We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A lot of good and a lot of bad” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Marconfort Beach Club Hotel

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Save Saved
You added Marconfort Beach Club Hotel to your Saves list
Marconfort Beach Club Hotel
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   C. Pontinental 2, 29620 Torremolinos, Spain   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #13 of 72 Hotels in Torremolinos
Leeds, United Kingdom
1 review
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
“A lot of good and a lot of bad”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 22, 2014

Staying for 3 nights as a 'mini honeymoon' with the new wife,

Location

We were pleasantly surprised as to how close it actually is to the beach. There is a large gate at the front by the pool which when opened, the beach is literally a stone throw away. with a few shops nearby and only a few minutes away from the town centre

Bedroom

We stayed in room 302, a double room with a side sea view. While it isn't the largest room I've ever stayed in, it housed us comfortably. Well...I say comfortably, the bed was rather hard and only had 1 long pillow between us, with no more available from reception.
We paid for a sea view, hoping we'd have one of the rooms at the front, but instead we were mainly overlooking a 'wasteland' and a University hospital, but we did get some of the sea so we can't really complain there. Would have also preferred more plug sockets. there was only 1 in the room which was designed for the hairdryer. (and 1 in the bathroom).
While we never rely on the TV in hotels, we only managed to find 5 channels that spoke english, Horror +1, CBS Action, Now Music and 2 local info channels. would have been nice to have a bit more selection even if it's not meant to be the central feature.
The Air conditioning was by far the disappointment of the room, as i've said to the new missus on multiple occasions, you'd have been better off with an old man and a straw.
However i cannot fully moan about everything, the bathroom was very well presented, very clean and all in full working order so thumbs up there. (would just quickly mention that the water temperature fluctuated VERY violently between boiling and freezing at the peak times (5-7pm)

Pool areas

The pool areas were generally very clean, we watched the cleaners scrubbing them every morning and night from the balcony. As always there is a jostle for the sunbeds and no proper regulation of the "Don't leave towels on the sunbeds to reserve them" rule. the Pools themselves are well kept and very inviting. I would thought point your attention to the Parasols. The hut where they are kept smelt worse than a dog food refinery and the bases were very dirty (when you could actually get one)

Hotel Cleanliness

Most people reading this will be worried about the 'bugs'. We didn't notice anything about this from any of the people we talked to. There are hand sanitisers dotted around the hotel, particularly at the toilets and entrance to the restaurant so if there are any bugs, it's down to people not observing good hygiene. Blame them, not the hotel.

Food

I was looking forward to the restaurant and was not disappointed. 4 large rows full of gorgeous food, all fresh and very tasty. cooked and continental breakfasts, plenty of choice at lunch and dinner. and the desserts...oh the desserts...amazing. All the food is confined to one room, not like some hotels where it's some here, some there. Plus as mentioned before you have to sanitise your hands before you can enter. However, and this is a BIG However...
At dinner (evening meal, tea, supper, whatever you call it), it's a mantadory 'long trousers' rule. Now like most people i only had the jeans i came in, so it ended up being a pain to wear them every night. you can get away with shorts below the knee depending who is on the door, but on one evening, a lady (who shall remain anonymous at the request of my wife) refused me entry for shorts at the knee...fair enough. Once i went through and ate, i was APPAULED to see that she was letting in at least 10 (i counted) adults with smaller shorts than i did. Please beware of this.

Entertainment.

Most of the entertainment was in Spanish, (granted that at least half of the hotel was spanish) but there were several (not all) translated into English (and french on the last night) The activities were engaging and varied, from water polo and bingo to rifle shooting and 'sjoelbak'. Overall very good

Overall
The hotel is very nice and as a whole a very pleasant stay, worth recommending to friends and family. A shame about the negative points, mainly with the room and the restaurant entrance.
Thank you Marconfort Beach club for a (mostly) pleasant experience

Mr and Mrs Bowes

Room Tip: Side sea views not as spectacular as you would like them to be
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Antonio R, Duty Manager at Marconfort Beach Club Hotel, responded to this review, July 27, 2014
Dear Phil B:

Thank you very much for sharing your opinion as well as your deference in choosing us for your holiday.

We are pleased that in general your stay has been to your liking, and also thank you for your comments telling your experience Marconfort, and from here we apologize for any inconvenience that these small details that tell us you may have caused, the hotel, as you could well see, offers information on standards and rules to keep a better environment, in general all our customers meet although there may be some isolated case that does not meet them in full.

We also want to let know you that we take good note of your suggestions, and just as we always do, we will get to work on them to improve these details, and also thank you for your sincerity Reaffirming that, although there are comments that may be alarming, in the hotel there is no alarm or risk of disease, as also saying that at all times we are monitoring and doing the relevant work to ensure a comfortable and pleasant stay to our client.

We hope to see you again soon, we are happy to greet you and put ourselves at your disposal in order to make that your stay as comfortable and happy as possible.

Best regards.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,348 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    541
    483
    206
    87
    31
See reviews for
488
463
15
3
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (434)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
waterford ireland
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 21, 2014

On arriving at hotel the reception staff were very helpful. The piano bar is a nice relaxing bar with comfy seats and free wifi.
Downstairs is the magnum bar , which has an outside entertainment area. The entertainment staff are very good and work hard. The evening shows at 10 o'clock were poor enough and just about watchable.
On entering the food restaurant you have to use hand sanitiser . The food is repetitive buT the kids liked the pizza and pasta bar. On the Sunday night myself and husband had a selection of cheese from the cheese table , and oh my god we were both violently sick that night . We took turns vomiting . I would say the cheese had gone off in the heat. After been violently sick I was very careful what I ate and lived on bread rolls and fruit for the rest of the holiday.
We made the most of our stay and enjoyed the hiring the bikes from the hotel and cycling along the promenade. The hotel situation is lovely right on the beach.

Room Tip: Rom with a pool view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Antonio R, Duty Manager at Marconfort Beach Club Hotel, responded to this review, July 23, 2014
Dear Madmumto3:

Thanks for sharing your opinion.

We are pleased that they have greatly enjoyed the stay, and we regret that our gastronomic offer is not reached your expectations.

We regret that they have passed an unwillingness, if you can guarantee that cheese served at the dinner you mention perfectly meets the set parameters and thus consists in the health records.

We reiterate our thanks for sharing your opinion and hope pdoer see you again, we will be delighted to greet you.

Best regards.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 21, 2014

Good location, food is reasonable but needs to be kept hot and meat needs to be cooked thoroughly. Never suffered from a bug abroad before and we go away regularly. Witnessed guests being violently sick by the poolside and along with many others we also had to endure it. Something is seriously wrong in relation to hygiene. We were also shocked at how many Spanish guests simply didn't wash their hands after using the toilets in the public areas just awful. The hotel needs to address the Dreaded Bug it is an ongoing problem and is isolated to this hotel within the local area. If any of your party are elderly please consider this as Ellie has previously stated. Would not return because of the bug.

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Antonio R, Duty Manager at Marconfort Beach Club Hotel, responded to this review, July 25, 2014
Dear Caroline B:

Thanks for sharing your opinion.

We are pleased that our facilities and cuisine have been to your liking.

About the comment made about the personal hygiene of some customers, we regret that this happens, in all our areas there are signs informing of hands as well as various information relating to this topic, to wash, We know that the majority respects these standards, however we can not control individually to our visitors, but I can assure you that this comments will be some isolated cases, since, I repeat, in general and regardless of nationality, all our customers are well aware about the health, believe me.

We reiterate our thanks for sharing your opinion and we hope that we can see again, we will be happy to greet you and help make your stay more comfortable and happy as possible.

Best regards.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cwmbran, United Kingdom
1 review
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 20, 2014

Stayed here in July for 4 nights. Good location, close to beach, live entertainment every evening. Food was varied, rooms nice and clean with sea view. But "The bug" ruined the holiday. Within 12 hours of arriving my friend had sickness and diarrhoea, which lasted for the duration of our holiday, I then caught it on the last day which made travelling home a nightmare. I do hope the hotel takes note of all the reviews re "the bug" and puts a plan in place to resolve this problem.

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Antonio R, Duty Manager at Marconfort Beach Club Hotel, responded to this review, July 23, 2014
Dear Deb W:

Thanks for sharing your opinion.

We regret that because of your unavailability not you enjoyed fully your holidays.

We want to inform, taking advantage of your comment, that the Hotel always is concerned about the well-being and safety of our customers, as we also guarantee that we strictly comply with all health parameters required by the law, also have a British company that we audited daily in relation to safety and health, which through its test and analysis ensures that you there is nothing abnormal in the Hotel.

Comment that this type of symptomatologies occur along the coast and thus consists in the medical records of the area, being the possible causes the heat, change of habits, etc.

We reiterate our thanks for sharing your opinion and we hope to see you again, we will be happy to greet you.

Best regards.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Birmingham, United Kingdom
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 19, 2014

I'm going to start off by saying this review is written by a teenager. Everyone in my party got the bug! I went on a family holiday with my mum and dad, and all three of us got the bug; one day after the other. So altogether, we lost a week of our two week holiday and as my dad is a Dialyisis patient this bug completely wrecked our holiday because he was bed ridden for most of the two weeks. My mum and I were able to get to know the hotel in the last couple of days and the only thing that made our holiday as good and it was going to get was the animation team and I want to specially mention Norberto, who has an amazing sense of humour and helped with my translation issues to the locals which was helpful considering that 80% of the other visitors are Spanish. Lucy gets a special mention because despite only being 5ft nothing, confronted a aggressive Spanish time share con artist who was being rude to a guest just outside the hotel and also in general she has a heart of gold!. About this teen issue the problem is, is that at night teens can't do mini disco but then again can't play bingo so between the time of 7 and 10 I was in complete boredom. There is a disco on the bottom floor which is quite good, food is alright, mostly fish. Hotel area is in the perfect location right next to the beach and it's 7 euros to get to Torremolinos and 1 euro 60 on the bus to benalmadena. The pool area in my opinion is quite small, it can get hard to find an umbrella but not a sunbed. The entertainment is good, it's mostly Spanish but it's only on for an hour and it can be entertaining. The only way I would probably go back is if we were compensated with a free week at this hotel to experience it fully hopefully without the bug and therefore would maybe give it a second chance! The choice is there's!!! By Elie age 16.

Room Tip: Family superior rooms facing the beach and stage.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 9
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Antonio R, Duty Manager at Marconfort Beach Club Hotel, responded to this review, July 27, 2014
Dear 123Ellie98:

We regret that we have not been able to achieve all their expectations, as well as that, during your stay, have experienced unavailability, but I can assure you that possible causes to your discomfort are completely outside the Hotel and thus consists in the daily reports made by the British company that audited us daily all matters relating to safety and hygiene.

Personally I'll get your greeting to Norberto and Luci, as well comment do something spectacular and always with a close and affectionate treatment of customers.

We reiterate our thanks for your comments and we hope to be able to truly see you again, we are happy to greet you and put ourselves at your disposal to make that your stay as comfortable and happy as possible.

Best regards.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Glasgow, United Kingdom
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 19, 2014

Just got back yesterday. Had a great time. I had ice in my drinks and didn't get the bug. I didn't over indulge either, which may have helped. After the cleaner cleaned my room I used domestos wipes every where. Just a couple of things I wasn't happy with ; the piano bar caters just for the Spanish, and children in the restaraunt picking there own food where they would drop the tongs on floor or stick their fingers in the jelly then lick said finger to see if they liked it. When I saw that my jaw hit the floor. That child was with his mother. More staff supervision needed.
The staff were really friendly, the towels were changed daily, and the bedding changed on a regular basis. The rooms were roomy.
The entertainment acts were really good, but the animation team would do a few games after the acts. That was even better but audience participation is needed.
The pool area was fantastic. Always plenty of sun loungers piled up. ( I didnt actually go into the pool because there may be a risk of getting the bug from the pool-wasn't taking any chances). All in all had a fab time.

Room Tip: We paid extra for pool view. We had 2 rooms for family of 4. Room 1007 had a good view right up the...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Antonio R, Duty Manager at Marconfort Beach Club Hotel, responded to this review, July 23, 2014
Dear Eileenm

Thanks for sharing your opinion and your deference in choosing us for your holiday.

We are pleased that your stay be of your liking and that you have enjoyed our facilities and services.

Our program of live music in the Piano Bar consists of 3 performances during the week, which are different artists being international music repertoire, we regret that it was not of your total liking this program.

On the supervision of children, we always ensure to notify parents if there is any behavior that may cause inconvenience to customers, and also urge adults to help children, we must also comment that in the vast majority of cases the supervision of parents is exemplary.

We reiterate our thanks for your comments and we hope to see you again, we will be happy to greet you.

Best regards.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Peterborough, United Kingdom
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 18, 2014

I'm going to write this review as true and as fair as I can make it.

- The positives of the hotel were that the pool area was fantastic. It has a shop next door to purchase inflatables and essentials such as sun cream at a reasonable price.

- The food and drink variety was good and before you walk in there is hand sanitiser which everyone is expected to use.

- The location was perfect, it was right near the beach across a small road / car park which had local restaurants and shops.

- Torremolinos centre had a wide variety of shops and takes a day to get around, I highly suggest you visit it.

- The reception area was great it had plenty of seating areas aswell as entertainment at the piano bar

Negatives:

- I caught the stomach bug for 48 hours which ruined a lot of the holiday as I was only there for 4 nights. Despite using hand sanitiser before and after meals.

- The entertainment was mainly for Spanish residents therefore could not understand.

- We were told the room had been disinfected after catching the bug and it hadn't, the receptionist would not change the room until we asked the manager who couldn't be more helpful.




Places we visited that we recommend in the area would be the crocodile park and aqua land.

Stayed July 2014, traveled with friends
Was this review helpful? Yes 7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Antonio R, Duty Manager at Marconfort Beach Club Hotel, responded to this review, July 20, 2014
Dear Lauren P:

Thanks for sharing your opinion and also for choosing us for your holidays.

We are pleased that your stay be of your liking and that you have enjoyed our facilities and services.

We regret that coincidentally with your stay you had an ill feeling, but we can guarantee you that the causes are outside the Hotel, and thus we know in the medical records that are attending this type of symptomatology in all the costa del sol.

We apologize if our entertainment program is not to your liking. Animation program is intended for all nationalities, your comment, surprised a bit since most activities and shows are performed in several languages, with the exception of those shows that are purely visual, that are perfectly understandable.

For us it was a pleasure to help you in what we asked and we hope to see you again, we are happy to greet you.

Best regards.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Marconfort Beach Club Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Marconfort Beach Club Hotel

Address: C. Pontinental 2, 29620 Torremolinos, Spain
Location: Spain > Andalucia > Province of Malaga > Costa del Sol > Torremolinos
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Restaurant Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#5 On the Beach Hotel in Torremolinos
#7 Luxury Hotel in Torremolinos
#9 Family Hotel in Torremolinos
#11 Romantic Hotel in Torremolinos
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Marconfort Beach Club Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 260
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Marconfort Beach Club Hotel is known for its excellent All Inclusive plan and great location on the Seafront Promenade ("Paseo Maritimo") in Torremolinos, right by one of the destination's top beaches. This lovely property has three outdoor pools and direct access to Playamar beach. All of the spacious and bright guestrooms at Marconfort Beach Club Hotel All Inclusive are outfitted with amenities like panoramic views, a furnished balcony, a spacious private bathroom with hairdryer, and satellite TV with international channels; you'll also find safes for rent, along with free WiFi connection. In addition to daytime and nighttime entertainment, guests can also enjoy a wide range of activities. The hotel has a terrace with loungers by the pool, a gym, a heated pool*, a jacuzzi* and a sauna* (*open seasonally). You'll also come across a game room with billiards and darts, free bike rental, free miniature golf and a playground. Marconfort Beach Club Hotel has free WiFi in common areas. You'll also find a spacious buffet restaurant with a variety of specialties like an Italian corner, a kebab corner, live show cooking, international cuisine and an adults only area. Guests can also enjoy two bars, including one located by the pool. The reception desk is open 24 hours a day, and the hotel has a tourist information desk with services like car rental and tour bookings. The property is located just over one mile from downtown Torremolinos and only three miles from Malaga Airport. The hotel also has bikes available in addition to car rental. ***ALL INCLUSIVE PLAN**** With the All Inclusive plan at Marconfort Beach Club Hotel, you'll have access to numerous services to help you enjoy your stay in Torremolinos to the fullest. Access to the heated pool (open seasonally) is included, along with access to the hotel's facilities. (Except for the sauna, which has an extra cost.) Heated pool access is available for a limited number of guests and only during pool hours; children must be under parental supervision. Heated pool open from November 1 - April 30. Buffet breakfast, lunch and dinner at the hotel's main restaurant. Access to the hotel gym. Meals, in addition to snacks like fruit and ice cream at the hotel restaurant outside of regular meal hours. All alcoholic drinks are national brands. Included are beer, non-alcoholic beer, wine, soft drinks, shakes and liquor (with and without alcohol) at all hotel bars. Note: Premium brand international and national drinks have an additional cost and are not included. All inclusive drinks are served from 9:30am to midnight. 1 free hour of miniature golf and 1 free hour of bike use. Deposit required, subject to availability. 1 bottle of mineral water in the room upon arrival. Entertainment: Daily entertainment for kids and adults (depending on the season) Live music in the main bar / pool area Professional shows in the Theater (indoor and outdoor) All schedules and locations for services are subject to change at the discretion of hotel management. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Booking.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Priceline, Venere, Cheap Tickets, Despegar.com, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Marconfort Beach Club Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Beach Hotel Torremolinos
Beach Club Torremolinos
Torremolinos Beach Hotel
Torremolinos Beach Club Hotel
Beach Club Hotel Torremolinos
Marconfort Beach Club Hotel Torremolinos, Costa Del Sol, Spain

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Marconfort Beach Club Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.