We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“I have booked it three years in a row.” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel Sol Principe

Save Saved
You added Hotel Sol Principe to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Hotel Sol Principe
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Paseo Colorado 26, 29620 Torremolinos, Spain   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #30 of 74 hotels in Torremolinos
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
“I have booked it three years in a row.”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 14, 2013 via mobile

This is a very pleasent hotel and is ideal for people wheelchair bound. The staff are very friendly and have great english. The pool is very well kept and food us very good once you get used to the buffet system. The bar is very friendly and free music and a show every night. Well worth a visit.

  • Stayed September 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jose Fermín G, General Manager at Hotel Sol Principe, responded to this review, January 19, 2013
Hello Wolftone100. M. My name is José Fermín Gómenz, I am the General Manager of Sol Principe Hotel. Thank you very much for witting your great comments about our us here.

I am very happy to hear that you enjoyed your stay with us.

I hope to have the chance to welcome you again in Sol Principe. Sincerely Jose Fermín Gómez, General Manager Sol Príncipe hotel
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,204 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    345
    441
    266
    93
    59
See reviews for
606
308
10
18
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (139)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Cork, Ireland
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
28 helpful votes 28 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 10, 2013

Stayed here in July 2012 and that was our 2nd trip with my husband and 2 children aged 15 & 2yrs. It is a fab place to stay for all the family as the apartments are great and have kitchenette. The pools are fab both indoor and outdoor. Rooms are spotless clean and clean every day, and the cleaning staff are so pleasant. Reception is quite slow but not due to lack of staff but more to do with the system they use i would say. Always friendly and helpful and Ms Contra is so lovely. The shows every night are great for all the family, but of course you need to get there at least half hour before the show start's to get good seats. I am looking forward to returning to the hotel a little ealier in June this year.

Room Tip: Any apartment room with pool view
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 8
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jose Fermín G, General Manager at Hotel Sol Principe, responded to this review, January 19, 2013
Dear Guest, M. My name is José Fermín Gómenz, I am the General Manager of Sol Principe Hotel. First of all to thank you very much for giving us your nice review and thanks for having chosen Sol Príncipe for your holidays in July. I take note about your comments, opinions such as yours help us to improve day by day.

Thank you for your review again.

Sincerely Jose Fermín Gómez, General Manager Sol Príncipe hotel
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Carpugnino, Italy
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed November 5, 2012

We stayed in this hotel for a week in October and were very disappointed - to the extent that we actually looked into getting an earlier flight home:
Reception is understaffed with usually just one receptionist. If we needed anything we often had to queue for some time. Staff were not particularly helpful and we noticed them being quite rude to other guests some of whom we ended up trying to help.
The food was repetitive and much of it poor quality (tinned ravioli at lunchtime).
the indoor pool is not really indoors as is in a poorly kept building by the outdoor pool. On a warm sunny day it is warm enough to use but when it is cold outside it is too cold to use the indoor pool. This was probably one of the most disappointing aspects for us as i specifically chose a hotel with an indoor pool as we were travelling in October an I was unsure of the temperature outside.
The part of the hotel photographed on the websites is only part of the hotel. The rest of the rooms are in 2 old grey blocks and if you are unlucky enough to have a view of the opposite block it feels ike you ae in an inner city prison rather than on the costa del sol.
The childrens' play area was closed as the entertainment staff need to be present to help operate the facilities.
I would choose another hotel!

Room Tip: best not to be in the block above the bar/stage as up until the 3rd floor the music can be heard. As...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dublin, Ireland
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
28 helpful votes 28 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed November 5, 2012

We arrived 16th October got our room which was at the back of the hotel. Dull and cold. After pestering the reception staff 3 more times we finally settled in our 4th room. Sea View. My husband needs a nap each afternoon (medical reasons) which means I need and enjoy a SUNNY balcony.
Contra, the lady in reception was just brilliant. Her patience and calmness worked wonders.
Also, our flight was at 21.55 and we were allowed remain in our room until 19.00hrs FREE of CHARGE. We were being picked up at 19.15.
Great hotel, great location, excellent staff BUT the food is simply not good. Perhaps this is a personal feeling. I dont think so !!!!!!! Please invest in a toaster. Guests were holding AGM meetings while waiting on their toast.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 9
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
well travelled
Senior Contributor
40 reviews 40 reviews
29 hotel reviews
Reviews in 30 cities Reviews in 30 cities
44 helpful votes 44 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed October 30, 2012

We travel, a number of times a year and always stay in four star hotels. We like our comfort, so we were extremely disappointed with this hotel. Checking-in took some time, because the three people on the desk, all got involved in each check-in.
When we went up to our room, it was, what only can be described as, a box-room. We requested a move and were told that there was only a family room vacant, and that it would cost €357 extra. We paid up, even though we did not require four beds, but because we were staying for 14 nights. There were two defects in the room (one was the shower) and I must compliment the maintenance person for speedy repairs. The air conditioning was supposed to be on for 12 hours during the day, at best it was intermittent and the last five days there was none.
The food, (We went half board) was the worst we have encountered. Everything cooked was cheap and saturated in grease. The dining room hygiene left a lot to be desired. The only staff that acknowledged our existence, were the room cleaners and the man checking your dining card. Every evening a new guest artist, sang the same songs, that could be heard on the 8th floor, as if present at ground level.
I wasted €30 for premium Wifi, that even dropped you out of your e-mail. Checking-out, I returned our room cards and a receipt for our safe, there was a €5 refund when returning the key and that was the only word “Key” uttered by the receptionist as a farewell. I am amazed that the Melia group are involved with such a second rate hotel. We will not be going back.

Room Tip: Go to a good hotel
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 8
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Templemore, Ireland
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 30, 2012

stayed for 4 nights! the rooms were clean but small! really nice sea view! staff grumpy & make you feel like a hindrance. drinks at the bar extremely expensive. barman had the grumpiest face ever and ordering a drink really put him out. only stayed B&B breakfast was very greasy everything in hot food section swimming in grease. only 2 dodgy toasters which take ages to toast a slice of bread. Great location right beside the sea & loads of bars nearby.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manchester
Senior Contributor
30 reviews 30 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
93 helpful votes 93 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed October 26, 2012

We have just returned from the Hotel Sol Principe at Torremolinos, After going to this hotel 4 times we have always been happy with it but we wont be going again, Myself stayed in better 2star hotels The table cloths are now like McDonalds paper place mats, The food was not to be longed for in fact seen and had a lot better, Also the bedding is clean and the rooms done early but the same bedding as it was 4 yrs ago, The air Con the hotel picks when and how it goes on umm, Then we went into Torremolinos and what a surprise we had the main shopping area was half empty and 5 yes honest five beautiful shop on San Magell street are now those shops with fish tanks in which you stick your feet in.so we walked to the bus station the shops were all closed up se vendor even the big supermarket Carre 4 had just shut up and gone, it was scary then we were accosed by beggers, so we got the bus and got to our stop we called for a drink on the prom and withihn 20 mins we had no less than 15 looky looky men mithering us, we went in a shop near the hotel and she told us we were staying at the grumpy hotel how right she was.Also she told us 28 hotels had closed down and wont open again as things were so bad, for 3 coffees 1 tea and one tonic water with lime I kid you not £15 odd, by this time we had decided to get a flight home ASAP so we went to the travel agents and shebtried for hours to get a flight back as she said she had done this a lot in the passed 4 months she couldnt get us one but thank goodnes a friend at home got us one with Monach the day after. I dont know some people may enjoy a compound but we with friends like going out trouble was no were was any better people told us even Gibralter has lots of boared shops and Fungirola is worst, i dont want to offend but i thibnk people should know the truth, we have been 15 times but wont go anywhere near that area again.

Room Tip: Best tip i can give is think again before going there, I emailed for a nice room as i had just had t...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with friends
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Hotel Sol Principe? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Sol Principe

Address: Paseo Colorado 26, 29620 Torremolinos, Spain
Phone Number:
Location: Spain > Andalucia > Province of Malaga > Costa del Sol > Torremolinos
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Kitchenette Restaurant Shuttle Bus service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#14 Luxury Hotel in Torremolinos
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Sol Principe 4*
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Priceline, Expedia, Melia, Tingo, Otel, BookingOdigeoWL, Despegar.com, Venere and Agoda so you can book your Hotel Sol Principe reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sol Principe Torremolinos
Sol Principe Hotel
Hotel Sol Principe Torremolinos, Costa Del Sol, Spain

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hotel Sol Principe, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.