We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good hotel, very busy and great location” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Marconfort Griego Hotel

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Save
You added Marconfort Griego Hotel to your Saves list
Marconfort Griego Hotel
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Avenida de Sorolla 7, 29620 Torremolinos, Spain   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #34 of 73 Hotels in Torremolinos
Edinburgh, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
35 reviews 35 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
139 helpful votes 139 helpful votes
“Good hotel, very busy and great location”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 22, 2013 via mobile

Ok so it's not the ritz and does not pretend to be, the hotel is 3 star and is in need of upgrading in parts but you know exactly what you are getting before going. I would say to the others who leave bad reviews do your home work before going.
The location is brilliant for the airport, 10 mins on the train which leaves from outside the airport, do not pay for a taxi at the resort its a total rip off, a walk of 10 mins max will take you to the hotel.
On arrival the reception staff were ok, did not explain how to get up to your room but when asked did explain reasonably well. As mentioned the rooms are very basic but spotless and the cleaning staff are very friendly. I was particularly impressed that our request was fulfilled by asking for a double bed, as a same sex couple it's almost impossible when abroad to get a double bed!! Very much appreciated
I cannot see where the other reviews are coming from with the food, it was brilliant when we were there in March, the hotel was fully occupied mainly with Spanish pensioners who I doubt would tolerate bad food! Every day there was a great selection of salads, meats, vegetarian and children's dishes so if that does not keep you content nothing will.
The pool area was spotless, although the other reviews are right when they say that the sun is non existent by 3pm and most people are scrambling for the upper deck, although the roof was empty the whole time we were there.
The staff were generally helpful and polite but did not particularly go out there way to be friendly, probably to be on the safe side.

The town is slightly conflicting, it looks like it was a lovely sea side village at some point then the locals and tourists arrived in mass so its a cross between a residential area with some hotels scattered throughout, the beach is around a 20 minute walk if you know where you are going, a bit of research gets you there quickly.

Overall I would return again although not for more than about a week as unless you want to travel it does get a bit boring in the resort.
Remember and tick if you find this helpful!

Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 23
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
subdireccion_griego, Guest Relations Manager at Marconfort Griego Hotel, responded to this review, April 2, 2013
Thank you very much for your great review of our Marconfort Griego Hotel, we are so pleased that you both enjoyed your recent holiday with us and that we were able to fulfill your request of a double bed. Normally, and especially at this time of the year, we can fill guests' requests if they get in touch with the Hotel direct as many internet agents don't seem to pass requests on to the hotel. We are pleased that you liked our wide selection of foods in our restaurant, hopefully in a few weeks we will have another 'selection' to add to our restaurant. Now that the clocks have changed and we've moved into Spring, the pool area is in the sun most of the afternoon (in the summer months the pool area is in the sun all the day). Thanks once again for a great review and we look forward to seeing you both again in the not too distant future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,246 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    416
    410
    262
    92
    66
See reviews for
419
365
14
6
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (332)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Kilmarnock, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
29 reviews 29 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
37 helpful votes 37 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed March 22, 2013

Went to this hotel in february, 2 girls for a short break, hotel is basic, food was ok for 3 star hotel , cocktails was good on the all inclusive but own brand vodka was terrible but you could get smirnoff at 1.50 euros extra and this was worth it, snacks you could get all day and night, you
made your own ie toasties, sandwiches, burgers and salads.
hotel is near the main square and town where all bars, restuarants and shops are, because this was winter lots of bars closed. Far from beach and lots of stairs to beach, you could use lift but
there is a charge for this. We went to crocodile park which is only a 10min walk from hotel, a good day out, waterpark is walking distance also. Excursion to Gibraltar well worth the money.
Rooms were good size and cleaned every day. First time at this hotel and would go back for a short stay again, entertainment every day and night. Never been in the summer months so cant say what hotel is like then.

Room Tip: pool view rooms are good as you dont get noise from traffic on main road
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
subdireccion_griego, Guest Relations Manager at Marconfort Griego Hotel, responded to this review, March 27, 2013
Thank you Helen for taking time to write a review of our hotel after your short break with us in February. I think it's the first time we've had a negative comment regarding the drinks we have on offer as part of the All Inclsuive package, however we will monitor this. However, as you state, guests on an All Inclusive package may purchase 'branded drinks' at half price. We are indeed about 1km from the beach and the lift to which you refer costs 50 cents, well worth it rather than walking up the steps from the beach. Thank you once again for your comments and hope to see you both again for another short break.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lisburn
Senior Contributor
28 reviews 28 reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed March 19, 2013

The rooms were clean and beds comfortable- but basics missing. No hair dryer or kettle and use of the safe was expensive.
Only 2 small lifts so had to queue at meal times.

Food appalling- same old saucey salads night after night. Lots of food was very greasy- the eggs were swimming in oil; and even the sauteed potatoes were in inched of fat.
There sweets were gloppy and stodgy- there was a rice pudding that was so runny I thought it was just milk.

Lots of steps to all areas and when my friend fell on an unmarked step and had to be taken to hospital management didn't want to go.
Also long way from beach or decent shops.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with friends
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
subdireccion_griego, Guest Relations Manager at Marconfort Griego Hotel, responded to this review, March 21, 2013
Thank you for taking your time to leave your review of our Marconfort Griego Hotel. Unfortunately our hotel, in line with many three star hotels in the Spain, do not have hair dryers or kettles in the rooms, nor in fact to we advertise that we provide these services. I am sorry that you did not find the food to your liking, neither the salads, cooked foods or sweets. I am sorry that your friend suffered an accident, as you are aware we called the medical services who took take of your friend, unfortunately we cannot accompany guests to hospital. Our Marconfort Griego Hotel is located approx. 300m from famous Calle San Miguel, the main pedestrianised shopping streeet in Torremolinos with a vast array of shops and restaurants.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
england
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 19, 2013

We stayed at the hotel in February for the half term week, it was very busy but what a great hotel . The food was very good and a great selection. The hot baguettes were fantastic and the dougnuts in the morning along with other pastries were amazing. Overall, a great choice of food, ice creams always available as well. The service at all bars was very good with a wide selection of drinks, we especially liked cafe Griego, Pedro was always very welcoming and worked very hard to keep everyone happy. The freshly made coffees were also very nice. The rooms were always clean. We had an end bedroom with the seperate little bedroom on the other side of the bathroom for our 14 year old daughter, which although in the same bedroom was seperate which she liked!
Our only complaint, if it is a compliaint, was the lifts. The 2 sides of the hotel only have 2 lifts each, one side they only take 6 people in each, the other only 8. When we stayed the hotel was full of old spanish people, who were mostly quite rude and would cram as many people into the lift as they could. We more often than not walked the 6 floors to our room, which got a bit much as it was most times, but on the plus side it was exercise for all the lovely food we ate!!
Overall, this was a great choice of hotel, considering only a 3 star, we have stayed at 4 stars not nearly as good. Its a little walk from the beaches, but this was not a problem to us and we frequently walked along the prom for miles which was very nice.

Room Tip: Higher floors, good view. If busy time of year, lifts could be a problem if you are not prepared to...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
subdireccion_griego, Guest Relations Manager at Marconfort Griego Hotel, responded to this review, March 27, 2013
Dear Alison, thank you very much for such a splendid review of your holiday with us in February. We are extremely happy to learn that you and your family enjoyed your holiday with us. Our Chef and his team work really hard to provide a great variety of dishes to cater for all tastes, ages and nationalties, we are pleased that you enjoyed our selection. Pedro is becoming quite popular here on Trip Advisor and is frequently mentioned, however all our bar staff work extremely hard to satisfy all our guests. We are sorry about the problems you encountered with the lifts, however as you say, a bit of excercise did come in useful. Thank you very much and we look forward to seeing you again on a future occasion.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nottingham, United Kingdom
1 review
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed March 18, 2013

just returned from a golf break with the lads' hotel was nice and friendly top man was pedro in the bar but overall the food was not very good 'overall cheap and cheerfull but find a nice restaurant nearby

Room Tip: lower the better lifts are always busy
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
subdireccion_griego, Guest Relations Manager at Marconfort Griego Hotel, responded to this review, March 27, 2013
Thank you Alan for taking time to leave a review of our Marconfort Griego Hotel during your golfing break here on the Costa Del Sol. I am sorry that we could not meet your expectations with regard to the food which we have to offer in our restaurant, however, I am pleased that you found our hotel to be nice and friendly. Hopefully you'll give us another opportunity and visit us on a future occasion.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
surrey
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 18, 2013

Just back from six days at this hotel and was very impressed by the food on offer.We were All inclusive. Loads of choice, including freshly cooked Pizzas and fresh bread. Food was nice and hot. Never had a problem finding a table. Drinks were served in large glasses, which is unusual for AI. Rooms were a bit basic but had everything you might need and were very clean. We used to sit in the large reception area with large comfortable sofas most evenings having got our drinks from Pedros bar first.He deserves an award ,he works so hard and always with a smile. Lots of elderly Spanish and French students which was fine in fact quite a few different nationalities. We hired a car for the week and found parking to be a problem around the hotel but usually found a space after a few times around the block. The hotel does have parking but charges 10 Euros a day or 49 Euros a week. The only thing to slightly spoil a great holiday was some of the Stag parties, especially the group from Ireland who ran riot in the hotel ,absolutely paralytic, swearing and shouting and banging on peoples doors at 3 in the morning and getting abuse when asking to keep the noise down.This must happen on a regular basis as it employs Security guards who guard each night. Its a shame this hotel allows Stag and Hen parties when it advertises as a family hotel. For this reason alone I would not go back to this hotel.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
subdireccion_griego, Guest Relations Manager at Marconfort Griego Hotel, responded to this review, March 27, 2013
Many thanks for taking time to write a review of your recent holiday with us at the Marconfort Griego Hotel. Unfortunately at this time of the year and possibly due to the present economic climate it would seem that it is cheaper for some groups to travel abroad to celebrate and this can affect our other guests in the hotel. We do actively seek large, same sex groups, however with online booking people can get around this and it's not until they arrive at reception,under different bookings, that things become aparrent. I am very sorry that your stay with us was slightly spoiled by these people. That aside, it would seem that you enjoyed your holiday with us and enjoyed the large selection of food which we have to offer in our restaurant and the selection of drinks in our bars. I sincerely hope you would reconsider and perhaps visit us the next time you're in the Costa Del Sol. Many thanks again for your review.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
leicester uk
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
34 helpful votes 34 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 18, 2013

We have just returned from the Greigo & overall we thought it was good. The hotel is kept clean & the food was plentiful & there was a good variety to suit all tastes. The only things we would have changed were the heating in our room was really hot & we could not sleep very well,we asked twice to have the radiator turned off but nothing happened,& secondly the only bar open during the day was the pool bar & on our last few days was full of drunken men on stag parties,so if we wanted a coffee or a drink it was very noisy & at times intimidating.That aside we enjoyed the holiday.

Room Tip: High room overlooking pool
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
subdireccion_griego, Guest Relations Manager at Marconfort Griego Hotel, responded to this review, March 27, 2013
Thank you for writing a review of your recent stay with us at the Marconfort Griego Hotel. Firstly, please accept my apologies for any discomfort which you suffered due to the heating in your room, I will follow this up with our Maintenance Manager to find out what the problem was. At this time of year our Pool Bar opens at 10 :00 am, our Café Griego at 4:30 pm and our Bar Salon at 6:00 pm. Once again I am sorry that the actions of a few in the bar made for an unwelcoming atmosphere. That aside, I am very pleased that overall you enjoyed your holiday with us and hopefully we'll have the pleasure of welcoming you back on a future occasion.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Marconfort Griego Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Marconfort Griego Hotel

Address: Avenida de Sorolla 7, 29620 Torremolinos, Spain
Location: Spain > Andalucia > Province of Malaga > Costa del Sol > Torremolinos
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Restaurant Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#18 Luxury Hotel in Torremolinos
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Marconfort Griego Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 414
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Marconfort Griego Hotel All Inclusive is placed in Torremolinos centre, just half a mile from Bajondillo Beach and three-minutes walk from to the Torremolinos convention centre. This hotel is ideal for couples and families alike. The guestrooms are spacious and feature air conditioning and heating, a private bathroom with hairdryer, a furnished private balcony, a flat satellite TV, a safe (extra charge) and free WiFi. The facilities have a buffet restaurant with live cooking and international cuisine, and another buffet themed restaurant with pizzeria and snack bar and a nighttime piano bar and more. The hotel also owns a game room, a TV room, a library with international books, a miniclub for kids, a gym, a meeting room, a souvenir shop and a sundeck with outdoor pool and loungers. In July and August, it is offered free transportation to the beach. The hotel is half a mile from Aqualand water park, and 12 minutes from Malaga Airport trough A7 Highway. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Orbitz, Priceline, Despegar.com, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Marconfort Griego Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Griego Mar Torremolinos
Hotel Griego Mar Torremolinos
Marconfort Griego Hotel Torremolinos, Costa Del Sol, Spain

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Marconfort Griego Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.