We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Better than expected.” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Marconfort Griego Hotel

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Save
You added Marconfort Griego Hotel to your Saves list
Marconfort Griego Hotel
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Avenida de Sorolla 7, 29620 Torremolinos, Spain   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #34 of 73 Hotels in Torremolinos
county durham
Senior Contributor
21 reviews 21 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
93 helpful votes 93 helpful votes
“Better than expected.”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 5, 2013

After reading some of the reviews on here i was a bit sceptical about going to this hotel, myself & my husband went for 10 nights.I asked the receptionist where our room was & she said overlooking the road, i asked her if possible to give us a room overlooking the pool, she did it straight away. Our room was huge on the side near the mini park, it was very modern & cleaned every day.The lifts werent really a problem as one side of the hotel held 6 people & the other 8, we just scrunched in after counting how many people were in them rather than wait for another. The pool is quite big but the space around it for sunbathing is a problem, if you want a sunbed be prepared to get up at 7am & sit with your yellow umbrella base on a plastic chair ready for them unleashing the sunbeds at 7.45, you didnt need to set your alarm clock because you could hear people scraping their plastic chairs into positions. If you didnt want to get up early you could go up to the roof to sunbathe where they have sunloungers also, just remember to take a drink up with you. We did go down to the dreaded slippy steps to the beach, then we used the lift after one try. The beach was red hot & sunloungers were always avaliable with parasols for only 4 euros per person. Exchange your money at th hotel because roundabout there are very few exchange places & these didnt offer as much as the hotel did which was surprising. The hotel room has free a/c & a balcony so that was a bonus. The food was fantastic with plenty of choice each day & the drinks choice was also excellent aswell. Rooms where the bars were were small & entertainment was ok, if you wanted a seat you had to be there for 8.30pm because they start at 9pm. Staff were all very pleasant & helpful. We went into fuengirola on the train & benalmadena on the bus which were a nice day out, the hotel is a about a 10 to 20 minutes walk away from the aquapark & the crocodile park which were both good, the shops are also very close by. There was a mixture of foreign & english people, families, couples & elderly people also at this hotel, we did see 2 lots of stag & hen parties but they never caused any bother. So all in all we had a good holiday & better than we had expected.

Room Tip: Asking for a low floor meant we had less stairs to climb.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
subdireccion_griego, Guest Relations Manager at Marconfort Griego Hotel, responded to this review, July 6, 2013
Dear CountyDurhamers, Thank you very much for sharing your recent holiday experience of our Marconfort Griego Hotel here on Trip Advisor. We are so pleased that you and your family enjoyed your recent holiday with us and that we were able to exceed your expectations. Our reception staff, as indeed all our staff, do an excellent job to make sure that all guests are comfortable and happy during their holidays. Although at this time of the year our swimming pool area can get a little crowded, as you say, we have an additonal terrace for those wanting to sunbathe and in addition we have our Free bus service to the beach which is in operation during the summer months. Thank you once again for writing a review of our hotel and we look forward to welcoming you again on a furture occasion.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,246 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    416
    410
    262
    92
    66
See reviews for
419
365
14
6
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (332)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Leeds, United Kingdom
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 4, 2013

Brilliant place for families, entertainment all day long, food the widest choice possible for all inc., great nightime ent.will definitely go again, I am not impressed with town though so I will give it a body swerve in future

Room Tip: Take pot luck
See more room tips
Stayed May 2013, traveled with family
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
subdireccion_griego, Guest Relations Manager at Marconfort Griego Hotel, responded to this review, July 6, 2013
Thank you very much for taking a few minutes to write a review of your recent holiday with us at our Marconfort Griego Hotel. We are thrilled that you end your family enjoyed your stay with us and enjoyed all the services which we offer as part of our All Inclusive package. Thank you once again for your review and we look forward to having the pleasure of welcoming you again in the not too distant future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cork, Ireland
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed July 4, 2013

I just arrived home from my holiday in Spain. On arrival to the hotel there was no available room for 4 ppl which I had booked, the staff simply moved 2 beds into a room that was suitable for 2 ppl only. The bathroom was tiny and the air conditioning sounded like there was a tractor in the room every night. The pool area was simply too small for all the guests of the hotel and each morning there was a mad scramble for a sunbed. However, the food and staff were lovely, which i must say was the only upside to the hotel. I will not be returning and wouldn't recommend it to anybody.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
subdireccion_griego, Guest Relations Manager at Marconfort Griego Hotel, responded to this review, July 6, 2013
Dear Alison, we are very sorry that you did not enjoy your recent holiday with us here at our Marconfort Griego Hotel. Upon arrival at the hotel guests are allocated rooms based on the number of people in the party. A room for three people is a twin or double room with a supplimentary bed, a room for four people is a twin or double room with two supplimentary beds. Although we try to allocate the largest rooms possible for famalies this is sometimes not possible upon arrival however guests can request a change of room the following day. During the height of summer our hotel is always very busy with many famalies and consequently our swimming pool area can also be very busy, however, we try to aleviate this situation by providing our Free bus service to and from the beach. Once again we are very sorry that you did not find your stay enjoyable during this very busy time of the year.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kirkintilloch, United Kingdom
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 4, 2013

Just back from a weeks all inclusive myself, hubby and grandson, Hotel is fine but a bit out of the way, very clean, fresh towels every day,food is fine you will not go hungry as you can eat all day more or less,pizza is very good,pool area is tiny for the size of the hotel, as there is no kids pool all the kids are crammed into the shallow end, i didnt even bother trying to get up for a sunbed there is plenty of chairs and tables at the back you can use and the sun is there all day. Entertainment is what you expect on a Spanish holiday but kids seem to like it, The staff here work hard and always have a smile on their faces,I used the beach bus a few times as it is a bit of a walk from the hotel, plenty of shops close by. I did enjoy my holiday but this hotel is a bit far out for me.

Room Tip: ask for a room at the front of the hotel or a pool view then you will have something to look at when...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
subdireccion_griego, Guest Relations Manager at Marconfort Griego Hotel, responded to this review, July 16, 2013
Dear Nancy, Many thanks for taking a few minutes to leave a review of your recent holiday with us here at our Marconfort Griego Hotel. We are so pleased that you enjoyed your holiday with us and found useful our free bus service to the beach. Being a hotel in the centre of Torremolinos we are approx. 1 km from the main Bajondillo and Playamar beaches, a nice walk 'down' to the beach, but in the height of summer the walk 'up' can be another story. Thank you once again for your review of our Marconfort Griego Hotel.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kirkintilloch, United Kingdom
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 4, 2013

Just back from one week All Inclusive at this hotel, hotel is very big, pool is far to small,never even bothered trying to get a sunbed they are all taken before 8am, there is plenty of chairs up at the back i found this better as there is more room, we used the beach bus a few times which is good, Rooms are cleaned and fresh towels every day. Food is fine Pizza fresh made really good you will not go hungry as you can eat all day if you want,snacks at bar also crisps,olives,ice cream for kids etc. staff are very nice, entertainment what you would expect on holiday, my grandson enjoyed this, there was a group of welsh girls there for a hen weekend they were enjoying themselves and caused no problems at all. the hotel is close to the main shopping street there is bars but no entertainment in them.i am not sure if i would go back due to the location of the hotel.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reading, United Kingdom
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 3, 2013

The hotel at best is average,but the staff make up for this.For the size of the hotel,the pool area is too small.Every morning I had to get to the pool by 0750 to get two sunbeds and a brolly.If I did not I would end up with one bed in a shaded area and my partner moaning!Also no hairdryer or fridge in room.My partner and I went bed&breakfast.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with Low Cost Holidays

Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
subdireccion_griego, Guest Relations Manager at Marconfort Griego Hotel, responded to this review, July 6, 2013
Dear Russell, thank you for writing a review of your recent stay with us here in Torremolinos at our Marconfort Griego Hotel. Although you and your wife were on an bed and breakfast basis for your holiday, many guests, expecially famalies, choose our All Inclusive option as it provides the best value for money. This however sometimes has its consequences, especially during the height of summer, as most of our All Inclsuive guests tend to stay in the hotel throughout the day. Unfortunately we do not have fridges nor hairdryers in our rooms. however hair dryers are available free in our reception and we also have a fridge available in our reception for medicines, insulin and baby foods etc. Thank you once again for your review of our Marconfort Griego Hotel.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 3, 2013 via mobile

Myself and 2 teenage girls aged 13 & 17 stayed for a week all inclusive. Arrived at 11pm and check in process was faultless. Fantastic room 1101to see all that was going on around the pool. Food plentiful and varied with breakfast being the best. Lovely fresh pizzas every evening and various meats or fish on the grill. Restaurant and bar staff second to none. Room always cleaned and fresh towels daily. Being 3 girls on our own we felt very safe in the hotel and also going out in the surrounding area in the evening. Would definitely return again and have no hesitation in recommending the hotel.
Brilliant reception staff when we found out our return flight had been cancelled and we needed to change flights and therefore needed to print boarding passes.
Many thanks to all your staff

  • Stayed June 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
subdireccion_griego, Guest Relations Manager at Marconfort Griego Hotel, responded to this review, July 6, 2013
Many thanks Cath for sharing your recent holiday experience of our Marconfort Griego Hotel with other users of Trip Advisor. We are extremely pleased that you and your teenage daughters enjoyed your stay with us and found all our staff to be welcoming and friendly. We are frequently praised on the variety and quality of the foods which we have to offer in our restaurant and with the addition of our vegetarian buffet and special diets buffet (gluten free and sugar free) we are sure that no one will go hungry. Many thanks once again for a great review of your recent holiday and we hope to see you all again on a future occasion.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Marconfort Griego Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Marconfort Griego Hotel

Address: Avenida de Sorolla 7, 29620 Torremolinos, Spain
Location: Spain > Andalucia > Province of Malaga > Costa del Sol > Torremolinos
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Restaurant Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#18 Luxury Hotel in Torremolinos
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Marconfort Griego Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 414
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Marconfort Griego Hotel All Inclusive is placed in Torremolinos centre, just half a mile from Bajondillo Beach and three-minutes walk from to the Torremolinos convention centre. This hotel is ideal for couples and families alike. The guestrooms are spacious and feature air conditioning and heating, a private bathroom with hairdryer, a furnished private balcony, a flat satellite TV, a safe (extra charge) and free WiFi. The facilities have a buffet restaurant with live cooking and international cuisine, and another buffet themed restaurant with pizzeria and snack bar and a nighttime piano bar and more. The hotel also owns a game room, a TV room, a library with international books, a miniclub for kids, a gym, a meeting room, a souvenir shop and a sundeck with outdoor pool and loungers. In July and August, it is offered free transportation to the beach. The hotel is half a mile from Aqualand water park, and 12 minutes from Malaga Airport trough A7 Highway. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Orbitz, Priceline, Despegar.com, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Marconfort Griego Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Griego Mar Torremolinos
Hotel Griego Mar Torremolinos
Marconfort Griego Hotel Torremolinos, Costa Del Sol, Spain

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Marconfort Griego Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.