We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great value all inclusive with Fantastic Food & Very Friendly Staff” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Marconfort Griego Hotel

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Save
You added Marconfort Griego Hotel to your Saves list
Marconfort Griego Hotel
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Avenida de Sorolla 7, 29620 Torremolinos, Spain   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #35 of 73 Hotels in Torremolinos
Sunderland, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
34 reviews 34 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 22 cities Reviews in 22 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
“Great value all inclusive with Fantastic Food & Very Friendly Staff”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 25, 2013

I have just come back and I can say it was a great place The rooms were big and was kept well clean. They do get busy with Stag and Hen dos on a weekend but they were no trouble the hotel is big enough to separate the louder groups from the family's or couples going for a quieter break. The highlight of the hotel is the food and the staff. I could not fault the food so much variety and to such a high standard. The food was 5* quality. The staff are the other highlight from friendly cleaners to bar that remember every face. You feel like its your local bar not a hotel bar they. I would reccomend it and go back!

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
subdireccion_griego, Guest Relations Manager at Marconfort Griego Hotel, responded to this review, May 8, 2013
Many thanks Catherine for sharing your recent holiday experience at our Marconfort Griego Hotel with other Trip Advisor users. It gives us great pleasure to learn that you had a fantastic holiday with us and that you found all our staff to be very friendly, as you say, even our bar staff remembering you and what you drink. All our food is freshly prepared daily in our kitchens by our chefs, even the roast pork and roast beef are roasted in the afternoons before they are served that evening. We are so pleased that you enjoyed the services which we offer in our restaurant and look forward to welcoming you again on a future occasion.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,241 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    415
    408
    262
    90
    66
See reviews for
418
363
14
6
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (331)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Beverley
Senior Contributor
21 reviews 21 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 25, 2013

This hotel is not everybody,s cup of tea as it can be a bit noisy during the night, ( with hen partys or stag night partys ) when your trying to sleep ,but this is an observation, not a criticism of the hotel. This big hotel is approximately 800 metres from the bustling centre ,but the shopping mall starts almost across the road from the hotel, making this a pleasant walk in the sun, the beach is probably about a mile away ,all down hill, the problem is, it,s all uphill coming back, but if like my wife you have mobility problems then taxis are plentiful and cheap, and if your young or adventurous then the town of Benalmadena, which better caters for the partying groups is just a short taxi ride away. The hotel has a large swimming pool and even when busy has plenty of sunbeds and chairs available, a very pleasant area to sunbathe in. The guests appear to be largely a mixture of spanish and english who all seem to mix well. The hotel has a large restaurant but can get busy.The food is plentiful and varied and if going all inclusive is available virtually all day, there is a large pool bar and large entertainment rooms which seem to cater for all ages, there is also a very nice bar almost opposite the reception and plenty of comfortable seating around the hotel, the rooms are comfortable and seem to be cleaned every day. The staff are either incredibly well trained or are simply happy to be working there, as they all smile and look after their customers well
Would I go back there, well yes, and hope to do so in August . This might be a *** star hotel but it,s a very good *** hotel. Better a good 3 star than a poor 4 star

Room Tip: rooms on the east side might be easier if someone in your party is disabled as there are less steps...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
subdireccion_griego, Guest Relations Manager at Marconfort Griego Hotel, responded to this review, May 8, 2013
Many thanks for taking a few minutes of your time to leave a review of your recent holiday with us at the Marconfort Griego Hotel. I think the title of your review is spot on, we are a big hotel with some 414 rooms, however we are a very friendly hotel, with many guests commenting here on Trip Advisor and visiting us year after year. We are very pleased that you enjoyed your stay with us and found our hotel to be a good 3 star hotel, centrally located and ideal for exoloring the surrounding areas. Thank you once again for your splendid review and we look forward to seeing you again in August !
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Glasgow, Scotland, United Kingdom
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 24, 2013

My partner and I stayed here over St Patricks weekend. There was a few stag and hen parties there and the hotel was busy, but the staff had no trouble at all looking after everyone. The rooms are big enough and kept clean and the staff are great and always have a smile. Cant wait to go back. Hopefully get back early June and get a wee tan top-up.... See you soon, Thanks again.

Room Tip: Higher floors have less unit noise"
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
glasgow
2 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 24, 2013

Returned today after 4 nights. Hotel was a big well run "chain" hotel and tried hard to enforce the rules you would expect in a big hotel in the dining room and around the pool. Had a problem with a light and my door entry card and they were resolved immediately.
Rooms were a decent size and kept clean with the maid in each of the 4 days we were there. It was a 15 minute walk downhill to the beach through the town square and narrow streets lined with shops and market stalls.
Had an excellent time on an All Inclusive basis. Easily the best I've been on. Food was excellent with loads of choice. Breakfast included choice of cereals and everything from full English to meats, cheese and choice of fruit etc. and as a bonus for those late nighters was available up to 10:30. Lunch had good choice for 3 courses. Dinner had great of choice of casseroles, pasta as well as good quality grilled/fried beef, chicken, pork, turkey etc. and a wide range of fish like salmon, tuna, cod, mackerel and some I'd never heard of. In between time the snack bar was open until midnight offering burgers, sausages, chicken and salad with a variety of breads.
There were 4 bars: bar at reception pool bar, cabaret bar (more for the older crowd) and Pepe's bar which turned into a night club after 11:30 once all the old Spanish salsa dancers disappeared. There was never any attempt to limit the drink available which included cocktails and was served in glasses mostly accept for from the pool bar. Beer was local as you would expect but was the same beer served in bars around the hotel and was served in proper pint glasses. You could even get crisps. We were out of our room by 11:00 but still had access to AI until we left at 19:00. We also got free access to a shower courtesy room to clean up after some last minute sunbathing.
It was surprisingly busy when we were there (19-23 April) with 3 different Hen and 2 Stag parties. They were noisy and boisterious but well behaved and didn't cause any offence to those about them. Personally I thought they added some life to the place. However, I imagine in other weeks with a different crowd it could be very different.
I would thoroughly recommend and will definitely have no hesitation in going back.

TIP: There is a train station at Malaga airport which will take you to Torremolinos in 10 minutes (4 stops) for 1.70 euros. The hotel is a 5 minute walk uphill from the station. Come out of the station in the town square and go right onto the main road then it's just across the road at the lights and straight up the hill around 300 yards. Google it for details.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wolverhampton, United Kingdom
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 24, 2013

Arrived at the hotel just after lunch. The facilities and amenities were more than ample. The food was good and there was a good variety of hot and cod buffet. The staff at reception could be a little un-friendly, but the rest of the staff in the hotel especially well made up for them. The hotel guests were made up of groups of girls and boys either celebrating stag/hen nights or milestones Birthdays. The other guest group were the elderly Spanish who did not seem fazed by the invasion of us Brits looking for a good time, in fact a few joined in the celebrations. The hotel was clean and comfortable and was well worth the money. The only area that could do with improving is the late bar that offers music for dancing, the three nights that we were there the same selection of music was being played and I felt like I was having de-ja-vu!!! , other than that I thoroughly enjoyed the experience and would return.

Room Tip: If you suffer with vertigo pre ask for a lower level room.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Clevedon, England, United Kingdom
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 22, 2013

Make sure you get the transfer driver to drop you to the correct hotel - we asked for 'Marconfort' but should have asked for 'Marconfort Griego', that mistake cost me 8 Euros for a taxi across town.
I found the food very 'samey' and chose to eat out for most meals on the 2nd half of the holiday, the wifi in the hotel is poor / adequate.
Overall the room was clean and well presented, I would have liked some 'local information' like directions to the beach / supermarket / directions to Malaga - all of which we wasted time trying to figure out for ourselves, we ended up walking past Burger King and catching a bus to Malaga (Taxi quote was 20 Euros, Bus was 3.60 Euros)
Some random OAP's walked into our room at 10.45 one night, I think they were lost and on the wrong floor - we went to see reception who dealt with it well - they sent maintenance to re-programme our locks and give us a replacement key, Perhaps it would have been nice to of received an apology from the hotel manager.
One improvement I would of liked is more plug sockets, there was only 1 spare - from which we needed to charge Ipads / phones, if we were staying longer I'd of bought an multiplug adaptor, the set up is that you only have electric in the room if its occupied.

Room Tip: Go for as low a floor as possible, the lower floors get better meal times / don't have to queue...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
teesside
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
39 helpful votes 39 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 22, 2013

me and the missus fancied a break away from the kids, so we nipped to torremolinos for 3 nights. we couldn't stay in the now 'out of use' las palomas hotel anymore, so we looked at other options....the griego mar was the end product !, and a very good choice too.
i'll be as brief as i can, very clean and good cleaning service, clean towels, fast friendly bar staff (we went A.I), loads of spacious seating around the hotel, good reception and not bad access to the town centre (5 mins, about 15 mins to beach). on the downside, if you like it quiet - be warned it can get a bit 'lairy' with stags/hens but there is no bad intent just fun loving people.the lifts were a pain in the backside, a bit too slow and the only thing i got a bit grouchy about was 'the food was a little bland', but the wife thought it was ok..so it's a question of taste really ! (in saying that, loads of fresh baked bread at all mealtimes 'piping hot' - v.nice). overall if you want a good, reasonably priced break/holiday 'take a chance on this place'.

Room Tip: try to get a room on floors 2,3 or 4 because the lifts are a pain, especially at busy times...and th...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Marconfort Griego Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Marconfort Griego Hotel

Address: Avenida de Sorolla 7, 29620 Torremolinos, Spain
Location: Spain > Andalucia > Province of Malaga > Costa del Sol > Torremolinos
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Restaurant Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#18 Luxury Hotel in Torremolinos
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Marconfort Griego Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 414
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Marconfort Griego Hotel features an All Inclusive plan along with an excellent location just a three-minute walk from the Torremolinos convention center and half a mile from Bajondillo Beach. This property is an ideal hotel for couples and families alike. The spacious and attractive guestrooms at Marconfort Griego Hotel All Inclusive offer services like air conditioning, heating, a furnished private balcony, satellite TV, a safe (extra charge) and a private bathroom with a hairdryer and amenities. This hotel also features a pool bar, a cafe, a bar lounge, a buffet restaurant with international cuisine and show cooking, a nighttime piano bar and more. At the hotel, you'll also find a TV room, a game room, a library with international books, a meeting room, a miniclub for kids, a gym, a souvenir shop and a sundeck with an outdoor pool and loungers. The property offers free transportation to the beach in July and August. Marconfort Griego Hotel is just half a mile from Aqualand water park, and it has quick access to Highway A7, making it easy to reach Malaga Airport in just 12 minutes. ****ALL INCLUSIVE PLAN**** With the All Inclusive plan at Marconfort Griego Hotel, you'll find the following services: Buffet breakfast, lunch and dinner at the hotel's main restaurant. Snacks (burgers, hot dogs, fries, salads, fruit, ice cream, sodas, beer, wine and water) at the hotel's snack bar. House drinks, beer, soda, mineral water, shakes, coffee, tea, infusions, etc. Note: Luxury menu items, Premium brand drinks, sports drinks and natural juices are not included. All inclusive drinks are served from 10am to midnight. In-room safes and parking are not included. All schedules and locations for services are subject to change at the discretion of hotel management. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Priceline, Orbitz, Despegar.com, Odigeo, TripOnline SA and Tingo so you can book your Marconfort Griego Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Griego Mar Torremolinos
Hotel Griego Mar Torremolinos
Marconfort Griego Hotel Torremolinos, Costa Del Sol, Spain

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Marconfort Griego Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.