We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Seguridad” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Marconfort Griego Hotel

Save Saved
You added Marconfort Griego Hotel to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Marconfort Griego Hotel
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Avenida de Sorolla 7, 29620 Torremolinos, Spain   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #24 of 74 hotels in Torremolinos
Chapel-en-le-Frith, United Kingdom
2 reviews
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Seguridad”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 23, 2013

Tres bien hotel! Nice food, plenty of variety, very good security, a good range of alcoholic drinks, and just a fun place to stay. decent location, most of the bars and shops were just a 5 minute walk away. Would definitely reccomend this to family and friends!

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

929 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    354
    298
    179
    56
    42
See reviews for
312
278
10
4
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (244)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
swansea
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 23, 2013

been here twice once in 2002 for my honeymoon it was very basic but enjoyable and then last year for our 10th anniverary and what an improvement lovley rooms fantastic all inclusive variety drinks and food love the area the locals are some of the lovelyest people you could meet the hotel staff were on the ball 24/7 not a bad word to be said and it didnt cost the earth .would recomend 100%..

Room Tip: all rooms are good as far as i know
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cambridge, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 23, 2013

I stayed here with my partner earlier this month for a last minute short break.

The hotel looked good from reviews, and fit within a decent budget for the nights we were there.

Having travelled to Torremolinos before, we got on a flight that got us to the hotel at 10am. Despite the check in time being 2pm, they gave us a room straight away, and allowed us to chose which room we wanted.

The rooms themselves are clean and tidied daily, i think reading some of the reviews on here others have been updated more recently than others. they provide you with everything youd need, including a tv with 3 english TV channels (which is all you need when you are on holiday).

The food is excellent and plentiful, i am a fussy eater but had no trouble finding something i wanted. We decided to go all inclusive, and the menu of drinks available is excellent and even if you want the more posh stuff, this is often reduced if you are all inclusive.

There were a couple of downsides. The beds are firm, but comfortbale, however they are provided with a pillow each, and there is no spares provided in the room which is a pain (extras could possibly by available from reception but as we only did 3 nights it didn't seem worth asking for them.

The biggest issue people might find here is that it is a very busy hotel with a lot of people all inclusive, at times you have to queue for the bar, and at meal times there can be a bit of a rush to the counters. That said, there is always food and drink available, and if you plan your meal times correctly, it really doesnt cause much of an issue.

The hotel is what you expect from a hotel in the middle of a Spanish town, it is surrounded by tower blocks and other hotels, so for people who want an all day sun trap its probably not for you.

If you want a nice all inclusive hotel in the centre of town, this hotel is ideal. a short walk from the train station which takes you directly from their airport, and a short walk from a local supermarket and all the bars in the area.

It's not for everyone, but we enjoyed our stay, and would return.

Room Tip: The lifts can be slow, so a low floor can be useful, however the rooms at a higher level appear to c...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Scotland
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 22, 2013

Yes it is a busy hotel
Yes the the area around the pool is too small
Yes the bars and restaurant get busy at peak times

But for £200 a week all inclusive this hotel represents excellent value for money.

Good food and plenty of it, great variety

Rooms clean and adequate, they even have air conditioning to please all the moaning faced Brits who complain about the heat, is the reason we go to Spain not to get some sun.

Excellent staff throughout, can't say a bad word about any of them.

Bar staff work very hard and do a fine job, yes there could be more of them but what's the problem of having to wait for a minute or so on a drink.

Would I return, quite probably

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
West Midlands
Senior Contributor
33 reviews 33 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 22, 2013

This hotel have so many reviews that you don't know were to start from, i do feel that some of them are a bit too generous. After reading the many reviews in here we decided to give it a go as the price for Ai was so tenting and we were not asking for much, just a few days to soak in the sun. We booked the hotel trough Travel Republic, we pay a bit more for a double Ai pool view room (we could splash some £ as the hotel was so cheap) and requested at time of booking a non smoking room, if you go to Travel Republic website you will find many room options to book i/e double room, double room all inclusive, double room all inclusive with pool view, etc. all of them with different prices to suit your budget. Arrived at the hotel around 10:15 pm, and at checking the receptionists a lady and gentleman, were not ready for our arrival, as they did not know very well how to handle our arrival, heard the girl asking her co-worker, what were they going to do or which room they could allocate us. At the end she asked him "should we give them room 804?" and they did so, and requested us to come back for our passports next day in the morning cause they need it to make copies, i did refused to spend the night with out our documents and she kindle ask to go back for them in one hour.
we took our luggage and went to our room it was floor 8th, in a corner, at the end of a long corridor, very small and the view to a horrible complex of flats, nothing of pool view at all, it was so disappointed room!, called the reception area and explained we booked a double room with pool view and they told us the hotel was too busy and that we would have to wait until next morning to see if something will become available but that they couldn't promise anything, explained them we did pay extra at time of booking for pool view, the receptionist (a gentleman) told us in a very rude manner that pool view was not a option, that the hotel don't sell rooms with pool views and that if they do locate people in pool views is because of "kindness" of the hotel. I stated that then Travel republic was mis-selling the rooms and that i'll contact them in the morning. two minutes after same receptionist phone us back and told us there was a room available with pool view on the 10th floor, he demanded us to go down to reception with all our luggage to collect the keys, he asked on the phone 3 times if we used anything in the room. when down for the keys and again the man asked if we used anything in the room, he was so rude, i did feel like a child been told off for something, there was never an apologize at he did said he was doing us a "favour". The new room was brighter and with a lovely pool and sea view. it wasn't a non smoking room, but i guess in here you can have it all.
We used the hotel as a base to go out and around, there is good train connections so we spent must of days in places like Malaga, Benalmadena, Fuengirola. The rooms are clean, communal areas are in need of attention, the carpets by the lift are dirty, dinning room area is too small for the hotel, we never had problems getting a table or had to queue as the hotel was nearly empty this time of the year, the food was good, hot and fresh, the staff (bartenders, waitresses, cleaners) are the start in here, polite, friendly and hard workers, i did feel sorry for them, there were about 7 of them between dinning room and the 3 bars. The AI drinks are not very good, the sangria was the best for me, and husband settled on beers. The fruit juices are water, so you better stick to the water, at least you know what you are drinking, there is also coffee available till midnight, the only thing i will suggest is the tea situation, the hot water is just available in the dinning area, for breakfast, with tea bags of peppermint or camomile, In the afternoon or evening if you want a tea, you will have to go out of the hotel, at there isn't any kettle available (they disconnect them after breakfast). the Snack bar is the worst food of everything is there, is just cold food laying in there for hours, i couldn't believe people were eating that, also the cheese is very cheap and didn't like it at all, if was like made of flour instead of milk.
there is a lot of Spanish and their families in here, yes, they are very loud, the push you around when they want to eat or drink, some of their kids have very little manners, but also many fellows British are the same, this is a cheap hotel, so you will find all kind of people. don't bother to try and dress up for dinner, it is very relax in here and you would be fine with sandals, flip flops and short trousers, i do like the relax atmosphere, when on holiday the last thing i want is to worry about how to dress. there are a lot of smokers around, including the pool and front area, we had to kept our rooms door locked all the time to stop the funny smell of tobacco to go into our room, as our next door neighbour were constantly smoking on their balcony, and in the other side there was a Spanish couple smoking very strong wacky backy and having sex 24/7.

if you are looking for a hotel with attention to details and were the guess is the main priority, this is not the one, if you are looking to pay for two start and get food, and drinks like in four start, this is not the one, if you like a kind of resort type hotel, this is not the one.. .

I have pointed all the not good things, but there is a lot of good things in here, staff, clean linen, food, and you can tell they are trying hard. overall this is a good two start hotel, i wouldn't book in here during summer or school holiday as would be too busy and i'm sure the facilities wouldn't cope. but when you look around for others hotel options they do look dated and in worst location and condition. would i book in here again? yes i would.

Room Tip: rooms located on 8th, 9th and 10th are quiet, pool view rooms are bigger 9 th, if you are lucky to...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bath, United Kingdom
2 reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 21, 2013

Don't stay in summer time I went in August it wasn't cheap we went AI so the food was ok thank god. The staff are friendly I had my two children with me, with only having one pool it was very over crowded I made the effort once only to get up and save us a sunbed which had to be at 7.30 and join the line up over crowded room was small and no protective covers on any mattresses? We didn't like the area much lots of dog pooh on paths Ballamedena looked very nice on a day out I would never go back oh also entertainment was all in Spainish no good for kids club either.

Room Tip: Don't book griego mar
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
uk
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 21, 2013

We have just returned from this hotel after a 9 night stay. We were a party of 6 adults, we requested low floors because of the reviews in relation to the slow lifts and there apparently only being two lifts! However I can say that they is more then two lifts within the hotel, some being by the restaurant, some by the reception and some being outside the Saloon bar! The rooms were average and clean and cleaned every day. The food was ok and always something to eat, we only saw the chef cooking the omelettes on the first 2 days we were there and then no more? The entertainment room was basic and very very loud and noisy! Just couldn't handle sitting there at night. The queues for the drinks were the worst I have ever witnessed in any all inclusive hotel that we have ever stayed in! The reason is that there is just not enough staff on at all. The staff in the restaurant are very slow at cleaning away the plates off the tables and infact ended up clearing them away ourselves. The sunbed situation is a complete joke, people up early and reserving the beds and then not returning till 11/12pm! There are signs saying that any towels on beds will be removed after 1 hour but this was never done. We spent our days either visiting different places or going to the beech and paying for the sun lounges. the hotel is in a residential area and not bad situated for access for trains and buses. Although we made our own entertainment and enjoyed our break, I wouldn't return to this hotel due to the queues and sunbed situation.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Marconfort Griego Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Marconfort Griego Hotel

Also Known As:
Griego Mar
Griego Mar Hotel
Hotel Griego Mar
Griego Mar Torremolinos
Hotel Griego Mar Torremolinos
Marconfort Griego Hotel Torremolinos, Costa Del Sol, Spain
Address: Avenida de Sorolla 7, 29620 Torremolinos, Spain
Location: Spain > Andalucia > Province of Malaga > Costa del Sol > Torremolinos
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Restaurant Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#15 Family Hotel in Torremolinos
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Marconfort Griego Hotel 3*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Marconfort Griego Hotel*** is located in Torremolinos, one of the tourist resorts better known in the Costa del Sol, between the cities of Malaga and Benalmadena.The Hotel is just a few meters from the centre of town and only a 15 minute walk from the Bajondillo Beach, one of the best known beaches in Torremolinos.In total, it offers you 414 recently refurbished rooms with a modern and comfortable decoration fit for all our guests.This hotel’s star product is its “All Inclusive” which guests can enjoy together with a great variety of services like a Buffet Style Restaurant, Bars, Coffee Shop, Snack Bar, Piano Bar, a large swimming pool and solarium, meeting room, TV room, games area, souvenirs’ shop, and a library offering books in different languages for those relaxing moments.Marconfort Hotels look after their guests’ satisfaction and this is why Marconfort Griego Hotel offers you such a complete activities program organised by the Hotel’s Entertainment Staff and reinforced by a variety of professional shows.Torremolinos’ Marconfort Griego Hotel*** looks after its guests with the maximum standards of comfort and quality. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Agoda, Priceline, Tingo, HotelsClick, Venere, Otel and Hotels.com so you can book your Marconfort Griego Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Marconfort Griego Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.