We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great holiday” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Marconfort Griego Hotel

Save Saved
You added Marconfort Griego Hotel to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Marconfort Griego Hotel
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Avenida de Sorolla 7, 29620 Torremolinos, Spain   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #32 of 73 Hotels in Torremolinos
Durham
Top Contributor
61 reviews 61 reviews
17 hotel reviews
Reviews in 30 cities Reviews in 30 cities
203 helpful votes 203 helpful votes
“Great holiday”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 19, 2013

As with all things in life you get what you pay for...in this case a little bit more so.
First off the hotel...lots of people staying there and yes the pool gets busy but try the beach in the morning and usually there are sun beds in the afternoon(unless you like getting up at 7am)
Rooms were a good size and cleaned every day and bedding and towels changed every day.
Second the food...great variety and very tasty..not sure where people get off being negative as we stayed for a week and the menu changed everyday...the roast pork one night was as good as anything I have had. Pizzas cooked fresh and usually a different grilled meat every night and I can confirm the lunch menu is not repeated at night.
Thirdly the staff are pleasant and happy to help.
Fourthly the beer was good, cold and did the trick.
I recommend this hotel wholeheartedly

Room Tip: Pool view rooms are best...a bit of noise till midnight then it goes quiet.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
subdireccion_griego, Guest Relations Manager at Marconfort Griego Hotel, responded to this review, August 21, 2013
Many thanks for your review of your recent holiday with us here in Torremolinos at our Marconfort Griego Hotel. We are so pleased that you all had a great holiday with us and found our hotel to provide great value for money. During the summer months, the hotel can indeed be very busy, and for this reason we provide our Free courtesy bus to the beach, we are pleased that you took advantage of this and enjoyed the superb beaches which Torremolinos has to offer. As you rightly state our menu changes daily and with the introduction of our Mediterranean Buffet during breakfast service and our Dietary Buffet during lunch and evening meal service, we now cater for those who choose to or have to abide by a healthy diet. Thank you once again for your review and comments and we look forward to welcoming you back again in the not too distant future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,178 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    399
    382
    248
    87
    62
See reviews for
407
340
13
6
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (312)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
portadown
1 review
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 19, 2013

I would happily go back to this hotel again next year. You are always going to get negative people who pick at every little thing, thats whats wrong with half of the bad reviews here.

First of all the food was excellent for the price we paid. Chefs special every night plus a good selection of meats, pizza, pasta etc. Massive selection of pastrys and traditional breakfast pieces in the morning including omlettes, sausages, bacon etc.

Staff in hotel all very friendly, never pass you without smiling. Theres a man in restaurant who is very good with the kids.

We were a family of five, three kids are aged nine,nine, and five. We found the family room was of good size, and the bathrooms are massive. Rooms were also cleaned everyday, as was the general hotel.

The lifts were abit of a pain, but you were never standing longer than 2 minutes. The kids loved the entertainment, and also the park and games room which was in viewing distance, you could keep an eye on the kids at all times, especially in the park.

Pool is a bit of a nightmare to get sunbeds, although the staff are starting to take towels off sunbeds which have been "reserved", so when this person comes back in the afternoon they have to collect their towels at reception which frees up ALOT of beds.

If you want to miss busy meal periods, go at the start of the meal times, as there is alot of spanish in this hotel, and they like to eat late.

Don't kid yourself, for the price you pay for this hotel, you cant expect it to be perfect but it is defiantly alot better than some 4 star hotels ive stayed at.

Room Tip: Rooms at back look at a residential area, although the sun hits the balconies and it is quiet at nig...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
subdireccion_griego, Guest Relations Manager at Marconfort Griego Hotel, responded to this review, August 21, 2013
Dear Mark, thank you very much for taking a few minutes of your time to share your holiday experience at our Marconfort Griego Hotel with other Trip Advisor users. We are thrilled that you and your young family had a great family holiday with us. Our Chef and his team really do a fantastic job catering for everyone from paellas to pizzas and and everything in between. We are frequently praised for friendliness of our staff and in particular our Pepe (the man with the trolley) in our restaurant who is fantastic with the young ones. Once again many thanks for your review and hopefully we'll see you all again next year for another great value for money family holiday.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Great Malvern, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 17, 2013

just got back from staying 10 days in the marconfort greigo 4 adults and 1 11yr old ..well where to start , we checked in with no fuss and found the hotel looked a little dated,The lifts are bad but no worse than any big hotel in peak season , I found the staff to be very friendly , they work so hard with little praise , I found please and thank you's went a long way, hotel is very clean,pool area is very busy, far to little sunbeds for the amount of people at this hotel, we didn't bother fighting for sunbeds at 8am, simply sat on the chairs by the bar plenty of sun and no stress. lifeguard was on his phone or away from the pool a lot of the time so watch your own children too. lots of Spanish people here some are very rude, don't like to queue so tend to push in..Entertainment people again work very hard and they always had a smile. The air con in our room was very noisy especially at 3am and we had to keep emptying a water bottle on the balcony with water in that was not so good .also they don't provide slip mats for inside the bath for children..Great free bus to the beach, it is within walking distance about 15 mins, ok walking down uphill coming back not so good but shops within walking distance. The food here is a definite 5* always a great choice freshly made bread and pizza, fresh meats cut by the chef , beef, lamb, turkey, with fresh salads ,children's menu chicken nuggets, chips, sausage, burgers, I don't understand the reviews where they say food is a issue, I thought it was superb !.. try to eat early as the Spanish eat late and the queue's are very long, with your room try and get a pool view, bit more sun there and not too high a floor, lifts a bit of a pain. all in all we had a great holiday, needs a bit of a re-vamp, tired looking but the all incl package is fab , so much food and drink ...would we go back.. yes we would !

Room Tip: poolside rooms are best they get most sun and low floors because the lifts are very busy
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
subdireccion_griego, Guest Relations Manager at Marconfort Griego Hotel, responded to this review, August 18, 2013
Dear Karen, Many thanks for writing a review of your recent holiday with us here at the Marconfort Griego Hotel. We are thrilled that you all enjoyed your holiday with us and found our hotel to be clean, our staff very friendly and hard working and the food which we offer in our restaurant to you and your family's liking. We are frequently praised on the quality and variety of food which we offer in our restaurant. We have rotating seven day menu, including our chef's specials, our show cooking grill, pizzas, vegetarian buffet, children's buffet and our recently incorporated dietary buffet (sugar free, gluten free etc). Thank you once again for your comments and we look very much forward to seeing you again at our Marconfort Griego Hotel.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Falkirk, United Kingdom
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed August 17, 2013

We arrived at Marconfort Greigo on 10th August for 6 nights. This is the first time I have ever gone all inclusive and I have to say I wont be doing it again. The food was dreadful, breakfast left a lot to be desired and what was served at lunch was also served at dinner. When our son returned from our family holiday he wasn't discussing his trip all he could talk about was getting a good nourishing meal into him.
I have a 17 yr old son and he was not allowed to have a large glass of juice at any one time.WHY????? We complained about this and our reply was "" We don't want waste" yes maybe for a two yr old but not a 17yr old.
Our bedroom was fine and the cleanliness of the hotel was also fine. The staff work really hard keeping the place clean. I have been to many parts of spain on our family holidays and have never ever complained. The Spanish people in this report are so very very rude in fact ignorant to say the least.

I would not recommend this hotel or resort to anyone

Room Tip: We stayed on the fourth floor opposite side to the pool and we managed to sleep
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
subdireccion_griego, Guest Relations Manager at Marconfort Griego Hotel, responded to this review, August 18, 2013
Dear Jean, thank you for taking a few minutes of your time to leave your thoughts regarding your recent holiday at our Marconfort Griego Hotel. We are indeed very surprised that you found our food not to your liking, as you will see from many other reviews here on Trip Advisor our food quality and food variety are frequently very highly praised. It is indeed unfortunate that your 17 year old did not enjoy our fish dishes (battered, grilled or in sauce) nor our meat dishes (lamb, pork, beef, chicken) nor our carvery (roast pork, roast beef or roast turkey) nor our vegetarian buffet (spring rolls, ratatouille, roast potatoes, broccoli, carrots, rice) nor our children's buffet (burgers, English sausage, chicken nuggets, savoury ham rolls) nor our 5 varieties of pizzas... we can't imagine what he must eat at home. Your son, being 17 years old, would have worn a green wrist band (this colour wrist band is given to all people under 18 years of age, irrespective of whether a guests' has paid adult price) and indicates that we will not serve them with alcoholic drinks. Our policy with green wrist bands is that they will be served one regular size drink at a time, we are sorry that this caused your son discomfort, however had you have brought this to the attention of our guest relations manager or indeed our assistant manager who is on duty until midnight, we're sure that an amicable solution could have been found.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Coventry, United Kingdom
1 review
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 16, 2013

Had a fantastic week long holiday...hotel is clean and lovely. We went all inclusive with our 3 young children (ages 6, 4 and 2) and found something for everyone. There is a small play area by the evening entertainment and this was fantastic as it kept the kids entertained of hours. The pool is fine and not as small as we thought when we booked. We never had to wait too long at any of the bars. There is a policy of 1 drink per child and 2 per adult at any one time which works as at some hotels people take advantage. You can use the free hotel bus to the beach or take the beautiful 10 min scenic walk through the shops. The beach is beautiful and clean. I would recommend this hotel to anyone and would go again in the future.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with Low Cost Holidays

Was this review helpful? Yes 6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ballycastle,Northern Ireland
Senior Contributor
35 reviews 35 reviews
17 hotel reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
45 helpful votes 45 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 16, 2013

After having done self-catering last year to Cambrils we decided that mum & dad needed to relax on holiday too, and that is what we got!

3 hour flight time & 20 minute transfer from Malaga airport brought us to the Marconfort Griego Hotel. We were efficiently checked in but as Lynn E said in her review not much was explained about the all inclusive but since the hotel is compact a 10 minute stroll would orientate you to the layout. Also, behind reception there were two notices in English advsing guests about the availability of picnics if going out for the day.

Our rooms were on the 4th floor and facing away from the central pool area which meant they were quiet, day & night. The rooms were spacious fortunately as our two wee boys (8 & 9) refused to share with their older brother & his mate so we ended up with a mattress on our floor for the duration. Both rooms were freshly decorated and had CRT TVs with 2 UK channels, BBC News & BBC1 Yorkshire! Bathroom in good condition and towels changed/room serviced every day.

We had done all inc. in Crete a few years ago and this was much better. During day there were 3 bars operating and the staff were efficient and pleasant. Cruz Campo is the all inc lager & I liked it though Frank and Clare that we met liked the Heineken at 1.10E a bottle during AI hours which went to 2.20E after midnight. AI wine was ok too. A range of nibbles e.g. olives, crisps etc were AI too.

Restaurant quite cramped as it's a busy hotel but the staff in there were extremely efficient at servicing the tables. Great range of food with some staples e.g. burgers, pizza, pastas, cold meats and salad bar. Diifferent fish and meat mains every night of our 7 night stay. Self service.

I think this is a 70s hotel renovated as the pool is a rectangle and got quite busy with the numbers of guests using it. Also the comments about the sun loungers are true, but there is the quiet area on the roof with loungers although you'd need a cool box since it's 9 floors up from the bars! Pool area well mainatined and our 8 year old had a ball in the pool mixing with Spanish, Scottish, English, Irish and the rest.

Regarding the other guests, it is mainly a Spanish hotel but for us that added to the holiday experience! No body was rude during our stay. There were 4 pool tables, 2 near the pool and two in a wee quiet room near reception so there was always a table available, and all the cues were in good condition, not the usual smashed tip efforts you get in family hotels. The kids entertainment and evening entertainment was heavily Spanish orientated but as I said earlier, that added to the experience.

We'd go back tomorrow!

Room Tip: Away from the lifts
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manchester, England, United Kingdom
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 15, 2013

This was our first family holiday abroad. With three young boys, we wanted somewhere which offered entertainment each night an always had something to occupy the boys. we definitely got this. some of the entertainment was a bit 'old' for our children but the majority ie the magician show and the parrot show was exceptional. there was plenty for them to do both through the day and the night and as they could help themselves to drinks and ice creams etc, they gained a lot of independence. all of the staff were very helpful and spoke very good English. I can not fault the food or hotel in any way. when I found out we were on the eighth floor I was a bit nervous but this was soon overcome when I saw the room, it was a very good size for a family of 5 and the balcony was great (we had 8 sun loungers all to ourselves.) we met some lovely people and our children made some lovely friends. I would definitely recommend this hotel an I would love to go back in the future.

Room Tip: a/c noise was a bit loud on the 8th floor but you learn to ignore this after the first night especia...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Marconfort Griego Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Marconfort Griego Hotel

Address: Avenida de Sorolla 7, 29620 Torremolinos, Spain
Location: Spain > Andalucia > Province of Malaga > Costa del Sol > Torremolinos
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( Wi-Fi ) Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Restaurant Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #32 of 73 Hotels in Torremolinos
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Marconfort Griego Hotel 3*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Marconfort Griego Hotel*** is located in Torremolinos, one of the tourist resorts better known in the Costa del Sol, between the cities of Malaga and Benalmadena.The Hotel is just a few meters from the centre of town and only a 15 minute walk from the Bajondillo Beach, one of the best known beaches in Torremolinos.In total, it offers you 414 recently refurbished rooms with a modern and comfortable decoration fit for all our guests.This hotel’s star product is its “All Inclusive” which guests can enjoy together with a great variety of services like a Buffet Style Restaurant, Bars, Coffee Shop, Snack Bar, Piano Bar, a large swimming pool and solarium, meeting room, TV room, games area, souvenirs’ shop, and a library offering books in different languages for those relaxing moments.Marconfort Hotels look after their guests’ satisfaction and this is why Marconfort Griego Hotel offers you such a complete activities program organised by the Hotel’s Entertainment Staff and reinforced by a variety of professional shows.Torremolinos’ Marconfort Griego Hotel*** looks after its guests with the maximum standards of comfort and quality. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Priceline, Expedia, Booking.com, Tingo, HotelsClick, Otel, Hotels.com, Odigeo and Venere so you can book your Marconfort Griego Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Griego Mar Torremolinos
Hotel Griego Mar Torremolinos
Marconfort Griego Hotel Torremolinos, Costa Del Sol, Spain

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Marconfort Griego Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.