We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“winter break” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Marconfort Griego Hotel

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Save
You added Marconfort Griego Hotel to your Saves list
Marconfort Griego Hotel
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Avenida de Sorolla 7, 29620 Torremolinos, Spain   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #18 of 73 Hotels in Torremolinos
Ayrshire
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
“winter break”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed yesterday NEW

Hotel well located, 6min walk to bus station and 5min to train station, shops bars all nearby. Hotel staff all friendly. food good plenty of choice, room clean and roomy. Very busy with the spanish pensioners, some who were very rude and pushy , others were nice.

Room Tip: Two block of rooms, the one above the reception is best for the sun.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2015, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

55 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    20
    20
    13
    2
    0
See reviews for
13
21
3
2
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (17)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Hungarian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Lincoln, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 days ago NEW

Very good value-Near centre of town-Staff were very friendly and helpful.
Food was good and there was always a vast amount of choice.
I would like to single out 3 staff from the restaurant that were brilliant.
They were-Pete Palma-Soledad & Jose always entertaining-Thank You.
The rooms are very clean and are cleaned daily.
We had room no.219 and the view was not too great but we were hardly in it so to speak.
If you are worried about rooms ask for pool view.
English tv in rooms, bbc-itv-c4 on flatscreen at no extra cost.,
Just down the road are the bus stops for trips to local destinations.
Malaga-no.110 - Fuengirola no.120-- all for less than 2 euro.
Also train station not to far away.
If you are able, a walk right along the coast is very nice along the long promenade.

Room Tip: pool view would be best
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2015, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lancaster, United Kingdom
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
41 helpful votes 41 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 days ago NEW

This Hotel has been given 4 stars now but I am not sure why as I have stayed in many 3 star A/I Hotels all over Spain which in my opinion were much better than this.

Firstly we were dropped off at the bottom of a small hill, which for some may cause problems (elderly/ disabled etc) Although this is not the Hotels fault, I think they could make a coach drop area outside the doors. ( I did see several coaches pulling up outside the doors during my stay.)

The receptionists were friendly and quick booking us all in, although there was a lack of information as to where and when to go for meals, pool, bar and all the other events occurring within this hotel.

The room was lovely bright, clean and a decent size balcony. The wardrobe was a good size, the bathroom was bright and had hand soap in sink, shower gel over the bath and a very good hairdryer over the loo next to the mirror. The shower was always hot and a fairly decent power spray head on it. The towels were of a high standard and were replaced with fresh ones even if I hung them back up each day. There is a large flat screen TV with several British channels inc, BBC1,2 and world, Itv 1 and CH4!!!!!! Plus the remote control was left in the room, you did not have to rent it.

There was only a couple of problems I had with this room, one was I could hear the lift squeaking, bumping and groaning all day and all night and the walls are so thin between the rooms you can hear every conversation (and much more!!!!!!) on either side of you. So take some ear plugs if you sleep light!! And the other problem was that the room was very hot (never went below 22 degrees all hol !) at this time of year there is no air con but there is heating so although I switched heating off and had the door open a lot it was toasty but when I came out of the room the rest of the hotel seemed to be cold.

I didn't wait longer than 5 mins for a lift even though I was on the 10th floor and that was only once when they both seemed to get stuck on the 5th floor one day. The lift buttons for the bottom 2 floors are somewhat confusing as they do not correspond to what you think they are and they really confused the elderly Spanish pensioners who were staying here at this time of year.

The Resturante was on the first floor, the same floor as the pool ( but you go up some steps for that.) and unless you go right at the start of each meal time, there are long que out through the door and down the corridor. The food was ok, plenty of salads, veg, breads, Pizzas, usually a pasta dish a couple of meat and a fish choice and several desserts. There are hot plates available in a separate stand, set back from the hot food, It took me a couple of days to realise it was there as it is so busy and I endured cold food till then!!.

The pool did not see enough sun at this time of year to be warm but a few people braved it but were not in for long!!!

The new snack bar is next to the main dinning area and was well stocked each time I went in but its downfall (especially as this time of year) was that you cannot get a hot drink from here so you have to go up to the pool bar and carry one back down to have it with your snack.. It would be great to have a self service machine for this here, and at the end of every bar so A/I guests can just help themselves as sadly most Spanish waiters cannot make a decent brew!!

The layout of this hotel is not the best you are constantly going up and down steps (or very steep ramps) to get around to each area and there are no activity notice boards anywhere so it is not easy to find where and when things are happening, I asked at reception where the activities took place and was told to watch the T V which is on the wall in reception, which still didn't tell me where they were or exactly what evening entertainment was on, so I was disappointed with this.

I found the evening entertainment in the bar area on reception level which has no access outside unless you come back into the reception and walk right through it, so if you are a second class citizen (Smoker) like myself it is a bit of a pain. The entertainment was awful!!!!! we endured a game of Miss Griego Mar one night and half of it again another night. There was a 15 min Parrot show one night, a very good fun magician another and a some very good Flamenco dancers on my last night (if you could see them due to the large pillars in the way) but other than that it was the elderly Spanish ladies doing their line dancing each night!!.

The hotel is situated quite a distance from any thing really, I love to walk so it doesn't bother me much but if you are a beach lover this is probably not for you as it will take you approx 20mins to walk there, through the town centre and down the hairpin bend steps or get the bus down the road or get a taxi but again if you have difficulties walking or are pushing a buggy/ have small children, it is not really the hotel for you.




.

  • Stayed March 2015, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
bolton
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 days ago NEW

This hotel has undergone a refurb since I last visited, nothing major has changed in the rooms, very clean with new paint and flooring also now has hair dryer and shaver plug in the bathroom, didn't like the idea of using a hairdryer in the bathroom so took my own and the razor plug did not work, we had to use the one in our friends room! there is a new restaurant which you have to book a day in advance, we did not try this as it didn't seem to be open, perhaps it will be open more in summer. We had quite a challenge with the elderly Spanish guests in the cabaret bar, they do not buy drinks but want all the best seats and at one point we were surrounded and not one of us could get to the bar as no one would move, they do not want the tables and will take chairs to any available space regardless of people who are seated around a table, the other bar is not big enough for the amount of guests and the outside seating (smoking area) is very wet when it rains, which it did on most evenings, as the marble flooring gets wet it is very slippery, the pool bar which is open during the day is great, but at this time of year closed at around 4.30pm. food as per previous visits was good, plenty of variety, veg is a little overcooked but I suppose that is down to personal preference. all the staff are very friendly and helpful, most speak English, A plus is that you can now get wifi in all areas of the hotel even the rooms and the televisions, which are new flat screens, have more variety of English speaking channels.

  • Stayed March 2015, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
subdireccion_griego, Guest Relations Manager at Marconfort Griego Hotel, responded to this review, 2 days ago
Thank you for sharing your comments of your recent return visit to us here in Torremolinos at our newly refurbished Marconfort Griego Hotel. We are pleased that you noticed the changes that we have made since your last visit. The hair dryers in the bathrooms are perfectly safe for use in bathrooms as is the razor socket which they contain which will only accept low razor wattage and not hair dryers, curling tongs etc. As you you state in your review, during the winter months our new restaurant "La Gioconda" only opens on a Friday and Saturday, however this will obviously change to every day as the season progresses. WiFi is now available in all our rooms as well as the communal areas and has been upgraded to fibre optic to provide guests with a more stable connection. Once again, thank you for your comments and we look forward to welcoming you back on another occasion.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sion Mills, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 days ago NEW

Fantastic holiday staying at this hotel,we stayed All Inclusive.Staff were so friendly and helpful.Food was great and plenty of it to suit all tastes,the late buffet in the bar at night serviced sandwiches and pizza plus tea and coffee so if by chance you missed dinner you always had the option of that so you never went hungry.Rooms were very clean with maidservice everyday.Hotel is close to all the shops in the centre of town plus the bus and train stations are just a short stroll away.The beach is a 10 minute walk from the hotel and very much worth a visit as the promenade takes you all the way to Fuengirola and beyond.We are so looking forward to our next holiday at the Griego

Room Tip: get a seaview room the view from ours was amazing plus you get the sun all the time
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2015, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
subdireccion_griego, Guest Relations Manager at Marconfort Griego Hotel, responded to this review, 2 days ago
Many thanks for your fantastic review, we are thrilled that you enjoyed your recent holiday with us and enjoyed our new look Marconfort Griego Hotel and our All Inclusive Service. Drinks are available as part of our all inclusive service from 10 in the morning through to midnight and food is available in our snack bar from 11 in the morning through to midnight. Being a hotel located in the centre of Torremolinos we are ideally placed for those wanting to discover other resorts and towns along the Costa Del Sol via public transport, which is both cheap and comfortable. Great review and we look very much forward to welcoming you back to our hotel again in the not too distant future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ABERDEENSHIRE
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
26 helpful votes 26 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 days ago NEW

Stayed at the Griego hotel for the weekend March 2015 was given room 323 room was ok but no view only a brick wall with broken bottles along the top I was on my own did not feel safe there is no fridge in room
food was good but better going early as it got very busy
Lifts where very slow ended up carring cases down the stair after waiting 15 mins
Hotel is in good location would go back but would ask for pool view

Room Tip: Higher floor is better
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2015, traveled solo
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
subdireccion_griego, Guest Relations Manager at Marconfort Griego Hotel, responded to this review, 2 days ago
We are so pleased that you found our Marconfort Griego Hotel represented good value during your recent weekend break with us here in Torremolinos. We are indeed very sorry that the views from your room were not some of the best, unfortunately not all our rooms overlook the swimming pool, however I am sure that had you asked to be changed to a different room our reception would have been able to accommodate you. We look forward to your company on another occasion and we will endeavour to sort out a pool view for you. Thank you for your review.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bolton, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 6 days ago NEW

Really good hotel in centre of town easy waling distance to town centre. Really good food with plenty of choice for all tastes. We were all inclusive so if you went to buy drinks instead of local brews they were half price.. Good nightly entertainment. We asked for top floor rooms and had a large sun terrace all to ourselves. Cleaned daily. Very friendly and helpful staff. Smart and well stocked bars fast and efficient service. Would definitely stay again.

Room Tip: Floor 10 room 1016 or 1007 large family rooms
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2015, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
subdireccion_griego, Guest Relations Manager at Marconfort Griego Hotel, responded to this review, 2 days ago
Dear Ian, Thank you very much for taking a few minutes of your time to share your opinion of your recent visit to our Marconfort Griego Hotel with other users of Trip Advisor. We are so pleased that you enjoyed your holiday with us and that we were able to meet your request for the rooms which you had last year. Our All Inclusive service is indeed very popular and we offer a large selection of beers, spirits, soft drinks and juices in our bars and in addition give our all inclusive guests the option to purchase branded spirits (Gordon's, Smirnoff etc) at half price. We are frequently praised on the friendliness and helpfulness of our staff all of whom work non stop to ensure that all our guests have a great holiday with us. Thank you once again for your review and we look very much forward to seeing you again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Marconfort Griego Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Marconfort Griego Hotel

Address: Avenida de Sorolla 7, 29620 Torremolinos, Spain
Location: Spain > Andalucia > Province of Malaga > Costa del Sol > Torremolinos
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Restaurant Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#10 Luxury Hotel in Torremolinos
#18 Romantic Hotel in Torremolinos
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Marconfort Griego Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 414
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Marconfort Griego Hotel All Inclusive is placed in Torremolinos centre, just half a mile from Bajondillo Beach and three-minutes walk from to the Torremolinos convention centre. This hotel is ideal for couples and families alike. The guestrooms are spacious and feature air conditioning and heating, a private bathroom with hairdryer, a furnished private balcony, a flat satellite TV, a safe (extra charge) and free WiFi. The facilities have a buffet restaurant with live cooking and international cuisine, and another buffet themed restaurant with pizzeria and snack bar and a nighttime piano bar and more. The hotel also has a TV room, a library with international books, a miniclub for kids, a gym, a meeting room, a souvenir shop and a sundeck with outdoor pool and loungers. In July and August, it is offered free transportation to the beach. The hotel is half a mile from Aqualand water park, and 12 minutes from Malaga Airport trough A7 Highway. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Priceline, Despegar.com, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Marconfort Griego Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Griego Mar Torremolinos
Hotel Griego Mar Torremolinos
Marconfort Griego Hotel Torremolinos, Costa Del Sol, Spain

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Marconfort Griego Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.