We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great location for a sun filled holiday. ""” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel Sol Principe

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Save
You added Hotel Sol Principe to your Saves list
Hotel Sol Principe
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Paseo Colorado 26, 29620 Torremolinos, Spain   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #35 of 72 Hotels in Torremolinos
Springfield, Pennsylvania
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
“Great location for a sun filled holiday. ""”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 12, 2013

Stayed for 6 nights (4-10 October 2013). We arrived after midnight with our daughter (Barnert) and three grandchildren (ages 2, 4 & 12). Had no problem checking into our two all inclusive side-by-side family rooms. The requested baby crib was not in the room, however placing a call to the front desk and the crib was delivered within a short time. We had also requested a snack be made available upon arrival. We were pleased to find both cold and hot food items. Rooms were clean & towels refreshed daily. Like most European hotels u will find a 4-in-one shower gel, soap, shampoo & cream rinse in shower stall. Bring your own if this doesn't work for u. Blow dryer is also available. Family rooms also have small kitchen & fridge & r located on 1st floor. Furniture & TV r dated but functional. Bathroom light over sink is awful - can't use to put on makeup. Only English speaking channels are the BBC, CNN & Sky News. Hotel guests come primarily from England, Ireland, Scotland, Spain, Germany and Sweden. U will find pork & beans, bangers, mushrooms & potatoes at breakfast along with all types of eggs and bread. Pizza and chicken nuggets for the kids, and several different types of fish, meat, desserts and fruit at each meal. Only problem - queuing up for meals. Servers were pleasant. Having a snack bar next to the pool and all-in option was a good decision for us with the grandchildren who didn't want to leave the pool for lunch. Down side for us. Kids programs ended on 15 Sep. Hotel does not provide beach/pool towels. Also, of note if u want pool chairs under an umbrella - place a towel on chairs when going to breakfast. Re entertainment - magic, acrobatic, juggling and musical Grease. Real downside pool side entertainment ends at 10:30. Bar service slow - only one person working. This hotel has everything for families with young kids and those over 60. Those in between those ages will be happy with the hotel, location, food etc however hotel does not have a lively night life - (during r stay). Cab to or from the airport runs between 18-20 euros - 10 minutes - front desk can arrange for cab. Bus service into Malaga is very reasonable and a must do. I would recommend this hotel. BTW - Wi-Fi is not free any where in hotel. 5 Euros @ day or 20 euros a week. Very slow - should be free for all-in guests.

Room Tip: Ask for ocean view. We called Melia, American Express and the property directly for rate quotes - t...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,455 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    400
    535
    331
    106
    83
See reviews for
773
358
13
24
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (164)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
York, United Kingdom
1 review
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed October 10, 2013

We stayed here at the end of September and were very disappointed with our stay.
The positives of this hotel were that the pool area was lovely, and the evening entertainment was great.
However, the reception staff (Eduardo in particular) are beyond rude, and the food is extremely repetitive and not of a very good standard for the money we paid! It was a free for all in the dining hall at breakfast and teatime, people queueing for food, and tables, it really was an ordeal at mealtimes and it shouldn't be the case in a 4*. We ended up eating out in the end as we dreaded mealtimes and we had paid for all inclusive as well.

Another word of advice is that if you do stay here make sure you stay in the actual hotel building, we were in what looked to be the old hotel (across the other side of the pool) and it wasn't pleasant, really dark and dingey on a night and old fashioned.

The pool bar didn't open during the day the whole time we was there even though the pool area was packed with people, and when it did open on a night the bar staff were also very rude and only served you in their own time. Taking this into consideration I really wouldn't go all inclusive at this hotel as the only thing available in the daytime from around the pool is dried up pizzas and toasties.

At best this hotel is a 3*

Room Tip: Make sure your room is in the main hotel
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with family
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cleckheaton, United Kingdom
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 9, 2013

Really easy taxi journey to the hotel in ten minutes

Came as a single parent family, my kids loved it and met others who they were friends with during the duration

The hotel we stayed in is much more modern looking than the apartments which look dated from the outside but are nice inside.

The food was similar daily and a mad scrap to get to the buffet, I couldn't believe how much people ate it is was shocking and put me off eating breakfast.

Wide variety of food breakfast was our favourite.

Spanish come at weekends and it gets a bit crazy we stayed in August and it was a bit hectic. They can also appear rude and walk into you and push you out of the way.

The kids club is geared up for Spanish kids my kids actually refused to go as there were no English.

Beautiful clean pools, food average but plentiful, very relaxing and nice holiday. Staff on reception helpful, Overall a wonderful holiday :)

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 8, 2013 via mobile

Stayed here for 2 nights as a 30th birthday treat for my wife. We was very pleased with this hotel right on the beach.beautiful swimming pool. Very helpful staff and very clean we had a great time and would come back with the children next time as there is a great kids club.(flintstones theme) Our flight was not untill 9 pm but check out was 12 pm so the hotel let us keep are bags in a locked room and then before we went to the airport they let us use a room to shower and freshen up at no extra cost. downside to it was are beds were not comfortable and pillows were very firm but because of our short stay and value for money we didn't bother to complain also we had breakfast on our last morning which was the only time we dined at the hotel as are accommodation was room only but we didn't enjoy the food. apart from that we had a lovely stay.

  • Stayed October 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jose Fermín G, General Manager at Hotel Sol Principe, responded to this review, October 11, 2013
Dear Emma Simon R,
Thank you for taking time to write a review, and for having your holidays in our hotel. I am so glad that you had excellent holidays with us, and you liked our staff, cleaning, and pool.
We take note about your comments and tips, as it assists me in improving the service we provide.
Looking forward to see you again at Sol Príncipe.
Kind regards.
José Fermín Gómez, general manager of Sol Príncipe Hotel.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
monaghan
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 7, 2013 via mobile

Just back from a week in sol principe. It was our 6th time stayin here but i have to say dont think i will be makin it for the 7th ! People at reception are very blunt and unhelpfull after travelling all night and arriving sweaty and pissed off after waitin for over 2 hours to get luggage and then coach to ne told your room wont be ready for an hour just isnt good enough. And it was in the a.noon. I think the girl at reception wasnt havin a good day. If she worked for me and talked to people like she did. She would be gettin her papers! Food was the same all week terrible ! They even had no eggs for breakfast 1 day !! Def not a good experience

  • Stayed September 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jose Fermín G, General Manager at Hotel Sol Principe, responded to this review, October 11, 2013
Dear shamrockMonaghan,

My name is José Fermín Gómez; I am the General Manager of Sol Principe Hotel.
First of all thank you for having your holidays at Sol Príncipe for so long.

I read it very carefully, and studied your comments about your experience this time, I would like to apologize if you didn´t enjoy your holidays at the hotel.

All your valuable information will be taken into account.

The comments concerning a poor staff attitude from some of our recepction team are certainly not the standards we normally achieve (as you will see from many other reviews). It is particularly dissapointing that we have not provided our normal standard of service to you.

Regarding the buffet comments, we have informed our kitchen staffs about it and we are also welcome to any suggestions you might have to better improve our service.

Hopefully give us a second chance in wich live up your expectations.

With respect,

José Fermín Gómez. General manager Sol Príncipe Hotel.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Helsinki, Finland
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 6, 2013

Stayed here on business trip. Had room in 8th floor, with partial view to sea. Small room, very clean but needs modernization soon. Cleaning staff were very friendly.

Queue to reception was very long all the time and the staff could have been more polite.

Food was good but not excellent. Pool are was great! Also the location next to the beach was awesome.

Stayed October 2013, traveled on business
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jose Fermín G, General Manager at Hotel Sol Principe, responded to this review, October 11, 2013
Dear jiitee,

First of all, thank you very much for take your time and post your review on Trip Advisor.

Very pleased to read your positive feedback about the cleaning of the room, the staff, location and food.

I read carefully the rests of your comments and I took notes about your review. Our customer service philosophy is to make the guest’s experience enjoyable, we will keep working hard for our guest’s satisfactory.

We hope to see you again in Sol Príncipe.

Sincerely

José Fermín Gómez, general manager Sol Príncipe hotel.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
THREEGGG
Senior Contributor
36 reviews 36 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 6, 2013

Went for a last minute break September 28 th 2013 , nice and clean and staff pleasant and helpful
Rooms traditional style a bit old now though, but very clean .
Restaurant had a good choice for breakfast so all good .
Great for the beach but the pools at this hotel are so good

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jose Fermín G, General Manager at Hotel Sol Principe, responded to this review, October 11, 2013
Dear Threeggg

Thank you for your lovely review following your days at Sol Príncipe. We are thrilled that you enjoyed your time with us and would like to thank you for your comments on our facilities, food, staff and style lagoon pool.


We hope to see you again in Sol Príncipe, We will be happy to host you again

Yours sincerely

José Fermín Gómez, general manager Sol Príncipe hotel
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Hotel Sol Principe? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Sol Principe

Address: Paseo Colorado 26, 29620 Torremolinos, Spain
Phone Number:
Location: Spain > Andalucia > Province of Malaga > Costa del Sol > Torremolinos
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Kitchenette Restaurant Shuttle Bus service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#19 Luxury Hotel in Torremolinos
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Sol Principe 4*
Number of rooms: 623
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Priceline, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Melia, Venere, Otel, TripOnline SA, Despegar.com, Travelocity, Odigeo, Agoda and Tingo so you can book your Hotel Sol Principe reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sol Principe Torremolinos
Sol Principe Hotel
Hotel Sol Principe Torremolinos, Costa Del Sol, Spain

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hotel Sol Principe, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.