We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Never again.....” 2 of 5 stars
Review of Marconfort Griego Hotel

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Save Saved
You added Marconfort Griego Hotel to your Saves list
Marconfort Griego Hotel
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Avenida de Sorolla 7, 29620 Torremolinos, Spain   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #31 of 73 Hotels in Torremolinos
Lee, United Kingdom
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Never again.....”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed today NEW

We arrived on fiesta weekend, so the hotel was full...our first room was directly above the bar, the noise was horrific into the early hours! So we moved rooms to the 9th floor, this was much better in every way!
The problem with this hotel is, the facilities aren't big enough for the amount of people that can stay...we found some of the staff quite rude and abrupt! Having said that, the staff in the restaurant were brilliant, the food was not disappointing, there was something different every night...but when it was busy, it was like a cattle market!
We were all inclusive but we never spent an evening there, after dinner we went out, the service in the local bars was much more pleasant!
If you stay, be aware that when you walk down the stairs at the front of the hotel, there is a crowd of down and outs, drinking out of bottles! They can be a little intimidating depending how much drink they've consumed...
We definitely would not stay again...

Stayed September 2014, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,194 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    403
    387
    254
    88
    62
See reviews for
410
349
14
6
Rating summary
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (317)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed yesterday NEW

Moved to this hotel from Roc Flamingo who we booked through Jet 2 holidays. What a relief to be in a decent hotel and put the stress of horror of the previous hotel behind us.

Our room over looked the pool but wasn't overly noises. We were on an AL basis and food the food good, no problems getting drinks & cocktail menu great.

The only draw back to this hotel is the issue of space around the pool & the task of not getting a lounger but finding somewhere to put it.

The move to this hotel saved our holiday & we enjoyed our week here. Thanks to all the staff

Stayed June 2014, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Glasgow, United Kingdom
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 days ago NEW

I travelled here with my mother and my 10 year old daughter and we booked a triple room. We arrived after a delay to be giving the keys to our room, found our way round the hotel and after a lengthy wait for the lift finally got up to the room to open the door to a room which someone was already occupying. Back to reception and were given another set of keys for a different room, away up again and we had a double bed and a tiny chair that apparently doubles as a bed. Back down we went, the double bed we could of worked round but that would of meant my mum sleeping in a chair. After quite a bit of resistance and shouting from the girl behind the desk she finally agreed to give us the triple room that we had booked. Whilst this was going on there was a man next to us who had paid extra when he booked for a double room but had been given a single room. He wasn't as lucky as us and had to put up with the single room and take it up with low cost holidays.
We finally got to our new room which was on the other side of the hotel in a different building, this has 2 lifts but they are really small so there is still long waits. As there wasn't really space for 3 beds we had to move all the furniture around and put the beds together. We looked out round the pool and there wasn't a single space so we just went down for a table, these are dotted about and usually easily enough to find. They allow people to sit with table right at the edge of the pool.
By far the single worse thing about this hotel is the pool set up, they have added buildings over the years and the pool is so small for the people who are staying in the hotel. The beds are locked away so people are up from around 6am to reserve their space with a chair, or many chairs. Beds are placed right at the edge of the pool so by midday the only way to the pool is over the top of someone's bed. At one point the lifeguard was trying to get to the pool to tell a girl she couldn't take in her giant lilo and it took him a good few minutes to get through the beds, if this was him trying to save a child I can only imagine what could happen in they minutes!
The people around the pool edge also seem to take exception to being splashed, which would make you think they would move but no they continue to lie in the same spot and shout at children who jump in and splash. I always try and make sure my daughter is not annoying adults around her but on this occasion I was happy for her to continue jumping in the pool, it was her holiday as much as theirs and they can move. There are only a few (20 I think) parasols so people also start to queue for these about half 7/8, if you are lucky to get 1 you need to keep an eye as they are often stolen when people go to the bar or for food. We ended up buying a small parasol from the shop.
As for the hotel and the food - the food was nice and there was always quite a few choices. They seemed to cater well for all nationalities and we were able to try things we might not be prepared to take a chance on ordering in a restaurant. Most nights there was fresh pizzas being made and there was also a children's section.
Drinks were nice and there was also choices of cocktails. There are so many different areas to sit in the hotel, even a 70s shining style disco which was mostly only used by some kids and also a big lounge area if you wanted a bit of quiet.

It would be a lovely hotel if they could somehow sort out the pool area. For a couple who are happy to ignore the pool and go to the beach this hotel would be fine. It is just around the corner from the station, it only cost a few euros to travel to and from the airport

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Peterborough, United Kingdom
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 days ago NEW

Our holiday was from 15/9/2014 to 25/9/14 and we enjoyed it very much. We were all inclusive and had a 10th floor room with sea and pool view, which meant we could also see part of the town as well. The room had all that was needed, and the shower etc worked very well. The air conditioning was effective enough, and rooms were serviced daily. The food was very good and plentiful, with a choice to suit all. Holidays are what YOU make of them, and we met some nice people while we were there, like, Chris and Tracey from Newquay, and Enda " Tubs" and Lorraine from Eire, who we spent time with. There was the San Miguel festival over the weekend combined with a Spanish Bank Holiday, so for a few days the Hotel was completely full, but with picking our times to eat we were not unduly affected too much. It did become noisier during this time, but with any hotel such as this it was not unexpected. If we wanted a quiet, undisturbed time away, then we would have picked a villa in the middle of nowhere! There was entertainment of some sort every night, and we only went to those which were of interest, and thoroughly enjoyed them. Wifi available only in certain places, if you really can't do without it on holiday, and are best found by watching to see where others are tapping away on their phones! This is not a beach hotel, but the beach can be found after a fair walk through the town if required. If you can find them, there are a couple of lifts that save the walk somewhat, but they are not signposted and we would struggle to explain where they are located! All in all a very good holiday, helped by very friendly and accommodating staff, ensuring any needs were met.

Room Tip: Higher rooms have better views.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Derbyshire, United Kingdom
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 days ago NEW

We have been analysing every tripadvisor review of this hotel for the last 10 months ever since we booked our holiday. We felt that if we went away expecting the worst (very very bad according to some reviews) then we wouldn't be disappointed. We thoroughly enjoyed the holiday. We arrived just after 12pm and were told that the rooms weren't ready, however one of the rooms was and we could put our luggage in there. We were given our all inclusive bands and went for lunch and a relaxing drink by the pool afterwards. We then queued for our room keys, which did take a while, but it isn't exactly the end of the world! We requested 3 rooms on the same floor, overlooking the pool and on a low floor....we were impressed that they managed this given that we required 2 twin rooms and a family room.

So much has been made of the pool...we never had a problem, even though the hotel was busy we went down to the pool from around 8.30am, we got chairs and placed them with our towels where we wanted to put our beds and went to breakfast. We came back out to the pool around 9am and got our sunbeds and umbrellas. We didn't witness any pushing or shoving as mentioned in previous reviews.

The food at the hotel was always enjoyable, very varied, but included the standard chips, pizza etc. We have a couple of fussy eaters in our party and no-one went hungry. Yes, there can be queues if you eat late but we went for breakfast from 8.30, lunch from 1.00 and dinner from 7.30 and didn't queue once!

The evening entertainment was varied and although Spanish (being in Spain and all!), we enjoyed it. The children in our party were 11 and 13 and enjoyed sitting in the Griego Cafe which we christened The Bay Bar...following a discussion about whether the trees outside were bay trees. This was quiet and relaxing and a BIG BIG thankyou to Pedro the best barman, he was so chatty and funny, very welcoming!! A donkey souvenir was actually named Pedronkey which he found hysterical!!

The hotel is 70-80% Spanish people, but we're in Spain, what do u expect?! They can be quite loud and push in, but it's a different culture and it honestly didn't affect us. Some reviews have said that English people weren't encouraged to join in the entertainment because it was in Spanish, however we joined in the aqua aerobics and the guy leading it soon saw that we were English and spoke in English too. I also watched some golf and was asked more than once if I wanted to join in!

The hotel is in a good location, close to the airport and close to lots of lovely shops. It's within walking distance to the beach, it is a bit of a walk, so the FREE bus from the hotel is a great idea and we thought that they could have charged for it and it makes a change for something to be free.

We were a group of 8, including 2 kids (11 and 13) and 3 over 60s. This holiday was fantastic for all, just over a week spent relaxing and having fun. We'd love to come back.

Thanks from the Hickey's, Dawson's, Redfern's and of course Pedronkey. xx

  • Stayed August 2014, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ashington Northumberland
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 days ago NEW via mobile

Just had a nice 10 day break at Griego
Like all 3star rating it offers Value, Comfort and Good Food, to UK visitors. The hotel is spacious, Plenty of Staff that do a Great Job
It's quite a busy hotel and it is well run.10 days all inclusive was great value,
I found some of the reviews off putting just before I got here on the 15th
It's a case of One Mans Version of Events and Your Holiday is what You Make of it.!!!
And i would stay at Griego again when I have my next break in Costa del Sol



Stayed September 2014, traveled with family
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 5 days ago NEW

Having returned last night from this hotel, i needed to review it straight away, the bad points food although plentiful was not always good, breakfast was warm if you were lucky,lunch was probably the best meal of the day if you went in at 1pm on the dot otherwise the same as breakfast warm to cold, evening meals what can i say awful on most days,pool area small but adequate, rooms basic no ventilation in the bathrooms the so cold AC was noisy and poor.
The good points the bar staff in all 3 areas worked extremely hard to keep the queues to a minimum serving 2 drinks per person worked extremely well and no one english,french or spanish were allowed to jump the queues (at least not whilst we were there) the areas were kept clean at most times. Would i return NO its a 3 star on decline to a 2 star if its not careful

Room Tip: Book elsewhere
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Marconfort Griego Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Marconfort Griego Hotel

Address: Avenida de Sorolla 7, 29620 Torremolinos, Spain
Location: Spain > Andalucia > Province of Malaga > Costa del Sol > Torremolinos
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( Wi-Fi ) Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Restaurant Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #31 of 73 Hotels in Torremolinos
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Marconfort Griego Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 414
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Marconfort Griego Hotel*** is located in Torremolinos, one of the tourist resorts better known in the Costa del Sol, between the cities of Malaga and Benalmadena.The Hotel is just a few meters from the centre of town and only a 15 minute walk from the Bajondillo Beach, one of the best known beaches in Torremolinos.In total, it offers you 414 recently refurbished rooms with a modern and comfortable decoration fit for all our guests.This hotel’s star product is its “All Inclusive” which guests can enjoy together with a great variety of services like a Buffet Style Restaurant, Bars, Coffee Shop, Snack Bar, Piano Bar, a large swimming pool and solarium, meeting room, TV room, games area, souvenirs’ shop, and a library offering books in different languages for those relaxing moments.Marconfort Hotels look after their guests’ satisfaction and this is why Marconfort Griego Hotel offers you such a complete activities program organised by the Hotel’s Entertainment Staff and reinforced by a variety of professional shows.Torremolinos’ Marconfort Griego Hotel*** looks after its guests with the maximum standards of comfort and quality. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Priceline, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Marconfort Griego Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Griego Mar Torremolinos
Hotel Griego Mar Torremolinos
Marconfort Griego Hotel Torremolinos, Costa Del Sol, Spain

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Marconfort Griego Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.