We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A Good No-Frills Tourist Hotel” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel Las Palomas

Save Saved
You added Hotel Las Palomas to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Hotel Las Palomas
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Carmen Montes 1, 29620 Torremolinos, Spain   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #63 of 74 hotels in Torremolinos
Dublin, Ireland
Senior Contributor
26 reviews 26 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
“A Good No-Frills Tourist Hotel”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed March 1, 2012

This is a quiet and unpretentious hotel.

The rooms are simple and can veer towards the shabby end of the scale, but I found mine to be comfortable, and hassle-free. The in-room refrigerator is a nice touch -- but it only works when your room-card is inserted in the thingy beside the door, so it wasn't much good for keeping anything cold.

The food was ok. We stayed half-board, generally meaning breakfast plus one other meal. The dining-room operates buffet-style. I found the breakfast enjoyable - plenty of eggs and bacon, toast, friut-juices, etc. The lunch / dinner experienced was a bit more mixed. Some pretty good, some pretty not so good:)

One of our party was in a wheelchair and we found most of this hotel to be accessible - however the stairs down to the dining room have no ramp so meal-times were always a bit of an ordeal.

In fairness, my impression was that they were taking steps to make the building wheelchair accessible, but that this was still a work-in-progress.

The staff were helpful and pleasant during our time at this hotel and seemed quite professional in their handling of guest requests.

Overall, a pleasant, quiet, easy-going tourist hotel. Recommended.

Room Tip: Ask for a room facing towards the beach, and high-up. At night you will be able to look out across t...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2011, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

342 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    48
    88
    77
    73
    56
See reviews for
72
111
6
3
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (11)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
hull united kingdom
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 21, 2011

my holiday stay was 28th september 2011. we stayed at this hotel about 10 years ago and returned this year after having a break going other places . on returning to this hotel we found a lot of changes . reception was better after a revamp of the hotel ,food was very good apart from english breakfast to which there wasnt much variety, continental breakfast was v good ,evening meals was v good ,staff were pleasant and polite . bar area was good we went knowing there was no real entertainment except for disco and dance music ..
rooms were very clean and attended to daily ,bed linen changed twice in that week,clean towels every day. wewill definatly return again

Room Tip: ask for pool balcony
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chester-le-Street, United Kingdom
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
25 helpful votes 25 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed September 27, 2011

This is not a Four Star hotel as advertised. At best it may be a 3 star but even that is doubtful.

It can best be described in a 'Pros and Cons' categories as follows

PROS: Sorry but not many.
1 Nice pool area.
2 Well appointed bar
3 Bedroom reasonably clean but in need of refurbishment. Best staff.
4 Reasonable breakfast but that was all.
5 Fridge free of charge available in each room.
CONS: Regrettably too many.
1 Restaurant like a works canteen. Uncomfortable plastic chairs.
2 Food very ordinary. Choice of a kind but similar every night
3 Unpleasant staff particularly in reception and restaurant
4 Rules for dinner 'No shorts etc'. but half other guests (presumably Spanish or German) were dressed in shorts and even vests. Plenty wore caps The so called Head Waiter said it did not matter, Very unprofessional attitude by staff.
5 Lovely bar area but entertainment very second class.
6 If you wanted TV you had to pay 2 euros per day for the old fashioned 15" TV
7 Towels for pool had a 20 euros deposit for each

Pleased the weather was excellent. However this is the worst hotel we have stayed at in Spain and we will not return to it nor will we recommend it to anyone.

Room Tip: If you must stay here, reject a ground floor room. For morning sun try to choose a room overlooking...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 8
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
manchester
2 reviews
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed August 8, 2011

hotel-defiantly not a 4 star,3 pushing it the lifts are like phone boxs there that small,you cant get 4 people in,the pool is nice big and clean,the bars nice and clean and personable prices,the entertainment staff are good,darts,water polo,archery bit of a disco,BUT 90% of hotel are German or Spanish so not easy for kids to meet friends...we were kept up 4 nights out of 7 by noisy chavs,not just brits but a Spanish couple next door arguing every-night,walls are paper thin...the staff are very polite,bar one Spanish women on the reception who has no customer skills at all,she liked to serve Spanish first and ignored any brits,she was rude and arrogant,we asked about buses and she said she had no idea and walked off,day after we asked manager took us to bus stop outside hotel and told us what we needed to know...now this is when you know its real not like other reviews and is real..the food is the worst ever,rock hard frozen rolls every day, greasy food,uncooked food raw in the middle,uncooked chips,bland horrible stuff,ive had better at service stations...if you've a pram or disabled deffo not for you,a small hill but very very narrow walk ways on busy road...we spoke 2 two English folk in hotel most Spanish or german...entertainments bloke was a good laugh tried his best fancied himself but a nice enough bloke...if you want a peaceful holiday,youve no chance hotels full of louts.spotlessly clean though cant fault that.gym there but nothing works....9 hour delay on way back with jet 2.com so try and avoid these there useless apparently its happening regular with these people we spoke to in airport had bad times with them before,they lied every hour the plane was on its way we had a 5 year old daughter stuck with us roasting..terrible

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sunderland, United Kingdom
1 review
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed August 6, 2011

we stayed in the basement not told about this till day before we flew out.this hotel is not a 4*.when we asked for a better room with a balconey we were asked for 70 euro per room we had 3 rooms .The food was good but the rules in the dinning room state dress for dinner we did others turned up from the beach, they make rules but dont carry them out.There are alot of stairs so this hotel is not for the faint hearted,the reception is not very inviting and neither were some of the reception staff.On a good note the pool area was very nice with a very helpful life guard.But over all very disapointed with the location and * rating someone needs to rethink the status of this hotel.

Room Tip: make sure you are not on floor 1 or 2 your view is a brick wall
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2011, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Runcorn
1 review
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 5, 2011

I NEVER WRITE REVIEWS, and I rarely read them.

Nonetheless, just before my trip to Torremolinos I thought I would check out the area and the hotel. The booking was reasonably hasty as my girlfriend and myself where in much need of a break (on a budget). Having friends and family mentioning the reputation of the place I thought I best investigate...

I read review after review about bad experiences in the hotel and around the local area. I am generally very optimistic and chose to convince myself that the people who bothered to write the reviews where the minority who had bad experiences, and I kept my mouth shut to the girlfriend (she is a worrier). I vowed that if the trip was a success I would come here and give the place its much needed praise.

So here I am...the hotel is approximately 10 minutes for the airport, which was fantastic as I hate long transfers. We were greeted by professional and friendly staff on reception and were given the key to our room immediately. just 25 minutes after landing I was lying on the hotel bed. 10 minutes later I was on my way out of the hotel were a nice man working in the hotel gave us some tips about places to have a browse around in the local area...

Although on a fairly steep hill the surroundings are fantastic. Rapid access to a great range of shops, supermarkets (small ones) restaurants, beach shops, cafes and an endless strip of beach left me feeling very happy.

The place is "lively", but lively for families and couples. I didn't hear a club or see a group of typically British 18-30s who had too much to drink. The area has a lovely atmosphere for having great food and drink.

Lets wrap this up...

The hotel - good/standard breakfast food. Great pool. Not enough loungers but if you want one get up early and claim it. I didn't so I cant complain! We were lucky to get a top floor room with a balcony facing the sea, there are a few rooms which would be unfortunately placed with not much of a view, but they are very rare.

The area - beautiful, great beaches, lots of showers on the beach, great shops and restaurants. Particularly an Italian on the 2nd street up from the beach that is always reserved. You can't miss it!

Don't dread this place like I did, its exactly what you pay for. Says 4* but as we all know, most foreign places can be knocked down by one to be realistic. Very nice indeed!

  • Stayed July 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
East Yorkshire
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
22 helpful votes 22 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 29, 2011

We had never been to Torremolinas before so wasn't sure what to expect. The hotel is quoted as a four star, but is more in line with 3 star hotels. This apart, everything about the hotel was good. The bedroom and ensuite were adequate and clean, for a change the bed was very comfortable, not the cheap run of the mill mattresses. We were allocated a room without a balcony, but for a small surcharge we managed to get a room with a balcony. All the rooms have a fridge, which is an added bonus. The hotel is literally a few minutes walk to the beach, the bars, restaurants and the bus stop just outside the hotel on the main road. The food in the restaurant was always plentiful and very nice choices. We were there for 10 days and never found cause for complaint once. The hotel pool was very good size wize, and there was always plenty of sunbeds.

Torremolinos itself was lovely, we walked right along the walkway, alongside the beach right up to and beyond Benalmadena.

The only downsides were if you have walking difficulties then choose a different hotel location as there is a lot of steps to the restaurant and the hotel is built on a steep slope.

We would certainly go back to Torremolinos and use the same hotel again.

Room Tip: If you want the evening sun on your balcony, choose one overlooking the road.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Hotel Las Palomas? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Las Palomas

Address: Carmen Montes 1, 29620 Torremolinos, Spain
Location: Spain > Andalucia > Province of Malaga > Costa del Sol > Torremolinos
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Restaurant Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#23 Luxury Hotel in Torremolinos
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Las Palomas 4*
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Despegar.com so you can book your Hotel Las Palomas reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Las Palomas Torremolinos
Hotel Las Palomas Torremolinos, Costa Del Sol, Spain
Las Palomas Hotel Torremolinos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hotel Las Palomas, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.