We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“family man 1 daughter 5 year old..proper review not like others.” 2 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel Las Palomas

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Save Saved
You added Hotel Las Palomas to your Saves list
Hotel Las Palomas
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Carmen Montes 1, 29620 Torremolinos, Spain   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #64 of 72 Hotels in Torremolinos
manchester
2 reviews
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“family man 1 daughter 5 year old..proper review not like others.”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed August 8, 2011

hotel-defiantly not a 4 star,3 pushing it the lifts are like phone boxs there that small,you cant get 4 people in,the pool is nice big and clean,the bars nice and clean and personable prices,the entertainment staff are good,darts,water polo,archery bit of a disco,BUT 90% of hotel are German or Spanish so not easy for kids to meet friends...we were kept up 4 nights out of 7 by noisy chavs,not just brits but a Spanish couple next door arguing every-night,walls are paper thin...the staff are very polite,bar one Spanish women on the reception who has no customer skills at all,she liked to serve Spanish first and ignored any brits,she was rude and arrogant,we asked about buses and she said she had no idea and walked off,day after we asked manager took us to bus stop outside hotel and told us what we needed to know...now this is when you know its real not like other reviews and is real..the food is the worst ever,rock hard frozen rolls every day, greasy food,uncooked food raw in the middle,uncooked chips,bland horrible stuff,ive had better at service stations...if you've a pram or disabled deffo not for you,a small hill but very very narrow walk ways on busy road...we spoke 2 two English folk in hotel most Spanish or german...entertainments bloke was a good laugh tried his best fancied himself but a nice enough bloke...if you want a peaceful holiday,youve no chance hotels full of louts.spotlessly clean though cant fault that.gym there but nothing works....9 hour delay on way back with jet 2.com so try and avoid these there useless apparently its happening regular with these people we spoke to in airport had bad times with them before,they lied every hour the plane was on its way we had a 5 year old daughter stuck with us roasting..terrible

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

332 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    46
    86
    71
    74
    55
See reviews for
73
111
6
3
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (11)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Sunderland, United Kingdom
1 review
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed August 6, 2011

we stayed in the basement not told about this till day before we flew out.this hotel is not a 4*.when we asked for a better room with a balconey we were asked for 70 euro per room we had 3 rooms .The food was good but the rules in the dinning room state dress for dinner we did others turned up from the beach, they make rules but dont carry them out.There are alot of stairs so this hotel is not for the faint hearted,the reception is not very inviting and neither were some of the reception staff.On a good note the pool area was very nice with a very helpful life guard.But over all very disapointed with the location and * rating someone needs to rethink the status of this hotel.

Room Tip: make sure you are not on floor 1 or 2 your view is a brick wall
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2011, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Runcorn
1 review
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 5, 2011

I NEVER WRITE REVIEWS, and I rarely read them.

Nonetheless, just before my trip to Torremolinos I thought I would check out the area and the hotel. The booking was reasonably hasty as my girlfriend and myself where in much need of a break (on a budget). Having friends and family mentioning the reputation of the place I thought I best investigate...

I read review after review about bad experiences in the hotel and around the local area. I am generally very optimistic and chose to convince myself that the people who bothered to write the reviews where the minority who had bad experiences, and I kept my mouth shut to the girlfriend (she is a worrier). I vowed that if the trip was a success I would come here and give the place its much needed praise.

So here I am...the hotel is approximately 10 minutes for the airport, which was fantastic as I hate long transfers. We were greeted by professional and friendly staff on reception and were given the key to our room immediately. just 25 minutes after landing I was lying on the hotel bed. 10 minutes later I was on my way out of the hotel were a nice man working in the hotel gave us some tips about places to have a browse around in the local area...

Although on a fairly steep hill the surroundings are fantastic. Rapid access to a great range of shops, supermarkets (small ones) restaurants, beach shops, cafes and an endless strip of beach left me feeling very happy.

The place is "lively", but lively for families and couples. I didn't hear a club or see a group of typically British 18-30s who had too much to drink. The area has a lovely atmosphere for having great food and drink.

Lets wrap this up...

The hotel - good/standard breakfast food. Great pool. Not enough loungers but if you want one get up early and claim it. I didn't so I cant complain! We were lucky to get a top floor room with a balcony facing the sea, there are a few rooms which would be unfortunately placed with not much of a view, but they are very rare.

The area - beautiful, great beaches, lots of showers on the beach, great shops and restaurants. Particularly an Italian on the 2nd street up from the beach that is always reserved. You can't miss it!

Don't dread this place like I did, its exactly what you pay for. Says 4* but as we all know, most foreign places can be knocked down by one to be realistic. Very nice indeed!

  • Stayed July 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
East Yorkshire
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
23 helpful votes 23 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 29, 2011

We had never been to Torremolinas before so wasn't sure what to expect. The hotel is quoted as a four star, but is more in line with 3 star hotels. This apart, everything about the hotel was good. The bedroom and ensuite were adequate and clean, for a change the bed was very comfortable, not the cheap run of the mill mattresses. We were allocated a room without a balcony, but for a small surcharge we managed to get a room with a balcony. All the rooms have a fridge, which is an added bonus. The hotel is literally a few minutes walk to the beach, the bars, restaurants and the bus stop just outside the hotel on the main road. The food in the restaurant was always plentiful and very nice choices. We were there for 10 days and never found cause for complaint once. The hotel pool was very good size wize, and there was always plenty of sunbeds.

Torremolinos itself was lovely, we walked right along the walkway, alongside the beach right up to and beyond Benalmadena.

The only downsides were if you have walking difficulties then choose a different hotel location as there is a lot of steps to the restaurant and the hotel is built on a steep slope.

We would certainly go back to Torremolinos and use the same hotel again.

Room Tip: If you want the evening sun on your balcony, choose one overlooking the road.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bucharest, Romania
Senior Contributor
29 reviews 29 reviews
25 hotel reviews
Reviews in 24 cities Reviews in 24 cities
23 helpful votes 23 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 28, 2011

The place of the hotel is not too good for sleep well: between a street and a school. But , if your room is on the top, you have a nice view: nice buildings and the sea.
The hotel needs improvement (old things), but it was clean, the staff and the food was good. We came here by senior program (7 days, 24-31 May 2011).
We are going on trips like: Sevilla, Cordoba, Malaga, Marbella, Gibraltar and Tanger /Morrocco. It was a good experience, we saw wonderful places. We had an excellent guide woman (Cristina) !

  • Stayed May 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Arbroath, United Kingdom
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 25, 2011

we had a great stay in this hotel. we did get put in one of the "dungeon rooms", and could have got moved for £70 but decided not to, it wasnt that bad cos we were only in it to sleep and shower, and it was kept very clean. I dont know why people moan about this hotel, the food is good, plenty of a selection for everyone. the pool area is great, with entertainment if you want to join in from great staff.There are stairs in the hotel but i cant see why people keep moaning about them, there are no more than any other hotel i have stayed in, and the lifts worked every time we used them. There were alot of spanish staying in the hotel, but we found them very friendly if you made the effort. Overall i would say this a great hotel for a holiday, the staff are friendly, the food is fine and the hotel is in a great location and kept very clean, hope you have as much fun as we did.

  • Stayed June 2011, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ballymena, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
26 reviews 26 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
39 helpful votes 39 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 19, 2011

just spent three weeks in las palomas and was dubious about it having read some reviews no need to worry had a great time and hotel was very good had twin room, with satellite t.v.,which was always spotless and in a great position reception staff were about the friendliest i've come across on holiday and always willing to help pool and pool area excellent and well looked after restaurant quite airy and food o.k. although perhaps not to everyones taste but there was a good variety and always something for someone never checked out the entertainment but all in all value for money an excellent choice definitely hoping to return.

Stayed July 2011, traveled solo
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Hotel Las Palomas? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Las Palomas

Address: Carmen Montes 1, 29620 Torremolinos, Spain
Location: Spain > Andalucia > Province of Malaga > Costa del Sol > Torremolinos
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Restaurant Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#23 Luxury Hotel in Torremolinos
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Las Palomas 4*
Number of rooms: 309
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with TripOnline SA and Otel so you can book your Hotel Las Palomas reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Las Palomas Torremolinos
Hotel Las Palomas Torremolinos, Costa Del Sol, Spain
Las Palomas Hotel Torremolinos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hotel Las Palomas, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.