We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Third time” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel Sol Principe

Save Saved
You added Hotel Sol Principe to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Hotel Sol Principe
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Paseo Colorado 26, 29620 Torremolinos, Spain   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #30 of 74 hotels in Torremolinos
kent
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“Third time”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 20, 2013

Reception is still very slow, 20 minutes just to check in (four rooms), the same address and details have to be typed in four different times, has no one heard of cut and paste?
Restaurant food excellent as usual, although we did end up with 9 plates on our table one evening , in the end I had to get up and move them! Maybe more staff are needed?
Spotlessly clean everywhere as usual, the maids who clean the rooms are all very efficient and friendly. The pool area is lovely with lots of beds, a shame we didn't have great weather but it was only May, we are thinking of coming back in September.
Would not hesitate to recommend this hotel to friends, was a shame the WiFi was so expensive, just used their internet for 2 euros instead of the 5 euros for a day on my own phone.
The bar prices seem to have gone up, two gin and tonics and a large beer 16 euros! Ouch. Went outside to drink after that.
The kids disco was rained off twice and had to be held in the bar, the older guests were not amused, children should be seen and not heard apparently!

Room Tip: The front family rooms have a corner balcony, the best view and sunshine, if you can afford the upgr...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jose Fermín G, Director General at Hotel Sol Principe, responded to this review, May 25, 2013
Dear sammirocky,

Thank you for taking the time to post your review on Tripadvisor, and for having chosen Sol Príncipe for your holidays for so long.

We appreciate your good comments about our food, cleaning service and pool area.

I am so sorry if you didn’t like the check in at the reception, we are working hard to speed up the process, and we already have installed new computers, although we always have to ask for data, for security reasons.
Thank your for your feedback on our bar and Wifi prices, we will study them.
We do regularly conduct surveys with regards to our pricing structure and are very competitive in comparison to our competitors and the Costa del Sol marketplace. However, I am sorry that you did find this to be expensive.

We look forward to see you again on September; we will make sure to “plug” the sun to shine.

Kind regards

José Fermín Gómez. General manager Sol Príncipe Hotel.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,231 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    352
    454
    270
    92
    63
See reviews for
638
315
10
19
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (142)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Bangkok, Thailand
Top Contributor
186 reviews 186 reviews
23 hotel reviews
Reviews in 24 cities Reviews in 24 cities
90 helpful votes 90 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 17, 2013

very nice hotel, rooms are good, balcony is nice to wake up with a good sea view, breakfast spread was great, hotel was packed with tourists, the beach is just across. we enjoyed our 5 night stay there except there is no free wifi anywhere in the hotel, you have to pay 5 euros per day.

Room Tip: pick a sea view room
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jose Fermín G, General Manager at Hotel Sol Principe, responded to this review, May 18, 2013
Hello Suresh M,

Thank you for sharing your experience in Sol Príncipe. We are glad to know that you enjoyed a relaxed time between us. We appreciate that you like ours rooms and breakfast.

We take note about your comments; will be carefully analyzed them.

We look forward to see you again in Sol Príncipe.

Sincerely

José Fermín Gómez. General manager Sol Príncipe Hotel.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Belfast, United Kingdom
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 14, 2013 via mobile

People have put very negative comments on about this hotel but I can honestly say i really enjoy staying in it everything I'm in torremolinos . The first time I stayed here was thirty years ago while on my honeymoon and have returned several times and every time I have had a very relaxing time . The pool area is magnificent and at night beautifully lit up , we prefer the adult pool at the other end of the hotel as its grassed and plenty of room to relax and a perfect sized pool there as well and lit up at night too . The cleanliness of the whole hotel is second to none and the staff work very hard to ensure everyone is catered for . I have stayed in many many hotels including five star but just love sol principe and will be returning in the very near future . A big thank you to all the staff in this great hotel and the cleaners as the rooms are cleaned everyday with towels and beds changed frequently . Well done sol principe !!!!

  • Stayed May 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jose Fermín G, Director General at Hotel Sol Principe, responded to this review, May 17, 2013
Dear linda c,

Thank you very much for having your holidays in Sol Príncipe since your “honey moon”
It was such a pleasure reading your comments. Without a doubt, feedback like yours encourages us to continue working hard so that our guests’ experiences at our hotels are enjoyable ones. I will share this comments with the staff, for sure they will be so happy for read it.

Your “ family” in Torremolinos, look forward to see you gaian.
Sincerely

José Fermín Gómez. General manager Sol Príncipe Hotel.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Staffordshire
1 review
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 12, 2013

This was my 6th visit to Sol Principe and the standard just gets better....
Stayed for 11 nights on HB basis from April 22nd 2013 - May 3rd 2013....
A real value for money Hotel with good food and facilities....
Rooms were spotless & bed linen,towels etc were changed daily...
Fantastic Beach front location...Would recommend it to any one and will certainly visit again.

Phil E

Room Tip: 5th or 6th floor on Western facing elevation is a good room choice for afternoon sun.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jose Fermín G, Director General at Hotel Sol Principe, responded to this review, May 17, 2013
Hello Phillip E,

Thank you very much for trusting in Sol Príncipe to enjoy your holidays for so long.
We appreciate your review about your experience in our hotel; especially your kind words about good food, spotless rooms, etc, opinions such as yours help us to carry on working every day with enthusiasm and illusion.

We hope to see you again having another fantastic holiday with us.

Sincerely

José Fermín Gómez. General manager Sol Príncipe Hotel
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dublin, Ireland
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 9, 2013

Hotel was very good. Catered for everyone with entertainment at night. Two pools very nice and the proximity of the Hotel to the beach was great with a fantastic prom all the way to Benalmadena. Pity the weather was so bad when I was there (end of Feb beginning of March)

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jose Fermín G, Director General at Hotel Sol Principe, responded to this review, May 17, 2013
Hello Tr15h. I would like to thank you for having your holidays in Sol Principe and thank you for taking the time to share your experience of Sol Príncipe on Tripadvisor.

We are so glad that you like the hotel and the facilities. We hope that next time you come to visit us you can enjoy with a good weather, like we have now in Costa del Sol.

Kind regards.


José Fermín Gómez, general manager Sol Príncipe hotel.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Galway, Ireland
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 8, 2013

stayed at hotel for 7 days end of april, we were impressed with facilities and entertainment, also food was good and varied, some of staff at front desk not very very friendly and they should have a map of hotel to show you where the various outdoor venues are but overall i would recommend this hotel especially for families with young children

Room Tip: our room on third floor 1303 did not get much sun but this meant it did not get too hot as air condi...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jose Fermín G, Director General at Hotel Sol Principe, responded to this review, May 11, 2013
Dear Monica O,

First of all to thank you very much for giving us your review and thanks for having chosen Sol Príncipe for your holidays. We like that you appreciate our food.
Further, we would like to mention that all of our staff are known for providing impeccable service and for taking care of at all times guests requests so we apologize if in your case it perhaps was not like this.

We look forward to see again in Sol Príncipe

José Fermín Gómez, general manager Sol Príncipe hotel.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Old Kilpatrick, Scotland, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 7, 2013 via mobile

Stayed with my 2 children for a long weekend and it was brilliant. Hotel staff very pleasant and welcoming on our arrival. Even kept the restaurant open for a late dinner when we checked in. Food really good and wide variety. lovely restaurant staff. Rooms excellent, pools are so well looked after. Plenty of sunbeds and shade when needed. Will definitely be back.

Stayed May 2013, traveled with family
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jose Fermín G, Director General at Hotel Sol Principe, responded to this review, May 11, 2013
Dear Michelle D,

Thank you very much for having a “great break” in Sol Príncipe.
It was such a pleasure reading your comments. Without a doubt, feedback like yours encourages us to continue working hard so that our guests’ experiences at our hotels are enjoyable ones.

We would love to see you again soon at Sol Príncipe
Kindest regards.

José Fermín Gómez, general manager Sol Príncipe hotel
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Hotel Sol Principe? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Sol Principe

Address: Paseo Colorado 26, 29620 Torremolinos, Spain
Phone Number:
Location: Spain > Andalucia > Province of Malaga > Costa del Sol > Torremolinos
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Kitchenette Restaurant Shuttle Bus service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#15 Luxury Hotel in Torremolinos
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Sol Principe 4*
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Priceline, Travelocity, Expedia, Melia, Tingo, Otel, BookingOdigeoWL, Agoda and Venere so you can book your Hotel Sol Principe reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sol Principe Torremolinos
Sol Principe Hotel
Hotel Sol Principe Torremolinos, Costa Del Sol, Spain

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hotel Sol Principe, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.