We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good value, great position” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel Tropicana

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Save
You added Hotel Tropicana to your Saves list
Hotel Tropicana
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Tropico Street, 6, E-29620 Torremolinos, Spain   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #28 of 72 Hotels in Torremolinos
Senior Contributor
38 reviews 38 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
26 helpful votes 26 helpful votes
“Good value, great position”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 29, 2014

Hi, a few reviews have been critical of this hotels 4 star rating. It's worth remembering that the rating system around the world can vary and that it's about amenities and not marble and chandlers. This hotel is a very traditional 80's / 90's style Spanish Hotel. Almost all are the same throughout the costa del sol. The rooms are not glamorous but are functional. IE tube style TV, not flat screen, shower curtain over bath, not cubicle etc. If you are like my wife and I we are in our apartment to sleep and one or two hours through the day. This hotel is perfect for this and good value. If you live in your hotel room, you may want to look elsewhere. The position of the hotel is 50 meters from the beach. The marina is a 10 minute walk away and there are lots of restaurants and bars nearby. Staff friendly and helpful. Avoid the Tropicana beach restaurant as the service is poor and the food ok.

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

140 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    33
    54
    31
    9
    13
See reviews for
21
71
3
2
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (19)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
N Yorks
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 26, 2014 via mobile

The tropicana is in a good location situated opposite a nice stretch of beach halfway between Torremolinos and Benalmadena. Walk in either direction and you will find numerous bars, restaurants and shops.

The hotel appeared clean and all the staff I encountered were friendly and helpful.

I stayed half board. The food was good (if a little limited in choice sometimes) and the restaurant is nice - not canteen like as in so many of these hotels. However if food is a big part of your holiday then I would suggest eating out in the resort restaurants as there is so much choice !

The pool area is small, quiet and lacked atmosphere. It was difficult to get a drink too but there is an entrance from the Tropicana through to the Amaragua hotel next door which has a really nice pool and bar.

I found the Tropicana to be good value for money. Obviously that depends on how much you pay. But I would certainly return.

  • Stayed May 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
35 reviews 35 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 22 cities Reviews in 22 cities
26 helpful votes 26 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 19, 2014

Visited 10 May, with BA Holidays. Had read Trip Advisor and decided to give hotel a go!
On arrival we were checked in within 5 minutes and given a very pleasant room with a balcony to the side of the hotel. The room was spotless, had twin beds and was a good size. Small tv, but we were not there to watch tv! Had breakfast as part of package, and found it to be excellent. I had read previous reviews and was wary, so was delighted to find they have changed or some of the reviews on here are inaccurate. Large choice including bacon and scrambled eggs, all types of breads, cereals, fruits, meats and cheeses! Based on reviews I did not add evening meals, but we did pay for one evening and the food was as good if not better than some of the restaurants on the beach front. I have no affiliation with this hotel so am very surprised previous reviews have been a little negative. Friendly reception staff, (gave info on taxis, etc) smart modern clean hotel. The pool area is large enough, but considering you are only 50 metres from the beach, who cares. My only criticism (minor) is the wifi connection was quite poor and slow! If you want good value for money in a hotel in an excellent location in Torremolinos then look no further. Finally, is it 4 star? Yes probably it just deserves that rating.

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Merthyr Tydfil, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 11, 2014

The hotel is rather small but that just made it cosier. We booked the hotel plus return flights to Malaga through onthebeach for a mere £330 for the two of us for 4 nights - brilliant deal! The hotel was very clean and overlooking the beach. We stayed in room 517 on the top floor with a sea and pool view (we did not have to pay or ask for a sea view room!). Most rooms of this hotel overlook the sea so they always try to offer those rooms unless the hotel is fully booked. You walk out of the hotel onto a promenade which separates the hotel from the beach (you cannot get much closer to the beach than that:)) The reception staff are very helpful and friendly. I asked them on arrival for gluten free bread as we booked the B&B option and they made sure that I had the bread for the next day. The rooms were cleaned daily with fresh towels and bed linen provided. We did not try the hotel restaurant due to lots of various opportunities all around us but we heard that they served really good dinner options. There are extra pillows and blankets in the room and air conditioning. Blankets come handy when you arrive in May and want to spend the evenings on the balcony to enjoy the sea view as it can be chilly at nights. There is also a fridge in the room which we used mainly for drinks as we did not opt for all inclusive board. The hotel is not far from the El Pinillo or Torremolinos train stations which are only 10 mins from Malaga airport (1.75 Euro per person). From the train stations you can either walk (around 20-30mins downhill) or take a taxi (around 7 Euro and it takes 5 minutes). The hotel is a 15 minute walk away from the Benalmadena marina (there is a free trial segway ride by the marina and cheap options to rent one). Torremolinos train station is in the centre of Torremolinos and I said it is not far whether you choose to walk or take a taxi there one day. There also many attractions not far from the hotel such as Crocodile park (you can have a photo holding a baby crocodile there for 50 cents), Selwo Marina Delfinarium (check my review of that) or Telerefico which is a cable car going to a top of mountain for breathtaking views. We walked everywhere and most of those attractions were about a 30-40 minute walk from the hotel but you can use taxis or public buses.

Room Tip: Most of the rooms of this hotel overlook the sea so you do not have to pay extra or ask for it espec...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Midlands, England
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 25, 2014

We chose this hotel due to it's location and were not disappointed.

We were allocated a room (a little dated) overlooking the sea on the first floor close to the stairs and due to it's proximity to Reception it was at times quite noisy but not unbearable. The cleanliness in the hotel was first class and we were provided each day with clean, fresh towels. There was not a Refrigerator in the room which would have been useful and the Bar in Reception was not manned during our stay which was a shame as we often enjoy a drink before dinner or on our return in the evening.

All of the staff were friendly and helpful particularly Susanna on Reception and Antonio and Eduardo in the restaurant, we found the food and service to be very good.

Thanks for a lovely week, we will return!

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Derby, United Kingdom
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 13, 2013

Lovely hotel nice & clean, pleasant and helpful staff, great breakfasts, small but clean and maintained pool & gardens, great beach bar too. Central location for walking to Torremolinos, Benalmadena marina, short walk to the main road for local buses to all towns along the coast. Hotel is situated right next to La Caruhuela area so lots of choice for nightlife. Great strip of beach.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with Low Cost Holidays

Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hemel Hempstead, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 24, 2013

This was my 4th visit to the Tropicana, this year my friend came with me who needed a wheel chair. On arrival the prebooked chair was there waiting for us, they had booked us in to rooms on the ground floor but moved us after 2 days to the 5th, which had a great view over the sea and pool.Access to the hotel was fine with a small lift if we wanted.The breakfast was good as usual, the only thing was the bar not being open in the lobey but i guess this was because it was late in the season. The area around the hotel was nice and flat so pushing my friend around after a couple of beers was fine, overall the hotel and area was great .

Room Tip: rooms on the left facing the hotel next door may have a little noise but a great view of the sunrise
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Hotel Tropicana? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Tropicana

Address: Tropico Street, 6, E-29620 Torremolinos, Spain
Location: Spain > Andalucia > Province of Malaga > Costa del Sol > Torremolinos
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#15 Luxury Hotel in Torremolinos
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Tropicana 4*
Number of rooms: 84
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Travelocity, Booking.com, Expedia, Priceline, Venere, TripOnline SA, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Hotel Tropicana reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Tropicana Hotel Torremolinos
Hotel Tropicana Torremolinos, Costa Del Sol, Spain

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hotel Tropicana, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.