We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Return visit May 2014” 4 of 5 stars
Review of SENTIDO Amaragua

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Save
You added SENTIDO Amaragua to your Saves list
SENTIDO Amaragua
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   C/ Los Nidos 23, 29620 Torremolinos, Spain (Formerly Hotel Amaragua)   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #35 of 73 Hotels in Torremolinos
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Cardiff, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
64 reviews 64 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
32 helpful votes 32 helpful votes
“Return visit May 2014”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 30, 2014

We have just returned from a three night stay, receptionist Almudena remember us and room requests were honoured, breakfast was very good and we ate out in the evenings not tobe restricted to times. The pools indoor and out together with gym and all facilities were of good standards. The hotel is well placed on the paseo and near local busses etc. many say dated but the rooms are upgraded to retain Spanish character. Thought bar meals increased and not quite as good service on the terrace. Would return to this lovely hotel.

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

377 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    134
    132
    65
    23
    23
See reviews for
79
145
12
29
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (56)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Wolverhampton, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
42 reviews 42 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
34 helpful votes 34 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed May 29, 2014 via mobile

Really great first impression, but had a very small double room and what I only can explain as a shower in a very small bath. Excellent pool and nice bar, but seemed somewhat dated, as this is a four start hotel it needs more to make you come back. Breakfast was also hit and miss, and didn't really offer a great deal for English patrons. Location was excellent as the marina is easily walkable, which gives could access to bars, restaurants and clubs.

Stayed May 2014, traveled on business
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Top Contributor
122 reviews 122 reviews
58 hotel reviews
Reviews in 53 cities Reviews in 53 cities
74 helpful votes 74 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed May 25, 2014

First impressions of this hotel are good - the reception area is very grand and impressive, staff are friendly and welcoming, the hotel is well located almost on the beach front, and the pool area looks lovely. However, unfortunately the rooms are just a hit disappointing. The decor is extremely dated in the room and bathroom, our "double" was actually two twin beds separated with a bedside table and our "side room with sea view" was the biggest disappointment - a tiny balcony which looked out on the roofs of other hotels and the sea was just a tiny patch in the distance. Overall we wouldn't chose the stay here again to be honest.

Room Tip: Avoid "lateral" or "side" sea view rooms - you'll just be disappointed with...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lorea P, Director de Relaciones con Clientes at SENTIDO Amaragua, responded to this review, July 7, 2014
Thank you very much for your review with your feedback. We apologize for not being able to exceed your expectations and we appreciate that you let us know your thoughts about the decoration of the hotel and the room where you stayed. We will do all our best to improve our service and quality standards.
We hope you give us another chance soon and you decide to stay again at Hotel SENTIDO MS Amaragua in the next future.
Kind regards,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Derby, United Kingdom
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 18, 2014

Stayed at this hotel with friends and was very pleasantly surprised. Checking in was quick and efficient and immediately noticed how clean and smart the reception area was. We had 2 rooms -both had seaview with modern bathroom. The best thing about this hotel is the pool area which was immaculate and had a fantastic view over the beach. All staff were courteous and helpful especially the barman in the main hotel bar. The majority of guests were older people so no rowdiness or noise in corridors at night! All in all a very positive experience. Would definitely go back.

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lorea P, Holiday Concierge at SENTIDO Amaragua, responded to this review, May 23, 2014
Google Translation
Muchas gracias por su comentario. Nos alegra ver que disfrutó de su estancia y que le gustaron las instalaciones del hotel. Esperamos volverle a ver pronto.
Gracias y un saludo,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dunoon, United Kingdom
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 17, 2014

Just back from one week stay at this hotel, exterior and reception area were spotless, but beware the pool area, it seems clean at first, but cigarette ends all over the place and I never saw it being swept, however the pool was cleaned daily. The bar staff were amazing and couldn't be more helpful, unfortunately I couldn't say the same about most of the receptionists, with exception of the young trainees and the duty manager.
BUT BEWARE IF YOU BOOK A FAMILY ROOM OR TRIPLE ROOM AS THEY ARE ADVERTISED. They are never at any stretch of the imagination meant to sleep more than 2 people ,My two friends and I had to share and they crammed 3 reasonable sized beds in together which left little room for anything else, having complained reasonably, we were told that they couldnt offer an alternative.So crammed in we stayed for the week, with two of everything until we had to remind them that there was in fact three of us sharing!
The food and choice on offer was great, there was something for everyone, and the staff were very welcoming.
The spa facility was very good and the beauty therapist was fantastic, worth a visit.
The only thing that really spoiled our stay was on the last night when we discovered there was a cockroach sharing our digs..

Room Tip: Front of hotel has best the best views. Book extra room if more than two people in the party.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
North Haven, Connecticut
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed May 13, 2014 via mobile

So overpriced. On the surface the rooms looked , but we had to move our room 3 times because of a sewage stench. I explained countless times about the room and at one point standing at the desk the plumber or facilities manager came over to discuss it with the manager. Not knowing I speak fluent Spanish despite being one of the few American tourists in the area, I stood there as they discussed just moving me around because I was complaining and what did I want them to do, that's just the smell... No thanks

Stayed June 2013, traveled with friends
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hampshire, UK
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
23 helpful votes 23 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed May 13, 2014

What a shame this hotel was spoilt by the poor quality of the beds - if you can't get a decent night's sleep the holiday is spoilt. Otherwise overall good, breakfast plentiful and in a great position by the front. No shopping nearby except touristy gift shops though.

Room Tip: Sleep on the sunbeds!
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to SENTIDO Amaragua? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about SENTIDO Amaragua

Address: C/ Los Nidos 23, 29620 Torremolinos, Spain (Formerly Hotel Amaragua)
Location: Spain > Andalucia > Province of Malaga > Costa del Sol > Torremolinos
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 Spa Hotel in Torremolinos
#18 On the Beach Hotel in Torremolinos
#19 Luxury Hotel in Torremolinos
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — SENTIDO Amaragua 4*
Number of rooms: 275
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A superior 4 star Hotel where the functional distribution of its spaces, with the sea as its protagonist, the decoration, with its strong personality, have all come together to give you an elegant, classical and functional Mediterranean Hotel. Located on the seafront, MS Amaragua looks out directly on to the Mediterranean and the pedestrian promenade of the traditional, infamous neighbourhood of the Carihuela, where the cultural cuisine of Pescaito frito (little fried fish) reaches its maximum expression. Only a couple of minutes walk away is the famous Benalmádena Marina, Puerto Marina. We have 275 rooms; of these 2 are luxury suites, 8 suites, 6 junior suites and 12 superior doubles. Restaurant, snack bar, swimming pool, lobby bar, conference and conventions halls, parking with 217 spaces, big outside swimming pool for adults and children, ample sun terrace, beach with direct access from the Hotel and the spa & fitness centre. 24 hour reception, press, left luggage, bellboy, room service, laundry service and rental service of bicycles, cars and motorbikes. CATERING To start the day, the Hotels restaurant, offers a complete and varied breakfast buffet with panoramic views of the Mediterranean . Enjoy the luminosity and relaxation at the swimming pool Bar La Ola, where Mediterranean cooking fuses with local cuisine and the after dinner drinks at sunset.Mens sana in corpore sano in the Health and Beauty Centre (SPA & Beauty Farm) the Hotel has at your service. The Hotel has on offer for its clients, an indoor climate controlled swimming pool, Jacuzzi, sauna, Turkish bath, gym, massages and an ample array of aesthetic treatments. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Despegar.com, Priceline, Travelocity, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your SENTIDO Amaragua reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Amaragua Hotel Torremolinos
SENTIDO Amaragua Torremolinos, Costa Del Sol, Spain

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage SENTIDO Amaragua, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.