We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“normal 3 star” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Marconfort Griego Hotel

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Save
You added Marconfort Griego Hotel to your Saves list
Marconfort Griego Hotel
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Avenida de Sorolla 7, 29620 Torremolinos, Spain   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Offers & Announcements
25% off room rate
Ranked #25 of 73 Hotels in Torremolinos
Certificate of Excellence
Greenock, United Kingdom
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
“normal 3 star”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed today NEW

Just back after 6 days in the griego travel with wife and 5 year old grandson first the room was OK and was cleaned and towels changed every day having the boy with us he loved the pool although it was cold sunbeds are a joke for if your are not down by 8am you won't get one and they are hard and uncomfortable the hotel is situated on a hill so not great for someone with walking difficulties the food was OK I think with the amount of nationalities there was usually something for everyone didn't think the entertainment was very good as we couldnt understand the language also think the hotel is used quite a bit by stag & hen nights especially over weekends so it can be very noisy at 5 in the morning

  • Stayed May 2015, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

122 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    36
    45
    32
    6
    3
See reviews for
36
46
3
3
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (37)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Hungarian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
London
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed today NEW

I've never been on an all-inclusive holiday before, but I would go here again. The staff were always friendly and happy to meet our every request. There are food outlets and bars on site dotted around the place, the food choices are very varied and all delicious.

  • Stayed May 2015, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
St. Andrews, United Kingdom
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed yesterday NEW

Just returned yesterday from this hotel..Hotel was lovely but security is so lax..my sister and i were all inclusive but not once were we asked for our room number when entering the restaurant this resulted in my sisters handbag being stolen at breakfast time..totally wrecked our time here..

Stayed May 2015, traveled with family
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Solihull
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 days ago NEW

We arrived at 12 midday to reception to be told that our room would be ready for 2pm this was not a problem but was told nothing else after that of getting a key card and wristband for all inclusive..we had to find out the restaurants eating times etc ourselves as found if you asked the staff it appeared to much of an effort and felt inconvenienced and the bars only serve drinks in filmsy plastic party sized cups..can't comment on the entertainment in the hotel of an evening as the majority of it appeared to be in foriegn as I felt that the hotel mainly catered for..The pool area is small and if your not up to put your sunbed out at sunrise you won't get a space there until sunsets! ..we spend most of the time down the beach in comfort on padded sunbeds for 2 beds & sun parasol €9..A short walk about 20 minutes through the shops...The food was ok mainly stews, cassoroles and fish was served most nights..On Thursday it was spectacular banquet, fit for a king but there was more foriegn residents had arrived..We was on the forth floor which was good as we kept fit and used the stairs due to the lift either out of service or it being over crowded...The noise of an evening from the pool area was noisy which our room was above...There was just groups of foriegn people mainly groups of men sitting there chatting or arguing as I couldn't work it out as they just got louder and louder until 1am some nights...staff didn't seem to mind this? but I'm sure if this was rowdy English holiday makers we would of been told to hush and think of other residents...I'm not a moaner and enjoy a good drink and a laugh as the same as the rest of us but have more respect for other people when it gets late! Finally I do have something positive to say the maid service and cleanliness of the hotel was outstanding...

Stayed May 2015, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
subdireccion_griego, Guest Relations Manager at Marconfort Griego Hotel, responded to this review, yesterday
Our Marconfort Griego Hotel being an international hotel and located in the cosmopolitan tourist area of Torremolinos attracts visitors from all around the world and local tourists alike. We are sorry that you were distrubed by our 'foreign' guests and that you were disturbed by noise from our 'foreign' guests, howerer we are sure that had you have called our Reception our security would have dealt with any problems with noise (be it from 'foreighners' or British guests). Signs indicating room locations, bars and restaurants are prominently displayed throughout the hotel as are our restaurant opening times (outside the restaurants and outside the lifts). Thank you for your kind words regarding our cleaning service.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Contributor
24 reviews 24 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
25 helpful votes 25 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 days ago NEW

My husband and I stayed in the hotel on an all inclusive basis for two weeks. As with all hotels there were good and bad points.

firstly the location. the hotel is just out of the main town centre which is a five minute walk away. the train station takes you directly to Malaga airport for a couple of Euros. (on a side note the train service is brilliant, clean, cheap, easy to use and runs from Fuengirola to Malaga.) Plenty of shops, restaurants and bars in easy walking distance.

if however you prefer to lounge on the beach everyday it is a good 15 minute walk away, through the town and down what feels like several hundred steps! we found two lots of steps. one set meanders down past lots of lovely local shops and one straight set of steps. The beaches are lovely with some nice bars and restaurants. Once you are at the beach you can walk for several miles in both directions on a promenade type path.

We hired a car but we were circling around the hotel for ages trying to find somewhere to park. We ended up going into an underground car park just down the hill from the hotel and on the opposite side of the road on Avienda de Isabel. We explained we were staying at the hotel opposite and they sold us a 15 day ticket for 90 Euros so we could come and go into the car park as needed. (closed at 11pm and opened at 8am every day)

check in process was smooth and the staff were helpful but just lacked that cheerfulness that you would expect from customer facing staff.

Our room was on the 8th floor. We had booked a mountain view room rather than a pool view room as it was cheaper but we were allocated a pool view room. we could also see the sea in the distance from our position in the hotel. As the hotel has three buildings in a U shape, with the pool in the middle, noise from the pool area does echo up to all floors. We didn't find this a problem on a night time as guests didn't congregate in that area on a night time. It may be more of a problem in summer months when more people may sit outside on a night time. However the balcony doors were quite effective in shutting out noise.

The room itself was spotless. The maids came in and made the beds everyday and if you left your towels in the bath, they would get replaced. I couldn't work out how often the sheets on the bed got changed as the first week they got replaced on the second day of our holiday then didn't get changed again until the 9th day of the holiday and then got changed again on the 11th and 13th day.
the water in the shower was hot but a bit feeble. the bathrooms had a big bath with a shower over and were very spacious for a hotel bathroom. the room itself had a lovely big wardrobe. there were four plug sockets. one next to the bed and three by the table. the balcony was ok with a table and two chairs. we got the sun on the balcony until about 2pm.
the air conditioning is set at 22 degrees. you can switch it on or leave it off. you cannot change any of the settings. the first couple of days ours wasn't working. reception tried to tell me it wasn't coming on because it wasn't hot enough. after a couple of times of reporting it, it eventually got sorted.

Food. there is lots and lots of food. between 8am and midnight I think there is only an hour or so where you cannot get food. breakfast, snack bar, lunch, snack bar, evening meal, snack bar. crisps and buns available at the bar, ice cream and ice pops available at some bars and the snack bar. You will never ever go hungry here.
The food itself is quite good. there are lots of options. I have never seen so many options in a hotel. there is the normal self service area with three or four options, plus a salad bar and a couple of huge woks with usually a rice option. several varieties of potatoes. a grill area where a chef is constantly cooking some type of meat, pizza and burgers. vegetarian area and a dessert area with lots of options. also lots of fruit and bread.
the breakfast options were huge too. eggs several ways, omelettes, sausages, bacon, beans, sometime churros, cereals, breads, jams, buns, croissants, toasted sandwiches, veg, yogurts and fruit. tea, coffee, hot chocolate, fruit juices.
one thing to note is that the restaurant is not really big enough for the hotel and at certain times you do have to queue to get in. there are signs outside the restaurant advising which times are quiet and when it is busy. the staff work non stop. they are never still. they clear tables quickly and efficiently. food is topped up constantly. On a side note, during busy restaurant times the lifts were also very busy. our hotel block had two lifts though so you weren't waiting for very long. if we hadn't been on the 8th floor I would have probably walked up the stairs more often.


Bars.
there are several bars around the hotel that open at different times. again the bar staff are very hardworking and if there is no one waiting to be served they are cleaning and stocking and never stood still. there are lots of local drinks available on all inclusive of a good quality and the bar staff do not skimp on measures! There are several cocktails available as well on all inclusive.

overall view. I wasn't sure what to expect from the hotel. it was over £100 cheaper per person than the next hotel on Thomas cook. we took the gamble for a cheap holiday. For what we paid we got excellent value for money. The hotel is clean, rooms comfortable, plenty of food and drink. It is a shame the hotel is not in a nicer area. there are no hotel grounds apart from the pool area and it is squeezed into a shabby area of torremolinos. As we had a car we could escape the area and visit much nicer areas nearby. The staff were efficient and extremely hard working but lacked the friendliness and warmth that I would expect from a hotel of this size.

The hotel is very popular with the Spanish for weekend breaks. From Friday night to Monday morning the hotel is filled with Spanish families. We didn't find this a problem as some reviewers have apart from they all seemed to talk very loud. They all seemed to have later eating times so we just went to the restaurant at earlier times on weekends. from Monday evening to Friday morning the hotel was much quieter.

  • Stayed May 2015, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
manchester
Senior Contributor
35 reviews 35 reviews
33 hotel reviews
Reviews in 26 cities Reviews in 26 cities
38 helpful votes 38 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 days ago NEW

Rooms were ok, a good size, we were in the block over the Restaurant. Never been in a hotel where they don't supply mattresses for the loungers, we were there for 10 days,
So had to buy a LILO as I have a bad back. You wouldn't go hungry, but not a good selection. The outside area looked clean, but did need a Deep Clean, dirty steps and
Balcony was filthy and smelly from spilt drinks, never cleaned in Three weeks that
We know of. Beech was a good walk, to far for me, we had to get a taxi down, a lot cleaner down on the Promenade, the Surrounding Hotel streets were disgusting for a
Town centre. We won't be returning to Torrmolinos.

Room Tip: In the block over the Restaurant.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2015, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
subdireccion_griego, Guest Relations Manager at Marconfort Griego Hotel, responded to this review, 2 days ago
Dear Paul, thank you for taking time to share your personal impression of our Marconfort Griego Hotel. Unfortunately we do not provide matresses for the sun longers as this is considered to be a hygiene issue, nor indeed do many four star hotels in the COsta Del Sol. Our pool and pool area is cleaned each night by our pool man and the area outside the bars and terrace is cleaned each morning my our cleaning staff before the pool is opened. You say that you were with us for 10 days, however you then go on to state that it had been like that for three weeks... We are indeed very sorry that we could not meet your expectations.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
2 reviews
2 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 days ago NEW via mobile

Just got back last night from marconfort went with 6 adults and 2 two year olds. My room was nice nothing to complain about nice pool view but the food was awful we ate out every night over the kebab shop across the road! We did go check the food out everyday the worst thing I seen was sausages in what looked like water! We went all inclusive but spent all our money eating out!

Stayed May 2015, traveled with family
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
subdireccion_griego, Guest Relations Manager at Marconfort Griego Hotel, responded to this review, 2 days ago
Sausages... (those to which you refer were actually Spanish chipolatas braised in onions and white wine, but we also provide 'typical' British sausages, however as you will see from previous comments we are frequently very highly praised on the quality and variety of the foods which we provide in both our restaurants. Unfortunately what you omitted from your review was the wide selection of soups, salads, fish dishes (cod, hake, salmon, tuna), meat dishes (including beef, pork, chicken, lamb), all accompanied by a selection of vegetables, a selection of rice dishes (including paella), our vegetarian buffet with its 7 different options, our show cooking station with its grilled meat and fish dishes along with freshly prepared pizzas and a wide selection of fresh fruits, yoghurts and cakes etc. P.S: we also do kebabs as well, in our restaurante "La Gioconda" !
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay
Hotels you might also like...

Been to Marconfort Griego Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Marconfort Griego Hotel

Address: Avenida de Sorolla 7, 29620 Torremolinos, Spain
Phone Number:
Location: Spain > Andalucia > Province of Malaga > Costa del Sol > Torremolinos
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Restaurant Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#14 Luxury Hotel in Torremolinos
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Marconfort Griego Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 414
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Marconfort Griego Hotel All Inclusive is placed in Torremolinos centre, just half a mile from Bajondillo Beach and three-minutes walk from to the Torremolinos convention centre. This hotel is ideal for couples and families alike. The guestrooms are spacious and feature air conditioning and heating, a private bathroom with hairdryer, a furnished private balcony, a flat satellite TV, a safe (extra charge) and free WiFi. The facilities have a buffet restaurant with live cooking and international cuisine, and another buffet themed restaurant with pizzeria and snack bar and a nighttime piano bar and more. The hotel also has a TV room, a library with international books, a miniclub for kids, a gym, a meeting room, a souvenir shop and a sundeck with outdoor pool and loungers. In July and August, it is offered free transportation to the beach. The hotel is half a mile from Aqualand water park, and 12 minutes from Malaga Airport trough A7 Highway. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Priceline, Orbitz, Cheap Tickets, Odigeo and Hotels.com so you can book your Marconfort Griego Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Griego Mar Torremolinos
Hotel Griego Mar Torremolinos
Marconfort Griego Hotel Torremolinos, Costa Del Sol, Spain

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Marconfort Griego Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.