We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Prime Location” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel Amaragua

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Save
You added Hotel Amaragua to your Saves list
Hotel Amaragua
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   C/ Los Nidos 23, 29620 Torremolinos, Spain   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #32 of 73 Hotels in Torremolinos
Cambridgeshire
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
“Prime Location”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 18, 2012

Just back from a week at this hotel. It is a very nice hotel. It is in a prime position yards from
a beautiful beach and a wonderful promenade which stretches for a few miles from Benalmadena
to Torrimolinos. There are lovely restaurants and little shops all along. There are plenty of
sunbeds around the pool. The rooms are really comfortable. The food is plentiful but a little 'samey'. The guests are from all over but seemed to be mainly German. I would definitely go
back next year.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

370 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    134
    128
    64
    23
    21
See reviews for
78
142
10
28
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (54)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Vik, Iceland
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 17, 2012

We stayed for two nights, booked a room through Booking.com norefundable and was told in the lobby when I asked to be sure that I would get the kind of room that I booked that it was not possible... this let to a litle argument, I wanted the room I had booked or at least a refund for the difference of the price of the rooms. after having to been waiting too long for the solution wich at my opinion would not have to be a trouble, we were given the room I had booked, strange that we needet to argue for it then;-/ The hotel it self is beautyfully decoradet, the rooms are spacious but a little old/used. The hotelgarden is very good and the hotel is located just a few steps from the beach and the bars which is convenient because I do not reccomend the cocktails at the hotel they are not as they are supposed to be;-/ They charge for the Wifi at the rooms, but in the brouchers says it is supposed to be free. We had dinner the first night and got disappointed, it tasted bad, also the breakfast the first night was strange so we decidet not to have the dinner includet in the price the later night. Breakfast the later morning was a litle better though don't ask me why, we had breakfast at the same time both mornings so that is not that. I had a little higher expectations for a 4 star hotel found it more like 3 star hotel looking extremely good.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dublin
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
23 helpful votes 23 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed October 8, 2012

This hotel is clean, ideally located and has a great breakfast and that is where it ends. The hotel is so understaffed it is not funny. The staff that are there especially on reception are the most unhelpful I ever met. Don't look for a drink! you will grow old waiting or look for a towel outside the designated times! "who do you think you are" "a customer"

Room Tip: Do not take a room on the 1st floor unless you like the smell of clorine!
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with friends
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DUBLIN IRELAND
Top Contributor
58 reviews 58 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
40 helpful votes 40 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 5, 2012

I was in The Amaragua recently for a 50th Anniv celebration and have to say i was very impressed with the overall service. Obviously the planning of such an event had been ongoing for nearly a year but everything turned out top class on the night. The buffet dinner and pre-dinner drinks reception went off without a hitch and the attentiveness of the staff was excellent.
I had been there before on a number of occasions just for drinks and to listen to the wonderful piano player in the lounge. As it situated right on the Paseo Maritimo, its an ideal place to relax for a few days or longer. The hotel would be rated at the top end of the market, but in good packafe deals can still be found on their website. Go ahead, treat yourself!!

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gibraltar
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
2 of 5 stars Reviewed August 28, 2012

Reception not very helpful, tried to change room and they said it was full. 10 minutes later a couple from Spain did change theirs. Expensive parking. Asked for no smoking room and mine smelled really bad. Ask for extra pillows. Poor food and always the same. Quite boring hotel with no entertainment just at night for 2 hours and very poor quality. Go early for breakfast or wait for at least half an hour. Wake up early for a sunbed or get none.
Some very helpful staff, Hall Porter and Jose at the bar. Great location, walking distance to La Carihuela and beach. Recommend El Mojito Bar and Mi Bodeguita to have tapas.

Room Tip: Ensure you get what you ask for, I asked for double beds and got twin, asked for no smoking and got...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with friends
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Belfast, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
57 reviews 57 reviews
21 hotel reviews
Reviews in 26 cities Reviews in 26 cities
56 helpful votes 56 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 22, 2012

This is a lovely hotel, situated right on the beach. Breakfast good, but dinners very poor, with mostly fish dishes. If staying again, we would go b&b, and eat dinner at local restaurants.Waiters in restaurant surly .

Room Tip: Ask for a room in the modern block.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Timisoara
Senior Contributor
26 reviews 26 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
27 helpful votes 27 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 10, 2012

Good points:
1. The hotel is very well located. On the beach and half way between Carihuela Beach Center and Benalmadena Marina.
2. The food (I had Full Board) was very good and various.
3. The hotel is very clean.
4. The prices for food and drinks are acceptable.
5. It has SPA and pool *(a little crowded).
6. The stuff is kind, with little exceptions.


Not good:

1. The furniture in the rooms are a little bit old and uncomfortable.
2. Waiting lines may occur in the last hour of breakfast.
3. The beach is not included, but you can stay there free without beds ans umbrella.
4. The stuff, 80%, do not speak any language than Spanish.
5. Supplementary bed is a nightmare.
6. Not facilities for children, so, I do not recommend this hotel for families with children.

TIPS:
1. Get earlier for breakfast.
2. Occupy a bed in the pool before breakfast.
3. Take only Half Board, because you can eat everywhere for lunch at good prices around 10 euro per person.
4. You can do daily shopping in Mercadona 600 m from the hotel for half of the price of mini ”supermarkets” around.
5. Take a guided trip to Gibraltar, it worth. Price around 30 euros.
6. Visit the City of Ronda, also guided trip, same price.
7. Be aware: a lot of fake product on the street an in some shops.

Room Tip: Ask a room with big balconny. Avoid rooms at the pool or near the service court, it may be noisy.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Hotel Amaragua? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Amaragua

Address: C/ Los Nidos 23, 29620 Torremolinos, Spain
Location: Spain > Andalucia > Province of Malaga > Costa del Sol > Torremolinos
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 Spa Hotel in Torremolinos
#16 Luxury Hotel in Torremolinos
#17 On the Beach Hotel in Torremolinos
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Amaragua 4*
Number of rooms: 275
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A superior 4 star Hotel where the functional distribution of its spaces, with the sea as its protagonist, the decoration, with its strong personality, have all come together to give you an elegant, classical and functional Mediterranean Hotel. Located on the seafront, MS Amaragua looks out directly on to the Mediterranean and the pedestrian promenade of the traditional, infamous neighbourhood of the Carihuela, where the cultural cuisine of Pescaito frito (little fried fish) reaches its maximum expression. Only a couple of minutes walk away is the famous Benalmádena Marina, Puerto Marina. We have 275 rooms; of these 2 are luxury suites, 8 suites, 6 junior suites and 12 superior doubles. Restaurant, snack bar, swimming pool, lobby bar, conference and conventions halls, parking with 217 spaces, big outside swimming pool for adults and children, ample sun terrace, beach with direct access from the Hotel and the spa & fitness centre. 24 hour reception, press, left luggage, bellboy, room service, laundry service and rental service of bicycles, cars and motorbikes. CATERING To start the day, the Hotels restaurant, offers a complete and varied breakfast buffet with panoramic views of the Mediterranean . Enjoy the luminosity and relaxation at the swimming pool Bar La Ola, where Mediterranean cooking fuses with local cuisine and the after dinner drinks at sunset.Mens sana in corpore sano in the Health and Beauty Centre (SPA & Beauty Farm) the Hotel has at your service. The Hotel has on offer for its clients, an indoor climate controlled swimming pool, Jacuzzi, sauna, Turkish bath, gym, massages and an ample array of aesthetic treatments. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Priceline, Hotels.com, Despegar.com, Odigeo, TripOnline SA and Tingo so you can book your Hotel Amaragua reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Amaragua Hotel Torremolinos
Hotel Amaragua Torremolinos, Costa Del Sol, Spain

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hotel Amaragua, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.