We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Enjoyable Stay” 4 of 5 stars
Review of SENTIDO Amaragua

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Save
You added SENTIDO Amaragua to your Saves list
SENTIDO Amaragua
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   C/ Los Nidos 23, 29620 Torremolinos, Spain (Formerly Hotel Amaragua)   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #35 of 73 Hotels in Torremolinos
Huddersfield, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
26 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
“Enjoyable Stay”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 18, 2013

We've returned to Torremolinos quite a few times in the last few years and have always liked the look of this hotel when we've passed it. I must admit we were a bit doubtful, having read some of the reviews, as the opinions vary a great deal. At £670 for 7 nights, it wasn't the cheapest stay we've had, and contrary to the 'you get what you pay for' cliché (which is neither true in every case nor helpful in any) and accepting the fact that the Spanish star ratings are never really comparable to those in this country, nevertheless, it appeared to be the best of a very variable bunch, so we booked. All I can do is recount our own experience - which was in the main positive.

We arrived at the hotel just before lunchtime. The reception area is very smart, the receptionists all well dressed and spoke perfect English. They were quick to deal with us, informing us that our room wasn't quite ready, but would be by one o'clock, and during that time we could deposit our cases in the private storeroom and go for lunch. He then asked for our passports, photocopied them on the spot and returned them. Now that is a welcome change from the norm: I don't like being separated from my passport when abroad, so full marks there. On return from our lunch, the room was ready as promised, and we were checked in without delay. We had asked for a room with double bed, sea view (described as 'lateral' sea view, as only the suites face the sea fully) on a high floor, on the side facing Benalmadena (to catch the afternoon sun.) We were given a room on the seventh (top) floor, facing Benalmadena, and was halfway along the corridor, with a lovely sea view. The only thing we didn't get was a double bed; instead two singles. But the very apologetic and helpful young guy on reception explained that all the rooms with double beds were on the opposite side of the hotel. We could hardly blame him for that, and accepted 3 out of four requests as a good result.


The corridor was smart and carpeted - so no 'clippety clop' as people passed by at night. The room itself was deserving of the four stars, if a little on the small side: it appeared to have been refurbished fairly recently, with new wardrobes and fittings. There was a small mini bar, with a price list; the prices quite reasonable.. There were no tea and coffee making facilities (though I've never seen those in Spanish resort hotels anyway.) The television had four English speaking channels - news mainly. The remote control wouldn't work properly, but on mentioning it to reception, was sorted out promptly. The mattresses were firm but good quality, not just hard blocks, and I had no trouble getting to sleep. The air conditioning is a central unit, the cool air being ducted to each room, assisted by a fan in the room unit. With the fan switched on, the air coming out of the unit was quite cool, despite my wife hearing someone in reception saying that the air conditioning wasn't working. The price for the safe was too high, in my opinion, at 2.85 euros per day - for a seven day stay that works out at 19.95 per week, plus a ten euro deposit. However, we've heard too many horror stories about thefts (though not in this hotel) to risk not using it. The room was cleaned to a good standard every day.

We only booked B & B, because we prefer to eat out at different restaurants/bars/ cafes each evening. At breakfast, there was plenty of choice for any taste. The food was good quality, and the chef at the cooked item counter made some lovely omlettes. The bacon was far better than we'd experienced at some hotels. The continental breakfast items were also very nice, good quality and replenished frequently.

Apart from at the weekend, there appeared to be plenty of sunbeds, and 'reserving' them with towels was discouraged by the hotel, but the rule seemed to be widely ignored, as most other rules in Spain are...

Accessing the beach directly from the hotel is via a security gate, operated by the room keycard, and takes you straight out to the promenade. The hotel is situated almost exactly in the centre of the Carihuela beach, two thirds of a mile to Benalmadena marina and the same from the rocky prominence at the Eastern end. There are plenty of restaurants, bars and cafes to choose from, all along it.

On checking out, the receptionist was as friendly and helpful as when we checked in, the deposit for the safe being returned without asking. All things considered, we had a very enjoyable stay - certainly no cause for complaint in our case.

Room Tip: Rooms facing Benalmadena get the afternoon sun.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

456 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    148
    169
    84
    28
    27
See reviews for
106
174
15
34
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (66)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Mexborough England
Level Contributor
120 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 97 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 12, 2013

I first stayed at the hotel in October 2012 and returned with the same friends in June 2013. Nothing has changed.
The Hotel is in a nice spot close to airport and overlooking the beach. The hotel is a dated design, the first thing you notice, no staff to help with the luggage, although there were four people in reception.
I booked a "junior Suite" £165 per night inc. breakfast I believe there are 10 junior suites they are slightly larger than a standard room and have bigger twin beds, a bath and a shower, but thats it most other 4 star hotels would call this a room. The rooms are services by a single lift. and these overlook the sea. Bathroom is a good size, twin sinks separate bath and shower, strangely no light in the shower part? The bath was small in a corner, the soap provided was a squeeze bottle attached to the wall, ok in the shower but you have to get up out of the bath to reach the soap. great design. Usual tired towels small and like sandpaper. Robes provided but only to fit very small people same with the free pool slippers, up to size 5.
Beds are comfortable but they persist with the foam filled squares. I brought my own . Air conditioning was easy to operate, it didn't work, I was told there was a problem on the roof an would take a coupler of days to fix (still not working as we left) I think they knock it off to save money, I seem to remember it was faulty in October last year. Plenty of windows which radiate a lot of heat in the room, the blackout curtains weren't hanging on the rails correctly.
If you want a good position by the pool, get your towel down between 6 or 7 am as the good ones usually go by then, usually there were between 60 to 100 towels on the beds before breakfast, ( towels available at 10euros each to rent), be careful round the pool with bare feet as they seem to allow glass close to the pool. Parking for the car is at 15 euro per day.
Overall service was poor, some staff aren't helpful room was clean but dingy beds round the pool are well worn, all the towels around the pool and room need replacing. The bin men always seem to come at about 3pm and make a din for 30 minutes, and I mean a din then shortly after they heavy machinery comes to clean the beach, neither of these are the responsibility of the hotel but they are there.

Room Tip: Look at the room before you accept it.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with friends
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Den Helder, The Netherlands
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 9, 2013

My husband and I stayed at the hotel early June. This was the 2nd time, first time was a few years ago in February.
Hotel is in a great location, next to the beach, close to the airport (yet no noise from airplanes), great breakfast buffet, nice pool area, clean BUT dated hotel rooms (old furniture, TV, bathroom). We stayed in the main building and were not happy with the uncomfortable beds and the fact that there was NO airconditioning just a fan blowing hot air into the room. As we moved rooms after the 1st night of bad sleep, we expected the problem to be over in the 2nd room but no, same problem and the receptionist was not really helpful to find a solution. It was only when we checked out that another receptionist told us that there was no working airconditioning in the part we stayed in!! Not being able to sleep well in a 4* hotel due to lack of proper A/C is not acceptable as that's where a hotel room is for, to get a good night's sleep.
The hotel was almost fully booked; to keep it this way, I'd suggest to solve the A/C problem.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tipperary, Ireland
Level Contributor
15 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 31, 2013

Have just returned from a most enjoyable stay in Hotel Amaragua. We were with the Enjoy Travel group. It was a brilliant 10 days. The hotel was brilliant and the staff were all very pleasant and helpful. There was always plenty of choice on the carvery and desert counter. If you were hungry it was your own fault. Only one small complaint, I would like scrambled egg for breakfast but was able to manage without.
Then when we arrived home we discovered that my partner had not packed 3 new shirts he had purchased out there and I contacted the hotel by e-mail and they were located and after a good few e-mails back and forth and transfer of postage etc. his shirts arrived on our doorstep today. I really can not thank the staff enough for all the trouble they went to and got them back to us.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hillerød, Denmark
Level Contributor
13 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 30, 2013

This is probably The Best hotel in The la carihuela area. The staff are very Nice and helpful, great seaview from The roms. The restaurant is good, Nice breakfast buffet, when you like mé, like to be and stay in la carihuela, then this is The hotel (if you like a big hotel)

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
leeds
Level Contributor
70 reviews
30 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 113 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed May 18, 2013

on an irish music and dance festival with 700 people. i bet the hotel were glad when we had all gone. all rules were broken for the 10 days. pool towels were given out freely, pool chairs were moved indoors on an evening. music till 3am in the foyer. we were just above but were so tired it did not bother us.
in the restaurant people were allowed to drink their own water and lots ordered a jug of tap water, but we stuck to the bottled water.
well now to the "ears".
at dinner i reached for a piece of pork and was shocked to find the pigs ear was still attached to the piece of meat. well we knew what cut of meat it was and absolutely no meat on a head!! it was a dogs dinner.
the "wings.
chicken wings with hardly any meat on.
the "tails".
this was oxtail and again hardly any meat on.
this was all on the same nights dinner.
i have to say though that most nights the dinner wasnt bad at all.
paella every night, langostines we had many times and cold rice pudding, all my favourites.
always 2 kinds of potatoes, chips and lyonaisse, jacket potatoes, mash, roast.
breakfast you could have an omelette made to order but there never was scrambled egg and no english sausages. the bacon had bones in it.
chocolate fountain and champange every morning.
the reastaurant is lovely with sea views and tablecloths (some hotels don't) and had an escalator up from the foyer.
we used this every time as we enjoyed the fun of it and rode it down when we could.
apparently people have fallen down the steps and they were quite steep as were the steps down from the foyer to the conference rooms where the irish dancing was held.
why could they not install an up and down escalator for the disabled or a special lift that actually went right down to the bottom.)
the foyer is like a museum. all kinds of treasure chests and antiques and a large carriage minus the horses and an old confession box.


we paid extra £10 per night per person for a superiour/ seaview room and had a lovely double bed which was a dunlpillo foam. it felt firm but it was fantastic or were we so tired we could have slept on anything after all the days dancing?
the bedroom was large.
we did not have a full length mirror and apparantly only suites have one. well the hotel needs to understand that a full length mirror is not a luxury it is a neccesity.
we had tissues provided but they were stiff like wallpaper!!
the furniture in the bedroom wasn't antique, more old brown 1940's. not to my taste and there was a huge treasure chest!!!
the wardrobe rail was 7 feet high.why? spanish people are quite small so why put it so high??
i had to stand on tip toe and then it was a stretch and i am 5ft 4. at first we could hardly see into the wardrobe as it was round the corner from the patio door and then after 3 days i realized that we had a spotlight that was broken above. asked the maid but nothing was done. so asked reception and they replaced it and also one side of the patio door wouldnt lock and as we were near the fire exit we thought we were a bit vunrable but that got fixed too.
oh and a static shower head( no shower flex.) i don't like them but at least we had a a bidet.
as the last reviewer said, they put a security guard on near the entrance and pool but i had a sunbed in view of him and he did not check anyone coming in and there were plenty without our green wristbands coming in.
in fact i was challenged by 2 different couples about going through the prom gate.
that was good and we all had our green wristbands on, but there were other people in the hotel that were not with the irish party and so had no wristbands on.
the spa (indoor pool and jacuzzi )was lovely and free but a lady told me she went for a facial and had her credit cards stolen out of her handbag.
the gardens are very lovely with some nice armchairs under the veranda.
but would i go back? probably not, i will try somewhere else.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cavan, Ireland
Level Contributor
22 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 5, 2013

just home from a very enjoyable visit to this hotel, along with over 700 fellow revellers on an Irish music and dance 10 days, the hotel coped very well with a full house. I bet they wondered what had hit them. it is the first time Enjoy travel have used this hotel they tell us it won't be the last, like many others I have booked to go back next year.
our room was very pleasant with a big double bed, cloths space a bit sparse, but nice size room and bathroom. our room looked out to the beach, pool and garden area on the 3rd floor we were very happy with the room.
I was pleased to have a drinks fridge not that we used the drinks but I had insulin with me so it was very handy.
food was good and staff pleasant and helpful in the dining room an escalator up to the dining room was an advantage as my husband is disabled.
the disadvantage was getting down to the ballroom there are lots of steps, a key can be got from reception which can take a long time if they are busy as they have to escort you, then this only takes you to another level people in wheelchairs get on a chair lift, so my husband still had to negotiate the stairs.
seeing there were several wheelchair users in our large group it was very difficult for them having to wait ever such a long time for assistance to get the lift. I felt my husband did not have the luxury to roam freely through the hotel.
indoor pool was nice, towels were freely given to use out doors on the loungers as well, plenty of loungers but being such a large group they were soon snapped up.
security was a big problem when we first arrived several incidents of thefts, one lady having her purse stolen on the first day with credit cards and €600 taken. after a couple of other incidents there was a security man on duty all day around the pool area and checking people were warring the their wristbands on entering the electronic gates.
the hotel is ideally situated nearest to the shops, the exit brings you right onto the lovely promenade and beach.
even though the bar staff had a lot of people to contend with they were fast and efficient, friendly some even managed a dance. reception staff helpful and a nice smile and greeting when we passed for meals. so all in all a very enjoyable stay, just a pity about the lift did not going right down to the entertainment areas.

Room Tip: 350 third floor near lift
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Torremolinos hotels
0.0 mi away
Hotel Tropicana
Hotel Tropicana
#40 of 73 in Torremolinos
3.5 of 5 stars 179 reviews
0.3 mi away
Hotel Roc Lago Rojo
Hotel Roc Lago Rojo
#21 of 73 in Torremolinos
4.0 of 5 stars 411 reviews
0.1 mi away
MedPlaya Hotel Pez Espada
MedPlaya Hotel Pez Espada
#12 of 73 in Torremolinos
4.0 of 5 stars 762 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.1 mi away
Melia Costa del Sol
Melia Costa del Sol
#8 of 73 in Torremolinos
4.0 of 5 stars 1,881 reviews
1.6 mi away
Hotel Isabel
Hotel Isabel
#5 of 73 in Torremolinos
4.5 of 5 stars 524 reviews
0.1 mi away
El Tiburon Hotel Boutique
El Tiburon Hotel Boutique
#17 of 73 in Torremolinos
4.0 of 5 stars 194 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to SENTIDO Amaragua? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about SENTIDO Amaragua

Address: C/ Los Nidos 23, 29620 Torremolinos, Spain (Formerly Hotel Amaragua)
Location: Spain > Andalucia > Province of Malaga > Costa del Sol > Torremolinos
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#4 Spa Hotel in Torremolinos
#17 On the Beach Hotel in Torremolinos
#18 Luxury Hotel in Torremolinos
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — SENTIDO Amaragua 4*
Number of rooms: 275
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A superior 4 star Hotel where the functional distribution of its spaces, with the sea as its protagonist, the decoration, with its strong personality, have all come together to give you an elegant, classical and functional Mediterranean Hotel. Located on the seafront, MS Amaragua looks out directly on to the Mediterranean and the pedestrian promenade of the traditional, infamous neighbourhood of the Carihuela, where the cultural cuisine of Pescaito frito (little fried fish) reaches its maximum expression. Only a couple of minutes walk away is the famous Benalmádena Marina, Puerto Marina. We have 275 rooms; of these 2 are luxury suites, 8 suites, 6 junior suites and 12 superior doubles. Restaurant, snack bar, swimming pool, lobby bar, conference and conventions halls, parking with 217 spaces, big outside swimming pool for adults and children, ample sun terrace, beach with direct access from the Hotel and the spa & fitness centre. 24 hour reception, press, left luggage, bellboy, room service, laundry service and rental service of bicycles, cars and motorbikes. CATERING To start the day, the Hotels restaurant, offers a complete and varied breakfast buffet with panoramic views of the Mediterranean . Enjoy the luminosity and relaxation at the swimming pool Bar La Ola, where Mediterranean cooking fuses with local cuisine and the after dinner drinks at sunset.Mens sana in corpore sano in the Health and Beauty Centre (SPA & Beauty Farm) the Hotel has at your service. The Hotel has on offer for its clients, an indoor climate controlled swimming pool, Jacuzzi, sauna, Turkish bath, gym, massages and an ample array of aesthetic treatments. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Priceline, Expedia, TripOnline SA, Odigeo, Venere and HotelTravel.com so you can book your SENTIDO Amaragua reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Amaragua Hotel Torremolinos
SENTIDO Amaragua Torremolinos, Costa Del Sol, Spain

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage SENTIDO Amaragua, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.