We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“top class” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Marconfort Griego Hotel

Save Saved
You added Marconfort Griego Hotel to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Marconfort Griego Hotel
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Avenida de Sorolla 7, 29620 Torremolinos, Spain   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #28 of 74 hotels in Torremolinos
Pontefract, England, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
21 reviews 21 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
29 helpful votes 29 helpful votes
“top class”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 9, 2013

wow this hotel has got it right . from food to rooms just perfect . the rooms are spotless . bathroom . plenty of hot water clean towels every day. bed made too every day . i can not fault this hotel . rooms nice and warm as it was chilly at nights . the hotel was full but so quiet at night a good night sleep with no noise . food perfect plenty of choice nice breads . good breakfast to start the day . the sausages are good quality . go to this hotel you won't be disappointed .

Room Tip: any room is good as it is in a good area
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 8
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
subdireccion_griego, Guest Relations Manager at Marconfort Griego Hotel, responded to this review, February 13, 2013
Dear Michael, thank you very much for your review of our Marconfort Griego Hotel. I are extremely pleased that you enjoyed your stay with us and thank you for your kind comments regarding our services and quality of the foods which we have to offer in our Restaurant. Thank you once again and I look forward to meeting you personally on your next visit.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,085 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    389
    348
    220
    73
    55
See reviews for
360
324
12
5
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (287)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Llandudno
Top Contributor
60 reviews 60 reviews
27 hotel reviews
Reviews in 22 cities Reviews in 22 cities
45 helpful votes 45 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 9, 2013 via mobile

I have been staying at this hotel since it was the El Griego, then the Griego Mar and most recently the Marconfort Griego Mar. It is what it is. It makes no wild and un attainable attempts to lure you with its facilities but the returning trade says it all about this very comfortable, town centre hotel. It s only a few minutes walk from the centre of Torremolinos and about 5 minutes walk with your cases from the Renfe railway that brings you from the airport for only about £1.20. (Don't fall for your travel agents £17 transfer charge)
Yes it is lively at times, yes it is used by a lot of Spanish and yes it can be busy at times but these are only benefits to this hotel. The staff are polite, professional and very efficient. The hotel is clean, well run and maintained. The breakfast is far superior to another 4* hotel I have stayed in in the town although can be a bit of a bun fight at times at busy periods.
For the price you pay you will be hard pressed to get a better deal in Torremolinos and for this reason alone it gets a five star rating. Well done.

Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
subdireccion_griego, Guest Relations Manager at Marconfort Griego Hotel, responded to this review, February 13, 2013
Thank you very much Len for your splendid review of our Marconfort Griego Hotel. Like yourself, we have many many guests' who return year after year and sometimes twice or even three times in the same year, and it is always great to welcome both old and new faces alike. As you rightly say "It is what it is", we are a three star hotel in the centre of Torremolinos, close to all local amenities and public transport and only 1km from the beach. However, I think what sets us apart is that we are constantly recommended as a a very friendly and value for money hotel. We are pleased that you have returned year after year and look forward so welcoming you back for many years to come.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brackley, United Kingdom
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 9, 2013

I tried to write this last summer, but couldn't get trip adviser to work, hence a late review! Hotel was large and very, very busy, but the staff coped brilliantly and any queues were very short. We went on an all inclusive basis, and the standard of the food and drink was very high for the price. The rooms were clean and comfortable, although not much in the way of views! The beach was just a short walk away (although a lot of steps, so probably not good if you have buggies or wheel chairs). However, there was also a courtesy bus from the hotel several times a day. The beach was much nicer than I expected - very clean, with toilets, showers, life-guards and all the water sports you could imagine - great for the kids. The only downside for me, was the extremely crowded pool area, and the fact that the pool was in the shade from 3 pm. We worked round this by going to the pool in morning, then having lunch about 3pm and then walking down to the beach for the afternoon. All in all, good value for money.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
subdireccion_griego, Guest Relations Manager at Marconfort Griego Hotel, responded to this review, February 13, 2013
Many thanks Helen for persevering with Trip Advisor so that you could share your holiday experience of last year with others. The Marconfort Griego Hotel is about 1km from the beach, however it is a pleasant stroll down the main shopping street 'San Miguel' lined with many shops, bars and restaurants and as you say the beach is really beautiful. We are pleased that you found our hotel to be of a high standard and that you enjoyed your stay with us last year, hopefully we'll have the pleasure of seeing you again this year.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
northern ireland
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 8, 2013

just got back from griego mar hotel we had a lovely time here the staff were amazing they always had time for you and nothing was a problem to them. we arrived early i morning and we got our room straight away the reception staff were very pleasant. the room has lovely and clean and all you needed in it. we ask the cleaner for extra pillows when we came back to our room pillows were there great service from the cleaning staff.the food was great. the bar staff was really good and always had a pleasant word to say great holiday well done to all the staff at greigo mar

Room Tip: get a high floor sun shines there most of day in winter months
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
subdireccion_griego, Guest Relations Manager at Marconfort Griego Hotel, responded to this review, February 10, 2013
Thank you very much for your great review of our Marconfort Griego Hotel. It personally gives me great pleasure to learn that you had a great stay at our Hotel. All our staff work very hard to ensure that all our guests' have an enjoyable holiday and I thank you for your kind words regarding our staff. Good tip regarding the rooms on the higher floors, especially during the winter season. Thank you once again and hopefully we'll have the pleasure of welcoming you back on a future occasion.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manchester, United Kingdom
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
31 helpful votes 31 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 4, 2013

stayed here 1st feb for the weekend, hotel had only just opened the doors, we were greeted immediatley by the receptionist and they were lovely really easy check in no waiting no messing,
the room was very clean and had everything we needed, food was amazing and lots to choose from. the whole hotel was really nice everyone was so pleasent and accomdating.
will defo go back again. :)

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
subdireccion_griego, Guest Relations Manager at Marconfort Griego Hotel, responded to this review, February 10, 2013
Dear Lisa, Many thanks for taking your time to share your review of our Hotel with other users here on Trip Advisor. We are extremely pleased that you enjoyed your holiday with us and that you found everything to your liking from the friendliness of our staff to the wide selction of foods which we have to offer in our Restaurant. As you rightly state, we opened on 1st February for the season and our aim is to provide the same friendly welcome from when we open right through to 31st October when we close for the season. Hopefully we'll see you again soon !
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tyne & Wear
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
24 helpful votes 24 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 17, 2013

Had an excellent week at this hotel. Asked for a low room because of condition and it was superb. Clean hotel very central and the food was excellent. Entertainment was superb and every night. Had a 5 year old with me and he really enjoyed this hotel.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 24
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed January 16, 2013

I stayed at this hotel for 10 nights in October with my wife and 8 year old son. Before booking this holiday I spent an awful long time reading various reviews on trip adviser. The reviews were excellent for this hotel, and this is why we booked to stay here. I booked the hotel through booking.com, brilliant company, would always recommend.
We arrived at the hotel about 9pm after making our way from Malaga airport by train (very simple, train station in the airport, self-service ticket machines with multiple language options, also very cheap, can’t remember the exact price 2 euros each maybe, catch the Fuengirola train, takes 10 minutes on the train to Torremolinos where the station is right in the centre near Calle San Miguel, 5 minutes walk to hotel). Check-in was fine, very quick, no problems, and the staff were very welcoming. The Room we were allocated was on the 7th floor with a pool view, which is exactly what I had asked for. The room itself was very spacious and had everything we needed (although bring a hairdryer & a kettle if you need these). The décor was extremely dated, the old air conditioning unit didn’t work (I later found out they switch it off mid-September) and the tiles on the bathroom floor were loose when you walked on them. Otherwise it was ok, it was basic but very clean which I suppose is the main thing.
Our first night at this hotel was an absolute nightmare, we were awakened at 3am due to a drunken fight taking place in the corridor outside our room, there must have been 6 or more guests shouting and swearing, arguing and fighting. I had my wife and 8 year old boy with me and couldn’t believe what was happening. After about 10 minutes I went to phone the reception, but the phone in the room didn’t work so I used my mobile. I was told that they were aware of the disturbance but the security guard was at that time dealing with another fight at the on-site disco, brilliant!!! The security guard eventually came up to our floor after about 20 minutes by which time things were getting out of hand, objects were being thrown about and smashed and people were running around banging on everybody’s doors. The police were never called which I found strange. The corridor was a mess in the morning with smashed glass on the floor and blood smeared on the walls, and it was raining that day, not a great start to your holidays. I understand this incident wasn’t the hotels fault and when I spoke to the manager he apologised and told me these guests had been moved to another part of the hotel and been made to pay for the damage. Although there was no more fighting at night the hotel was very very noisy and it was difficult to sleep.
One of the main attractions of this hotel after reading the reviews was the food. Unfortunately I was very disappointed. The cooked breakfast options are low quality and very fatty, I just ended up having beans on toast or eggs on toast if we had breakfast at the hotel, lunch and dinner was poor too in my opinion, and the so called fresh pizzas were certainly not fresh and not very nice, the bases are piled up next to the chef, they are crumbly and taste a bit stale, not fresh dough anyway. The self service snack bar is a bit of a joke too, horrible looking burgers, fat chips, breakfast sausages, fatty processed ham, bread, cheese slices, hard boiled eggs and salad, all left sitting at a self service counter for god knows how long! Pretty grim really. So I felt let down by the food, but the drinks were great, the all inclusive is excellent at the bars where you can also get 1.5L bottles of water to take away, crisps, olives, ice-cream, ice-pops. Drinks are served in large glasses and there’s a huge choice including cocktails.
This is a very large hotel with lots of different nationalities staying here, it was very busy and there is a lot of hustle and bustle, very noisy too which wasn’t relaxing at all. I think the hotel is pretty tired and needs quite a lot of money spending on it. It is very clean throughout but unfortunately it just seems old and a bit run down! The tiles (slabs) around the pool area are all loose and uneven, the décor in the public areas is about 25 years out of date, it just seems tired. It gets quite depressing after a few days so although we were all inclusive we spent most of our time out and about. I did hear there was renovation work due, and that the hotel would be closed for a while in the winter for this to be carried out, so maybe it has been improved by now. The staff here are all very pleasant and very hard working. They always smiled and said hello even though they were always rushed off their feet.
Overall a bit of a let down, I wouldn’t return to this hotel and would not recommend. Torremolinos is a great holiday resort and we love the Costa del Sol, but I think we’ll go self-catering in the Canaries this year, bit put off all inclusive for some reason.
Oh yeah, the WIFI doesn’t work at the hotel either, go down to Burger King next to the train station for free WIFI connection.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Marconfort Griego Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Marconfort Griego Hotel

Address: Avenida de Sorolla 7, 29620 Torremolinos, Spain
Location: Spain > Andalucia > Province of Malaga > Costa del Sol > Torremolinos
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Restaurant Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #28 of 74 hotels in Torremolinos
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Marconfort Griego Hotel 3*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Marconfort Griego Hotel*** is located in Torremolinos, one of the tourist resorts better known in the Costa del Sol, between the cities of Malaga and Benalmadena.The Hotel is just a few meters from the centre of town and only a 15 minute walk from the Bajondillo Beach, one of the best known beaches in Torremolinos.In total, it offers you 414 recently refurbished rooms with a modern and comfortable decoration fit for all our guests.This hotel’s star product is its “All Inclusive” which guests can enjoy together with a great variety of services like a Buffet Style Restaurant, Bars, Coffee Shop, Snack Bar, Piano Bar, a large swimming pool and solarium, meeting room, TV room, games area, souvenirs’ shop, and a library offering books in different languages for those relaxing moments.Marconfort Hotels look after their guests’ satisfaction and this is why Marconfort Griego Hotel offers you such a complete activities program organised by the Hotel’s Entertainment Staff and reinforced by a variety of professional shows.Torremolinos’ Marconfort Griego Hotel*** looks after its guests with the maximum standards of comfort and quality. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Priceline, Expedia, Tingo, Otel and BookingOdigeoWL so you can book your Marconfort Griego Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Griego Mar Torremolinos
Hotel Griego Mar Torremolinos
Marconfort Griego Hotel Torremolinos, Costa Del Sol, Spain

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Marconfort Griego Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.