We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“2nd Time & Loved It Once Again” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Marconfort Beach Club Hotel

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Save
You added Marconfort Beach Club Hotel to your Saves list
Marconfort Beach Club Hotel
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   C. Pontinental 2, 29620 Torremolinos, Spain   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #14 of 72 Hotels in Torremolinos
Glasgow, United Kingdom
2 reviews
25 helpful votes 25 helpful votes
“2nd Time & Loved It Once Again”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 24, 2014

My wife and myself stayed at his hotel last year and we decided we would return again this year and we were not disappointed. Last year was a fantastic holiday and this year was just as good if not better. (please see my previous review).
First of all let me start by saying we travelled with Jet2 Holidays and i cannot fault this company whatsoever. Check-ins at both airports were smooth and fast, leg room on the aircraft is also a big welcome and flights were bang on time as were the transfers to and from the resort. Other airlines should take a look at Jet2 and see how holiday makers deserve to be treated. Well done and thank you Jet 2.
Ok, so on to the hotel itself.
I had emailed ahead of our stay and had requested a room facing into Torremolinos as we were facing into Malaga last year and looking onto the sister hotel the Real Punte. I was informed by the receptionist that these are pool facing rooms and are an extra 10 euros a day but she placed us in one anyway at no extra charge so a good start to the holiday there.
Rooms are fairly standard but absolutely spotless with a maid coming in EVERY day to make the bed and change the towels whenever you so wish. You have a TV with mainly local channels but who really watches TV when on holiday? A hair dyer is provided and there is a mains socket in the bedroom and one in the bathroom also (more than enough to get by). I love my balconies and although the one we had was not huge, it certainly was not cramped like some other hotels i have stayed in.
The pool area is a fantastic place to sit back and relax and there are loads of sun beds scattered all around the 4 pools. Plenty of parasols also but these go quickly so grab one right away (you will need it....especially around 1pm - 4pm......scorchio!!)
I need to put a mention out to Cristian here. He's the guy who walks around the pool ALL day and well into the evening. You will see him help out people with parasols and bases etc, empty all the numerous bins that are scattered all around pool and stack up every single bed in a regimented fashion every evening before hosing the whole area down. Help this guy out by putting your used cups etc into the bins instead of leaving them when finished your sunbathing. There were quite a few people I noticed doing this but they were never there long as Cristian was on hand to pick up. Well done mate and you earn every single euro of your pay.
Bar staff are friendly and also very hard workers. I noticed quite an improvement on last year where there were quite large queues forming at busy periods. Seems like this has been resolved, as there was very little queuing to be done and if you did have to queue, it wasn't for very long.
Beers are good too, Amstel on tap and also Cruz Campo Radler (very refreshing on a hot day).
Maybe just one negative for the hotel manager to consider is that we were on an All Inclusive + board basis. My wife likes a Brandy (or 5) but there was no premium brands available....i'm unsure as to what the brandy on offer was...it was ok but thought there would have been a better brand available, so maybe worth looking at that.
The restaurant is a large area, plenty of tables available and also an adults only area set aside. I loved the food and there is ALWAYS a massive selection available to cater for all tastes. Wine, juices, sangria, beer, tea and coffee available at meal times and you could even help yourself to a champagne or bucks fizz at breakfast time.
I'm not going to go into so called bug thing thats being mentioned in a lot of reviews, but let me just say that i tried just about every variety of food that was available, i drank water from the machines and i never felt ill once. I know a few people we talked to had a bit of the runs etc but they were putting it down to over indulgence, too much sun and basically a complete change of life style in a short space of time. The hotel is ensuring that they are doing everything to protect their guests with sanitisers in the bathrooms and you also have to use the one at the dining room before being allowed entry. Even during the daily activities around the pool, your hands are sprayed before handling the air rifles, pistols etc. Personally??????......i don' think the problem lies with the hotel but that's just my opinion and i'm not looking for a knee jerk reaction from others who have fallen sick.
So onto the entertainment and again I cannot fault this. We have probably all been to hotels where the animacion teams provide the evening entertainment and although they work hard in putting these shows on, they are maybe not the best. The Marconfort provides professional entertainment every single night on a rotational basis. Yes......some acts are better than others, but these nights are what YOU make of them and with a few visits to the bar and some great company (Gerry, Ray, Craig & Raymond), we enjoyed every night.
The animacion team work tirelessly throughout the day and also the evening (bingo and show compere etc). If you want to get involved in any of the daily activities then you are made very welcome and they are a good laugh. Again, I would like to give a shout out to Norberto who is one of the entertainers. This guy recognised me from last year (i find that incredible considering the amount of visitors he must deal with on a yearly basis). He makes me smile with his constant interaction with the competitors and actually enjoys what he's doing, so once again well done and thanks for that Norberto.
To summarise......lovely hotel, superb location, great staff, great food and drink and great company...what more can you ask for??? Loved every single minute.....thank you Marconfort Beach.....hope to return soon!!!
Gordy & Margaret

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 18
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Antonio R, Duty Manager at Marconfort Beach Club Hotel, responded to this review, July 25, 2014
Dear Gordy F:

Thank you for sharing your opinion and your deference to choose us for your holiday, is a pleasure for us regulars as you find.

We are pleased that they have again enjoyed your stay and that everything was to your liking, thank you also for the time you've taken in to get your experience at Marconfort through your opinion.

I apologize for the inconvenience that may have caused you not to have the taste of your wife brandy, at the same time to clarify that our all inclusive premium include leading brands of Whisky, rum, Gin and Vodka, even so we got to find a brandy that wished the palate of your wife, again my apologies for this detail.

We reiterate our thanks for your comment and hope to see you soon, we'll be happy to greet you as well as put ourselves at your disposal to make your stay more comfortable and happy.

Best regards.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,385 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    555
    491
    218
    88
    33
See reviews for
497
476
16
4
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (451)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Lingfield, United Kingdom
1 review
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 22, 2014

We returned from 5 days at the marconfort beach club hotel, I was very worried from reading other reviews but we loved it was so clean, food was amazing and staff was so helpful we would definately return

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with Low Cost Holidays

Was this review helpful? Yes 6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Antonio R, Duty Manager at Marconfort Beach Club Hotel, responded to this review, July 23, 2014
Dear Charlene W:

Thank you very much for sharing your opinion and your deference in choosing us for your holiday.

We are pleased that during your stay you have fully enjoyed our facilities and services.

For us, all opinions are important and we keep the due respect, although some can create doubt future customers, and better that yourself made public that at the Hotel there is no risk, and as they say physicians in the area, these symptomatologies are typical of the season of summer, heat, changes in habits, etc.

We hope to see you again, we will be happy to greet you.

Best regards.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dungannon, United Kingdom
1 review
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed July 22, 2014

This is the first time I have ever been sick on an all inclusive holiday. My sister was sick first for two days, then I was sick. She thought it was the food, I think it was the water. We assumed the water coming from a machine was filtered but now I think it wasn't. The reason I think it was the water was the night I drank two glasses of water was the night I was up sick. I should have stuck to the wine. When we got over that we just made the most of it. The staff were all lovely and the place was spotless. It was probably our own stupidity, I don.t know if you asked for bottled water whether you would get it or not. I loved Torremolinos and would go back there but not to this hotel.

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with Low Cost Holidays

Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Antonio R, Duty Manager at Marconfort Beach Club Hotel, responded to this review, July 23, 2014
Dear Anglea M:

Thanks for sharing your opinion.

We regret that the unwillingness we comment, your stay was not to your liking, if we can guarantee you that the causes of your symptoms are outside the Hotel, at the same time inform that water perfectly meets the required safety parameters and thus consists in the reports of the British company that we audited in relation to health and safety.

We reiterate our thanks for sharing your opinion, and we hope to see you again, we will be at your service so that you can fully enjoy our facilities and services.

Best regards.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Leeds, United Kingdom
1 review
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 22, 2014

Staying for 3 nights as a 'mini honeymoon' with the new wife,

Location

We were pleasantly surprised as to how close it actually is to the beach. There is a large gate at the front by the pool which when opened, the beach is literally a stone throw away. with a few shops nearby and only a few minutes away from the town centre

Bedroom

We stayed in room 302, a double room with a side sea view. While it isn't the largest room I've ever stayed in, it housed us comfortably. Well...I say comfortably, the bed was rather hard and only had 1 long pillow between us, with no more available from reception.
We paid for a sea view, hoping we'd have one of the rooms at the front, but instead we were mainly overlooking a 'wasteland' and a University hospital, but we did get some of the sea so we can't really complain there. Would have also preferred more plug sockets. there was only 1 in the room which was designed for the hairdryer. (and 1 in the bathroom).
While we never rely on the TV in hotels, we only managed to find 5 channels that spoke english, Horror +1, CBS Action, Now Music and 2 local info channels. would have been nice to have a bit more selection even if it's not meant to be the central feature.
The Air conditioning was by far the disappointment of the room, as i've said to the new missus on multiple occasions, you'd have been better off with an old man and a straw.
However i cannot fully moan about everything, the bathroom was very well presented, very clean and all in full working order so thumbs up there. (would just quickly mention that the water temperature fluctuated VERY violently between boiling and freezing at the peak times (5-7pm)

Pool areas

The pool areas were generally very clean, we watched the cleaners scrubbing them every morning and night from the balcony. As always there is a jostle for the sunbeds and no proper regulation of the "Don't leave towels on the sunbeds to reserve them" rule. the Pools themselves are well kept and very inviting. I would thought point your attention to the Parasols. The hut where they are kept smelt worse than a dog food refinery and the bases were very dirty (when you could actually get one)

Hotel Cleanliness

Most people reading this will be worried about the 'bugs'. We didn't notice anything about this from any of the people we talked to. There are hand sanitisers dotted around the hotel, particularly at the toilets and entrance to the restaurant so if there are any bugs, it's down to people not observing good hygiene. Blame them, not the hotel.

Food

I was looking forward to the restaurant and was not disappointed. 4 large rows full of gorgeous food, all fresh and very tasty. cooked and continental breakfasts, plenty of choice at lunch and dinner. and the desserts...oh the desserts...amazing. All the food is confined to one room, not like some hotels where it's some here, some there. Plus as mentioned before you have to sanitise your hands before you can enter. However, and this is a BIG However...
At dinner (evening meal, tea, supper, whatever you call it), it's a mantadory 'long trousers' rule. Now like most people i only had the jeans i came in, so it ended up being a pain to wear them every night. you can get away with shorts below the knee depending who is on the door, but on one evening, a lady (who shall remain anonymous at the request of my wife) refused me entry for shorts at the knee...fair enough. Once i went through and ate, i was APPAULED to see that she was letting in at least 10 (i counted) adults with smaller shorts than i did. Please beware of this.

Entertainment.

Most of the entertainment was in Spanish, (granted that at least half of the hotel was spanish) but there were several (not all) translated into English (and french on the last night) The activities were engaging and varied, from water polo and bingo to rifle shooting and 'sjoelbak'. Overall very good

Overall
The hotel is very nice and as a whole a very pleasant stay, worth recommending to friends and family. A shame about the negative points, mainly with the room and the restaurant entrance.
Thank you Marconfort Beach club for a (mostly) pleasant experience

Mr and Mrs Bowes

Room Tip: Side sea views not as spectacular as you would like them to be
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Antonio R, Duty Manager at Marconfort Beach Club Hotel, responded to this review, July 27, 2014
Dear Phil B:

Thank you very much for sharing your opinion as well as your deference in choosing us for your holiday.

We are pleased that in general your stay has been to your liking, and also thank you for your comments telling your experience Marconfort, and from here we apologize for any inconvenience that these small details that tell us you may have caused, the hotel, as you could well see, offers information on standards and rules to keep a better environment, in general all our customers meet although there may be some isolated case that does not meet them in full.

We also want to let know you that we take good note of your suggestions, and just as we always do, we will get to work on them to improve these details, and also thank you for your sincerity Reaffirming that, although there are comments that may be alarming, in the hotel there is no alarm or risk of disease, as also saying that at all times we are monitoring and doing the relevant work to ensure a comfortable and pleasant stay to our client.

We hope to see you again soon, we are happy to greet you and put ourselves at your disposal in order to make that your stay as comfortable and happy as possible.

Best regards.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
waterford ireland
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 21, 2014

On arriving at hotel the reception staff were very helpful. The piano bar is a nice relaxing bar with comfy seats and free wifi.
Downstairs is the magnum bar , which has an outside entertainment area. The entertainment staff are very good and work hard. The evening shows at 10 o'clock were poor enough and just about watchable.
On entering the food restaurant you have to use hand sanitiser . The food is repetitive buT the kids liked the pizza and pasta bar. On the Sunday night myself and husband had a selection of cheese from the cheese table , and oh my god we were both violently sick that night . We took turns vomiting . I would say the cheese had gone off in the heat. After been violently sick I was very careful what I ate and lived on bread rolls and fruit for the rest of the holiday.
We made the most of our stay and enjoyed the hiring the bikes from the hotel and cycling along the promenade. The hotel situation is lovely right on the beach.

Room Tip: Rom with a pool view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Antonio R, Duty Manager at Marconfort Beach Club Hotel, responded to this review, July 23, 2014
Dear Madmumto3:

Thanks for sharing your opinion.

We are pleased that they have greatly enjoyed the stay, and we regret that our gastronomic offer is not reached your expectations.

We regret that they have passed an unwillingness, if you can guarantee that cheese served at the dinner you mention perfectly meets the set parameters and thus consists in the health records.

We reiterate our thanks for sharing your opinion and hope pdoer see you again, we will be delighted to greet you.

Best regards.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 21, 2014

Good location, food is reasonable but needs to be kept hot and meat needs to be cooked thoroughly. Never suffered from a bug abroad before and we go away regularly. Witnessed guests being violently sick by the poolside and along with many others we also had to endure it. Something is seriously wrong in relation to hygiene. We were also shocked at how many Spanish guests simply didn't wash their hands after using the toilets in the public areas just awful. The hotel needs to address the Dreaded Bug it is an ongoing problem and is isolated to this hotel within the local area. If any of your party are elderly please consider this as Ellie has previously stated. Would not return because of the bug.

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Antonio R, Duty Manager at Marconfort Beach Club Hotel, responded to this review, July 25, 2014
Dear Caroline B:

Thanks for sharing your opinion.

We are pleased that our facilities and cuisine have been to your liking.

About the comment made about the personal hygiene of some customers, we regret that this happens, in all our areas there are signs informing of hands as well as various information relating to this topic, to wash, We know that the majority respects these standards, however we can not control individually to our visitors, but I can assure you that this comments will be some isolated cases, since, I repeat, in general and regardless of nationality, all our customers are well aware about the health, believe me.

We reiterate our thanks for sharing your opinion and we hope that we can see again, we will be happy to greet you and help make your stay more comfortable and happy as possible.

Best regards.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cwmbran, United Kingdom
1 review
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 20, 2014

Stayed here in July for 4 nights. Good location, close to beach, live entertainment every evening. Food was varied, rooms nice and clean with sea view. But "The bug" ruined the holiday. Within 12 hours of arriving my friend had sickness and diarrhoea, which lasted for the duration of our holiday, I then caught it on the last day which made travelling home a nightmare. I do hope the hotel takes note of all the reviews re "the bug" and puts a plan in place to resolve this problem.

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Antonio R, Duty Manager at Marconfort Beach Club Hotel, responded to this review, July 23, 2014
Dear Deb W:

Thanks for sharing your opinion.

We regret that because of your unavailability not you enjoyed fully your holidays.

We want to inform, taking advantage of your comment, that the Hotel always is concerned about the well-being and safety of our customers, as we also guarantee that we strictly comply with all health parameters required by the law, also have a British company that we audited daily in relation to safety and health, which through its test and analysis ensures that you there is nothing abnormal in the Hotel.

Comment that this type of symptomatologies occur along the coast and thus consists in the medical records of the area, being the possible causes the heat, change of habits, etc.

We reiterate our thanks for sharing your opinion and we hope to see you again, we will be happy to greet you.

Best regards.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Marconfort Beach Club Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Marconfort Beach Club Hotel

Address: C. Pontinental 2, 29620 Torremolinos, Spain
Location: Spain > Andalucia > Province of Malaga > Costa del Sol > Torremolinos
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Restaurant Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#7 On the Beach Hotel in Torremolinos
#7 Luxury Hotel in Torremolinos
#9 Family Hotel in Torremolinos
#12 Romantic Hotel in Torremolinos
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Marconfort Beach Club Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 260
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Marconfort Beach Club Hotel is known for its excellent All Inclusive plan and great location on the Seafront Promenade ("Paseo Maritimo") in Torremolinos, right by one of the destination's top beaches. This lovely property has three outdoor pools and direct access to Playamar beach. All of the spacious and bright guestrooms at Marconfort Beach Club Hotel All Inclusive are outfitted with amenities like panoramic views, a furnished balcony, a spacious private bathroom with hairdryer, and satellite TV with international channels; you'll also find safes for rent, along with free WiFi connection. In addition to daytime and nighttime entertainment, guests can also enjoy a wide range of activities. The hotel has a terrace with loungers by the pool, a gym, a heated pool*, a jacuzzi* and a sauna* (*open seasonally). You'll also come across a game room with billiards and darts, free bike rental, free miniature golf and a playground. Marconfort Beach Club Hotel has free WiFi in common areas. You'll also find a spacious buffet restaurant with a variety of specialties like an Italian corner, a kebab corner, live show cooking, international cuisine and an adults only area. Guests can also enjoy two bars, including one located by the pool. The reception desk is open 24 hours a day, and the hotel has a tourist information desk with services like car rental and tour bookings. The property is located just over one mile from downtown Torremolinos and only three miles from Malaga Airport. The hotel also has bikes available in addition to car rental. ***ALL INCLUSIVE PLAN**** With the All Inclusive plan at Marconfort Beach Club Hotel, you'll have access to numerous services to help you enjoy your stay in Torremolinos to the fullest. Access to the heated pool (open seasonally) is included, along with access to the hotel's facilities. (Except for the sauna, which has an extra cost.) Heated pool access is available for a limited number of guests and only during pool hours; children must be under parental supervision. Heated pool open from November 1 - April 30. Buffet breakfast, lunch and dinner at the hotel's main restaurant. Access to the hotel gym. Meals, in addition to snacks like fruit and ice cream at the hotel restaurant outside of regular meal hours. All alcoholic drinks are national brands. Included are beer, non-alcoholic beer, wine, soft drinks, shakes and liquor (with and without alcohol) at all hotel bars. Note: Premium brand international and national drinks have an additional cost and are not included. All inclusive drinks are served from 9:30am to midnight. 1 free hour of miniature golf and 1 free hour of bike use. Deposit required, subject to availability. 1 bottle of mineral water in the room upon arrival. Entertainment: Daily entertainment for kids and adults (depending on the season) Live music in the main bar / pool area Professional shows in the Theater (indoor and outdoor) All schedules and locations for services are subject to change at the discretion of hotel management. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Booking.com, Travelocity, Priceline, Venere, Cheap Tickets, Despegar.com, Otel, Hotels.com, Odigeo, TripOnline SA and Tingo so you can book your Marconfort Beach Club Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Beach Hotel Torremolinos
Beach Club Torremolinos
Torremolinos Beach Hotel
Torremolinos Beach Club Hotel
Beach Club Hotel Torremolinos
Marconfort Beach Club Hotel Torremolinos, Costa Del Sol, Spain

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Marconfort Beach Club Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.