We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Majority residances of foriegn nationalities.” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Marconfort Griego Hotel

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Save
You added Marconfort Griego Hotel to your Saves list
Marconfort Griego Hotel
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Avenida de Sorolla 7, 29620 Torremolinos, Spain   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Offers & Announcements
25% off room rate
Ranked #25 of 73 Hotels in Torremolinos
Certificate of Excellence
Solihull
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
“Majority residances of foriegn nationalities.”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 days ago NEW

We arrived at 12 midday to reception to be told that our room would be ready for 2pm this was not a problem but was told nothing else after that of getting a key card and wristband for all inclusive..we had to find out the restaurants eating times etc ourselves as found if you asked the staff it appeared to much of an effort and felt inconvenienced and the bars only serve drinks in filmsy plastic party sized cups..can't comment on the entertainment in the hotel of an evening as the majority of it appeared to be in foriegn as I felt that the hotel mainly catered for..The pool area is small and if your not up to put your sunbed out at sunrise you won't get a space there until sunsets! ..we spend most of the time down the beach in comfort on padded sunbeds for 2 beds & sun parasol €9..A short walk about 20 minutes through the shops...The food was ok mainly stews, cassoroles and fish was served most nights..On Thursday it was spectacular banquet, fit for a king but there was more foriegn residents had arrived..We was on the forth floor which was good as we kept fit and used the stairs due to the lift either out of service or it being over crowded...The noise of an evening from the pool area was noisy which our room was above...There was just groups of foriegn people mainly groups of men sitting there chatting or arguing as I couldn't work it out as they just got louder and louder until 1am some nights...staff didn't seem to mind this? but I'm sure if this was rowdy English holiday makers we would of been told to hush and think of other residents...I'm not a moaner and enjoy a good drink and a laugh as the same as the rest of us but have more respect for other people when it gets late! Finally I do have something positive to say the maid service and cleanliness of the hotel was outstanding...

Stayed May 2015, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

119 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    35
    45
    31
    5
    3
See reviews for
33
46
3
3
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (37)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Hungarian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Senior Contributor
24 reviews 24 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
22 helpful votes 22 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 days ago NEW

My husband and I stayed in the hotel on an all inclusive basis for two weeks. As with all hotels there were good and bad points.

firstly the location. the hotel is just out of the main town centre which is a five minute walk away. the train station takes you directly to Malaga airport for a couple of Euros. (on a side note the train service is brilliant, clean, cheap, easy to use and runs from Fuengirola to Malaga.) Plenty of shops, restaurants and bars in easy walking distance.

if however you prefer to lounge on the beach everyday it is a good 15 minute walk away, through the town and down what feels like several hundred steps! we found two lots of steps. one set meanders down past lots of lovely local shops and one straight set of steps. The beaches are lovely with some nice bars and restaurants. Once you are at the beach you can walk for several miles in both directions on a promenade type path.

We hired a car but we were circling around the hotel for ages trying to find somewhere to park. We ended up going into an underground car park just down the hill from the hotel and on the opposite side of the road on Avienda de Isabel. We explained we were staying at the hotel opposite and they sold us a 15 day ticket for 90 Euros so we could come and go into the car park as needed. (closed at 11pm and opened at 8am every day)

check in process was smooth and the staff were helpful but just lacked that cheerfulness that you would expect from customer facing staff.

Our room was on the 8th floor. We had booked a mountain view room rather than a pool view room as it was cheaper but we were allocated a pool view room. we could also see the sea in the distance from our position in the hotel. As the hotel has three buildings in a U shape, with the pool in the middle, noise from the pool area does echo up to all floors. We didn't find this a problem on a night time as guests didn't congregate in that area on a night time. It may be more of a problem in summer months when more people may sit outside on a night time. However the balcony doors were quite effective in shutting out noise.

The room itself was spotless. The maids came in and made the beds everyday and if you left your towels in the bath, they would get replaced. I couldn't work out how often the sheets on the bed got changed as the first week they got replaced on the second day of our holiday then didn't get changed again until the 9th day of the holiday and then got changed again on the 11th and 13th day.
the water in the shower was hot but a bit feeble. the bathrooms had a big bath with a shower over and were very spacious for a hotel bathroom. the room itself had a lovely big wardrobe. there were four plug sockets. one next to the bed and three by the table. the balcony was ok with a table and two chairs. we got the sun on the balcony until about 2pm.
the air conditioning is set at 22 degrees. you can switch it on or leave it off. you cannot change any of the settings. the first couple of days ours wasn't working. reception tried to tell me it wasn't coming on because it wasn't hot enough. after a couple of times of reporting it, it eventually got sorted.

Food. there is lots and lots of food. between 8am and midnight I think there is only an hour or so where you cannot get food. breakfast, snack bar, lunch, snack bar, evening meal, snack bar. crisps and buns available at the bar, ice cream and ice pops available at some bars and the snack bar. You will never ever go hungry here.
The food itself is quite good. there are lots of options. I have never seen so many options in a hotel. there is the normal self service area with three or four options, plus a salad bar and a couple of huge woks with usually a rice option. several varieties of potatoes. a grill area where a chef is constantly cooking some type of meat, pizza and burgers. vegetarian area and a dessert area with lots of options. also lots of fruit and bread.
the breakfast options were huge too. eggs several ways, omelettes, sausages, bacon, beans, sometime churros, cereals, breads, jams, buns, croissants, toasted sandwiches, veg, yogurts and fruit. tea, coffee, hot chocolate, fruit juices.
one thing to note is that the restaurant is not really big enough for the hotel and at certain times you do have to queue to get in. there are signs outside the restaurant advising which times are quiet and when it is busy. the staff work non stop. they are never still. they clear tables quickly and efficiently. food is topped up constantly. On a side note, during busy restaurant times the lifts were also very busy. our hotel block had two lifts though so you weren't waiting for very long. if we hadn't been on the 8th floor I would have probably walked up the stairs more often.


Bars.
there are several bars around the hotel that open at different times. again the bar staff are very hardworking and if there is no one waiting to be served they are cleaning and stocking and never stood still. there are lots of local drinks available on all inclusive of a good quality and the bar staff do not skimp on measures! There are several cocktails available as well on all inclusive.

overall view. I wasn't sure what to expect from the hotel. it was over £100 cheaper per person than the next hotel on Thomas cook. we took the gamble for a cheap holiday. For what we paid we got excellent value for money. The hotel is clean, rooms comfortable, plenty of food and drink. It is a shame the hotel is not in a nicer area. there are no hotel grounds apart from the pool area and it is squeezed into a shabby area of torremolinos. As we had a car we could escape the area and visit much nicer areas nearby. The staff were efficient and extremely hard working but lacked the friendliness and warmth that I would expect from a hotel of this size.

The hotel is very popular with the Spanish for weekend breaks. From Friday night to Monday morning the hotel is filled with Spanish families. We didn't find this a problem as some reviewers have apart from they all seemed to talk very loud. They all seemed to have later eating times so we just went to the restaurant at earlier times on weekends. from Monday evening to Friday morning the hotel was much quieter.

  • Stayed May 2015, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
manchester
Senior Contributor
35 reviews 35 reviews
33 hotel reviews
Reviews in 26 cities Reviews in 26 cities
38 helpful votes 38 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 days ago NEW

Rooms were ok, a good size, we were in the block over the Restaurant. Never been in a hotel where they don't supply mattresses for the loungers, we were there for 10 days,
So had to buy a LILO as I have a bad back. You wouldn't go hungry, but not a good selection. The outside area looked clean, but did need a Deep Clean, dirty steps and
Balcony was filthy and smelly from spilt drinks, never cleaned in Three weeks that
We know of. Beech was a good walk, to far for me, we had to get a taxi down, a lot cleaner down on the Promenade, the Surrounding Hotel streets were disgusting for a
Town centre. We won't be returning to Torrmolinos.

Room Tip: In the block over the Restaurant.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2015, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
subdireccion_griego, Guest Relations Manager at Marconfort Griego Hotel, responded to this review, 2 days ago
Dear Paul, thank you for taking time to share your personal impression of our Marconfort Griego Hotel. Unfortunately we do not provide matresses for the sun longers as this is considered to be a hygiene issue, nor indeed do many four star hotels in the COsta Del Sol. Our pool and pool area is cleaned each night by our pool man and the area outside the bars and terrace is cleaned each morning my our cleaning staff before the pool is opened. You say that you were with us for 10 days, however you then go on to state that it had been like that for three weeks... We are indeed very sorry that we could not meet your expectations.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
2 reviews
2 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 days ago NEW via mobile

Just got back last night from marconfort went with 6 adults and 2 two year olds. My room was nice nothing to complain about nice pool view but the food was awful we ate out every night over the kebab shop across the road! We did go check the food out everyday the worst thing I seen was sausages in what looked like water! We went all inclusive but spent all our money eating out!

Stayed May 2015, traveled with family
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
subdireccion_griego, Guest Relations Manager at Marconfort Griego Hotel, responded to this review, 2 days ago
Sausages... (those to which you refer were actually Spanish chipolatas braised in onions and white wine, but we also provide 'typical' British sausages, however as you will see from previous comments we are frequently very highly praised on the quality and variety of the foods which we provide in both our restaurants. Unfortunately what you omitted from your review was the wide selection of soups, salads, fish dishes (cod, hake, salmon, tuna), meat dishes (including beef, pork, chicken, lamb), all accompanied by a selection of vegetables, a selection of rice dishes (including paella), our vegetarian buffet with its 7 different options, our show cooking station with its grilled meat and fish dishes along with freshly prepared pizzas and a wide selection of fresh fruits, yoghurts and cakes etc. P.S: we also do kebabs as well, in our restaurante "La Gioconda" !
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
wigton, cumbria
Senior Contributor
30 reviews 30 reviews
17 hotel reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
38 helpful votes 38 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 5 days ago NEW

We have just returned from a weeks stay in what we feel is the best hotel in Spain. The Monconfort Griego was perfect in every way.
Starting with the reception and booking in procedure. I was a little worried that ten people at the counter would be a problem as such an influx of visitors would take ages to get booked in and allocated rooms but I was wrong. the receptionist was absolutely on top of his job. He seemed to work in a blur and had everyone not only allocated rooms, assigned keys and gave out necessary information but did so with a smile on his face and a really welcoming attitude. It certainly set the stay off on a good note.
The hotel reception and surrounding areas were sparkling clean and this was repeated throughout the whole of the hotel. Restaurants,bars, bedrooms and bathrooms had a constant army of cleaners and waiting staff all happily carrying out their duties. It makes for a great holiday atmosphere when staff are friendly and enjoy talking as well as helping customers.
The beds were comfy and the bathrooms well fitted out with bath, toilet, bidet and shower. Towels were changed as often as needed and beds were made every morning.
The food was superb with a choice of at least five main courses for lunch and dinner as well as alternatives for vegetarians and children's menus.The beef roast(cooked spanish style) was outstanding but it would be fair to say that so was the chicken, the fish, the pork and even the breakfast bacon. The choice and cooking of the vegatables was exceptional and the sweet menu puddings had to be seen to be believed with such an array of cakes as I have never seen before.
The drinks ( we were all inclusive) were provided nonstop from early morning until midnight and were delivered with a happy and helpful smile. All were of high quality as was the local beer.
The pool was great with plenty of activity and the evening entertainment was varied and well worth staying in for.
All in all, as an experienced traveller, I think the management and staff of this hotel have got everything right. The rooms, the entertainment, the food, the drink, the surrounding within the hotel and principally the friendly staff made this into one of the most enjoyable weeks I have spent anywhere in the world. I shall certainly be returning for further stays, most likely later in the year .
It may seem that this review is gushing and over the top but I can truthfully say that this is one hotel that represents the best value and service that I have had in forty years of foreign travel .

Room Tip: The second floor is great overlooking the pool
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2015, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 9
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
subdireccion_griego, Guest Relations Manager at Marconfort Griego Hotel, responded to this review, 3 days ago
Thank you very much for taking a few minutes of your time to write a review of your recent holiday with us here at our Marconfort Griego Hotel. WOW... what can we say, we so thrilled and delighted that you enjoyed your holiday with us and found our hotel provided great value for money and met all your needs. All our staff work very hard to ensure that all our guests have a fantastic holiday with us and they all manage this with a smile. We are frequently praised on the quality and variety of the foods which we offer in our restaurants and as you say with such a huge choice it would be difficult to imagine anyone who could not find something to their liking. Once again, many thanks for your very complete review, which we are sure will be of great use to other users of Trip Advisor and we very much look forward to welcoming you back to our hotel on a future occasion.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
edinburgh
Senior Contributor
28 reviews 28 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
29 helpful votes 29 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 6 days ago NEW

I have just returned from the Griego hotel, we had a pool view room, nice during the day a bit noisey at night. Good sized room , every thing you need , good sized wardrobe. The food was excellent, choice of drinks in the all inclusive was wonderful. The staff were lovely, worked very hard, a big thank you to all the staff. If you like a quiet holiday this is not the hotel for you, it's big, clean, and near the plaza, lovely shops and sitting area. The only disappointment was we arrived late 1am we were delayed, wanted a drink of tea or coffee and a sandwich would have been very welcome, I requested a drink and was refused, most hotels have this arranged. Perhaps you could welcome guests, with the offer it only takes a minute to do this. There are a lot of stag night stay, they can be loud, however this is a good hotel, met a lot of nice people. Well done Griego

Room Tip: Do not take a pool view loud noise at night.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2015, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
subdireccion_griego, Guest Relations Manager at Marconfort Griego Hotel, responded to this review, 3 days ago
Thank you very much for sharing your opinion of our Marconfort Griego Hotel with other users of Trip Advisor. We are thrilled that you enjoyed your recent holiday with us and found our All Inclusive service to be excellent with the variety of foods available in our restaurants and drinks available in our bars. Being a hotel located in the centre of Torremolinos we are ideally situated for the main shopping area, San Miguel Street with its vast array of shops and restaurants and a pleasant stroll down to the main Bajondillo beach. We are sorry that your flight was delayed and that you arrived at the hotel after our All Inclusive service had finished at midnight. Unfortunately our Pepe's Bar, which is a night time bar, does not serve hot drinks and our Bar Salon, which does indeed serve hot drinks, had closed at 1 AM. Perhaps the answer for late arrivals would be an coffee, tea vending machine, we will definitely pass this suggestion onto our company. Thank you once again for your review and hopefully we will have the pleasure of your company in the not too distant future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
St. Andrews
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 6 days ago NEW

Just had the most amazing meal in the hotel restaurant. Chef John, prepared an amazing joint of beef cooked to perfection. Well done to all staff in this hotel. They deserve a five star.
If you are looking for good food, bit of fun, good entertainment and a very relaxed and family atmosphere then this would be my hotel of choice.

  • Stayed May 2015, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
subdireccion_griego, Guest Relations Manager at Marconfort Griego Hotel, responded to this review, 3 days ago
Thank you so much for your review of our Marconfort Griego Hotel. It gives us enormous pleasure to learn that you enjoyed your stay with us and in particular the selection of foods which we have to offer in our restaurants. Catering for 800 plus guests, of all nationalities, on a daily basis is no task for the faint hearted, however our head chef Juan (John) and his team really do do a fabulous job. We are so pleased that you enjoyed the roast beef and that it was cooked to your liking. Each Tuesday we have a special carved meat selection which alternates between roast beef and roast pork (apple sauce included), so hopefully that has wet your appetite for another visit. Thank you once again for your review.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay
Hotels you might also like...

Been to Marconfort Griego Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Marconfort Griego Hotel

Address: Avenida de Sorolla 7, 29620 Torremolinos, Spain
Phone Number:
Location: Spain > Andalucia > Province of Malaga > Costa del Sol > Torremolinos
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Restaurant Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#14 Luxury Hotel in Torremolinos
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Marconfort Griego Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 414
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Marconfort Griego Hotel All Inclusive is placed in Torremolinos centre, just half a mile from Bajondillo Beach and three-minutes walk from to the Torremolinos convention centre. This hotel is ideal for couples and families alike. The guestrooms are spacious and feature air conditioning and heating, a private bathroom with hairdryer, a furnished private balcony, a flat satellite TV, a safe (extra charge) and free WiFi. The facilities have a buffet restaurant with live cooking and international cuisine, and another buffet themed restaurant with pizzeria and snack bar and a nighttime piano bar and more. The hotel also has a TV room, a library with international books, a miniclub for kids, a gym, a meeting room, a souvenir shop and a sundeck with outdoor pool and loungers. In July and August, it is offered free transportation to the beach. The hotel is half a mile from Aqualand water park, and 12 minutes from Malaga Airport trough A7 Highway. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Priceline, Orbitz, Cheap Tickets, Odigeo and Hotels.com so you can book your Marconfort Griego Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Griego Mar Torremolinos
Hotel Griego Mar Torremolinos
Marconfort Griego Hotel Torremolinos, Costa Del Sol, Spain

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Marconfort Griego Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.