We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel Sol Principe

Save Saved
You added Hotel Sol Principe to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Hotel Sol Principe
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Paseo Colorado 26, 29620 Torremolinos, Spain   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #30 of 74 hotels in Torremolinos
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
“Excellent”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 22, 2013 via mobile

Just returned from a fantastic half term break at the Hotel Sol Principe .
The hotel was wonderful and we will deffinantly return there again.
The rooms were great, the food was great and the location was perfect.
The only negative was the evening entertainment that could have been more varied , the music was aimed at the older generation & the night club was closed, plus be-ware the all-inclusive deal finishes at 11pm . Considering it was February half term the hotel could have had a little more going on for the younger generation.
Overall we had a great time and the sunny weather certainly helped.

  • Stayed February 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jose Fermín G, General Manager at Hotel Sol Principe, responded to this review, March 10, 2013
My name is Jose Fermín Gómez and I am the General Manager of Sol Principe hotel.
Thank you very much for your great comments about Sol Principe, It is very good to know that you would like to come back!
We take note about your suggestion about night entertainment. Comments such as yours help us to improve day by day
Best Regards. José Fermín Gómez. General Manager Sol Principe.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,204 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    345
    441
    266
    93
    59
See reviews for
606
308
10
18
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (139)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Lancashire England
Senior Contributor
23 reviews 23 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
23 helpful votes 23 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 22, 2013

Excellent hotel, good food and spotlessly clean. I have been coming to this hotel on and off for probably 15 years, always in February. Imagine my surprise on arrival on 1 February that to have a room with "afternoon sun" on the balcony I had to stump up an extra 70 euros ( 5 euros per night) for 14 days.!!! On my booking I requested a room with afternoon sun as I have done so on my previous 10 or 11 times and have always enjoyed this. I was told that this is simply a "request" and if we wanted a room with afternoon sun we would have to pay the 70 euros.
This is the only negative of the holiday as we had not budjeted for the additional expense. However take away that and the hotel is excellent. The best point being few British guests stay there.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jose Fermín G, General Manager at Hotel Sol Principe, responded to this review, March 10, 2013
Dear Guest, My name is Jose Fermín Gómez and I am the General Manager of Sol Principe hotel.
First of all thank you very much for your coming year by year to our hotel; your loyalty is our greatest satisfaction.
When you make the reservation you could always choose between standard rooms and sea view rooms. Obviously there is a small difference in price.
Again, thank you very much again for your good comments about Sol Principe.
Looking forward to see you soon. Best Regards. Jose Fermín Gómez. General Manager Sol Principe Hotel
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
28 helpful votes 28 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed February 18, 2013

Stayed for 3 nights. There was 8 girls on a weekend away and we were staying on an All Inclusive basis. We noticed very early on that we were amongst a few english guest staying in the hotel, the rest of the guests we assumed were locals. We didn't have any issues and everything was going really well, we were having a fantastic time, up until the point when we looked at getting served at the bar. The bar man would only serve the spanish guests and when we asked to be served, we were given disgusted looks and given the silent treatment. Our second issue arrived on checkout day, when we were told that we hadn't paid for late checkout, when we had. We were told that we had full usage of the hotel and its amenities, as long as we had our wristbands on. We kept the wristbands on and 4 of us went down to get some food in preparation for our flight later in the day. We were told by another extremely rude member of the restaurant that were not allowed food or drinks as our checkout had ran out. We approached the reception to ask why we had been told different infomation. The reception were then adamant that we had NOT paid for late checkout, we when had. One of our party then spoke with the hotel manager who agreed we could use the hotel amenities BUT then said if we did we would be charged. Again, we stated that we had paid and produced proof. The manager then said we could use the facilities. Very annoyed and flustered, we ate and tried to relax in the hotel lobby area. The third and final insult came when one the party, who had not eaten tried to get some food and a drink from the restaurant. She went up and queued for 10 mins to wait to be served, only to be told to go away. Upon asking the reason why, she was told she hadn't paid. She then told the member of staff that it had been sorted at reception and to ask his manager. He then continued to serve the spanish guests. She asked him again to speak with his manager to clear it. He then came from round the bar/food area and grabbed her by the arm and told her to go away. Extremely upset by this, we spoke with the manager and wanted to raise a complaint regarding this behaviour and were told 'good luck, it's a big hotel chain'. Very intimidating staff and place to stay. Will not stay here again and will tell all friends and family to avoid this hotel chain.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with friends
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jose Fermín G, General Manager at Hotel Sol Principe, responded to this review, March 13, 2013
Dear guest,
My name is Jose Fermín Gomez and I am the General Manager of Sol Príncipe hotel.
First of all I would like to thank you for having chosen our hotel for your holidays.
I would ask you to please accept our apologies If you dind´t enjoy your holidays in our hotel, I regret that we did not know during your stay any objections to immediately solved
Regarding your comments about the bar service, I would like to point that you paid the supplement to keep the room the day of departure but it does not include the drinks and food.
Best Regards, Jose Fermín Gómez. General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cambridgeshire
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 18, 2013

We stayed here for 4nights in January 2013. The hotel was really quiet but very clean with rooms cleaned everyday and fresh towels. Being out of season the main lake pool was not in operation but I'm sure it would be spectacular in the main season. The smaller pool at the front of the hotel caught the afternoon sun and as there were so few guests there were plenty of sunbeds available .The food was reasonable but a smaller selection was available due to the small number of guests however we had fresh prawns for starters which were lovely, main courses a bit samey.
Overall the hotel was really good, the outside area to the front especially good with lots of glass and chrome really nice feature.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 16
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 14, 2013 via mobile

This is a very pleasent hotel and is ideal for people wheelchair bound. The staff are very friendly and have great english. The pool is very well kept and food us very good once you get used to the buffet system. The bar is very friendly and free music and a show every night. Well worth a visit.

  • Stayed September 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jose Fermín G, General Manager at Hotel Sol Principe, responded to this review, January 19, 2013
Hello Wolftone100. M. My name is José Fermín Gómenz, I am the General Manager of Sol Principe Hotel. Thank you very much for witting your great comments about our us here.

I am very happy to hear that you enjoyed your stay with us.

I hope to have the chance to welcome you again in Sol Principe. Sincerely Jose Fermín Gómez, General Manager Sol Príncipe hotel
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cork, Ireland
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
28 helpful votes 28 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 10, 2013

Stayed here in July 2012 and that was our 2nd trip with my husband and 2 children aged 15 & 2yrs. It is a fab place to stay for all the family as the apartments are great and have kitchenette. The pools are fab both indoor and outdoor. Rooms are spotless clean and clean every day, and the cleaning staff are so pleasant. Reception is quite slow but not due to lack of staff but more to do with the system they use i would say. Always friendly and helpful and Ms Contra is so lovely. The shows every night are great for all the family, but of course you need to get there at least half hour before the show start's to get good seats. I am looking forward to returning to the hotel a little ealier in June this year.

Room Tip: Any apartment room with pool view
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 8
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jose Fermín G, General Manager at Hotel Sol Principe, responded to this review, January 19, 2013
Dear Guest, M. My name is José Fermín Gómenz, I am the General Manager of Sol Principe Hotel. First of all to thank you very much for giving us your nice review and thanks for having chosen Sol Príncipe for your holidays in July. I take note about your comments, opinions such as yours help us to improve day by day.

Thank you for your review again.

Sincerely Jose Fermín Gómez, General Manager Sol Príncipe hotel
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Carpugnino, Italy
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed November 5, 2012

We stayed in this hotel for a week in October and were very disappointed - to the extent that we actually looked into getting an earlier flight home:
Reception is understaffed with usually just one receptionist. If we needed anything we often had to queue for some time. Staff were not particularly helpful and we noticed them being quite rude to other guests some of whom we ended up trying to help.
The food was repetitive and much of it poor quality (tinned ravioli at lunchtime).
the indoor pool is not really indoors as is in a poorly kept building by the outdoor pool. On a warm sunny day it is warm enough to use but when it is cold outside it is too cold to use the indoor pool. This was probably one of the most disappointing aspects for us as i specifically chose a hotel with an indoor pool as we were travelling in October an I was unsure of the temperature outside.
The part of the hotel photographed on the websites is only part of the hotel. The rest of the rooms are in 2 old grey blocks and if you are unlucky enough to have a view of the opposite block it feels ike you ae in an inner city prison rather than on the costa del sol.
The childrens' play area was closed as the entertainment staff need to be present to help operate the facilities.
I would choose another hotel!

Room Tip: best not to be in the block above the bar/stage as up until the 3rd floor the music can be heard. As...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Hotel Sol Principe? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Sol Principe

Address: Paseo Colorado 26, 29620 Torremolinos, Spain
Phone Number:
Location: Spain > Andalucia > Province of Malaga > Costa del Sol > Torremolinos
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Kitchenette Restaurant Shuttle Bus service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#14 Luxury Hotel in Torremolinos
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Sol Principe 4*
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Priceline, Expedia, Melia, Tingo, Otel, BookingOdigeoWL, Venere and Agoda so you can book your Hotel Sol Principe reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sol Principe Torremolinos
Sol Principe Hotel
Hotel Sol Principe Torremolinos, Costa Del Sol, Spain

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hotel Sol Principe, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.