We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“5* restaurant” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Marconfort Griego Hotel

Save Saved
You added Marconfort Griego Hotel to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Marconfort Griego Hotel
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Avenida de Sorolla 7, 29620 Torremolinos, Spain   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #28 of 74 hotels in Torremolinos
Huddersfield
2 reviews
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“5* restaurant”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 7, 2013

Just got back from a week at this hotel, spotlessly clean and the restaurant was amazing. The only down side is the size of the pool area, but seeing as the beach is a ten minute walk away this is a poor downside.. Staff very welcoming and friendly. Loved it and will be returning.

Room Tip: No preference
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
subdireccion_griego, Guest Relations Manager at Marconfort Griego Hotel, responded to this review, October 9, 2013
Thank you very much Sue for taking a few minutes to write a review of your recent stay with us here in Torremolinos at our Marconfort Griego Hotel. It gives us great pleasure to learn that you had a great holiday with us and that you enjoyed all the services which we offer in our hotel, especially the restaurant. Our Chef and his team really do do a fantastic job and turn out some delicious meals not only on our normal buffet but also our vegetarian buffet, show cooking/grill, children's buffet and our special dietary buffet. In addition we also have our weekly carvery's with roast pork (apple sauce included), roast beef, roast turkey (stuffing included) and our special Spanish ham and cheeses night (glass of sherry included)... You certainly picked a great week weather-wise with temperatures into the 90's, a bit different from sunny Huddersfield ! Thank's once again for a great review and hope to see you again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,070 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    386
    345
    217
    71
    51
See reviews for
354
320
12
5
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (285)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
leeds
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 6, 2013 via mobile

Been here several times now.stayed all inc for weelend .the hotel is spotless rooms cleaned daily fresh linen and towels maid friendly all staff work very hard and go out of their way for you. Food is lovely plenty of choice hot and fresh lovely pizzas great variety great grill area and chefs take pride in thier work. Drinks are great too from beer to cocktails I just wish they would bring back the mojitos I cant understand why they have took them off thr menu as there were very popular and delicious. Please bring them back. I have nothing but praise for the hotel and staff very well run hotel family friendly. Cant wait to return again in may for 10 nights we have recomended to our friends and now there joining us with their family too.

  • Stayed October 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
subdireccion_griego, Guest Relations Manager at Marconfort Griego Hotel, responded to this review, October 13, 2013
Many thanks Danny for sharing you holiday experience of our Marconfort Griego Hotel here on Trip Advisor. We are always very happy to see guests, like yourselves, return on a regular basis to either spend a short weekend with us or indeed their family holiday. We are thrilled that you once again found our food selection to your satisfaction and our staff as friendly as ever. We're sorry that you missed your mojitos this time around, unfortunately our mojitos are only available during the summer months, however, we promise we will revise this situation and see if we can add them to our usual cocktail menu for next year, can't promise, but will definitely try. We look very much forward to seeing you again next May along with your friends. Thank you once again for your great review.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
N Ireland
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
30 helpful votes 30 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 6, 2013

Stayed at The Marconfort Griego from 30/9 to 5/10 on AI. I base my review on my personal experiences and price paid.
The train from the airport cost under 2e and the hotel is about 10min walk from station.
The staff are very friendly and helpful. The food is among the best I have had in Spain and I have been travelling several times a year for over 30 years. Rooms are basic with comfortable beds. The AI drinks are locally produced however you can have branded drinks for a small additional premium eg spirit and mixer for 1.30e.
The big disappointment at this hotel is the pool area, it is the smallest I have ever experienced. I did however manage to get a table every time but not a sunlounger. If you like to lie by the pool a lot then this hotel is probably not for you. Would I return to this hotel? Yes.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
subdireccion_griego, Guest Relations Manager at Marconfort Griego Hotel, responded to this review, October 13, 2013
Thank you for staying with us at Marconfort Griego Hotel and for taking the time to write a review and share it with other users of Trip Advisor. We are so pleased that you enjoyed your recent stay with us and found our food services in our restaurant to be among the best you have encountered during your holidays in Spain. Our head chef and his team work really hard to produce some great dishes which appeal to all ages and all nationalities. Our all inclusive drinks are considered among the best of the local drinks available in the all inclusive service, however, as you say, all inclusive guests can purchase branded drinks at half price, and a good measure too ! We are indeed very sorry that you were disappointed with our swimming pool area, however during your holiday with us during the first week of October the hotel was still very very busy due to the fabulous weather we have been having for the time of year. Thank you once again for your comments and we look very much forward to welcoming you back on a future occasion.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Canterbury, United Kingdom
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
25 helpful votes 25 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed October 5, 2013

Went for an adult family holiday and chose this hotel mainly based on great reviews on this site. Unfortunately i think this may have raised our expectations of the hotel. As others have mentioned it is in need of an update in the rooms, the carpets are heavily stained but the basics like the sheets and bathroom were ok. Beware of the noise of toilets flushing, i am a heavy sleeper but i woke up many times throughout the night convinced someone in our room was taking a shower and realised in the morning it was toilets in the rest of the hotel! The room we had was very basic and incredibly small for 3 adults, the 3rd bed was in a small dingy space with very little light and the end of the room which was unfortunate. I did find that the lock on our door didnt work, as i only realised this as we were getting in to bed it was really too late to mention it that night, it was dissapointing that this wasnt checked first.

We decided the night we arrived there that we wanted to leave, which has never happened in all my time travelling to various hotels across the world. The main reason for this though was the uncomfortable feeling we had as soon as we arrived. The reception were very unhelpful and unwelcoming to us on arrival. They got worse the next day when we said we wanted to leave and before i finished my sentance they just said to call my travel agent, they didnt even ask if there was a problem or if they could do anything to help.
The hotel pool was very small and in the shade for a large part of the day and probably a bit small for the amount of people, perfectly fine area though.

We were only there one night but did not have dinner and only ate a basic breakfast so i cant really comment on the food. I can say that when we ordered drinks from the bar, my sister was saving a seat in the bar while myself and my mum ordered 3 drinks but the barman refused to serve me until he saw all 3 people, even though my sister was visible from the bar. I thought this was way too strict especially as they werent even alcoholic drinks
.
On checking out they didnt even ask how our stay was or notice that we had only been there one night. We moved to the sister hotel Marconfort Beach Club hotel, wonderful hotel, i have reviewed this as well.

So all in all not a very pleasant experience but we may have just been very unlucky. I wouldnt recommend this hotel after the experience my family and i had. There were many other issues but they all relate to what had been mentioned. If you go there expecting the basics rather than something quite nice then you shouldnt be dissapointed and hopefully you will have better luck with the reception staff!

Room Tip: The front right of the hotel (when looking at it) has some building work going on, didnt notice any...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
subdireccion_griego, Guest Relations Manager at Marconfort Griego Hotel, responded to this review, October 13, 2013
Dear Danielle, First of all, we would like to relay our most sincere apologies for not being able to meet your expectations during your stay with us. We are sorry that the room you was allocated was not to your liking, however, we are sure that a request for a change of room would have perhaps alleviated the problems you state you encountered. Please rest assured that we have taken note of all your observations and that they will be transmitted to our staff in particular our reception manager and our reception staff. Thank you for writing a review of our Marconfort Grigeo Hotel.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 5, 2013 via mobile

Been back two weeks had a very nice time have been to five stars where the was nowhere near this hotel I am so fussy but I could fault it staff very nice rooms not good but when everything else is spot on u tend to put up it i do hope they will address this in the future as it would be four or five star the only thing I didn't like was local spirts they would stipp paint but for one euro thirty u could have a good measure of the top brands will go back again Lesley

  • Stayed September 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
subdireccion_griego, Guest Relations Manager at Marconfort Griego Hotel, responded to this review, October 13, 2013
Many thanks for taking a few minutes of your time to write a review of your recent holiday with us here in Torremolinos at our Marconfort Griego Hotel. We are so pleased that you enjoyed your stay with us and that you found our staff to be friendly and welcoming. We are sorry that you didn't like the local spirits which we serve as part of our all inclusive service, our local gin, white rum, brandy and vodka are frequently commented on as being very good, however, as you say branded spirits can be obtained by all inclusive guests at half price. Once again many thanks for your review and we look forward to seeing you again in the not too distant future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 5, 2013 via mobile

Stayed mon-fri. Food amazing..great choice. Staff very friendly and helpfull. Only downside is small pool area but was roof terrace. Will definately recomend. Central location so lots around with bus and train close by. I will be visiting again soon. Many thanks for great holiday

  • Stayed September 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
subdireccion_griego, Guest Relations Manager at Marconfort Griego Hotel, responded to this review, October 13, 2013
We are so trilled that you had an excellent holiday with us here in Torremolinos at our Marconfort Griego Hotel and that you found that all our services met your expectations. Being a hotel in the centre of Torremolinos we are ideally situated for the local transport services, including the local train connection from Malaga airport. Just 200 meters from the hotel is the centre of Torremolions with its famous Calle San Miguel, renowned for its shopping, restaurants and bars. Hopefully we'll see you again soon, for another 'excellent' holiday.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Falkirk, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 4, 2013

Last minute booking based on reviews of hotel, especially good food reviews. We were not disappointed with the food. Lots to choose from, restaurant clean and staff friendly. The hotel however, looks very tired.
Our room, 1012, on the top floor was basic in the extreme. Air con made a racket not unlike a jumbo jet taking off. Hubby couldn't stand the noise. I couldn't stand the heat. Not a good combination.
I need to wash my hair everyday so a hairdryer is essential. I've never been to a hotel before where hairdryers are not in the room. I enquired at reception and were told I could hire one for 20 euros but would need to bring it back after each use. This pantomime went on every day. The older (grumpy) man on reception said the same thing each time I went for it. 'Please to bring it back straight away'.
The staff overall were fantastic though
We were all inclusive but unfortunately I didn't like the local spirits on offer. The vodka tastes like paint stripper
We met a rat outside a restaurant, casually licking its fur, one night whilst out for a walk. That was not a holiday highlight.
Felt the resort as a whole was poor in terms of things to do both during the day and at night.
Mostly Spanish families at this hotel and mealtimes do tend to be a bit of a free for all. Was a bit like a rugby scrum when the restaurant doors were opened.
On the whole ok but we wouldn't do back

Room Tip: Higher floors have noisy air con
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Marconfort Griego Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Marconfort Griego Hotel

Address: Avenida de Sorolla 7, 29620 Torremolinos, Spain
Location: Spain > Andalucia > Province of Malaga > Costa del Sol > Torremolinos
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Restaurant Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #28 of 74 hotels in Torremolinos
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Marconfort Griego Hotel 3*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Marconfort Griego Hotel*** is located in Torremolinos, one of the tourist resorts better known in the Costa del Sol, between the cities of Malaga and Benalmadena.The Hotel is just a few meters from the centre of town and only a 15 minute walk from the Bajondillo Beach, one of the best known beaches in Torremolinos.In total, it offers you 414 recently refurbished rooms with a modern and comfortable decoration fit for all our guests.This hotel’s star product is its “All Inclusive” which guests can enjoy together with a great variety of services like a Buffet Style Restaurant, Bars, Coffee Shop, Snack Bar, Piano Bar, a large swimming pool and solarium, meeting room, TV room, games area, souvenirs’ shop, and a library offering books in different languages for those relaxing moments.Marconfort Hotels look after their guests’ satisfaction and this is why Marconfort Griego Hotel offers you such a complete activities program organised by the Hotel’s Entertainment Staff and reinforced by a variety of professional shows.Torremolinos’ Marconfort Griego Hotel*** looks after its guests with the maximum standards of comfort and quality. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Booking.com, Priceline, Hotels.com, Expedia, Tingo, HotelsClick, Otel, BookingOdigeoWL, Despegar.com and Venere so you can book your Marconfort Griego Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Griego Mar Torremolinos
Hotel Griego Mar Torremolinos
Marconfort Griego Hotel Torremolinos, Costa Del Sol, Spain

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Marconfort Griego Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.