We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“First Impressions” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel Riu Nautilus

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Save
You added Hotel Riu Nautilus to your Saves list
Hotel Riu Nautilus
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Avenida Salvador Allende 39 | Torremolinos - Malaga, 29620 Torremolinos, Spain   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel packages
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #3 of 73 Hotels in Torremolinos
Sheffield, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
21 reviews 21 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
33 helpful votes 33 helpful votes
“First Impressions”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 21, 2011

We arrived around midnight and was allocated room 615. As we opened the door the music (despite the midnight threshold) from apartments across the road greeted us (patio door closed). An immediate return to reception, to be informed the hotel was full. (I offered to pay for an upgrade) Our details were logged and we were asked to return in the morning. We did and were assured that we were next in line for a room change perhaps today or tomorrow. I enquired should we call back and was assured they would contact us for the room change. My big mistake was to be polite, I should have been forcefull. The reception never did get back to us. Our advice to anyone going to the Nautilus, do not accept a room anywhere near room 615 (above or below). An automatic wake up at 0600 by bar owners putting empty bottles in the bottle bank bin below, was assured every morning. Having started with a negative all the expected RIU positives applied, a good restaurant, certainly a very good pool area with more sunbeds than anywhere we have been, at anyime of the day. As regards 615, though dated, it was immaculately clean as was the hotel. All the staff were pleasant and worked very hard to please. A very good hotel with quite a few rooms in a bad location. Despite the reception fobbing us off, we enjoyed our holiday. Our first impressions spoilt the first 24 hours.

Room Tip: Refuse to accept a room in the main building East side
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

584 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    313
    182
    67
    14
    8
See reviews for
87
389
12
3
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (187)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
England
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 16, 2011

We have just returned from this lovely hotel (7 days) which was recommended by friends. It is ideally situated right on the promenade and a short distance from everything you could need, e.g. local transport, supermarket, cafes and bars. Our only problem was the position of the room.

When I booked on line there was no facility to ask for a high floor - sea view so I e mailed the hotel a few weeks before to enquire if this was possible...... they replied with a standard e mail saying they would try to accommodate our wishes but could not promise. Our room was 161 on the ground floor opposite an electricity supply 'block' adjacent to the connective 'corridor' to the main building. Room excellent but the balcony never had any sun so we asked to change and was immediately put on the 'list'....and would be moved as soon as a room became available, but as the days went by we thought, well, it is really quiet....and as we were out most of the day why bother... so we cancelled the room change. Apparently all the rooms are the same price but I personally would have paid a little extra for the sea view/high floor.

The food was excellent, staff very pleasant and the place was spotless....air conditioning great

The pool is very well maintained and had a seperate children's pool .. although there were only one or two children about....

Entertainment, well, we took a look every night and stayed to watch once....but others seemed to enjoy it so...?

Don't do the organised trips..... the local transport is so good and cheap E 1.40 to Mijas...
Cable car is a must too....nothing much at the top...

We had a very relaxing time and would definitely recommend to all.....and only 20 mins or so from airport!!

Room Tip: The main building high floor would be best.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
westhoughton
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 14, 2011

having just returned from this hotel in sept 2011 the hotel was very relaxing the location was excellent just 5mins walk down the promenade to the lovely marina.The hotel staff gave excellent service and couldnt be more helpful(especially Amodores on reception).The hotel was spotless throughout,the entertainment was dissapointing only 1 good night out of 10.Also the food toward the end of our stay became a little tedious.anyone wanting a relaxing holiday should try the riu nautilus.I would say it is more for adults than children.

Room Tip: ask for a high room in centre block,or a room overlooking the pool
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stafford, United Kingdom
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed September 9, 2011

Having paid in full for our 10 day holiday and received a confirmation of booking some months ago, we were informed only three days before travelling that our holiday had been cancelled as the hotel was overbooked. The only alternative we were offered was another Riu hotel some miles away that was unsuitable as we were supposed to be joining friends to celebrate my wife’s 60th birthday. From earlier reviews it would appear that to overcome a problem of overbooking, the hotel place guests in inappropriate accommodation or, in my case, cancel the holiday completely with no offer of compensation. A solution for travellers who wish to be sure of taking their holiday would be not book the Riu Nautilus.

Stayed September 2011, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Winchcombe, United Kingdom
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
40 helpful votes 40 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 4, 2011

We checked in to the Riu Nautilus on Aug 14th for a two week stay with our family. The receptionist allocated us rooms 130 and 131 overlooking the pool and beach.
This really set our holiday of to a good start.
The restaurant food was first class, as was the service.
Facilities around the hotel were very good, and we particularly noted the staff continuously keeping all areas clean and tidy.
Outside the rear entrance to the hotel is the promenade and beach, which again was clean and pleasant with a few good restaurant/bars to take lunch.
We were keen to visit Granada, Seville and Marbella which are easily accessible from our hotel in Torremolinos .
Overall we enjoyed an excellent holiday at the Nautilus made so by good staff service. We would particularly like to thank Isa on Reception, Vanessa in the main Restaurant and Francisco the Deputy Hotel Manager.

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Watford/London
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 3, 2011

Little touches make for a great hotel/holiday this hotel provides it. 10.30pm arrival greeted with a welcome drink,smiles and cold food buffet in the restaurant. Room was spotlessly clean,two single beds pushed together with a proper removeable single bed at the foot end for our teenage son,who said it was as comfortable as a normal bed, soaps,toiletries provided in the good sized bathroom, t.v.(with English channels), stocked mini bar, saefty deposit box,a.c. and sweets by the bedsides with a towel on the third bed made up to look like an elephant. Breakfast had everything you could imagine for breakfast, buffet style with seating where ever you wanted to.Dinner had two time sittings, 6.30 or 8.15pm, time was allocated on arrival but you could ask for change if available. A table was allocated to you for the duration of your stay but you could ask for a change, men/teenage boys were required to wear long or 3/4 lenght trousers for dinner and a shirt or T shirt with sleeves.The food was fantastic with every taste/nationality
young & old catered for, buffet style but with chefs cooking specialalities every night. Entertainment was low key, some activities daytime and mellow muscians at night on the bar balcony all very relaxing. A table tennis table near the pool, a games room for the children with pool/football table, t.v., internet payable computers in the lobby with payable wi fi if you brought your own dwvice.Drinks by the fair sized pool serviced by waiters from the snack bar, ample sunbeds, we were suprised that we could find some even in the aftternoon o.k. not prime spot but still a few available. No matter what the hotel policy people will reserve sunbeds at silly times, we saw people at 7.00am before the sun had risen putting there towels down on the day we got up early to go to Gibraltar, we dont arise early and we chose this hotel because it's on the beach, no problem finding a spot there with water sports galore.There is every type of restaurant/bar around the hotel both on the promanade or front of the hotel, even burger king and a fish & chip shop also there are several supermarkets and a chemist seconds from the hotel. Benalmadena marina is 5 mins walk one way, Carihula 5 mins the other way on the promanade outside the hotel with all types restaurants bars at both places.I would recommend taking a taxi to the centre of Torremolinos, walk down Calle San Miguel(were all Torres shops are) downhill towards the promanade and walk back along the beach promanade to the Riu, a great walk in the evening,sights and sounds all the way back, it takes about 50mins but well worth it. Staff at the Riu, receptionists, waiters/waitresses, chambermaids were all fantastic,friendly,happy,smiling,knowledgeable, the hotel lives up to it's star rating and reviews we will coming be back another time.

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Spalding, United Kingdom
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 2, 2011

Good 4* star Hotel in a great location, just step out on to the promenade a short walk one way to Benalmadena with it's port and lots of nice little shops, the other takes you all the way to Torremolinoswith a perfect clean beach all the way.
Staff really friendly and helpful, food excellent, plenty of choice and always hot, don't miss the gala night !!!
Room was good,quite large, spotless, towels changed daily with lovely a sea view.
A couple of minor gripes, the entertainment could have been more professional, poor standard for a Platinum Hotel.
As a wheelchair user it was very difficult to use the lift to the restaurant, having to do a 90 degree turn within the lift in order to get out would have been impossible without my wife's assistance.
Also in order to get from the pool area back to our room, meant quite a long walk via the annex up a lift, and then a upward slope to the reception area.
These are minor gripes, we had a lovely holiday and would not hesitate to come to this hotel again.

  • Stayed June 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Hotel Riu Nautilus? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Riu Nautilus

Address: Avenida Salvador Allende 39 | Torremolinos - Malaga, 29620 Torremolinos, Spain
Location: Spain > Andalucia > Province of Malaga > Costa del Sol > Torremolinos
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Spa Hotel in Torremolinos
#1 Luxury Hotel in Torremolinos
#1 On the Beach Hotel in Torremolinos
#3 Romantic Hotel in Torremolinos
#5 Family Hotel in Torremolinos
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Riu Nautilus 4*
Number of rooms: 293
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
* Located 2 km from Torremolinos* 3-storey and 7-storey buildings* 2,500 garden* Separated from beach only by the beachfront promenade* 700 m from Puerto Marina* 700 m from various shops* 8 km from the Malaga airport* 100 m from a bus stop ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Venere, Despegar.com, Travelocity, TripOnline SA and Tingo so you can book your Hotel Riu Nautilus reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Riu Nautilus Torremolinos
Riu Nautilus Hotel Torremolinos
Hotel Riu Nautilus Torremolinos, Costa Del Sol, Spain

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hotel Riu Nautilus, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.