We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very good value and great location” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel Sol Principe

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Save
You added Hotel Sol Principe to your Saves list
Hotel Sol Principe
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Paseo Colorado 26, 29620 Torremolinos, Spain   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #37 of 73 Hotels in Torremolinos
London
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
17 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
76 helpful votes 76 helpful votes
“Very good value and great location”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 7, 2006

We stayed 4 nights at Sol Principe and overall I was well surprised and very satisfied.

Ok, the building look an old block from the seventies but the interior has been refurbished and it is well contempory, and well maintained.

We were only 2 people, but some reasons they check us in a family room, right at the front of the sea side!

Our room was very spacious (1 double bed + 2 single beds) and a lounge area, a very large balcony over looking the sea and the swimming pool. Ok this is not the standard room. Our room was designated for family so very large one to compare than the other room. Decor wise it's 3 stars nothing special but it's clean and comfortable. Powerful air conditioning and you need it. A small fridge is at your disposition to store your own goods.

The bathroom was very large, far too large for the two of us ! Anyway it was great.

This hotel is huge resort (over 600 bedrooms) + apartments on the other side. So it is a very busy all the time. You got everything you need on the resort: cash point, surgery with doctor, small shopping centre, internet centre, tennis, mini golf, night club, self service laundrette, gym, 3 swimming pools, kids playground area and a lot of activities. I can comment on the activities we havnt use them but sound quite interesting.

If you are on tight budget, the restaurant is certainly the best value in the town. The dinner cost 15 euros and it is a self service buffet, eat as much as you want. Well if you are looking for a romantic dinner, or something quiet, definately best to avoid it. The restaurant is huge with over 500 people at the time, therefore it is very very busy. But the buffets are excellent. Good selection of food and as much as you want. They cook in front of you.

Breakfast same thing it is a buffet and very busy too. A good selection of everything. Apart the coffee and juices which taste really horrible.

This hotel is definately a very good value for holidays. When we stay it was not school holidays, so no many kids around. But I guess is the perfect place for family because they have a lot of activities and an excellent playground for them.

I will definately come back here again.

  • Liked — The swimming pool and the beach right outside the hotel. And the food at the restaurant is great ok, it is not fine dining but excellent value.
  • Disliked — coffee and juices at brekfast are really horrible
  • Stayed September 2006, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes 9
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,457 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    401
    535
    332
    106
    83
See reviews for
774
358
13
24
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (164)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
northamptonshire
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 6, 2006

My husband and i stayed at this hotel in September 2006. It was a late deal booked with Thomson. I have to say the hotel was lovely, staff friendly, areas all clean but the food let it down tremendously. Having stayed in 4star hotels before this one was a real let down with the food. There was no vegetables all week, never saw any potatoes other than chips every day.

We had booked half board so had breakfast there and lunch, we ate out every night because of the poor state of the food.

Other than that hotel very nice.

  • Liked — The rooms
  • Disliked — The food
  • Tips/Secrets — If you want good food dont go there
  • Stayed September 2006, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
montreal
Senior Contributor
27 reviews 27 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
24 helpful votes 24 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 7, 2006

We stayed there last May with two young children and had a great time. The room was pleasant and clean, the food at the buffet was good, with a large selection to please everyone. Even though there was mostly elderly people staying at the hotel, all the staff was very kid friendly. We would love to go back.

Stayed May 2006
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Belfast, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
24 reviews 24 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
43 helpful votes 43 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 14, 2006

My partner and myself stayed in this hotel for 7 nights in late April 2006 and i would have to say we highly recommend the Hotel.

It was just a spring break we were after without the frills the Carribean has to offer and thats what we got. The hotel itself is Grand and spacious with a tastefully decorated reception - really very nice.

Have to say we never ate in the hotel so cannot rate the food.

However night life in the hotel is more aimed at an older audience (over 60). There is a small spanish kind of salsa bar in the hotel it was more traditional and we preferred to sit in there with a cocktail - and believe me the measures are generous and strong. The larger entertainment area had ridiculously old music or a tacky show often being watched by pensioners - no offence to pensioners - i am 24. The basement holds a dico which is basically a cheesy pop CD put on repeat. The music is appauling like 1999 type pop and the disco was always empty.

The rooms are lovely - absolutely perfect in fact and pool area etc is great. I was starting to get sick of the flintstones everywhere though. I never had any reason to have any come or go with staff during my stay but they seemed ok from a background view.

Dream disco / karaoke bar a few yards from hotel is definately the place to spend the night or week in our case - it is owned by a lovely London couple - they really are A+. Also for eating i would highly recommend The Argentenian Steakhouse, The Tudor Rose (English Food) and the Chinese Next to Tudor Rose all within yards of the Hotel.

For day trips Gibralter is excellent an absolute must. We also went on an excursion to Rhonda a historic spanish town which was beautiful. However i do not recommend Rhonda to the weak hearted as you spend 20 - 30 miles on a Hollywood movie style cliff edge to get there. It really is frightening and i had a nervous breakdown on the journey BIG TIME. Bring tranquillisers if you must.

It was a great holiday all in all and i would go again tomorrow.

  • Stayed April 2006
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 8
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
A TripAdvisor Member
1 of 5 stars Reviewed June 27, 2006

hi, just back , june 2006, stayed for 1 week, me and my partner, and could not wait to come home, weather fantastic, hotel food great, entertainment very poor. worse i have ever seen.

If you have children under 7, or you are over 70 then this is the hotel for you, from morning till late at night either childrens activity or ballroom dancing music, this is all it caters for. i was bored senseless. teenagers just seem to wander round aimlessly, just nothing for them to do, disco in the basement was also a joke, as this was not even open, children just ran riot all the time , just no escaping from them, they say the pool at the front of the hotel is for adults, what a joke, screaming crying kids everywhere, we both love kids, but hey, believe me, the parents just let the kids run riot, no control over them at all, so we spent most of our time on the beach.

the hotel restaruant , again kids running riot, very noisy, very very busy no matter what time you went to eat, we both felt we had to rush our meals as you could not relax , everybody to seem to be charging about, certainly not relaxing.

resort very poor, no life or buzz in the place, i swear i never heard any music for the whole week, okay the football was on, but i swear not 1 place had any entertainment or music on at all. we walked and walked the place, just nothing, but restarunts, no bars to just have a drink.

I personally would never use this chain of hotels again, or visit the costa del sol. we seen enough.

this is far the worse holiday i have ever been on, my fault as i picked it, even after reading the reviews, it sounded great, i just do not know where it went wrong ??

  • Stayed June 2006
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ottawa, Ontario, Canada
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 15, 2006

There were four of us - me, my brother and sister in law - all in our fifties and my 84 year-old mother, escaping the end of winter. Two of us stayed for 2 weeks, the other two for three. We chose the hotel with 2 meals a day - and we like the fact that the main meal could be lunch or dinner. We also appreciated that they catered to northern taste and opened their dining room at 6:30 pm. They were also amenable to help ourselves to a very early - but more limited breakfast on touring days. The other days - you could have a full irish breakfast - or pretend you were German and eat salami and cheese.

The food was good, plentiful and varied. We all gained weight. The only not-so-good were their attempts at ethnic food - but fish was always very fresh and fabulous.

The view on the sea was real. There are 3 pools. Too bad they did not help the sunshine with a bit of heat on the outdoor pool.

They had a lot of entertainment - really suited for our age group. We laughed a lot a playing some version of bingo - with numbers announced in no less than four languages.

The room were spotless - with a very nice bathroom. Their standard is two single beds. Therefore do not expect the north american standard of two double beds when they mention two beds. The room they show a picture of on the internet must be for the Principito - an adjoining apartment hotel. If you choose the apartment you can still buy a book of dinner tickets for less than 15 Euros per meal - believe me a great deal. I wish we had known that before hand.

Would we go back? Yes - definitely - this is a top of its class three stars.

Stayed March 2006
Was this review helpful? Yes 8
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
A TripAdvisor Member
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 8, 2006

i loved the holiday its was brill i am sooooooooo going back this year with out a doubt the entertainment team was excellent and all gorjus and friendly everyone should go to this hotel they are so lovely and helpfull with everything you need i cant wait t be back there this year people say it was busy but there are two pools and if you avoid useing the main pool then you can have a lovly swim in the sun without people jumping on you, the food was brill could of changed a little but taste and cleanliness couldnt fault it hope this helps dont be put of going ANY family would love this hotel with its disco down stairs and entertainment both ends of the hotel something for everyone !!1

  • Stayed August 2005
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Hotel Sol Principe? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Sol Principe

Address: Paseo Colorado 26, 29620 Torremolinos, Spain
Phone Number:
Location: Spain > Andalucia > Province of Malaga > Costa del Sol > Torremolinos
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Kitchenette Restaurant Shuttle Bus service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#19 Luxury Hotel in Torremolinos
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Sol Principe 4*
Number of rooms: 623
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Booking.com, Expedia, Priceline, Hotels.com, Cheap Tickets, Melia, Despegar.com, TripOnline SA, Agoda, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Hotel Sol Principe reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sol Principe Torremolinos
Sol Principe Hotel
Hotel Sol Principe Torremolinos, Costa Del Sol, Spain

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hotel Sol Principe, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.