachfront promenade* 700 m from Puerto Marina* 700 m from various shops* 8 km from the Malaga airport* 100 m from a bus stop ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Venere, Despegar.com, Travelocity, TripOnline SA and Tingo so you can book your Hotel Riu Nautilus reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Riu Nautilus Torremolinos
Riu Nautilus Hotel Torremolinos
Hotel Riu Nautilus Torremolinos, Costa Del Sol, Spain

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hotel Riu Nautilus, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.