We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“late summer break - excellent value for money!” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Marconfort Griego Hotel

Save Saved
You added Marconfort Griego Hotel to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Marconfort Griego Hotel
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Avenida de Sorolla 7, 29620 Torremolinos, Spain   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #28 of 74 hotels in Torremolinos
Morecambe, United Kingdom
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
36 helpful votes 36 helpful votes
“late summer break - excellent value for money!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 5, 2012

The hotel is situated in a mostly residential area of Torremolinos about a 15 minute walk to the beach. it is a large hotel that gives the impression that it was once 2 hotels that have been made into 1.
The reception area is lvery spacious has had a refurbishment and creates a very good first impression. The entertainemnt was of a decent standard, one criticism is that children should be asked to clear the entertainment area after a certain time to allow a bit of adult time. The restaurant is located on the 1st floor and is a decent size. The food in the hotel is amazing and I think it would be very difficult for anyone to say that there wasn't anything that they liked to eat. The choice was huge and there was a seperate area for children. The pool is on 1st floor. Late summer the sun disappears from the pool area by about 1.30pm although there is a sunbathing terrace on the top floor which gets the sun a bit longer. Hotel rooms are of a decent size, beds are comfy, pillows a little bit lumpy! Bathroom good size too.

The hotel (although showing a few signs of needing a bit of TLC) is spotlessly clean, the staff are extremely helpful and friendly. Public areas are all tastefully decorated. Food fantastic and the All Inclusive Bar menu is the best we have ever experienced in a 3* Hotel.
OVERALL OPINION - A great place to stay to use as a base, close to bus stops and train station. this hotel represents great value for money. A large hotel catering for lots of different nationalities and doing a great job. We would most definately stay there again.
FANTASTIC VALUE FOR MONEY............................................

Room Tip: Ask for a room on a high floor in the main block overlooking the pool area
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,075 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    386
    347
    218
    72
    52
See reviews for
355
322
12
5
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (285)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Crawley, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed November 5, 2012

Stayed here eight years ago and again in Octiber 12. Nothing seems to have changed in the 8 years. Hotel was clean and an ideal location for town. Pool shaded for most of the day. Kids club limited. Evening entertainment a little bit poor. Food was great with plenty of choice.
Spend the extra and stay at the sister hotel called the beach club.

Room Tip: Request a low floor as lifts very busy at meal times
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
uk
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
43 helpful votes 43 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed November 1, 2012

Same as other reviews this hotel is pretty good, its in the middle of Torremolinos which is one of the oldest resorts around. The hotel needs a refurb as its looking a little dated and while we was there we were told it was closing on Wednesday 31st October for a refurb (we left 30th Oct).
Food is good, alcohol is spot on, service is very good and the place is very clean, apart from the pool area I'd say because the flags around the pool are not pointed in properly so this will harbour germs, thats probably why there were plenty of annoying flies landing on everyone.
Other than that and the bacon wasn't anything like bacon (English), we had a good stay in this hotel (shame about the weather).
Free WiFi that works in reception and in and around games room/pool area.
Staff friendly enough most of the time.
Entertainment is usual kind of stuff you'd expect.
Rooms fairly good size and comfortable.
Pool is small and the sun disappears behind the building at around 2pm so the hotel is slightly positioned wrong but we just went to the beach.

All in all I'd give it 8 out of 10.......for the money its good value, however we wouldn't return as its just a bit too big for us and we didnt like Torremolinos much.

Room Tip: Facing the hotel we stayed in the building to the right on the 7th floor, pretty good as when sun di...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sunderland, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 31, 2012

I have just returned from 7 nights all inc. I am an honest man who speaks as I find, I dont pull punchs and tell it like it is.

So here goes, first of all it is a 3 Star hotel in the centre of Torremolinos. Why do people expect stunning views? The Ritz service? Gordon Ramsay food? Madonna entertaining?

Facts - It is clean, rooms are basic but more than adaquate, all other areas constantly being kept clean. I had a view of the pool and the sea, yes I may have been lucky but most of the hotel has a similar view! Food is good, not ok. not fine, its bloody good. Plenty of chioce available from 8 in the morning till midnight. drinks are alcoholic when required, coffee tea water and soft drinks, I was all inc so will not comment on other board details.

It has an official 3 Star rating, I know I have stayed in a lot worse 4 Star facilities!

I urge real people to go there and enjoy it, the staff, the food, the drink the facilities, the areas are all you could want for the price you will pay.

Those who have put negative, mostly minor bitter comments have their heads up.... well you know how that ends!

A must is Baileys Irish Bar, a 3 minute walk. Gerry who runs it is a Top Fella. Great feel about the place, a cracking selection of great whiskey's and drink. ALL the sport on large screens you could ever desire, and the food is fabulous.

Marconfort Griego Hotel, we WILL meet again.

Room Tip: High Floor Pool View, A Winner!!!
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 15
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
York, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 30, 2012

my partner and i and our friend , stayed at the greigo for 10 days, from the 16 of october.
the food was good, the rooms very clean , the staff very helpfull , i feel its worthy of a 4 star, i only have 2 complaints . its not fair for people to put towels on sunbeds early in the morning and not returning till midday. also a cut off time for kids on the dance floor as the adults would like to dance but kids stopping it, apart from that , we got more than we paid for, also our friend had a birthday and they gave her a cake . lovely touch
many thanks for a good holiday best wishes clive and eileen

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
subdireccion_griego, Guest Relations Manager at Marconfort Griego Hotel, responded to this review, October 31, 2012
Dear Clive and Eileen, many thanks for sharing your holiday experience of the Marconfort Griego Hotel here on Trip Advisor. We are pleased that you all enjoyed your holiday with us and apreciated the services which we offer. It is indeed unfair that people do still see the need to 'reserve' sunbeds, even in the winter period. We are pleased you found our Hotel to be value for money and that we were able to make your friend's birthday celebration that little bit more special. Best wishes to you both and we look forward to welcoming you back on a future occasion.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
south yorkshire
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 30, 2012

lovely friendly hotel. have been back 3 times now twice with my family and once i took my friends for a 50th birthday. entertainment every night with different shows and silly funny games. bar staff lovely and friendly. restaurant average but for what we paid we cant complain. food different every night. well worth a visit but dont expect 5 star as it is only 3 star but a good 3 star. would recomend it to any 1 who is not fussy or stuck up! will be going again in february...

  • Stayed February 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
subdireccion_griego, Guest Relations Manager at Marconfort Griego Hotel, responded to this review, October 31, 2012
Thank you very much for your review of our Marconfort Griego Hotel. It gives us great pleasure to learn that even after three visits to our Hotel we still meet the mark. As you say, we are a typical 3 star hotel in the centre of Torremolinos, but what makes us special is the friendliness of our staff and the quality of our services. See you again in February !
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Halifax, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 28, 2012

just spent a nice break at the Greigo Mar. Rooms are basic but clean, just what you would expect from a 3star hotel. All staff from reception to barstaff were pleasent. The food was good always something on the menu for everyone. The entertainment was adequate although if we were travelling with young children I would have been disappointed as it was aimed at adults especially in the evenings.
if there was a negative to the greigo Mar it would be the last couple of days of our holiday when the number of spanish guests increased, the entertainmnets staff always spoke in both spanish and english , however during the evenings entertainment the banter between the spanish guests and the spanish entertainments staff increased and on these occasions the conversations were not repeated in english which made us feel like we were invading someone elses party!!
i would recommend the hotel.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
subdireccion_griego, Public Relations Manager at Marconfort Griego Hotel, responded to this review, October 29, 2012
Dear Lindsay, many thanks for your review here on Trip Advisor. We are pleased that you had a nice brak with us and found our staff to helpful and pleasant. Our entertainment team Jessica and Sergio really do hard job at keeping everyone entertained, sometimes in difficult circumstances. Also I might add that during the summer months we have our Kids Klub, Mini Disco and Childrens Entertainer specifically to keep the little ones entertained. Once again, thanks for your review and hopefully we'll see you again on a future occasion.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Marconfort Griego Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Marconfort Griego Hotel

Address: Avenida de Sorolla 7, 29620 Torremolinos, Spain
Location: Spain > Andalucia > Province of Malaga > Costa del Sol > Torremolinos
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Restaurant Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #28 of 74 hotels in Torremolinos
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Marconfort Griego Hotel 3*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Marconfort Griego Hotel*** is located in Torremolinos, one of the tourist resorts better known in the Costa del Sol, between the cities of Malaga and Benalmadena.The Hotel is just a few meters from the centre of town and only a 15 minute walk from the Bajondillo Beach, one of the best known beaches in Torremolinos.In total, it offers you 414 recently refurbished rooms with a modern and comfortable decoration fit for all our guests.This hotel’s star product is its “All Inclusive” which guests can enjoy together with a great variety of services like a Buffet Style Restaurant, Bars, Coffee Shop, Snack Bar, Piano Bar, a large swimming pool and solarium, meeting room, TV room, games area, souvenirs’ shop, and a library offering books in different languages for those relaxing moments.Marconfort Hotels look after their guests’ satisfaction and this is why Marconfort Griego Hotel offers you such a complete activities program organised by the Hotel’s Entertainment Staff and reinforced by a variety of professional shows.Torremolinos’ Marconfort Griego Hotel*** looks after its guests with the maximum standards of comfort and quality. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Booking.com, Priceline, Hotels.com, Expedia, Tingo, HotelsClick, Otel, BookingOdigeoWL, Despegar.com and Venere so you can book your Marconfort Griego Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Griego Mar Torremolinos
Hotel Griego Mar Torremolinos
Marconfort Griego Hotel Torremolinos, Costa Del Sol, Spain

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Marconfort Griego Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.