We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent resort” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel Sol Principe

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Save
You added Hotel Sol Principe to your Saves list
Hotel Sol Principe
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Paseo Colorado 26, 29620 Torremolinos, Spain   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #26 of 73 Hotels in Torremolinos
Torremolinos
Level Contributor
14 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Excellent resort”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 21, 2014

Beautiful clean hotel, rooms are a little small. Would stay in apartments next time though as bigger. Huge breakfast spread so something for everyone. Pool areas are immaculate and great for the kids, day and night entertainment was enjoyed by all but kids disco could be improved with more music instead of games as all kids love to dance and more English spreaking please. Overall loved it but could do with getting some more English speaking channels for the kids to watch as wifi wasn't great

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with Melia Hotels International

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
JuanCarlos_SP, Director de Relaciones con Clientes at Hotel Sol Principe, responded to this review, July 26, 2014
Dear Bernie S,

Thank you for taking the time to write the review of your stay with us at Sol Principe. It is great to read that overall you had a good stay. I will make sure to pass on your ideas and suggestions to the entertainment team.
Thanks again, and I hope you choose to stay with us again on your next visit to Costa del Sol!
Regards,
Juan Carlos Lloret. Guest Experience Manager.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,818 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    514
    670
    412
    130
    92
See reviews for
986
433
24
27
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (219)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Blackpool
Level Contributor
40 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 20, 2014

Stayed at this hotel for 7 days all inclusive package. All I can say is the food is fantastic, so much choice and always managed to get a table at meal times. The drinks that were included in the package were great but the queue for the evening was awful. Spent half the evening queuing.
The evening entertainment was great and always busy, best to get there before 7pm! They did Mamma Mia and the Lion King which was good!
The huge pool was fabulous, only issue was not getting a sun lounger, you had to get there first but if you left a sun lounger with your belongings on unattended for over 1 hour they took them away. This didn't happen to us but a few people around!
It's great for an all inclusive holiday but to the nearest town type of shops it was a bit of a walk along the front and up hill
This hotel was recommended to us by a friend but if we came back to Torremolinos we would come here again!

Stayed September 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
JuanCarlos_SP, Director de Relaciones con Clientes at Hotel Sol Principe, responded to this review, July 21, 2014
Hello Abbieroberts,

I would like to tell you that it s has been a pleasure for the staff to host you in our hotel.

I appreciate the good comments that made about the facilities, pools, and especially for our staff and all inclusive service. Opinions such as yours help us to carry on working every day with enthusiasm and illusion.

We will so happy to see you again in your next visit to Costa del Sol

Sincerely,

Juan Carlos Lloret. Guest Experience Manager.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cork, Ireland
Level Contributor
9 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 18, 2014

Stayed in this family friendly hotel in June, its close to the airport,shops and across the road to the beach. The hotel is bright airy and clean with a very good restaurant with a good selection of food. We stayed half board with a room on the 6th floor with a lateral sea view. Just lovery. The staff are all very friendly and helpful. I forgot my phone . ipad chargers and thanks to Christine and Juan Carlos for finding me chargers, they were extremely helpful. Everything about this hotel is very relaxing. It was our 4th visit and would definitely recommend it. We had a lovely week and will be back. . Thankyou.

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with Melia Hotels International

Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
JuanCarlos_SP, Director de Relaciones con Clientes at Hotel Sol Principe, responded to this review, July 19, 2014
Dear EilennMcork,

First of all I would like to thank you for your nice comments about our hotel and your pleasant vacation here and posted them on Tripadvisor. I am very glad that you enjoyed all our staff services and facilities we have for our guests. I will share this commentsa with Cristina, she will be so happy to read it.

We are looking forward to see you very at Sol Príncipe.

Best regards,

Juan Carlos Lloret. Guest Experience Manager.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
England
Level Contributor
14 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 18, 2014

Stayed here for 7 days at the start of July and loved it. Don’t be put off by the negative tone of some of the reviews here – they had me worried, but it was a fuss aboout nothing. Yes, the queue at reception for check-in moved slowly, but we’re talking 10-15 minutes, not 2 hours! Yes the restaurant was busy, but not over-crowded. In fact we found tables on the outside terrace at every meal-time and it was lovely to sit and eat with a sea view. The food was far better than I expected for a buffet restaurant experience. Every meal they had chefs cooking the food fresh in front of you, the fresh fish was delicious, as was the enormous ham joint they were carving one night.

Our Family Suite apartment was in the Principito block – which is the “old part” of the hotel and looks a bit tatty from outside compared to the main block, but the rooms themselves were fine, clean and plenty of room.

A lot of reviews are also moaning about the sunbed situation, but again – we had no issues with this. There were always piles of spare sunbeds, it was more an issue of finding somewhere to put them, but we never failed to find somewhere acceptable by the pool. We would go out for breakfast at 9:30, grab some sunbeds and put our towels on them. Back from breakfast by 10:00 and the day’s relaxation started. In the hotel’s defence, they did have signs up everywhere saying “reserving sunbeds is not allowed” and a guy was patrolling/ticketing sunbeds that ween’t being used. If they were still unused after an hour, he would remove the towels.

The kids club was good, although being mainly Spanish kids my 4 year old found it a bit hard-going as the staff always spoke in Spanish first. The Amination team shows were a bit cheesey as you’d expect but the staff put in loads of effort and were up on stage all afternoon rehearsing! The kids mini-disco was the highlight for my 4 year old. He loved every minute of it. We went All-Inclusive and I’m glad we did. The prices that people were paying for drinks were not cheap. I’m pretty sure we covered most of our total bill in drinks alone!

Being a 10 minute drive from Malaga airport is a bonus, a very quick & painless transfer, plus a great view of all the planes coming in (although far enough away to not notice any noise).

The bus goes to Toremelinos from right outside the hotel and is cheap/frequent. We ent into the town once and that was enough – it’s really not that great! We also went to the Aquafun Waterpark – which has a free shuttle-bus, also from outside the hotel. It’s not the cheapest day-out but the slides are brilliant and well worth it. The food on site there is extortionate though, so if you’re All Inclusive – get them to make you a picnic before you go! The shuttle-bus isn’t free on the way back, but the taxi was only 6 euros, so half the price of 4 of us on the shuttle bus (3 euros each)

Room Tip: Family Suite with Pool view will be the old block. Family Suite with Sea View will be the new block.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
JuanCarlos_SP, Director de Relaciones con Clientes at Hotel Sol Principe, responded to this review, July 19, 2014
Dear robf70,

Thank you for your excellent review.

I was so pleased to read that you enjoyed your time with us, and also our location close to Málaga. Thank you for your superb recommendations.

Kind Regards,

Juan Carlos Lloret. Guest Experience Manager.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kolkata (Calcutta), India
Level Contributor
36 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 18, 2014

This is a perfect family hotel. I stayed here at poolside apartments and enjoyed for 3 nights.
Every evening there was something or other events for kids. It was amazing ambiance by the pool side.

I would love to return to this hotel as
* Spacious, clean rooms with kitchen equipment. Good breakfast spread with live counter.
* Conveniently located near sea beach and just aside main street of Torremolinos.
* Clean and beautiful pools along with pool bar
* Efficient staffs and smooth check in process.

I would suggest below to hotel management for betterment
* Decor and and building corridors of apartment building require urgent refurbishment.

Overall it's a very good 4* hotel and I would love stay again.

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
JuanCarlos_SP, Director de Relaciones con Clientes at Hotel Sol Principe, responded to this review, July 19, 2014
Hello BarunB,

Thank you very much for writing us your review and giving us your valuable opinion about your vacation in our hotel Sol Principe.

I am very glad that all in all your liked our hotel and you enjoyed your family holidays.

We take note about the swings and will give this valuable information to our head staff.

Thank you very much for your opinion again. You are always welcomed in hotel Sol Principe.

Sincerely
Juan Carlos Lloret. Guest Experience Manager.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
8 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 17, 2014

Stayed 4 nights great time have stayed before upgraded to big room on front with double balcony weather hot food good no complaints the pools are fab the entertainment at night was good a great stay would defo be back only not in July as I like to get out and about but it was red hot even first thing in the morning no problems with the hotel or the staff

Stayed July 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
JuanCarlos_SP, Director de Relaciones con Clientes at Hotel Sol Principe, responded to this review, July 19, 2014
Dear Avamia2,

Thank you for your review and for choosing our hotel for your stay. It was our pleasure to make you feel welcomed and I’m pleased we could provide such an enjoyable experience. I hope we can welcome you back again for another great stay in Torremolinos, Costa del Sol.

Regards,
Juan Carlos Lloret. Guest Experience Manager.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Torremolinos
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 17, 2014

Been going to this hotel 26 years now .my children are grown up now age 25 and 16 and they still want to return to the sol principle .everything excellent fab hotel ,spotless clean .food really nice an great service.you could not fault this hotel can't wait to return soon .best family in dublin

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with Melia Hotels International

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
JuanCarlos_SP, Director de Relaciones con Clientes at Hotel Sol Principe, responded to this review, July 19, 2014
Dear Jacinta Mary B,

Thank you very much for trusting in Sol Príncipe to enjoy your holidays for so long and thank you to writing us about it in your review.

I am very glad that all in all you liked your holiday so much; you enjoyed all the aspects that we have in our hotel for unforgettable, excellent holidays.

I hope that we will have the pleasure of welcoming again next year.

Best wishes from your family in Torremolinos.
Juan Carlos Lloret. Guest Experience Manager.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Torremolinos
0.8 mi away
Melia Costa del Sol
Melia Costa del Sol
#8 of 73 in Torremolinos
4.0 of 5 stars 1,873 reviews
2.5 mi away
Sol House Aloha - Costa del Sol
0.4 mi away
Marconfort Beach Club Hotel
Marconfort Beach Club Hotel
#19 of 73 in Torremolinos
4.0 of 5 stars 1,874 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Hotel Riu Belplaya
Hotel Riu Belplaya
#16 of 73 in Torremolinos
4.0 of 5 stars 975 reviews
0.5 mi away
Sol Don Pablo
Sol Don Pablo
#11 of 73 in Torremolinos
4.0 of 5 stars 1,418 reviews
0.3 mi away
Hotel Riu Costa Lago
Hotel Riu Costa Lago
#10 of 73 in Torremolinos
4.0 of 5 stars 1,563 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Sol Principe? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Sol Principe

Address: Paseo Colorado 26, 29620 Torremolinos, Spain
Phone Number:
Location: Spain > Andalucia > Province of Malaga > Costa del Sol > Torremolinos
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Kitchenette Shuttle Bus service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#14 Luxury Hotel in Torremolinos
#18 Family Hotel in Torremolinos
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Sol Principe 4*
Number of rooms: 623
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Priceline, Hotwire, Orbitz, Odigeo, Venere, HotelTravel.com and Hotels.com so you can book your Hotel Sol Principe reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sol Principe Torremolinos
Sol Principe Hotel
Hotel Sol Principe Torremolinos, Costa Del Sol, Spain

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hotel Sol Principe, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.