We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A Group/ Travel Club Hotel” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel Amaragua

Save Saved
You added Hotel Amaragua to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Hotel Amaragua
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   C/ Los Nidos 23, 29620 Torremolinos, Spain   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #32 of 74 hotels in Torremolinos
new york
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“A Group/ Travel Club Hotel”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 6, 2012

We stayed at the Amaragua Hotel the end of October 2012. The best part of the Hotel is the location. Do not expect personal service, the front desk while somewhat friendly does not speak english well, nor do they have time for anyone, they are extremly busy. The Hotel seems to cater to travel groups. But as said the location is very good, the rooms are small , not fancy but clean. The public areas are spacious and they offer piano music at night, which is very loveley. The pool area is also attractive and the price is not bad ( may even be very good, you need to check online ) because it includes a decent buffet breakfast served in a big noisy room.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

333 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    115
    122
    60
    20
    16
See reviews for
62
121
10
28
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (47)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Sunderland, United Kingdom
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 22, 2012

dont be put off ,by any bad reviews,hotel is lovley in a great location,we stayed in a standard room which was large and spotless,the fixtures an fittings were good.the hotel foyer is beautiful and the staff friendly.we were there with another couple and we all agreed we would stay here again and again.

Room Tip: ask for room facing the beach,its great for people watching
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boston, Massachusetts
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
23 helpful votes 23 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 22, 2012

I've read the reviews of the hotel that have been posted on Tripadvisor in the last year or and wanted to provide updated information to travelers. We stayed there as part of a U.S. travel agency package deal. To summarize, the Amaragua Hotel is nice, very nice. Overall, the hotel is in very good condition. The lobby, bar area and restaurant are very nice and all of the staff is very friendly and quick to resolve any issues. Much of the staff (especially front desk) is fluent in English, Spanish and German, although they clearly appreciate if you try out your Spanish, regardless of how bad it might be. With that being said, Americans should understand that a "4 star" European (or at least Spanish) hotel is a bit different than a 4 star US hotel. You are not coming to Spain to stay at the Marriott or Sheraton. In the interest of full disclosure, this was my first time to Europe, so all I had to compare was U.S. chain hotels.

Guest Rooms - The rooms, while very nice are a bit dated, the beds are very hard from U.S. standards and the pillows are long and very flat, making sleeping difficult if you're used to a softer bed and larger pillows. The bathroom is very modern, always clean, however small slivers of bar soap are only available at the sink (liquid body wash/shampoo and an unusual 'body sponge' is available in the shower). Towels are adequate and staff is quick to supply more if needed. We had an issue with how warm the room was when we arrived and after a 'Spanglish' (due to our bad Spanish) discussion with a maintenance man, we discovered that the entire building shifts from AC to heat on November 9th (we arrived on the 16th), so getting any cool air in the room required opening (and leaving open) the window, which had no screen. We saw this as an annoyance, but by itself not a deal breaker. The room did in fact cool down with the window and balcony door left open at night.

However, if you only take 1 piece of advise from this review, it is, MAKE ABSOLUTE SURE THAT YOU DON'T GET ASSIGNED A ROOM THAT FACES THE STREET (other rooms face the pool/ocean). The hotel is on a busy, noisy city street (a fact of life, but not itself a fault of the hotel) that stays noisy late into the night, making sleeping difficult. This street noise was our main complaint of the entire hotel. We don't live in a big city where this might be the norm, and so the noise made for several nights of lost sleep. Fix this and you'll have no other major complaints. Side note: we had an iPhone app called 'Sleepmaker' on our phone, which provides an ocean surf noise which we used to drown out the street noise. We highly recommend that app.

The facilities of the hotel are first rate. We enjoyed the outdoor pool overlooking the boardwalk and ocean, as well as the spa area, where they have a smaller salt water heated indoor pool, jacuzzi, sauna, steam room, nice workout facilities and other, expected spa facilities such as massage (avg price was 75 euros/hour) and facials. The sitting area and bar off the lobby was great, with lots of inside and outside tables for conversing. Cocktails/wine at the bar averaged 5 euros.

Internet access - I've read comments about spotty internet access. These are true. The hotel does offer free wifi around the hotel, however due to the many dead spots, not to mention the hundreds of guests trying to access it at the same time it is spotty to non-existent inside the rooms along with many of the common areas. However, if you sit on the room balconies or down in the area of the public internet terminals (1 euro for 15 min, 2 euro for 30 min), particularly in the afternoons, the wifi is plentiful and fast. We found that after 11am most guests had checked their email and that the internet worked fine.

Our travel package (and apparently most other guests as well) included 1/2 board with breakfast and dinner included in the room price. I've seen several complaints about the food at the main restaurant. I'll tell you as a 'foodie' that the meals were very good. Given the understanding that the Spanish chefs are trying to satisfy the palates of the American, Spanish, English, German and other palates, its hard to satisfy everyone. That being said, they certainly try hard to please. Is there repetition in some of the menu items? Sure. However, the breakfasts and dinners have at LEAST 15 choices of meats, cheeses, salads, seafoods and other items to choose from each day. Spanish cava (champagne) is served with every breakfast and while wine is supposed to be supplied at dinner as 1 glass per person, the waiters frequently provided a 1/2 bottle to each adult patron of either a good Spanish red or white wine, as well as your soft drink or coffee/cappacino/espresso of choice. Note: for some unknown reason, coffee/cappacino/espresso seems to only be available at breakfast, not dinner. No idea why. A nice dessert station is available morning and night with fresh baked desserts as well as at least 5 different types of ice cream. There's not much to complain about with their meals.

Location - While the hotel isn't in the center of Torremolinos (such as the Melia Costa del Sol), there is plenty to see and do in this area, as well as hundreds of wonderful restaurants. If you're staying for multiple weeks at the hotel (some guests were staying for 2-3 months!), I found an article before our trip about a self service laundry facility at the Sol Timor hotel, located about a 10 minute walk away from the Amaragua. This turned out to be right on the money. For 3 euros to wash and 3 euros to dry, it was fine. Not cheap but it did work and that hotel had no issues letting people from outside that hotel use that facility. The dryers weren't high powered and some of our clothes didn't dry completely, but it still allowed us to bring less clothes.

In short, were some things not exactly as we imagined at this hotel? Sure. However, we've never stayed in a hotel in Europe and had no way to compare what we got with anything except name brand, chain hotels in the U.S. Would I stay here again knowing what I know now? Yes. The staff, facilities, food and other amenities generally offset the issues of the very hard bed and annoying street noise. So, come to Costa del Sol, stay at the Hotel Amaragua and if possible, ask for a room away from the street. You'll have a great time, meet some interesting new people, who want nothing more than to help you enjoy your stay and your 'Spain experience'. Enjoy the adventure!

Stayed November 2012, traveled with family
Was this review helpful? Yes 14
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
scotland
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 9, 2012

I stayed here for one night en route to Malaga Airport. The twin room was large and comfy. I think most rooms have a view but our room was on the first floor so didn't see much apart from a big plant and another building. Try and stay on a higher level as think the views to the sea would be lovely from there. In the main the staff were friendly apart from one female member of staff. We used the bar and sat at the terrace - a lot of flies about! The barman was super-friendly and couldn't do enough for us. The pool is large and good for swimming. From the secure back gate you come out onto the promenade and beach. Lots of restaurants along the promenade. The breakfast was great with a wide choice of food (and fizzy wine!) including made to order omelettes, fried eggs and pancakes.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Zoersel
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 6, 2012

Our stay here was from 15th until 23rd of October. We had read several reviews that were not so good, but much to our surprise, everything was just fine !
The hotel has a lovely hall and the staff are very friendly. They do not only speak Spanish.
Rooms were good and so were the beds.
The restaurant offered good food, regarding the crisis-issue, which means that everyone has smaller budgets.
In the evening there was live music in the bar.

Spa, jacuzzi, sauna etc. were free of charge.
Pool was good with enough sunbeds and the Paseo Marítimo was just down the stairs. One could walk to Benalmadena or to Torremolinos itself.

Along the Paseo were several bars, where one could have tapas and drinks, or even a full meal.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cape Town Central, South Africa
Senior Contributor
28 reviews 28 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed November 5, 2012

This looks like a great hotel from the outside. I have stayed here twice as my company puts a lot of us in here when we have training weeks.
I cannot get over how bad the staff are. Its meant to be 4 star but you cannot get room service after 7pm. I asked a member of staff for my bill at one stage and she said 'in a minute', when i asked again later, she told me that I could go and ask her colleague and kind of snarled at me. It was unbelievable. The rooms are just average. Dated and basic. No international TV apart from CNN. Oh and everything in the gym is broken.
My company put thousands of people in here every year and I am begging them to change hotels. Its awful.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled on business
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manchester, United Kingdom
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 25, 2012

Good location away from main 'strip'. Rooms clean but beds uncomfortable, (hard mattresses with uncomfortable bolster pillows, - unless you up-grade as we did, to a superior room, where the beds are larger and much more comfortable, and you get a modern HD tv.). Disappointing food quality and limited choice coupled with sullen waiter service, (except when serving the long-term guests and residents). We asked for fresh orange only to find the price is €3 per glass. Avoid half board as there are many good restaurants in close proximity.
For us, however, the main problem was the pool area, which was filthy and infested with flies, making sun bathing a frustrating affair. After we complained, along with others, they cleaned it up a bit.
In many ways a good hotel with many excellent facilities, but they need to try that little bit harder.

Room Tip: Avoid side rooms on high floors as there will be kitchen extractor noise.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Hotel Amaragua? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Amaragua

Address: C/ Los Nidos 23, 29620 Torremolinos, Spain
Location: Spain > Andalucia > Province of Malaga > Costa del Sol > Torremolinos
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 Spa Hotel in Torremolinos
#16 Luxury Hotel in Torremolinos
#16 On the Beach Hotel in Torremolinos
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Amaragua 4*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A superior 4 star Hotel where the functional distribution of its spaces, with the sea as its protagonist, the decoration, with its strong personality, have all come together to give you an elegant, classical and functional Mediterranean Hotel. Located on the seafront, MS Amaragua looks out directly on to the Mediterranean and the pedestrian promenade of the traditional, infamous neighbourhood of the Carihuela, where the cultural cuisine of Pescaito frito (little fried fish) reaches its maximum expression. Only a couple of minutes walk away is the famous Benalmádena Marina, Puerto Marina. We have 275 rooms; of these 2 are luxury suites, 8 suites, 6 junior suites and 12 superior doubles. Restaurant, snack bar, swimming pool, lobby bar, conference and conventions halls, parking with 217 spaces, big outside swimming pool for adults and children, ample sun terrace, beach with direct access from the Hotel and the spa & fitness centre. 24 hour reception, press, left luggage, bellboy, room service, laundry service and rental service of bicycles, cars and motorbikes. CATERING To start the day, the Hotels restaurant, offers a complete and varied breakfast buffet with panoramic views of the Mediterranean . Enjoy the luminosity and relaxation at the swimming pool Bar La Ola, where Mediterranean cooking fuses with local cuisine and the after dinner drinks at sunset.Mens sana in corpore sano in the Health and Beauty Centre (SPA & Beauty Farm) the Hotel has at your service. The Hotel has on offer for its clients, an indoor climate controlled swimming pool, Jacuzzi, sauna, Turkish bath, gym, massages and an ample array of aesthetic treatments. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Tingo, Priceline, BookingOdigeoWL, Otel and Venere so you can book your Hotel Amaragua reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Amaragua Hotel Torremolinos
Hotel Amaragua Torremolinos, Costa Del Sol, Spain

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hotel Amaragua, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.