We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fantastic Value for money” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel Sol Principe

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Save
You added Hotel Sol Principe to your Saves list
Hotel Sol Principe
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Paseo Colorado 26, 29620 Torremolinos, Spain   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Up to 30% discount
Ranked #26 of 73 Hotels in Torremolinos
scotland
Level Contributor
30 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
“Fantastic Value for money”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 25, 2013

well if you read my reports on hotels in the same area you will see what I have had to say in the past , having stayed in some sister hotels of this one a 5 min walk from this one , What a great find , food fantastic AND HOT loads of choices and what a great sight to see that the lady's had taken the time to dress for dinner and very few shorts that look bad and out of place on some men with bad dress sense, and even being on holiday what a great sight to see , well done to them ,, , This was a great all round family hotel , check in was fast and they gave us a dinner on our last night as we missed our first one , a lesson that there sister hotel could learn from , this was my first time hear and a massive pat on the back to all the staff, it was clean , large and very well run

Room Tip: I did ask for a room that got the sun , we never got that , and I did ask for a room that had a show...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jose Fermín G, Director General at Hotel Sol Principe, responded to this review, June 29, 2013
Dear tws 137,

It is a really good pleasure for us to know that you enjoy your holidays in our hotel.
Thank you very much for your lovely comments about our food, and choice

We will hope to see you in your next visit to Costa del Sol

Sincerely,

José Fermín Gómez, general manager of Sol Príncipe Hotel.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,732 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    498
    633
    388
    124
    89
See reviews for
924
420
24
27
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (209)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
13 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 25, 2013

Just stayed at this hotel for a week, my daughter who is 5 loved the hotel, the kids club and entertainment during the day and at night was just brilliant. Perfect for families, you wouldn't have to leave the hotel, so much happening. we stayed in a hotel room but would get a self catering appartment if I was going again as the rooms are quiet small but nice. Would go to this hotel again and would defiantly recommend

Room Tip: Book a self catering apartment or a bigger room, make use of kids club they are brilliant and entert...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jose Fermín G, Director General at Hotel Sol Principe, responded to this review, June 29, 2013
Dear Healy M,
Thank you for your kind review of Sol Príncipe hotel. We are thrilled that you like your family holidays with us.

We love that you enjoy with our entertainment team and shows, as you know we are introducing new activities and spectacles every year.

We look forward to see you again very soon.

Sincereley,

José Fermín Gómez, general manager of Sol Príncipe Hotel.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Derbyshire
Level Contributor
25 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 24, 2013

A pleasant modern, clean hotel with decent buffet food for the 4 days. Sea view room was spacious and clean with a useful fridge and great views from the balcony. Good public lounges and 3 swimming pools, one of which tended to be just for adults.Only downside was the placing of towels on sun beds before breaskfast, this needs to be managed by the hotel as some beds had towels and no occupants until after lunch!

Room Tip: Quiet rooms on the block adjacent to the tennis courts, ask for a sea view on a high floor.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jose Fermín G, Director General at Hotel Sol Principe, responded to this review, June 29, 2013
Dear Holidayfansderbys,

Thank you for your review following your recent stay with us.
I am pleased that you liked Sol Príncipe and enjoy in our pools.

Regarding your comments, about the occupancy of sun beds, I would like to tell you that the hotel have a policy in order to be fair with all our guests, it is not allowed to book sunbeds and we are already implement a process to avoid that.

I hope to see you again in your next visit to Costa del Sol

Kind regards

José Fermín Gómez

José Fermín Gómez, general manager of Sol Príncipe Hotel.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gateshead
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 24, 2013

I stayed with a party of 4 adults and a 3 year old for two weeks 31/5/13 to 14/6/13.Good clean hotel,food nice and staff always polite.I booked through Travel Republic,however,who catagorically insisted that All In basis was not available at this hotel but on arrival I found out that it was.I should have gone through Jet 2 who were clear and upfront about the board basis.I would definitely recommend the hotel though and will be going again.Paul P

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jose Fermín G, Director General at Hotel Sol Principe, responded to this review, June 29, 2013
Hello paul p,
Thank you very much for enjoy your holidays in Sol Príncipe and for post your comments on trip advisor.
It is a real pleasure for us to know that you like our food, cleaning and staff. I will share your good review with the team of the hotel, for sure this they will encourage them to carry on working with passion and illusion.

I look forward to see you soon at Sol Príncipe.

Sincerely,

José Fermín Gómez, general manager of Sol Príncipe Hotel.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gibraltar
Level Contributor
76 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 98 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 23, 2013

Have been to this hotel many times,year after year we continue going to this place.
We dont go for the food or the entertainment or the cleanliness or the location,even though these aspects of the hotel are first class(even though food could be great instead of good),we keep on returning to this Sol Hotel because it has the best pool in Torremolinos and maybe the best in the costa del sol!

The entertainment is great every night especially when the home produced shows are on like grease and Lion King which the hotels entertainment staff produce week in week out to a great standard.
see my photos

The food is a tricky part to explain about this hotel.
The quality of produce used is of a very high standard,fresh fish,meat veg etc etc but sometimes the cooking of the food and the combination used is a real let down,and this is one complaint i have year in year out when we visit.
I give some examples this years visit:
Fresh fish cooked too fast sometimes was not well done.
Chicken fillets grilled in front of you gets under cooked and is raw which is dangerous.
Both these things could be avoided with better timings when cooking,even if people have to wait longer but it would be safer.This happened with live cooking most of the days something was under cooked.
The excellent variety of food this week was spoilt with the worst pizza i have had in my life!
One of the pizzas that was cooked every day was great for kids but the other one with a green cheese topping(looked like cheese)was disgusting.Everyone was leaving this pizza on their plate.I do not know what topping was used but it tasted like perfume mixed with medicine.STILL IT WAS COOKED AND DISPLAYED EVERY DAY FOR LUNCH!
Basic cheese and ham,or ham pineapple would be enjoyed by everyone instead of this experiment.
Over cooked nuggets or San jacobs,which would not need to be over cooked.
Over fried chips.
As i said before easy things that could make this a great food hotel,they just dont seem to want that,they are happy with good food instead.
We stayed half board and always had lunch and went out for dinner.having kids we went to burger King one night,italian another and then 2 night we ate in the busy Calle San Miguel shopping street at different restaurants.(taxi from hotel is 5 euros 6 weekends to this street)

The hotel cleaners are the best ever.Really clean rooms this year and pool area never a dirty place to be seen.
We stayed in the family rooms area overlooking probably the best pool in Torremolinos.
Rooms have twin beds and two sofa beds for the kids,a round table with four chairs to eat and a big enough fridge to stock up from the Supersol supermarket outside the hotel on the road.

THE LAGOON POOL:
Great pool capacity 700 persons.Very clean and spacious with sunbeds for everyone that gets up before 9.30am to "book" one.
Pool entertainment every day for everyone .
We love this pool it makes you feel as if you are not in Spain but in the Caribbean.
Times with life guard 11am to 8pm.
See my photos
THE BACK POOL:
This pool is the original pool this hotel had and has never changed.Very peaceful and quiet part of the hotel no entertainment in this part of the hotel.Capacity of pool is 90 persons.
From here a door leads to the beaches and Paseo Maritimo (beach walk).
see my photos.

The hotel has a coin launderette next to reception and a Music bar.Also leading to the lagoon pool and the family rooms there is a arcade with various shops and services like Hairdressers ,massage and cosmetics clinic and toy shop. see my photos

Even though family rooms are a bit outdated they are great for families and all overlook the pool.(should be refurbished sooner than later)
I paid 533 euros h/b for 4 nights 4 persons,i think good value direct booking from their site.


All in all a great holiday with my wife and kids and just hoping to save for next year to go again,just wish the food "mistakes"could be taken care off.

SOL PRINCIPE WELL DONE AGAIN!

Room Tip: family rooms have a bigger kitchen if you are going room only so you can stock up with drinks etc
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jose Fermín G, Director General at Hotel Sol Principe, responded to this review, June 30, 2013
Dear guest

First of all thank you very much for giving us your review about positive aspects.
And also I want to thank you for you are our regular guest and every time you come to our hotel and trust us your holidays.

I am very glad that you like so much our Swimmingpool Lake and enjoyed it this time. Indeed it is a magnificent pool and one of the best on the coast.

I'm so sorry that you could not fully enjoy the cuisine of our restaurant. I take note about your restaurant comments. I also will give your review to our restaurant staff to study and improve cooking quality.
We will de glad to see you again in Sol Principe Hotel.

Kind regards,
José Fermín Gómez, general manager of Sol Principe Hotel.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
2 reviews
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 23, 2013

We stayed in one of the modernised blocks and had a great time and room nice and spotlessly clean, although apparently there are a couple of low rise blocks by the pool which are unmodernised and not recommended. entertainment pretty well done and we saw one excellent show and a couple of average shows. Great entertainment for kids though.

Food very varied and enjoyable.

Lovely pool areas.

Fab location for beach but bus or cab ride into town.

All in all, very enjoyable and would definately would stay with Melia hotels again.

Room Tip: ask to be in the main renovated blocks, with good sea view
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jose Fermín G, Director General at Hotel Sol Principe, responded to this review, June 29, 2013
Dear Julie E,

Nothing makes us happier than reading you have enjoyed your stay with us in Sol Príncipe
We hope to see you again the next time you will come to Torremolinos
Best regards

José Fermín Gómez, general manager of Sol Príncipe Hotel.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ireland
Level Contributor
13 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 21, 2013

We stayed at the Principe Sol for 5 nights from the 30th of May, and I cannot fault this hotel. It is spotlessly clean and so well catered for families & couples. We stayed in the hotel part and although the rooms are small, we were NEVER in the room as there is so much to do not just in the hotel but also the area it is located. We have a little boy, and the childrens pools are the best of all the places I have stayed, with little slides and water sprays to keep them entertained. It was busy but because the pool area is massive there was room for everyone ( 5 pools in total). We went full board, and again the food was fine no issues. On site there was a childrens play area and kids club and everynight great shows for all the family. The location itself is super, the promenade is lovely for walks and along the promenade there is lovely little play areas for children as well as a beautiful beach. I highly reccommend this hotel for a family holiday. We will definitely be back.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jose Fermín G, Director General at Hotel Sol Principe, responded to this review, June 29, 2013
Dear Guest,

On behalf of myself and all the staff of the Sol Príncipe, I would like to thank you for having chosen Sol Príncipe for you stay at Costa del Sol.

It has been a great pleasure for us to have you here. We are proud to know that you felt very comfortable in our hotel and you enjoyed our services. We always work hard to meet guest expectations and it is a pleasure to know that in this occasion we have reached it.

Thank you once again and we hope you come to visit us again soon.

Kind Regards,

José Fermín Gómez, general manager of Sol Príncipe Hotel.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Torremolinos
0.8 mi away
Melia Costa del Sol
Melia Costa del Sol
#6 of 73 in Torremolinos
4.0 of 5 stars 1,800 reviews
2.5 mi away
Sol House Aloha - Costa del Sol
0.4 mi away
Marconfort Beach Club Hotel
Marconfort Beach Club Hotel
#17 of 73 in Torremolinos
4.0 of 5 stars 1,808 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
Sol Don Pablo
Sol Don Pablo
#10 of 73 in Torremolinos
4.0 of 5 stars 1,378 reviews
0.3 mi away
Hotel Riu Belplaya
Hotel Riu Belplaya
#16 of 73 in Torremolinos
4.0 of 5 stars 943 reviews
0.3 mi away
Hotel Riu Costa Lago
Hotel Riu Costa Lago
#11 of 73 in Torremolinos
4.0 of 5 stars 1,522 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Sol Principe? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Sol Principe

Address: Paseo Colorado 26, 29620 Torremolinos, Spain
Phone Number:
Location: Spain > Andalucia > Province of Malaga > Costa del Sol > Torremolinos
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Kitchenette Shuttle Bus service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#14 Luxury Hotel in Torremolinos
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Sol Principe 4*
Number of rooms: 623
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Priceline, Travelocity, Odigeo, HotelTravel.com, Hotels.com and Venere so you can book your Hotel Sol Principe reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sol Principe Torremolinos
Sol Principe Hotel
Hotel Sol Principe Torremolinos, Costa Del Sol, Spain

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hotel Sol Principe, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.